April 29, 2024, 06:35:57 AM

Author Topic: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions  (Read 923485 times)

Offline xixgon

Re: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions
« Reply #3090 on: May 23, 2011, 09:11:25 AM »
The Worst United Team In Years?

1. Won the league by 9 points

2. Contains the Premier League’s top scorer (21).

3. Enjoyed the best home form in Sir Alex Ferguson’s reign, winning 18 and drawing 1.

4. Picked up more points than the Treble winning side of 1999.

5. Booked a place in the European Cup final.

6. Contains the player with the most Premier League assists (18).

7. Lost 4 games, which was at least 4 games less than any other club.

8. Scored more goals than any other club (78).

9. Failed to score in just 5 games, which was less than any other club.

Courtesy of the Republik of Mancunia.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2011, 09:13:21 AM by xixgon »

« Reply #3091 on: May 23, 2011, 11:49:03 AM »
Ryan Giggs named by MP as injunction footballer
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-13503847

A married footballer named on Twitter as having an injunction over an alleged affair with a reality TV star has been identified in Parliament as Ryan Giggs.

Lib Dem MP John Hemming named the player during an urgent Commons question on privacy orders.

Using parliamentary privilege to break the court order, he said it would not be practical to imprison the 75,000 Twitter users who had named the player.

Earlier the High Court again ruled that the injunction should not be lifted.

The player, whose injunction says he can only be identified as CTB, obtained the order against ex-Big Brother contestant Imogen Thomas, who is a former Miss Wales, and the Sun newspaper.

Parliamentary privilege protects MPs and peers from prosecution for statements made in the House of Commons or House of Lords.

Addressing MPs, Mr Hemming said: "Mr Speaker, with about 75,000 people having named Ryan Giggs it is obviously impracticable to imprison them all."

House of Commons speaker John Bercow interrupted the MP saying: "Let me just say to the honourable gentleman, I know he's already done it, but occasions such as this are occasions for raising the issues of principle involved, not seeking to flout for whatever purpose."
'Protect family'

In court, Mr Justice Eady rejected a fresh application by Sun publisher News Group Newspapers to discharge the privacy injunction.

The judge said: "The court's duty remains to try and protect the claimant, and particularly his family, from intrusion and harassment so long as it can."

On Sunday, a Scottish paper named Mr Giggs as being the footballer identified on Twitter.

The Attorney General Dominic Grieve told the Commons the prime minister had asked for a joint committee of peers and MPs to investigate the use of privacy orders.

David Cameron has written a letter to John Whittingdale, chairman of the Commons culture committee, recommending the setting up of a new body.

Earlier he told ITV1's Daybreak that banning newspapers from naming such stars while the information was widely available on the internet was both "unsustainable" and "unfair".

Mr Whittingdale told the Commons developments in this area were "moving very rapidly".

"You virtually need to be living in an igloo not to know the identity of at least one of the premiership footballers.

"We are in danger of making the law look like an ass."

The footballer's lawyers had previously obtained a High Court order asking Twitter to reveal details of users who had revealed his identity after thousands named him.
'Attention-seeking'

John Hemming later told the BBC why he had named Mr Giggs.

"Basically when he... showed that he was going to go after relatively normal people and try and prosecute them, for gossiping about him on a matter of trivia, I think he has to be held to account for that," he said.

But Alastair Campbell, Labour's former director of communications said it was the action of an "attention-seeking" MP.

He told the BBC: "[There] are a lot of self-serving voices coming on, those that are involved in newspapers, those that are involved in people trying to get this story out.

"And frankly I think we have to start differentiating between the public interest, and a proper definition of what that means, and stories that the media decide the public people might be interested in... it's not the same thing."

In another case brought by a separate footballer, known to the court as TSE, a High Court judge ruled on Monday that comments on Twitter about the private life of a famous person did not mean there should be no injunction preventing newspapers from publishing stories about him.

Midfielder Ryan Giggs, 37, is Manchester United's most senior player, having appeared in 613 games.

He celebrated with the team at Old Trafford on Sunday as they lifted the Premier League trophy for a record 19th time, and is expected to be in the squad to face Barcelona in Saturday's European Champions League final at Wembley.

The player, who made 64 appearances for Wales before retiring from international football in 2007, was awarded an OBE that year.

He was named BBC Sports Personality of the Year in 2009.

Offline dotless007

« Reply #3092 on: May 23, 2011, 02:53:45 PM »
he'll shag who he wants, he'll shag who he wants...that boy giggsy, he'll shag who he wants

« Reply #3093 on: May 23, 2011, 03:19:28 PM »

« Reply #3094 on: May 23, 2011, 05:58:48 PM »
Steups he covering for Darron Gibson...

« Reply #3095 on: May 23, 2011, 06:20:30 PM »
Steups he covering for Darron Gibson...

LOl! Is Dwight fault for introducing her to him! Nothing surprises me anymore when it comes to people I know and don't know!

« Reply #3096 on: May 23, 2011, 08:31:43 PM »
The Worst United Team In Years?

The worst United team was the one that got demoted to d2 about 25 yrs ago.

« Reply #3097 on: May 24, 2011, 08:30:10 AM »
Reports in Spain say that United sign DeGea!

« Reply #3098 on: May 24, 2011, 08:53:03 AM »

he good?  ???

« Reply #3099 on: May 24, 2011, 08:55:30 AM »
Atletico keeper De Gea to sign five-year contract with Manchester United as clubs agree £17.8m deal

EXCLUSIVE

Manchester United have agreed a £17.8million deal for Atletico Madrid goalkeeper David De Gea.
Sportsmail revealed last month that Sir Alex Ferguson had identified the 20-year-old as the replacement for Edwin van der Sar and the clubs have now reached an agreement which will see De Gea sign a five-year deal at Old Trafford.

De Gea narrowly missed out on a place in Spain’s World Cup squad last summer but is considered the long-term replacement for current No 1 Iker Casillas
Atletico Madrid chief executive Miguel Angel Gil Marin claimed on Tuesday night that both Manchester United and Chelsea have made offers for the young keeper.
Gil Marin told Spanish radio station Cadena SER: 'We’ve received offers from both United and Chelsea, while he also has an offer from us to renew his deal.
'We’d like him to stay here, but David’s future is entirely in his own hands.'
Ferguson does not want to repeat the mistakes he made when Peter Schmeichel left the club in 1999.

Until Van der Sar arrived from Fulham in 2005 for £2m, United had failed to find a suitable successor for the Great Dane with a succession of failures lining up between the posts.
Mark Bosnich, Massimmo Taibi, Fabien Barthez, Roy Carroll, Ricardo and Tim Howard all tried but ultimately failed to provide a long-term solution for Ferguson before he turned to the Dutchman.
United are aware that paying so much for such a young player like De Gea is a huge gamble but they are convinced by the 6ft 3in star’s quality and have chosen him ahead of Schalke’s Manuel Neuer, Inter Milan’s Julio Cesar and Ajax’s Maarten Stekelenburg.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1376667/Manchester-United-sign-David-De-Gea.html

« Reply #3100 on: May 24, 2011, 08:59:46 AM »
Very undecided about this... He is very highly rated but his age(20) just seems like its too soon for him..replacing Edwin with that expectation and pressure

but say what..In Fergie we Trust... lets hope for the best If it is him

Now lets go get Modric

« Reply #3101 on: May 24, 2011, 09:06:44 AM »

he good?  ???

He borse... I vex

« Reply #3102 on: May 24, 2011, 09:41:25 AM »
We can stop Lionel Messi, declares Sir Alex Ferguson

The Manchester United manager insists his side will be able to contain the Ballon d'Or winner at Wembley

Sir Alex Ferguson faces the media at United's Carrington training ground

European player of the year Lionel Messi can be stopped, according to Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

Speaking ahead of Saturday’s Champions League final against Barcelona at Wembley, the Scot was bullish about his side’s chances of containing the Argentine maestro.
“We have played against Barcelona three times with Messi in the team,” said Ferguson. “But there is always a solution to every good player. Hopefully we can find one on Saturday.
“They have other good players though, and so do we. That is why it is such an appealing game. I am sure Barcelona are aware of that.”
While Barcelona are the favourites to triumph in London on Saturday, Ferguson insists his team should not be overlooked.
“It’s not just about Barcelona, it’s about us too, what’s best for us and the best way of winning the match,” he continued.

The Spanish champions cruised to 2-0 victory when the sides last met in the 2009 final in Rome, but Ferguson insists that disappointing night will not play on his stars’ minds.
“There is no advantage,” he added. “It doesn’t matter. We don’t decide those things. I know my players will be ready.”

Instead, he is focusing on the two meetings from a year before, where United recorded a 1-0 aggregate win over the Catalan giants to book their place in the 2008 final against Chelsea – which they went on to win on penalties.

Ferguson believes total concentration was the reason behind his side’s 2008 triumph, and he admits his side must once again be fully focused if they are to lift the European Cup for a third time.
“We showed fantastic concentration in those two ties,” he said. “We lost the first goal because of a sudden lapse in concentration and we had to regroup and that was what cost us really. That is the key for us. It is an important issue in terms of Saturday.”

Midfielder Ryan Giggs missed training on the day after he was identified in Parliament as the married footballer named on Twitter as having an injunction over an alleged affair with a reality TV star.
And when asked about the Welshman’s importance to his side, Ferguson simply replied: “All the players are important to us.”

The United boss was then caught by Sky News microphones asking the club’s press officer Karen Shotbolt to ban the journalist, Rob Harris from Associated Press, from Friday’s news conference at Wembley.

http://www.thesportreview.com/tsr/2011/05/we-can-stop-lionel-messi-declares-sir-alex-ferguson/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

« Reply #3103 on: May 24, 2011, 10:06:25 AM »

he good?  ???

He borse... I vex

I hadda go and watch them Atletico games on ESPN3 now.

I not too impressed. I doubt it have much between him and Stekelenburg I woulda prefer the more experienced player. He mighta be cheaper too. But yuh never know maybe that wasn't an option.

The upside is that it have money to spend and Ferguson keeps getting good youths in so that when he eventually leaves there will be good players to work with.

« Reply #3104 on: May 24, 2011, 10:45:38 AM »
The few games i've seen him play he has been very good.. A very athletic and agile young keeper, kinda remind me of a young Casillas. In one of the games I saw he was real flying, and he used his feet alot to make reflex saves which I like to see keepers do.

On the flipside, I saw a couple young keeper errors like parrying the ball back into play and kicking out wild under pressure. That is the drawback with a young keeper, you get the agility and speed but the positioning, calmness and control of space which the best keepers have does only come with experience. Van Der Sar is so good he could probably go on for another 2 years even if he lost some spring. He was Man Utd player of the season in my books.

And then it never easy for a foreign keeper coming to the EPL as the refs offer no protection. It can be very unsettling as a keeper to have a wild man Keven Davies jumping into you full under "get stuck in lads" and the ref sucking the whistle. Reina and Gomes had problems with that recently and they came with much more experience.

« Reply #3105 on: May 24, 2011, 12:42:27 PM »
This is why players will play for this man. Circle the wagons and back your players and staff.

Ferguson tries to get journalist banned for asking Giggs question

« Reply #3106 on: May 24, 2011, 12:46:07 PM »
Man Utd break £60m in earnings

Manchester United have become the first club to top the £60 million mark in earnings from Premier League prize money and TV cash.

United earned £60.4 million as the new record overseas TV deals saw top-flight clubs bring in up to £7 million more than last season.

Blackpool were the lowest earners of the Premier League but still saw £39.1 million go into their coffers, while Chelsea earned £57.7 million, Manchester City £55.5 million and Arsenal £56.2 million.

The figures released by the Premier League also show that it has the smallest difference in earnings between the champions and the bottom club in terms of ratio of any major league in Europe.

England's top club earned 1.54 times as much as the bottom in TV money - down from 1.66 last season. In Spain, where TV rights are negotiated on a club-by-club basis, Real Madrid and Barcelona earn 12.5 times more than the smallest clubs in La Liga.

Premier League chief executive Richard Scudamore said: ''We believe that our income distribution mechanism, the most equitable of Europe's major football leagues, rewards sporting success while also guaranteeing a significant amount to each club in order that they can plan from one season to the next.

''Many have commented on the competitive nature of this season's Barclays Premier League.

''The clubs deserve huge credit for putting on a fantastic competition. We believe the way we distribute broadcast income plays a part in allowing each club to compete at the highest level.''

The Premier League distributes TV rights money based partly on performance, partly via equal shares of TV income, and partly on the number of times a club's matches are screened live on domestic television.

This season, each club received £13.8 million as the equal share of domestic TV rights and £17.9 million as the equal share of overseas TV rights.

On top of that, every place in the Premier League table is worth £756,000 - bottom club West Ham received that amount and champions Manchester United £15.1 million.

Facility fees of £582,000 are paid to a club every time they play in a live TV match - with a minimum income of £5.82 million even if a club has been involved in fewer than 10 live games.

The Premier League also pay out £15 million each in parachute payments to previously relegated clubs Hull, Burnley, Portsmouth and Middlesbrough. The three relegated clubs this season will receive the same amount.

« Reply #3107 on: May 24, 2011, 12:49:30 PM »
This is why players will play for this man. Circle the wagons and back your players and staff.

Ferguson tries to get journalist banned for asking Giggs question

It just sets the tone for the rest of the press conferences leading up to the final for these journalists. Watch what you ask or you will no longer have access. Some of these media people just love to stir it up and up to no good. Fergies also not stupid; he wants zero distractions to interfere with this opportunity to win this trophy.

« Reply #3108 on: May 24, 2011, 12:52:11 PM »
Man Utd break £60m in earnings

Manchester United have become the first club to top the £60 million mark in earnings from Premier League prize money and TV cash.

United earned £60.4 million as the new record overseas TV deals saw top-flight clubs bring in up to £7 million more than last season.

Blackpool were the lowest earners of the Premier League but still saw £39.1 million go into their coffers, while Chelsea earned £57.7 million, Manchester City £55.5 million and Arsenal £56.2 million.

The figures released by the Premier League also show that it has the smallest difference in earnings between the champions and the bottom club in terms of ratio of any major league in Europe.

England's top club earned 1.54 times as much as the bottom in TV money - down from 1.66 last season. In Spain, where TV rights are negotiated on a club-by-club basis, Real Madrid and Barcelona earn 12.5 times more than the smallest clubs in La Liga.

Premier League chief executive Richard Scudamore said: ''We believe that our income distribution mechanism, the most equitable of Europe's major football leagues, rewards sporting success while also guaranteeing a significant amount to each club in order that they can plan from one season to the next.

''Many have commented on the competitive nature of this season's Barclays Premier League.

''The clubs deserve huge credit for putting on a fantastic competition. We believe the way we distribute broadcast income plays a part in allowing each club to compete at the highest level.''

The Premier League distributes TV rights money based partly on performance, partly via equal shares of TV income, and partly on the number of times a club's matches are screened live on domestic television.

This season, each club received £13.8 million as the equal share of domestic TV rights and £17.9 million as the equal share of overseas TV rights.

On top of that, every place in the Premier League table is worth £756,000 - bottom club West Ham received that amount and champions Manchester United £15.1 million.

Facility fees of £582,000 are paid to a club every time they play in a live TV match - with a minimum income of £5.82 million even if a club has been involved in fewer than 10 live games.

The Premier League also pay out £15 million each in parachute payments to previously relegated clubs Hull, Burnley, Portsmouth and Middlesbrough. The three relegated clubs this season will receive the same amount.

To bad some it may be going to line the Glazers' family pockets! They really fortunate this team continues to be successful since they bought them. Let's hope for more financial stabilty by the time Fergie leaves because good knows it could go down hill really fast!

« Reply #3109 on: May 24, 2011, 02:55:11 PM »
well apparently De Gea has been signed for 17 million pounds.. official announcement to be made Monday

Welcome David

« Reply #3110 on: May 24, 2011, 04:00:30 PM »
Fergie confirms De Gea deal
Gifted young goalkeeper brought in to replace Van der Sar

Outstanding replacement

The Scot told Sky Sports News: "We've been working on it for quite a while, we identified him a while back as one we should go for.

"He's a young goalkeeper, very quick, with good composure and presence. He's an outstanding replacement for Edwin van der Sar.

"We were looking for someone with the same types of qualities. One great quality Edwin always had was his composure and organisational ability.

"David De Gea is very similar that way."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_6950673,00.html

« Reply #3111 on: May 24, 2011, 04:15:56 PM »
He built just like edwin too , tall frame . He looks like a young Van der sar

« Reply #3112 on: May 24, 2011, 06:02:09 PM »
well apparently De Gea has been signed for 17 million pounds.. official announcement to be made Monday

Welcome David

Good buy

« Reply #3113 on: May 25, 2011, 06:27:53 PM »
  I love these twins; they seem to have the correct attitude and an asset to the side!

Champions League final: Barcelona v Manchester United, Wembley, Saturday 28 May 7.45pm
Fábio and Rafael: twins united in mission for the Republic of Silva

Only one of the Brazilian brothers will start at Wembley but both believe Manchester United can hurt Barcelona

Fernando Duarte   guardian.co.uk, Wednesday 25 May 2011 22.01 BST

Luiz Henrique da Silva giggles at the question: how do you spot the difference between Rafael and Fábio? The big brother, who came to England to look after the Brazilian twins, seems genuinely puzzled by how, as in the lyrics of the chant that echoes around Old Trafford, when the boys run down the pitch, one can't say which is which. "When they were babies it was hard, and my mom managed to feed Rafa or Fábio a bottle twice," Luiz Henrique says. "But now they are totally different in the way they look and behave."
He observes how Fábio moves his arm oddly when he runs and the chickenpox spots and scars on Rafael's face.
But uncertainty remains in the Manchester United dressing room, with even Sir Alex Ferguson confusing the duo. Fábio says: "There was a match where he came to me in the dressing room and started to tell me off, but calling me Rafael. He still gets us confused, but it doesn't matter. Sir Alex knows everything about football and he loves the Brazilian style. He is crazy about Cafu, our idol."

That "style" is another trait the pair have in common, and in terms of ability there is little to separate them. The brothers have been fighting for the same position in the team since Ferguson began experimenting with Fábio, a right-footed left-back, on the side of the pitch for which Rafael was originally signed to occupy. As a result Rafael will likely be sat with the Scotsman on the bench at the start of the Champions League final at Wembley, with Fábio expected to make the starting XI. Rather than sulk, however, Rafael sees half full a glass that until very recently risked emptiness.

"I am happy to see my brother bouncing back after a difficult start at United," he explains. "He got injured a few times and didn't get many games in the first two seasons. There was even talk about him being loaned out. We have been together throughout our entire career and would love to keep it this way for as long as possible."

The 20-year-olds live together at the same house in Cheshire with their wives and Luiz Henrique, who is also married and has a daughter. As well as Brazilian TV channels, the troupe appreciate the expatriated cuisine and the scent of black bean stew can be detected emanating from the kitchen. Carla, Rafael's other half, calls their home the Republic of Silva, with the twins' parents and other relatives from Brazil sometimes spending time there too. "The boys are very quiet in terms of social life," she says. "They say that after all the travelling and training the last thing they want is to go out. Sometimes we nag them a bit and might get to go to a restaurant, but most of the time we are all here."

After three seasons at Old Trafford, the twins feel integrated into the United ethos and praise Ferguson for helping them settle. Even when Rafael's sending off against Bayern Munich in the 2009-10 Champions League quarter-finals cost United dearly, the Brazilian was not on the receiving end of the hairdryer in the dressing room. "He was angry but it was more a paternal dressing-down than anything at full blast. It actually made me feel more ashamed than if he had screamed. But he always talks to us about taking time to learn with our mistakes and not being too anxious."

They are also thankful for Ferguson's comprehension of their bond. "He understood when I went down the dressing room to see my brother after he got hit badly in the head [against Blackpool last January]," says Fábio, who would otherwise have replaced Rafael on the pitch. His familial duty was also tested during a run-in with Craig Bellamy. "Dirty player, always moaning and trying to wind people up. He pulled Rafa's hair once and I wanted to punch him."

Looking after each other was something they learned early on. Sons of working-class parents, the twins grew up in Rio de Janeiro's Peak District, where rich country houses share space with more humble surroundings. Football saved them from menial work, and they are proud of their father's job as a porter in a deluxe condominium. "We are grateful for what he and my mom have done for us," Rafael says. "We didn't have much but were never obsessed with money. I guess that helped us a lot when United came knocking."

They claim to have turned down an offer from Arsenal because it would have bypassed their then club, Fluminense, in the negotiations. "My mum was adamant," Fábio explains. "We could not turn our backs to the club that took us on when we were only 11, even though they then refused to allow us to play in the first team when the contract with United was signed."

The episode is still brought up in the Brazilian media as the twins became a symbol of a new era where younger talent would, as the Portuguese phrase goes, take the airport way. Signed at 16, Rafael and Fábio had previously arranged to play a season for Fluminense so that the transition to the Premier League would not look so daunting, but there was a change of directors and the boys were told by no less than World Cup winner and former full-back Branco that they were surplus to requirements. "Some supporters thought that we were the ones refusing to play but I reckon people understand it now," says Rafael. "If we ever play in Brazil again, we would definitely listen to Fluminense, as much as my brother and I support [local rivals] Botafogo."

The twins ended up as full-backs by accident. In their early days in the Fluminense academy, based in the outskirts of Rio, Rafael's preference for the right side of the pitch had more to do with escaping the scorching heat than beating his marker. "The training pitch had a shadow on the right side and I, then a midfielder, went through there a couple of times during a game so I could escape the sun," he recalls. "The manager liked it and moved me to right-back."

Fábio's journey to the left side was more circuitous. Originally a striker who once fed off his brother's long balls to score goals galore in a local team in Petrópolis (a mountain town near Rio and historically important for hosting the Brazilian emperor's summer palace), at Fluminense he struggled to find a place until the first choice left-back was dropped because of forged documentation. "The manager put me there and I ended up enjoying it more than playing up front, as much as Sir Alex sometimes has to remind us that we can't bomb forward as much as Brazilians full-backs do."

On Saturday United will come up against one such player, Barcelona's Dani Alves. The Da Silvas are respectful of the Catalan team but see no reason why they should be apprehensive about sharing the same pitch. "We have a side full of confidence and good players and shouldn't fear Barcelona," Fábio says. Rafael, as he often does, enforces his brother's viewpoint. "I don't see why we can't hurt them if we stick to a game plan where we don't make the same mistakes made by some of their opponents. Basically, Barcelona do not like being attacked or pressured. We need to make them feel uncomfortable."

Our conversation is in Portuguese but the twins' English is not as hesitant as might be expected in their discussion with the photographer. It is good enough to understand a rare joke by Paul Scholes – "He is a quiet guy and nobody expects him to say something funny, but all of sudden he will," says Rafael – and to realise they should not push Wayne Rooney too hard during kickabouts. "Wayne can get quite competitive, but that's why he's such a great player," explains Fábio. Nani still amazes the twins with his tricks and they also admire how Dimitar Berbatov casually executes plays.

In the dressing room Rio Ferdinand has filled the role performed by their brother at home. "He was always joking with us since the beginning, trying to make us relax," says Rafael. No doubt the twins will be similarly supporting each other on Saturday, even if only one can make the starting line-up.

« Reply #3114 on: May 26, 2011, 04:34:07 AM »
Came across this by mistake. Hadn't seen it before; enjoy  :beermug:

Pitchside footage of the last 3 mins of the 1999 Champions League final
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LC_f9CB1Pmg

« Reply #3115 on: May 26, 2011, 09:18:18 AM »
Came across this by mistake. Hadn't seen it before; enjoy  :beermug:

Pitchside footage of the last 3 mins of the 1999 Champions League final
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LC_f9CB1Pmg

thanks !  :beermug:

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #3116 on: May 27, 2011, 12:03:03 PM »
it would tickle me no end to see manu lose tomorrow

but here's why i think they can win it

Van der sar final bow he is awesome and will want to go out on the highest of highs that he can

chicarito is a booby trap waiting to spring into action at a moment notice

park engery fuh days

giggs will brain f**k barca smartest footballer after bergkamp

depending on which rooney nani rio vidic and evra turn up and barca will have to play the most perfect game they ever played to win

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #3117 on: May 28, 2011, 05:10:42 PM »
That taste in your mouth now Manu fans, its called humble pie!
« Last Edit: May 28, 2011, 06:27:53 PM by GunnerStunner »

« Reply #3118 on: May 28, 2011, 06:50:07 PM »
Barcelona gave us a hiding, says Man Utd boss Ferguson

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson labelled Barcelona "the best team I have faced" after his side's 3-1 defeat in the Champions League final.

The Spaniards put on a stunning display of passing, movement and clinical finishing at Wembley to lift the European Cup for the fourth time.

Wayne Rooney equalised after Pedro scored, but goals from Lionel Messi and David Villa left United well beaten.

"Nobody's given us a hiding like that but they deserve it," Ferguson said.

"They play the right way and they enjoy their football. They do mesmerize you with their passing and we never really did control Messi. But many people have said that.

"In my time as manager, it's the best team I've faced."

Having already experienced defeat by Barcelona in a Champions League final - in Rome in 2009 - Ferguson was desperate not for history to repeat itself.

But his side were outplayed and outclassed, with Messi at the heart of everything good about Barcelona - and there was plenty that was good.

Ferguson compared Saturday's loss to the famous 4-0 drubbing United received from Barcelona at the Nou Camp in 1994, a result which helped redefine his team's approach to European competitions.

"It's not going to be easy, but that's the challenge," Ferguson said. "You shouldn't be afraid of a challenge. The one thing we have shown is that we are consistent in Europe.

"This may be the kind of stepping stone that we had some years ago when we got beaten 4-0. We improved after that and we want to improve after tonight."

Barcelona's victory was their second triumph in the Champions League in three years - and their third in five years.

Ferguson admitted that Barcelona would be difficult to beat so long as their star players Messi, Andres Iniesta and Xavi Hernandez remained in their ranks.

"I think that great teams do go in cycles, and I think the cycle they're in at the moment makes them the best in Europe, there's no question of that," said the Scot.

"How long it lasts, whether they can replace that team at a certain point, who knows? But they certainly have the philosophy.

"It's always difficult to say whether you'll be able to replace players like Xavi and Iniesta at a certain point. Probably not. But they are enjoying the moment and they deserve to because they play football the right way."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/13587100.stm

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

« Reply #3119 on: May 28, 2011, 06:56:59 PM »
How come these da Silva twins have so many fitness problems? Cramp?!?
Victoria concordia crescit