April 29, 2024, 06:42:38 AM

Author Topic: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions  (Read 923504 times)

Offline xixgon

Re: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions
« Reply #1500 on: April 09, 2010, 09:57:17 PM »
Chicharito deal cheers Mexican football

By David Faitelson, ESPN Deportes

April 9, 2010

Thursday April 8, 2010, became one of the most treasured days in the history of Mexican football.

Forget about Rafael Marquez, Andres Guardado, Hugo Sanchez, Luis Garcia and even the great 'Pirata' ('The Pirate') Luis de la Fuente . The transaction that took Javier 'Chicharito' Hernandez to Manchester United was the most expensive of all time, and the best part was the manner in which this transaction was accomplished.

First of all, an acknowledgement must be made to Chivas and to president Jorge Vergara for going against the traditional policies of Mexican clubs when they decided that a 21-year-old player is destined for success.

Secondly, and this is an irrefutable fact but nevertheless unusual in Mexican football: they have sold his rights in a decided, determined way, with no strings attached, no loans, no promoters, no favours, no help, without the infamous 'Let's see whether he works out for you and then we make the payments'. This type of negotiation is very simple to achieve in other latitudes, but it is terribly unusual to see in Mexico.

'Chicharito' has left at the right time. It is the right time to display his skills, to continue with his learning process, to listen to the wise advice of Sir Alex Ferguson , to immerse himself at Old Trafford, to hear the sound of glory coming from this venerable stadium.

Jorge Vergara seized the opportunity to sign a cooperation agreement with the famous and powerful English side. Chivas will no longer sell their players to an alternative market such as the Netherlands. They will sit at a position of honour at the negotiating table, alongside the biggest and most powerful teams in international football.

In the same announcement, Vergara indicated that the complete starting line-up of Manchester United will be on hand to inaugurate the new Chivas stadium, the Great Temple, towards the end of July.

A dream come true, a great business deal, the lucky strike that the red-and-white faithful had been waiting for for so long.

The events that took place on Thursday are more important than many may expect, and their importance extends to the rest of Mexican football, beyond Chivas or the player himself.

What comes after this will depend on his talent, his dedication, his professionalism and his enthusiasm, and Hernandez has plenty of all that.

But for a football community that dreams eternally of a brighter tomorrow, the sale of 'Chicharito' to Manchester United brings a new opportunity to expand its own hopes.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2010, 03:48:49 AM by xixgon »

« Reply #1501 on: April 09, 2010, 11:57:11 PM »

April 9, 2010

Thursday April 8, 2010, became one of the most treasured days in the history of Mexican football.

Forget about Rafael Marquez, Andres Guardado, Hugo Sanchez, Luis Garcia and even the great 'Pirata' ('The Pirate') Luis de la Fuente . The transaction that took Javier 'Chicharito' Hernandez to Manchester United was the most expensive of all time, and the best part was the manner in which this transaction was accomplished.

First of all, an acknowledgement must be made to Chivas and to president Jorge Vergara for going against the traditional policies of Mexican clubs when they decided that a 21-year-old player is destined for success.

Secondly, and this is an irrefutable fact but nevertheless unusual in Mexican football: they have sold his rights in a decided, determined way, with no strings attached, no loans, no promoters, no favours, no help, without the infamous 'Let's see whether he works out for you and then we make the payments'. This type of negotiation is very simple to achieve in other latitudes, but it is terribly unusual to see in Mexico.

'Chicharito' has left at the right time. It is the right time to display his skills, to continue with his learning process, to listen to the wise advice of Sir Alex Ferguson , to immerse himself at Old Trafford, to hear the sound of glory coming from this venerable stadium.

Jorge Vergara seized the opportunity to sign a cooperation agreement with the famous and powerful English side. Chivas will no longer sell their players to an alternative market such as the Netherlands. They will sit at a position of honour at the negotiating table, alongside the biggest and most powerful teams in international football.

In the same announcement, Vergara indicated that the complete starting line-up of Manchester United will be on hand to inaugurate the new Chivas stadium, the Great Temple, towards the end of July.

A dream come true, a great business deal, the lucky strike that the red-and-white faithful had been waiting for for so long.

The events that took place on Thursday are more important than many may expect, and their importance extends to the rest of Mexican football, beyond Chivas or the player himself.

What comes after this will depend on his talent, his dedication, his professionalism and his enthusiasm, and Hernandez has plenty of all that.

But for a football community that dreams eternally of a brighter tomorrow, the sale of 'Chicharito' to Manchester United brings a new opportunity to expand its own hopes.

I'm very excited about this deal...The hype around him is massive...Everyone who's seen him play all have positive things to say and a scouting report I read was also extremely encouraging

I think Kiko Macheda will be a big player for United one day soon and with Chicharito's potential to be a great signing I cannot wait for pre season to get a glimpse of our two upcoming stars...I still think we need a top class striker...Villa or Benzema..even Edin Dzeko... and a classy CM/CAM..Modric or David Silva please

Unfortunately that will end Berba and Carrick's time but we need a change...I love Berbs but we need to play 4-4-2 constantly for him to have a real shot of showing everyone what he is all about..when we play 4-4-2 he always does well..be it assist or score or assist the assist..he's always involved... the 4-5-1 does not suit his style at all

« Reply #1502 on: April 10, 2010, 06:29:12 AM »

April 9, 2010

I'm very excited about this deal...The hype around him is massive...Everyone who's seen him play all have positive things to say and a scouting report I read was also extremely encouraging

I think Kiko Macheda will be a big player for United one day soon and with Chicharito's potential to be a great signing I cannot wait for pre season to get a glimpse of our two upcoming stars...I still think we need a top class striker...Villa or Benzema..even Edin Dzeko... and a classy CM/CAM..Modric or David Silva please

Unfortunately that will end Berba and Carrick's time but we need a change...I love Berbs but we need to play 4-4-2 constantly for him to have a real shot of showing everyone what he is all about..when we play 4-4-2 he always does well..be it assist or score or assist the assist..he's always involved... the 4-5-1 does not suit his style at all

Apparently yall were offered Villa for £40m and turned him down....and signed this kid instead. Times are tough at Old Trafford

« Reply #1503 on: April 10, 2010, 07:16:20 AM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJk-OempCJI

chicharito

(bess song in the video)  ;D

« Reply #1504 on: April 10, 2010, 08:31:59 AM »
ill pass on the song

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #1505 on: April 10, 2010, 09:29:23 AM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJk-OempCJI

chicharito

(bess song in the video)  ;D

LOL IRON MAIDEN!!!

UP THE IRONS!!! \m/

« Reply #1506 on: April 10, 2010, 09:39:02 AM »
« Last Edit: April 10, 2010, 09:42:32 AM by sammy »

Offline xixgon

« Reply #1507 on: April 10, 2010, 09:42:48 AM »

April 9, 2010

Apparently yall were offered Villa for £40m and turned him down....and signed this kid instead. Times are tough at Old Trafford

I wouldn't want Villa for 40 mil na - das too much money for basically a 29 year old striker - one who relies to an extent on his speed as well.

Spending big money on players in or near to the end of their prime is not great football or financial sense - because the resale value is low and players generally need some bedding in time - especially if they're coming from a different country and league. Players at that age are generally more set in their ways as opposed to younger players whose can be shaped and moulded mentally and stylewise.

Villa ain't Berbatov - but that's still too expensive - whether Utd have the money or not.

Valencia should have sold Villa a year or 2 ago when he was at his hottest - but 2 years on and being overshadowed in La Liga somewhat would not have helped his market value. Not to mention Valencia have won nothing since deciding to keep hold of him.

« Reply #1508 on: April 10, 2010, 10:05:53 AM »

« Reply #1509 on: April 10, 2010, 10:30:41 AM »

April 9, 2010

I wouldn't want Villa for 40 mil na - das too much money for basically a 29 year old striker - one who relies to an extent on his speed as well.

Spending big money on players in or near to the end of their prime is not great football or financial sense - because the resale value is low and players generally need some bedding in time - especially if they're coming from a different country and league. Players at that age are generally more set in their ways as opposed to younger players whose can be shaped and moulded mentally and stylewise.

Villa ain't Berbatov - but that's still too expensive - whether Utd have the money or not.

Valencia should have sold Villa a year or 2 ago when he was at his hottest - but 2 years on and being overshadowed in La Liga somewhat would not have helped his market value. Not to mention Valencia have won nothing since deciding to keep hold of him.

I agree regarding buying older player for that amount of money. United's policy has always been not to spend high numbers on older out field players. That is why I couldn't understand why they went after Berbatov . Unfortunately they are paying for it.At least Carrick helped them win the CL and EPL, Berba zilch! The team I felt lacked leadersip in the midfield against Bayern, no one to kill the ball so the team could have gone in with a 3 nil lead.

« Reply #1510 on: April 11, 2010, 07:53:10 AM »
we looking real lost this game so far.  :-\

no one looking ot take charge and make something happen.

« Reply #1511 on: April 11, 2010, 07:56:25 AM »

no one looking to take charge and make something happen.

not even mini cronaldo nanny?

« Reply #1512 on: April 11, 2010, 08:00:20 AM »

That has been the problem all season. Berbatov seems like he does geh weakkneed when he in the box, never see a player slip or lose his boots so much during a match. And he have the most negative body language on the field; he buffin players and he playin shite! I am ready for the World Cup oui!

Offline xixgon

« Reply #1513 on: April 11, 2010, 08:12:46 AM »

That has been the problem all season. Berbatov seems like he does geh weakkneed when he in the box, never see a player slip or lose his boots so much during a match. And he have the most negative body language on the field; he buffin players and he playin shite! I am ready for the World Cup oui!

Utd just don't have the depth this season yes. Rooney has been amazing and Valencia has been value for money - but outside of them there hasn't been a consistent attacking force in the team all season. Berbatov has been a waste of money (I wouldn't say disappointment because I never rated or expected anything out of him). Utd brought in Obertan and Diouf but they've barely seen any time this season - and neither have too many youth players.

A combination of a stale lineup (especially overuse of the older heads), over-reliance on Rooney and defensive injuries have cost us this season.

They need a freshening up next year yes - in more ways than one.

« Reply #1514 on: April 11, 2010, 08:17:33 AM »

Dat man fall again.....Lord

« Reply #1515 on: April 11, 2010, 08:20:47 AM »

Utd just don't have the depth this season yes. Rooney has been amazing and Valencia has been value for money - but outside of them there hasn't been a consistent attacking force in the team all season. Berbatov has been a waste of money (I wouldn't say disappointment because I never rated or expected anything out of him). Utd brought in Obertan and Diouf but they've barely seen any time this season - and neither have too many youth players.

A combination of a stale lineup (especially overuse of the older heads), over-reliance on Rooney and defensive injuries have cost us this season.

They need a freshening up next year yes - in more ways than one.

cant understand y neville is still playing for utd, and u mean to tell me that no one on the field can take a proper corner /free kick? steups....... I surprised we did so well to challenge chelsea this season with this current side.

« Reply #1516 on: April 11, 2010, 08:22:02 AM »

Nani trying real hard, but he needs to work on his final ball......it seems as if he tries tooo hard.

« Reply #1517 on: April 11, 2010, 08:26:17 AM »
prepare for the worst, hope for the best  :-[

« Reply #1518 on: April 11, 2010, 08:30:59 AM »

Nani trying real hard, but he needs to work on his final ball......it seems as if he tries tooo hard.

He tries too hard to be like cronaldo.....watching him play sometimes you can't tell the difference between the two..(nanny skin flesh darker).  He has the ability to really work the wing but his service into the box is often lacking.

Offline xixgon

« Reply #1519 on: April 14, 2010, 03:59:47 PM »
Yorke relishes OT return

by Nick Coppack - ManUtd.com

He won the Treble with United in 1999 and now Dwight Yorke is about to pull on a red shirt once more in aid of charity.

United Relief will mix football and music to raise money for Sport Relief and the Manchester United Foundation. The main event, held at Old Trafford on Saturday 1 May, is a game between a United XI and a Rivals XI. It will feature former players (including six of the 1999 Treble-winning side) and current stars of the entertainment world.

Also on the bill is a pre-match concert, with music from The Saturdays, Tinchy Stryder, The Hoosiers and Tony Christie.

Dwight Yorke netted 66 goals in 152 appearances for United and told us he's itching to recreate the "phenomenal" feeling of scoring at Old Trafford...

How much are you looking forward to this match?

I don’t think playing at Old Trafford will ever lose its excitement. I played lots of games there and it never lost its thrill. You still get an incredible buzz when you walk out on that pitch. It’s a fantastic place to play, a unique atmosphere, and it’s all for a great cause so that will be brilliant. I still live in the area and being part of Manchester United is more than just football – it’s about getting involved in charity work, too.

What’s your favourite memory from matches you played at OT?

The Inter Milan game in the Champions League quarter-final in 1999. They’d always been really difficult to play against, so to score twice was really special. Italians had been dominating European football for a while… that game showed Premier League teams could compete. The Barcelona match when we drew 3-3 was also fantastic.

What was the best goal you scored at OT?
I can’t pick one. I can’t remember them all, to be honest! But I remember the feeling of scoring here – the buzz, the energy. Phenomenal. Anyone who’s scored here will tell you it’s amazing.

What occupies your time now you’ve quit football?
I’m still playing football casually. Currently, I’m doing a bit of TV work for Sky and the BBC, and I travel a lot around the Caribbean – I have a home there. I also play a lot of golf. I’m busy, but I’m enjoying life.

Have you been back to OT much? What sort of reception do you get?
I’ve had the pleasure of coming back several times and the reception I get is always fantastic. It’s nice to catch up with the boys that used to play – some who I was in the team with are still playing. I live locally so it’s a pleasure to come here whenever I can.

Do you still keep in touch with Andy Cole?
We’re neighbours, so I see him all the time – he’s literally a stone’s throw away from me. We were always partners on the pitch and we’re still very much friends off the pitch. We’re both keen golfers so we play a lot and have some good battles on the course.

How will you two go about resuming your legendary strike partnership?
I’m really looking forward to it. I’m still pretty fit, I keep myself in good nick – I only retired six months ago. I play better when I’m relaxed and I think I’ll be very relaxed on the night. Andy’s also very fit, so I don’t see why we shouldn’t be a pretty good strike force again.

Which other players are you looking forward to seeing?

The 1999 team haven’t had a get-together in quite a while, so I’m looking forward to seeing all of them. I haven’t seen Jaap Stam for a long time so I’m hoping he’ll be along. It feels like yesterday I was playing with those guys, but it’s more than 10 years!

When you’re playing charity matches involving non-footballing celebrities, it must be tempting to embarrass them?
We probably will! But you want to entertain people. The fans are paying money to a very good cause so I’m sure there will be some good skills on display. You want to entertain, win, but also play the game in the right manner.

Finally, give us a prediction for the match, then…

I’m not too sure about the score, but I’m predicting that there will be a lot of goals.

« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 04:01:55 PM by xixgon »

« Reply #1520 on: April 16, 2010, 06:05:46 PM »
City United, City Divided

Tomorrow is D Day...anything but 3 points and the title heads to London

Hopefully United and Spurs can get 3 points even though I'll settle with a Spurs Chelsea draw...If we win and Chelsea win..4 point gap will be enough for the rent boys in my opinion...

I just wanna beat our noisy neighbours and dent their 4th place idea.

WHO'S THAT TWAT FROM ARGENTINAAAA
WHO'S THAT MONEY GRABBING WHORE
CARLOS TEVEZ IS HIS NAME
AND HE'S GOT NO f**kING BRAIN
AND HE WONT BE WINNING TROPHIES ANYMOREEEE

THIS IS HOW IT FEELS TO BE CITY
THIS IS HOW IT FEELS TO BE SMALL
THIS IS HOW FEELS FOR YOUR TEAM TO WIN NOTHING AT ALL
NOTHING AT ALL
YOU'LL NEVER WIN f**k ALL

IN 76
OH THIS IS TRUE
A TROPHY WAS WON BY A TEAM IN BLUE
IT'S BEEN A LONG TIME SINCE THAT DAY,
SO WE'LL SING THEM A SONG THEY f**kING HATE
34 YEARS!
f**k ALL

« Last Edit: April 16, 2010, 06:15:48 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

Offline xixgon

« Reply #1521 on: April 16, 2010, 06:27:56 PM »
Tosic Double v. Bochum today.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/093itK1pOp0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/093itK1pOp0</a>
« Last Edit: April 16, 2010, 06:29:43 PM by xixgon »

« Reply #1522 on: April 16, 2010, 06:40:38 PM »
Tosic Double v. Bochum today.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/093itK1pOp0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/093itK1pOp0</a>

I would hate it if we sold him...I think he's gonna be a big player..His composure is outstanding

You dont mess with the Zoran!

« Reply #1523 on: April 16, 2010, 07:19:50 PM »

Wood dem Carlitos!!!  :devil: :devil: :devil:

Offline xixgon

« Reply #1524 on: April 16, 2010, 08:43:38 PM »

Good Luck to Tevez having as much success in any amount of years at City as he had in 2 years at Utd  ;)
« Last Edit: April 17, 2010, 01:04:22 AM by xixgon »

« Reply #1525 on: April 16, 2010, 09:02:49 PM »
pity the fool  :devil:

« Reply #1526 on: April 17, 2010, 05:07:37 AM »
Up early for this one! Rooney starting...all de big guns accounted for on both sides.

Man City
01 Given, 03 Bridge, 04 Onuoha, 28 Toure, 33 Kompany, 11 A Johnson, 18 Barry, 34 De Jong, 25 Adebayor, 32 Tevez, 39 Bellamy

Substitutes
37 Nielsen, 05 Zabaleta, 44 Boyata, 07 Ireland, 08 Wright-Phillips, 24 Vieira, 14 Santa Cruz

Man Utd
01 Van der Sar, 02 Neville, 03 Evra, 15 Vidic, 23 Evans, 11 Giggs, 18 Scholes, 24 Fletcher, 25 Valencia, 28 Gibson, 10 Rooney

Substitutes
29 Kuszczak, 21 Rafael Da Silva, 22 O'Shea, 16 Carrick, 17 Nani, 09 Berbatov, 26 Obertan

Offline xixgon

« Reply #1527 on: April 17, 2010, 05:44:39 AM »
Up early for this one! Rooney starting...all de big guns accounted for on both sides.

Man City
01 Given, 03 Bridge, 04 Onuoha, 28 Toure, 33 Kompany, 11 A Johnson, 18 Barry, 34 De Jong, 25 Adebayor, 32 Tevez, 39 Bellamy

Substitutes
37 Nielsen, 05 Zabaleta, 44 Boyata, 07 Ireland, 08 Wright-Phillips, 24 Vieira, 14 Santa Cruz

Man Utd
01 Van der Sar, 02 Neville, 03 Evra, 15 Vidic, 23 Evans, 11 Giggs, 18 Scholes, 24 Fletcher, 25 Valencia, 28 Gibson, 10 Rooney

Substitutes
29 Kuszczak, 21 Rafael Da Silva, 22 O'Shea, 16 Carrick, 17 Nani, 09 Berbatov, 26 Obertan

Carrick and Berbatov really in the doghouse yes. Half-fit Rooney and a 35 year-old Scholes bein preferred to them recently.

So much for Hargreaves bein involved in the squad as well. Pretty much layin doubt on whether we will really see him at all this season or indeed even again at Utd.

Fergie really eh learn he lesson playin these vets in big games over the las few weeks. Hopefully Giggs, Scholes and Neville make me eat my words...but Neville and Scholes in particular are a real concern for me in dis game. It should be a breathtaking pace - and Evans also hasn't played that much recently.

Havin Nani & O'Shea on the bench is a bit questionable. Hopefully Obertan gets a chance to get into this game at some point as well.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2010, 06:04:05 AM by xixgon »

« Reply #1528 on: April 17, 2010, 05:46:19 AM »
Atkinson is the ref.... ::)

« Reply #1529 on: April 17, 2010, 05:59:04 AM »
Valencia does ever enjoy these games? He does always look vex.