April 27, 2024, 07:01:13 AM

Author Topic: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions  (Read 920874 times)

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
Re: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions
« Reply #1920 on: October 30, 2010, 01:09:59 PM »
Off the pace

Robbie Keane and Jermaine Jenas, both drafted in to the starting XI for this match, were looking distinctly off the pace in key positions for Spurs.

In the 59th minute, Bale finally gave the away support something to cheer. In a passage reminiscent of his memorable Champions League hat-trick against Inter Milan he strode past a handful of red shirts and bore down on goal, only to see his shot squirm just wide of Van der Sar's far post.

Keane gave way to Roman Pavlyuchenko just past the hour mark, handing the captaincy to Modric in the process.

After Van der Vaart failed to beat Van der Sar from a tight angle, Pavlyuchenko almost got lucky when his 25-yard effort nearly found its way over the line courtesy of Vidic's deflection, before Peter Crouch replaced Van der Vaart - who looked in a little discomfort as he left the pitch - in the 77th minute.

Nani's controversial strike ended matters, with the officials judging play to be active when Gomes placed the ball down in his area after an unsuccessful penalty appeal.

Gomes clearly believed he was lining up a dead ball but the Portuguese winger was the only one on the referee's wavelength and rolled the ball in to tee up furious scenes of protest by the visitors.

Source: http://www.skysports.com/football/match_report/0,19764,11065_3283269,00.html

Nani then doubled the lead late on in farcical circumstances. Goalkeeper Heurelho Gomes placed the ball down inside his box in the belief that Spurs had been awarded a free-kick for what he thought was a dive by the Portuguese - but referee Mark Clattenburg, who never blew his whistle, allowed the forward to casually trot up to the ball and knock it into the unguarded net.

Source: http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/30102010/58/premier-league-bizarre-goal-taints-united-win-spurs.html
« Last Edit: October 30, 2010, 01:13:46 PM by Reaper2004 »

« Reply #1921 on: October 30, 2010, 01:14:57 PM »
Nani's controversial strike ended matters, with the officials judging play to be active when Gomes placed the ball down in his area after an unsuccessful penalty appeal.

Gomes clearly believed he was lining up a dead ball but the Portuguese winger was the only one on the referee's wavelength and rolled the ball in to tee up furious scenes of protest by the visitors.

Source: http://www.skysports.com/football/match_report/0,19764,11065_3283269,00.html

Thank you. got to love the Chelsea fans here eh.

edit: Somebody tell Gomes please play to the f**king whistle, damn goat
« Last Edit: October 30, 2010, 01:18:52 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #1922 on: October 30, 2010, 01:55:16 PM »

Call him a goat all you wish... there's no denying that fortune always seems to smile on Utd where the refs are concerned.  Should Gomes have played to the whistle?  Sure.  But that also should have been a free kick since Nani clearly, and rightly handled the ball.  I say "rightly" because in that position if you feel you've been fouled and go down, many players will grab the ball to force the ref to call something.  Mysteriously Clattenburg decide to overlook the handball.  Even the linesman was confused as he clearly raised his flag, belatedly... only to be told (apparently) to put it away.

« Reply #1923 on: October 30, 2010, 02:15:47 PM »

Since we don't get pity goals we have real time on we hand. Plus that above does nothing to put to rest that The call was ver poor.

« Reply #1924 on: October 30, 2010, 02:23:17 PM »
MAN UTD 2-0 TOTTENHAM
Ferguson: Gomes to blame for bizarre Nani goal
October 30, 2010
Soccernet

Sir Alex Ferguson believes Tottenham goalkeeper Heurelho Gomes was to blame for Manchester United's controversial second goal in their 2-0 win over Tottenham, claiming the Brazilian "should have known better''.

Nani poked home the goal after 84 minutes after Gomes had placed the ball down, seemingly thinking his side had been awarded a free-kick in his area.

Nani, who had appealed for a penalty moments earlier, then swooped to score and, after referee Mark Clattenburg consulted with his assistant, the goal was awarded to spark furious protests from the Tottenham players.

"It was bizarre," Ferguson told ESPN. "No-one knew at the time what was wrong. One minute the goalkeeper had the ball in his hands and next it's in his net. Nani looked back and looked at the referee and the referee said play on, so what can he do but put the ball in the net.

"You can look at the referee and look at the linesmen and blame them, but the goalkeeper should know better. He's an experienced goalkeeper. I thought he made a mess of it. I thought it was a penalty first of all and I think Nani felt he handled the ball. But the referee didn't blow for it.

"The referee played on because the goalkeeper took possession of the ball. He then went to take a free-kick thinking it was a foul. He made an error.''

Tottenham boss Harry Redknapp vented his anger at referee Clattenburg, claiming the official had failed to spot a handball by Nani, which led to Gomes believing Spurs had won a free-kick.

"It was handball. He put his hand on the ball and dragged it down,'' Redknapp said. "He should have been booked. The referee didn't see him handball it, that's why he's allowed play to go on. The assistant referee has seen it, that's why he's flagged.

"He's (Clattenburg) gone over and he's told him what he did, he should disallow the goal. He's handled the ball. If he's handled the ball he should be booked and it's a free-kick. So Gomes put the ball down for a free-kick.

"If you look at (Darren) Fletcher he's called Nani to get back into position because he thinks we're going to counter attack from the free-kick. Gomes puts the ball down to take a free-kick. It's obvious. Why would he stand there and leave the ball there after he saw him handball it?''

Redknapp said his side may have been able to claim a point if the goal had been disallowed, despite the fact they had already trailed to Nemanja Vidic's first-half header.

"You never know, the game lasts 90 minutes,'' Redknapp said. You dont know, we're one down we may get another opportunity to score. You don't know.''

Fletcher offered a third viewpoint - from on the pitch - saying that the referee had failed to whistle for a foul. As a result he said Nani was left with no option but to tap the ball into the unguarded net.

"The referee never blew. I don't know whether the goalkeeper thought the referee had seen a foul for simulation, but he never blew his whistle,'' he said. "The goalie puts it down and then Nani puts the ball in the net.

"It's one of those where nobody really knows what's happened, but Nani has no option other than to put the ball in the net. He's got the opportunity to score - he's got to score. We are always told to play to the whistle.''

More and more y'all manager is showing his true colors. No way that was a PK. Nani chased the ball and when he realize he cannot get it threw himself to the floor. Instead of being diplomatic about the cheat goal, he blaming player. Less than Classy.

« Reply #1925 on: October 30, 2010, 02:24:10 PM »

Since we don't get pity goals we have real time on we hand. Plus that above does nothing to put to rest that The call was ver poor.

how the call was poor? the ref aint blow he whistle play was still going on. The only person who fault the goal was, is the keeper, doh blame the ref.

« Reply #1926 on: October 30, 2010, 02:25:50 PM »
"You can look at the referee and look at the linesmen and blame them, but the goalkeeper should know better. He's an experienced goalkeeper. I thought he made a mess of it. I thought it was a penalty first of all and I think Nani felt he handled the ball. But the referee didn't blow for it.

ill highlight that, if the referee didn't blow for it, why Gomes put the ball on the ground for free kick? u cah blame the ref for that

« Reply #1927 on: October 30, 2010, 02:27:35 PM »
MAN UTD 2-0 TOTTENHAM
October 30, 2010
Soccernet

Sir Alex Ferguson believes Tottenham goalkeeper Heurelho Gomes was to blame for Manchester United's controversial second goal in their 2-0 win over Tottenham, claiming the Brazilian "should have known better''.

Nani poked home the goal after 84 minutes after Gomes had placed the ball down, seemingly thinking his side had been awarded a free-kick in his area.

Nani, who had appealed for a penalty moments earlier, then swooped to score and, after referee Mark Clattenburg consulted with his assistant, the goal was awarded to spark furious protests from the Tottenham players.

"It was bizarre," Ferguson told ESPN. "No-one knew at the time what was wrong. One minute the goalkeeper had the ball in his hands and next it's in his net. Nani looked back and looked at the referee and the referee said play on, so what can he do but put the ball in the net.[/b]

"The referee played on because the goalkeeper took possession of the ball. He then went to take a free-kick thinking it was a foul. He made an error.''

Tottenham boss Harry Redknapp vented his anger at referee Clattenburg, claiming the official had failed to spot a handball by Nani, which led to Gomes believing Spurs had won a free-kick.

"It was handball. He put his hand on the ball and dragged it down,'' Redknapp said. "He should have been booked. The referee didn't see him handball it, that's why he's allowed play to go on. The assistant referee has seen it, that's why he's flagged.

"He's (Clattenburg) gone over and he's told him what he did, he should disallow the goal. He's handled the ball. If he's handled the ball he should be booked and it's a free-kick. So Gomes put the ball down for a free-kick.

"If you look at (Darren) Fletcher he's called Nani to get back into position because he thinks we're going to counter attack from the free-kick. Gomes puts the ball down to take a free-kick. It's obvious. Why would he stand there and leave the ball there after he saw him handball it?''

Redknapp said his side may have been able to claim a point if the goal had been disallowed, despite the fact they had already trailed to Nemanja Vidic's first-half header.

"You never know, the game lasts 90 minutes,'' Redknapp said. You dont know, we're one down we may get another opportunity to score. You don't know.''

Fletcher offered a third viewpoint - from on the pitch - saying that the referee had failed to whistle for a foul. As a result he said Nani was left with no option but to tap the ball into the unguarded net.

"The referee never blew. I don't know whether the goalkeeper thought the referee had seen a foul for simulation, but he never blew his whistle,'' he said. "The goalie puts it down and then Nani puts the ball in the net.

"It's one of those where nobody really knows what's happened, but Nani has no option other than to put the ball in the net. He's got the opportunity to score - he's got to score. We are always told to play to the whistle.''

More and more y'all manager is showing his true colors. No way that was a PK. Nani chased the ball and when he realize he cannot get it threw himself to the floor. Instead of being diplomatic about the cheat goal, he blaming player. Less than Classy.

Read the bold parts Elan....

PLAY TO A WHISTLE

GOALASOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Chelsea rent boys scared boy.. 5 points ahead and they still quaking.... We coming to set Stamford Bridge on Fire in December...on fire

« Last Edit: October 30, 2010, 02:29:17 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #1928 on: October 30, 2010, 02:31:19 PM »
MAN UTD 2-0 TOTTENHAM
October 30, 2010
Soccernet

"It was bizarre," Ferguson told ESPN. "No-one knew at the time what was wrong. One minute the goalkeeper had the ball in his hands and next it's in his net. Nani looked back and looked at the referee and the referee said play on, so what can he do but put the ball in the net.[/b]

Read the bold parts Elan....

PLAY TO A WHISTLE

GOALASOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Chelsea rent boys scared boy.. 5 points ahead and they still quaking.... We coming to set Stamford Bridge on Fire in December...on fire

Scared of what? Who? Y'all could set Stamford Bridge on Fire all you want. Catch us if you can.

« Reply #1929 on: October 30, 2010, 02:33:56 PM »
Doe worry about us..we coming no matter what... and we gonna burn the Bridge to the ground

Dont slip up at Anfield next Sunday...

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1930 on: October 30, 2010, 04:48:58 PM »
just gotta say
the most disgusting part of that episode was

not the foul on nani and no whistle

not the fact nani handled the ball no whistle

not the fact gomes placed the ball ten yards further than where nani handled it

not the fact everyone but nani thought it was a dead ball situation

not the fact the ref never looked at his linesman at all and said play on

not the fact that spurs players swarmed the reff like flies on shit

but the fact that rio the manu captain was allowed to harangue the officials while they were talking it over

horrible especially in light that the goal was then allowed

a long comedy of errors but certainly does not bode well that manu captian can hold court with officals during controversy at old trafford

sickening

« Reply #1931 on: October 30, 2010, 05:04:24 PM »
just gotta say

but the fact that rio the manu captain was allowed to harangue the officials while they were talking it over

a long comedy of errors but certainly does not bode well that manu captian can hold court with officals during controversy at old trafford

sickening

Good thing Vidic is the captain  ;)  ;D

An Arsenal fan who hates United more than Spurs... good to see such loyal true fans  ::)  :beermug:

« Reply #1932 on: October 30, 2010, 05:09:42 PM »

i see that eh but i say lemme eh bring that up. Rio was basically IN the discussion between the officials.

i could understand the play if the officials missed the hand-ball and the play was active and it went down the way it did.....

But... The linesman raised his flag to call for the blatant hand-ball. Nani didn't just hands the ball, he was holding the ball and Gomes had to take it away from his grip to restart the play, all of this which the linesman saw. The referee should have blown for the hands after the linesman consulted with him to indicate what he saw, but instead decided to overrule the linesman.

The prawn sandwich eaters on here don't like to see it presented to them but guaranteed if it was Wolves or West Brom that goal was getting whistled off.

I not beating around the bush, I will go on record to say that Manchester United and Real Madrid are consistently the biggest beneficiaries of questionable calls in football. I challenged anyone to prove otherwise.

« Reply #1933 on: October 30, 2010, 05:43:08 PM »
just gotta say

sickening

This is nitpicking at nonsense. 

The foul wasn't clear cut

The ref may have been shielded from seeing the handball

The ball not being properly spotted happens all the time... was 5 yds off at best.

Clearly Nani wasn't the only one who thought it WAS NOT a dead ball situation... or else the ref would have blown his whistle. 

Even had the ref looked at the linesman, from the commentary, the linesman raised his flag well after the goal celebrations had begun. At some point he did see the flag and went over to discuss with the linesman.

The Spurs players were swarming the ref, as well as ManU players.  I wouldn't say that Rio "harangued" the ref... he had no reason to.  He was standing right there listening in, I didn't see him say or do anything... let alone anything out of the ordinary.  The ref indulged the complaints for a long time, maybe too long.  To say Rio was allowed to "hold court" with the officials is plain misleading.

« Reply #1934 on: October 30, 2010, 06:14:45 PM »
just gotta say

sickening

The ball not being properly spotted happens all the time... was 5 yds off at best.

Clearly Nani wasn't the only one who thought it WAS NOT a dead ball situation... or else the ref would have blown his whistle. 

Even had the ref looked at the linesman, from the commentary, the linesman raised his flag well after the goal celebrations had begun. At some point he did see the flag and went over to discuss with the linesman.

The Spurs players were swarming the ref, as well as ManU players.  I wouldn't say that Rio "harangued" the ref... he had no reason to.  He was standing right there listening in, I didn't see him say or do anything... let alone anything out of the ordinary.  The ref indulged the complaints for a long time, maybe too long.  To say Rio was allowed to "hold court" with the officials is plain misleading.

not to mention the linesman raised his flag after the spurs players braced him.

DId the ref give an explanation as yet? maybe he was playing the advantage and allowed gomes to pick up the ball run a number of yards away from where the handball occurred thinking that he will dump it, or drop it and kick it to his player.

« Reply #1935 on: October 30, 2010, 06:16:33 PM »
De shit, de shit, de shit!!!  :banginghead: :frustrated:

Nani gone down hoping for a penalty kick and grab the ball with his hands. Gomes place the ball for a free kick, Nani run around him and score.

The linesman raise his flag and call him over to explain that it was a free kick and the goal should not stand.

Ref overrule the linesman (oh.. we're at Old Trafford). Goal.

The shit continues.

u conveniently forgot to mention the penalty that we didnt get. or yeah....u is a chelsea fan and does only see with one eye......- the shit continues.

« Reply #1936 on: October 30, 2010, 06:23:41 PM »
what i still cah get over is the keeper put the ball down for a free kick and the referee aint blow he whistle  :rotfl: , that had me laughing dread.

« Reply #1937 on: October 30, 2010, 06:28:27 PM »
Doe worry about us..we coming no matter what... and we gonna burn the Bridge to the ground

lol...the only teams I worry about at the Bridge are City, Everton and Spurs. United will get blowout dis year, dey are worse than last year. I jus vex the game isnt until December 19th since I will be in Trinidad for xmas by then.

United's only world class attacking player is Rooney (I rate Nani very highly, probably more so than United fans, but he is yet to produce consistently). And we all know Rooney head eh right at the moment. Last year at Stamford Bridge I found it sad that United had to put out a team wid a 5 man defensive-minded midfield....and den rating up Darren Fletcher's performance for his hard tackling or some sh!t like that....a club of United's pedigree rating up a mediocre hatchet man as their best performer...sad. Community shield gave yall a false sense of security, Stamford Bridge is a different matter entirely and this season will be no better for yall.

« Reply #1938 on: October 30, 2010, 06:31:33 PM »

lol...the only teams I worry about at the Bridge are City, Everton and Spurs. United will get blowout dis year, dey are worse than last year. I jus vex the game isnt until December 19th since I will be in Trinidad for xmas by then.

United's only world class attacking player is Rooney (I rate Nani very highly, probably more so than United fans, but he is yet to produce consistently). And we all know Rooney head eh right at the moment. Last year at Stamford Bridge I found it sad that United had to put out a team wid a 5 man defensive-minded midfield....and den rating up Darren Fletcher's performance for his hard tackling or some sh!t like that....a club of United's pedigree rating up a mediocre hatchet man as their best performer...sad. Community shield gave yall a false sense of security, Stamford Bridge is a different matter entirely and this season will be no better for yall.

wait i now remember, didnt yall beat us and took the table lead with a offside goal from drogba earlier on this year?

where the chelsea fans who say the refs does favor utd?
- the shit continues.....

« Reply #1939 on: October 30, 2010, 08:30:59 PM »
Nani should not have handled and Gomes should not have put the ball down, but all that could have been corrected had the referee listened to the linesman.
That linesman is a real bobolee to have the ref disrespectin him so.  He shoulda hit Clattenberg a slap fuh dat.

« Reply #1940 on: October 30, 2010, 11:27:55 PM »
De shit, de shit, de shit!!!  :banginghead: :frustrated:

Nani gone down hoping for a penalty kick and grab the ball with his hands. Gomes place the ball for a free kick, Nani run around him and score.

The linesman raise his flag and call him over to explain that it was a free kick and the goal should not stand.

Ref overrule the linesman (oh.. we're at Old Trafford). Goal.

The shit continues.

u conveniently forgot to mention the penalty that we didnt get. or yeah....u is a chelsea fan and does only see with one eye......- the shit continues.

What no penalty call you all keep on about. Nani was chasing the bal for at least 2 steps before deciding to play goalie himself.

« Reply #1941 on: October 31, 2010, 01:35:36 AM »

wait i now remember, didnt yall beat us and took the table lead with a offside goal from drogba earlier on this year?

yup, we won 2-1 wid a drogba offside goal. funny how United fans remember that, but not the fact that Macheda's goal was handball  ;D

« Reply #1942 on: October 31, 2010, 04:30:23 AM »

yup, we won 2-1 wid a drogba offside goal. funny how United fans remember that, but not the fact that Macheda's goal was handball  ;D

They also forget the penalty that wasn't given when gary neville abused Anelka in the box.  They also forget the nasty foul that ferdinand committed against Anelka that went unpunished......sometimes I think manu does really pay off these officials oui!  The shit DOES continue.....for manu. STEUPS!

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #1943 on: October 31, 2010, 05:27:50 AM »
just gotta say

sickening

DId the ref give an explanation as yet? maybe he was playing the advantage and allowed gomes to pick up the ball run a number of yards away from where the handball occurred thinking that he will dump it, or drop it and kick it to his player.

The ref hasn't given an explanation but the footage has been shown.  When Gomes puts it down the ref gestures / moves as to say "What the hell you doing", Nani obviously seen it aswell as he was walking back, so he put the ball into the net.  The ref was just playing on (as he tends to try to do most matches tbf) as Gomes had the ball and there was no need to blow for a foul, he was probably just thinking it was better for Spuds if Gomes could kick it from his hands.  At the end, Gomes can be clearly heard having a go at him for the handball and he just simply says he never whistled and he should play to the whistle. 

My thoughts a lot of teh balme has to be put at Gomes's door, if I hadn't seen the footage of the ref acting like he did I would probably be blaming him aswell tbh.

« Reply #1944 on: October 31, 2010, 05:52:55 AM »
just gotta say

sickening

The ref hasn't given an explanation but the footage has been shown.  When Gomes puts it down the ref gestures / moves as to say "What the hell you doing", Nani obviously seen it aswell as he was walking back, so he put the ball into the net.  The ref was just playing on (as he tends to try to do most matches tbf) as Gomes had the ball and there was no need to blow for a foul, he was probably just thinking it was better for Spuds if Gomes could kick it from his hands.  At the end, Gomes can be clearly heard having a go at him for the handball and he just simply says he never whistled and he should play to the whistle. 

My thoughts a lot of teh balme has to be put at Gomes's door, if I hadn't seen the footage of the ref acting like he did I would probably be blaming him aswell tbh.
Couldn't agree with you more.  I am a Gomes fan but he did nonsense in this case.  The issue of rio harassing the officials seems to be about him having (or seeming to have) a go at the linesman after the ref held conference with the linesman and awarded the goal.  To me, there was no need for that at that point.

« Reply #1945 on: October 31, 2010, 06:46:34 AM »
Ferguson rules out January signings

http://www.google.com/hostednews/ukpress/article/ALeqM5gcuYwDTnLB7x5Gktk74SnTxIuhWA?docId=N0075511288512088020A

Sir Alex Ferguson has ruled out making any new signings in the January transfer window.

The Manchester United boss saw his side beat Tottenham 2-0 in the Barclays Premier League on Saturday to sit five points behind leaders Chelsea.

And he claimed there was no need to bring any new players to Old Trafford in over the winter, telling the Independent: "We won't be buying in January, definitely not."

He added: "If you want someone to play in Europe, you are limited right away. There are hundreds of players cup-tied.

"You have five months left of the season, I will have Antonio Valencia back hopefully towards the end of February, which is a new player coming back. If Michael Owen gets back, it is another new player coming back. So with the squad I've got, I don't see any reason for us to buy anyone."

Ferguson also revealed Wayne Rooney is not set to return from his ankle injury for another five weeks.

"I think Wayne Rooney will be out for another five weeks," he added in the Sunday Express.

"He'll have to pick up his fitness again. I would think five weeks should be about right."

« Reply #1946 on: October 31, 2010, 08:50:22 AM »

Why would the ref be questioning Gomes' actions in the scenario you paint?  I didn't see the footage you cite but chances are you are misinterpreting his actions.  Gomes has the option once he picks up the ball to boot it, throw it or put it back down and play it to a team mate.  Even if what you state is correct and he didn't blow, he has a duty to consult with the assistant on fouls which he may have missed.  He missed Nani's foul... just like the ref in 2006 initially missed Zidane's foul on Materrazzi.  All of this rationalization after the fact and putting the blame "at Gomes' door" is just a convenient way to cover up for the fact that the ref f**ked things up royally. 

« Reply #1947 on: October 31, 2010, 09:01:45 AM »
Not only should it have been a free kick for Spurs, Nani should also have been given a yellow card for deliberate handball.

Any Man U supporters in here disagree with the call as yet?  No becuz allyuh is a setta classless whores.  :rotfl:

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1948 on: November 01, 2010, 07:15:14 AM »
just gotta say

sickening

firstly i am not nitpicking, you play to a whistle and thats final!

what i am saying disgust me most is rio being allowed to talk at the ref n lino while the two are talking it over

fact mere seconds after he shoos away the spurs players he allows a manu player (senior one too) to speak at both of them, with out once gesturing rio away bad image, very bad, no consistency in his officiating

number one thing a reff must do is uphold the SPIRIT of the game

saying it again so you understand

it was a long comedy of errors that i pointed out but highlighted to worst part that was ignored

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1949 on: November 01, 2010, 08:22:07 AM »
let me say

as farcical as it was the goal stands simply because the reff did not blow his whistle the ball was live
(the reff, FA and FIFA will hide behind that)

sorry spurs fans its as much a kick in the face as that mendez goal

lesson to all footballers

PLAY TO THE WHISTLE!!

still think the officals in this day and age suck ass