April 24, 2024, 09:46:58 PM

Author Topic: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions  (Read 918596 times)

Re: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions
« Reply #3690 on: December 11, 2011, 08:54:35 PM »
all i have to say is this:

we are all just fans, we do nothing that directly affects the team and how they play, maybe if we are actually at each game screaming our heads off.
BUT
buying a shirt and backing "ah bess side" doesnt give ANY of us the right to shit on another human being for solely backing another side.
be it banter or picong should remain team/player/manager focused and NOT directed at the supporter.

the quicker we realise this and do not engage tollerate and teach the younger one how to be real FOOTBALL fans the more fun we will have. now i a man cant take talk about his sides performance thats his problem and should take up golf

just remember, nothing lasts forever, manu fans in particular will find that lesson the hardest to learn simpy because of the great heights they have been lifted to by thier manager and the players he controlled NOT by wearing a shirt and shouting glory glory man united. i have alwayssaid i like manu the club an drespect thie rachievements i do not like how thier fans treat other supporters of other clubs. wlcome to the beginning of the end of an era

Yuh think this is Assenal ah wat? :rotfl: :rotfl: Yuh wish this is the end huh? Time and time again Man.United has made their haters swallow the shit they like to spit. I don't think anyone said that we would win every competition every year, so it's not like we immune to defeat, however, we have always bounced back from competition elimination, league defeats and players personal controversy. So I don't see us crumbling like some of you all would love to see. We may not win shit this year and I'll be the first to say that I would be very disappointed, but I know it won't stop Man.United from being a top competitive club in Europe.

« Reply #3691 on: December 13, 2011, 05:07:29 PM »
Ulcerative Colitis. This is a serious matter. All the best Darren!!

Manchester United's Darren Fletcher out indefinitely with illness

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/dec/13/manchester-united-darren-fletcher-illness/print

Darren Fletcher has been forced to take an 'extended break' from football as he battles with ulcerative colitis.
Manchester United have suffered another serious setback in their defence of the Premier League title amid fears at Old Trafford that Darren Fletcher's career is on the line because of the health issues that have ruled him out for the season and left Sir Alex Ferguson with a gaping hole in his midfield.

Fletcher is taking what United have described as an "extended break" after doctors warned him he was putting his health at serious risk by continuing to play despite the rare bowel condition that has affected him for the last year.

United are so concerned about the health of the Scotland international captain they have been unable to put any timescale on how long he will need out of the game, or even guarantee that he will be able to resume his career.

Until now, the champions have attributed Fletcher's spells out of the team to a mystery virus, but the club have now disclosed they did this purely "to respect his right to medical confidentiality" and, with the player's consent, released more details in a statement that makes clear the seriousness of the issue.

"Darren has, in fact, been suffering from ulcerative colitis, a chronic inflammatory bowel condition, for some time preceding this [last year]," the statement said. "While he was able to maintain remission of symptoms for a considerable period, this has proved more difficult recently and Darren's continued desire to play and his loyalty to both his club and country has probably compromised the chances of optimising his health and fitness.

"He has therefore accepted medical advice to take an extended break from the demands of training and playing in order to afford himself the best chance possible of achieving full remission once again."

The news comes within a week of United's elimination from the Champions League coinciding with Nemanja Vidic rupturing his cruciate knee ligaments, an injury that will keep the club captain out for a minimum nine months. United do, however, have cover in the centre of defence whereas Fletcher's absence threatens to be a considerable blow given Ferguson's already significant problems in midfield.

Anderson has been ruled out until February with a knee problem, while Tom Cleverley will be missing until January with an ankle injury, and the club's failure to bring in the top-quality central midfielder that Ferguson wanted in the summer has led to Phil Jones and Wayne Rooney both being tried in the position.

United had tried, and failed, to sign Wesley Sneijder from Internazionale and Samir Nasri from Arsenal, and the club now have little option but to consider going into the January transfer market. Ferguson stated last Friday that he had "nothing in mind at the moment" but the issue is now so serious it is almost inconceivable that he will not at least look at potential targets.

Uppermost in Ferguson's thoughts, however, is the seriousness of Fletcher's condition and the feeling behind the scenes at Old Trafford that he needs to put his health first, whatever the ramifications for his employers. United rarely release public statements about player injuries or medical conditions and the fact they felt willing to break this policy is another demonstration of how grave their concerns are for a 27-year-old who should be at the peak of his game.

Fletcher, who has made 302 appearances for United and won 58 international caps, has looked noticeably gaunt at times and, in other moments, his face has appeared bloated because of the drugs he has been prescribed. He missed six months of action earlier this year but has always maintained before now that he did not know what the illness was. "I felt drained and weak and was bed-bound for a bit," he said in September. "The biggest thing was losing the weight. The virus was bad but for someone like me to lose the weight I did, it was really difficult to put back on."

United have gone public after a deterioration in his condition last week led to more medical tests. Fletcher was an unused substitute in the 2-1 defeat at Basel but had complained of feeling weak and was unable to train on Friday. "We request that his privacy is respected and hope that the removal of the additional stress associated with speculation regarding his health will also aid his recovery," United said.

What is ulcerative colitis?

Dr Ian Arnott is a leading specialist in ulcerative colitis. He is a consultant gastroenterologist at the Western General hospital in Edinburgh and the Royal College of Physicians' associate director for the UK-wide, NHS-funded inflammatory bowel disease audit.

"Ulcerative colitis can be a very disabling condition and leaves people weak, tired, frustrated and lacking energy. It can change people's lives completely. They can't be very far from the toilet so aren't able to go out very much. Patients tell me that when they go to a nearby town or city, they know exactly where every toilet is, because they often get very little warning about needing to go to the toilet. It can mean that people have accidents with their bowel motions. It's an embarrassing condition — it's a difficult subject to talk to people about.

"It is a serious inflammation of the large bowel, which is better-known as the colon. Where it should be pink, smooth and nice it becomes red, weepy and unhappy — it looks like you've taken the skin off your knee. The main symptoms are diarrhea, blood in stools, stomach pains and feeling rotten. It goes up and down. You will have good periods of remission when you feel normal — that can be a month or even a few years — and bad periods when you feel dreadful and can be forced to go to the toilet six, eight or ten times a day around the clock, including two or three times a night. If you can imagine having food poisoning and that going on for weeks on end, rather than days, that's what it's like.

"It's quite a common condition. If you take ulcerative colitis together with Crohn's disease, which has similar symptoms, they are known together as inflammatory bowel disease (IBD). One in 200 people in the UK develop IBD, so around 300,000 have that. Young people aged between ten and 40 get it.

"It's not a curable condition unless you have an operation. With surgery you take the colon out completely. People often need an external bag to collect their faeces, though some people get an internal pouch which lets them go to the toilet normally. So you wouldn't have surgery unless you had to. However, one-third of patients end up having an operation to remove their colon at some point in their lives.

"The cause of colitis is unknown. It's genetic to some extent, but less than with Crohn's disease, but something unknown in the environment comes along and sets it off. It could be food, atmospheric pollution or stress — no one really knows what it is. It could be all of them."

« Reply #3692 on: December 13, 2011, 05:28:47 PM »
I am certainly no fan of darren fletcher or his club.....but I really sympathize with him on this.  This cannot be a "comfortable" sickness to have.

« Reply #3693 on: December 13, 2011, 06:09:58 PM »
shocking news when I heard it.. really feeling it for him.. A very tough year for Fletch, hope the break sorts him out and he can come back strong

now to my next point, with Anderson(who is total shit) out till Feb with a knee injury, Fletch out in my opinion for the season, Cleverley out till the new year and 38 year old Giggs and even though he is in good form but mr inconsistent Carrick surely we must, WE MUST go into the transfer market for a midfielder.. it may not be a Modric that we need but we must get some quality in there ... Christian Eriksen , Mario Gotze are out of the CL too, maybe a cheeky bid? other names that will be in the mix are Tiote, M'Villa, Javi Martinez etc..  maybe a loan deal? Kaka perhaps? Fergie may reinvent him and give him a new lease of life...

In my opinion we need a defender and a midfielder in January. one more injury to the backline and we could be in serious trouble especially as Rio has been plagued over the last 3 seasons

If Fergie doesnt address this in January I'd be very very surprised and very alarmed

« Reply #3694 on: December 18, 2011, 07:14:24 AM »
Wey tuh me decisive Carrick!

« Reply #3695 on: December 20, 2011, 12:30:21 PM »
Keane v Ferguson: The rematch

Keane's tongue should not be curbed
By John Brewin

"A statue has never been erected in honour of a critic" is Finnish composer Jean Sibelius' best-known work. As Manchester United's most decorated captain and the driving force behind a decade of dominance, Roy Keane may one day debunk those bon mots but any day of mounting a plinth at Old Trafford has been delayed for some time yet. He has become an outsider shouting in.

Keane's relationship with the club he embodied for 12 years looks broken beyond repair though that was once said of his relationship with the Irish national team, to which he eventually returned after self-imposed exile. He only did so once Mick McCarthy, with whom he also eventually shared a ceasefire, was no longer Ireland manager. Any rapprochement in red waits on the departure from Old Trafford of Sir Alex Ferguson, a doomsday that may well be close yet seems so far.

With Ferguson's influence expected to extend well beyond retirement from team matters, Keane can only expect years of exile. Ever the outsider, Keane is unlikely to be fazed by that. It is difficult to imagine him joining the clubbable ranks of the ex-players who entertain those at Old Trafford whose dining preferences he once infamously described as "probably the prawn sandwiches".

Exile from football, however, has proven more difficult to stomach for Keane, whose managerial career suffered two possibly fatal reverses at Sunderland and Ipswich Town. He has tried to sate himself with some at Warrington rugby league club, and then some incognito trips to see Wigan Athletic at home which ended in a run-in with the DW Stadium ticket office.

This is how he has ended up as a television pundit, and at the centre of his latest feud with Ferguson. At a time when most punditry is a series of non-committal old pal's acts, or stats-drenched minutiae that can neither enlighten nor entertain, Roy Keane's brand of honesty has proved refreshing. In the fall-out of United's Champions League exit, who better to offer qualified opinion than Keane? Perhaps only Ferguson would be better qualified.

Except Ferguson, on prompting from a journalist in Basle who had clearly been fed by his newsdesk back in London, clearly did not see it that way. Even at a time of crisis, chiding Keane for his record in management looked a cheap shot. It was followed by programme notes where subtlety did not stop Keane drawing offence when he felt himself singled out as one of those "people we thought were perhaps on our side". A favoured journalist was called and from there the Sunday Times had an explosive story as a theatre of war reopened.

Both men are prone to overreaction, and they share a similar reaction to perceived offence: attack. Yet it is perhaps Keane who has struck the most sensitive nerve this time.

"People say Ferguson always does what's right for Man United. I don't think he does. I think he does what's right for him," flew in the face of perceived media wisdom among that nebulous bunch that terms itself "football people" that the club always comes first for Ferguson. Keane pointed to prime evidence in the Rock of Gibraltar affair, where a squabble over horse-breeding rights with United's major shareholders caused a state of equity to allow the Glazer family to purchase the club. Indeed, the Glazer ownership and Ferguson's public support of it was the fork in the road for many United fans. They may be happy to hail his footballing achievements, but reservations are drawn thereafter on his personal motives.

It has been repeatedly said that no man is bigger than Manchester United, which Keane would countenance. Yet in recent years, Ferguson has redrawn his boundaries, choosing instead to repeat that the most important man at any club is the manager, itself a doubtful idea in the era of oligarchs and oil billionaire owners. He might well ask Andre Villas-Boas and Steve Kean, to name just two, how they feel about that idea.

But then again, Ferguson's achievements and magnetism have allowed him to draw up his own rules. In speaking out, Keane has merely broken them. It seems inconceivable that two more of his finest captains in Steve Bruce and Bryan Robson would ever level public criticism at the man all his players, even Keane, refer to simply as "the manager". Even the enigma of Eric Cantona stopped short of reproachment.

Keane, though, was always different. At his peak, Ferguson allowed him to stand out. His greatest problem may be that in the end he was treated the same as any other player. Once Ferguson had made his full use of him, then there was no place left at United. Here, Keane can compare notes with precious gems like Robson and Bruce right down to the rejects section of Ralph Milne and Jim Leighton. Two combustible elements combined to result in spectacular exit in November 2005, and relations have worsened since.

So, to life on the outside for Keane and a life in punditry, a pursuit he once said he'd "rather go to the dentist" than take up. His criticism of the likes of Phil Jones, Chris Smalling and Ashley Young in Basle was by no means unfair. Few doubted him when he said: "I'd be getting hold of some of those lads, saying, 'You'd better buck up your ideas'."

And perhaps Roy Keane in his prime was just the player that United required as they froze in the Swiss snow. Meanwhile, the current 40-year-old version provides an altogether healthy difference to the deference too often aimed at Ferguson, since he seemingly remains the only alumni beyond his former boss' control. Manchester United as a club should not be beyond criticism, and of anyone, Keane should be allowed his say to be heard.

« Reply #3696 on: December 21, 2011, 04:53:22 PM »
team pushing on nicely .. dominating victory at difficult Fulham today

Jones and Young had to be withdrawn with injuries though...  Fergie estimates Young at 2-3 weeks but it looked more a dead leg, I reckon Blackburn on the 31st he'd be back.. as for Jones , took a wicked elbow early in the game.. Fergie says he is going for an X Ray of his jaw.. he looked concussed too..  The kid is a beast.. I think he'll play vs Wigan on boxing day

Carrick is having a fine month , hope it continues as we need him to be the main man until the wounded recover to add the depth... Looking forward to having a rejuvenated Carrick partner the exciting Cleverley ..

What a cracker from Wazza today.. and Nani with a couple assists and a goal just keeps on improving... and my boy Berba with a silky backheel for the 5th... great stuff today

« Reply #3697 on: December 26, 2011, 10:36:39 AM »
Damn, Valencia finding form. Berba!

« Reply #3698 on: December 26, 2011, 10:54:46 AM »
City draw  :devil:

« Reply #3699 on: December 26, 2011, 10:56:55 AM »
City draw  :devil:

And we only 5 behind in goal difference! :o

« Reply #3700 on: December 31, 2011, 08:44:57 AM »
I swear we had Justin Bebier in goal today. DeGea needs tuh train the Muscles from Brussels! Good to see Ando back and with a big boy haircut.

« Reply #3701 on: December 31, 2011, 09:17:37 AM »
Elan, hush yuh arse! (in advance & happy new year  :beermug::frustrated:

« Reply #3702 on: December 31, 2011, 09:30:32 AM »
Well done, Fergie... Raphael in midfield while Valencia is at right back. Genius.
Rooney and Gibson better be injured or an explanation is necessary.

« Reply #3703 on: December 31, 2011, 09:58:33 AM »
I cyah believe I miss this game! I watch it this morning and was like - easy win for united.
As a hater, I am disappointed that I went back to sleep.  :devil:

« Reply #3704 on: December 31, 2011, 10:47:52 AM »
Nothing worse than waking up this early, to watch the team lorse and have tuh put up ESPn's coverage! No win situation!

« Reply #3705 on: December 31, 2011, 10:51:21 AM »
I cyah believe I miss this game! I watch it this morning and was like - easy win for united.
As a hater, I am disappointed that I went back to sleep.  :devil:

hahahah, I wish I didn't get up to see the game.... :beermug: :devil:

« Reply #3706 on: December 31, 2011, 11:02:07 AM »
I was just about to come and drop my customary  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: in this thread until i see Chelsea gone and eff it up for me.. steups.

Anyway happy new year man u fans.

« Reply #3707 on: December 31, 2011, 12:00:25 PM »

Like we team trying to see who could let City take the title easier.  :pissedoff:

Happy New Year   :beermug:

« Reply #3708 on: December 31, 2011, 05:02:23 PM »
Well done, Fergie... Raphael in midfield while Valencia is at right back. Genius.
Rooney and Gibson better be injured or an explanation is necessary.

Look yuh explanation here...

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2080810/Wayne-Rooney-axed-Sir-Alex-Ferguson-Boxing-Day-dinner-Coleen.html

70 years old, that old man getting senile.

« Reply #3709 on: December 31, 2011, 05:30:27 PM »

Like we team trying to see who could let City take the title easier.  :pissedoff:

Nah boy Elan, when yuh in 5th place and 11 points off the top, yuh not really having a conversation with the league leaders. 

Man U might be giving City the title... Chelsea is a different set of woes. 

« Reply #3710 on: January 01, 2012, 11:22:53 AM »
City loss today, still equal on points.

« Reply #3711 on: January 01, 2012, 01:16:51 PM »
thank god

« Reply #3712 on: January 01, 2012, 04:12:17 PM »
City loss??? :whew: Well this is some drama...next ting a team like Liverpool come out from no where and take the title

« Reply #3713 on: January 01, 2012, 04:53:14 PM »
City loss??? :whew: Well this is some drama...next ting a team like Liverpool come out from no where and take the title
I was thinking Tottenham. Personally if Man.United don't win it, I would not mind Spurs winning it.

« Reply #3714 on: January 02, 2012, 09:39:59 AM »

Aye look thing eh, leh meh extend an apology. Football make ah fool of me, ah say if we get we tail cut by blackburn, and chelski have to play Villa that is ah sure win fuh de Blues, and if city taking on sunlun, den the lead on top of the table will be extended. Chelski will close de gap and yuh go cay hear the end of elan pongin we...   :laugh:

« Reply #3715 on: January 02, 2012, 11:01:17 AM »
Rooney will be sold before Fergie retires and before his transfer value deminishes further. I think his skills have not improved and his play has been very inconsistent for the season. People could say United got taken when Rooney ended up getting a 200.000 week contract, but it gives United the power to get rid of him when they need to, due to him being under contract.  Rooney may have won that battle but he will not in the war with Fergie.

« Reply #3716 on: January 02, 2012, 02:29:57 PM »
question...this thread can double up as a City thread as well? can they squat here?

« Reply #3717 on: January 02, 2012, 05:45:01 PM »
question...this thread can double up as a City thread as well? can they squat here?
Answer HELLLLL NOOOO!!!!!...City fans can squat with that other team that tries to buy the trophy every year.

« Reply #3718 on: January 02, 2012, 05:50:42 PM »

City fans are Chelski fans in disguise, check "the home of the champions" thread

« Reply #3719 on: January 02, 2012, 06:45:35 PM »
Answer HELLLLL NOOOO!!!!!...City fans can squat with that other team that tries to buy the trophy every year.

Lol! Yuh know it have some forumite wanting tuh start a Ciy thread  but dey fraid to be called waggonist! People should call the thread ABU or home of the hators and that should take care of that.