April 25, 2024, 10:47:51 PM

Author Topic: Silvio off to Sheffield United on trial.  (Read 11668 times)

Silvio off to Sheffield United on trial.
« on: July 02, 2007, 02:15:39 PM »
Silvio off to Sheffield United on trial.
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague).

Vibe CT 105 W Connection and Trinidad and Tobago national midfielder Silvio Spann has left Trinidad to pick up a two week trial with English Championship Division club Sheffield United.
Silvio departed the Piarco Airport on a 2pm flight on Monday for England where he would meet up his W Connection and national teammate Jan Michael Williams at Sheffield.
Goal keeper Williams along with national captain Densill Theobald had spent the last two weeks with Hungarian First Division team Ujpest FC on trails.
Shortly before his departure Silvio spoke with 'ttproleague.com' and the W Connection player was in a very positive mood.
He said, "I am confident of my ability and my fitness right now. I really want to land a contract with the club (Sheffield Utd) because it would mean a lot for me and my family."
Silvio represented Trinidad and Tobago in the recently concluded CONCACAF Gold Cup where he registered on of the most incredible items of the tournament with his 40 yard free kick against El Salvador in their opening match which T&T lost 2-1.
Silvio added that his 2007 Gold Cup experience has boosted his confidence ahead of the trial saying, "This trial was more or less organized before the Gold Cup and I don't know how much it has done to persuade the Sheffield managers, but now they would have a chance to see me perform up close and personal."
If he does obtain a contract, Silvio stated that it would be bitter sweet.
"Of course I would miss my teammates should a contract be obtained. At W Connection it was more than just a team, it was more of a family and I would always be a part of that family."
"I would feel sad at first but it would also mean better for me and my family. I also believe that if I earn a contract with the English club then I would be marketing my club W Connection and the Pro League," ended the former J League player.
Since his contract with Japanese club Yokoyama FC had expired before the 2006 World Cup, Silvio had been on one trial abroad with Championship club Crystal Palace which unfortunately didn't pull through forcing his return to Pro League club W Connection.
A delighted W Connection Owner/President David John Williams speaking with 'ttproleague.com' said that the trials were always in the making even before the Gold Cup in June.
Williams said, "These trials for both Silvio and Jan were in the making since late last year through our contacts in England. They(Sheffield Utd) were interested the players long before the Gold Cup," explained the W Connection boss.
According to Williams, his club and Sheffield United have a great relationship which is continuing to grow.
Earlier this year W Connection's youngsters Aaron Downing and Matthew Bartholomew joined Woluwe Whitestar FC in Belgium a club connected to Sheffield on three year contracts.
Already this season W Connection have lost a few key players on foreign contracts but Williams stated he is also about the business of football.
"I'm in the business of football and that's how it goes sometimes," ended Williams who believes it's also a stepping stone for the younger players in our programme.
Silvio hoping to team-up with Yorke, Carlos & John at Sunderland.
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague).

W Connection midfielder Silvio Spann is very optimistic over his chances of joining English Premiership club Sunderland FC.
Spann who returned to Trinidad on Monday night together with W Connection teammate Jan Michael Williams from trials in England is heavily favoring his chances to join the ‘Black Cats’.
Prior to the three days he had spent with Sunderland last week, Spann was on trial at Sheffield United for two weeks together with goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams.
Speaking with ‘ttproleague.com’ the Trinidad and Tobago international said, “I fancy my chances more with Sunderland. I feel very confident of signing a contract.”
“I received a phone call from my agents on my return telling me of how impressed they were on my performances and that negotiations are continuing between them and the Premiership Club,” he said adding, “I am just praying and waiting patiently.”
Spann is also relishing the experience gained at both English clubs adding, “Unlike many of the trials I have been on, these were well organized. I have to say that I have gained a lot on these trials.”
He went on to add further, “When I got to Sheffield they were already into their pre-season. I have to say that their facilities were second to none,” he said adding, “But when I got to Sunderland it was much more organized. I enjoyed it a lot, having sessions with our very own Dwight Yorke and Stern John.”
“It’s refreshing when you can train alongside your countrymen. I saw it as a very nice experience although I was only there for three days. I really enjoyed the company of Carlos, Stern and Yorke.”
He was also honored to work with former Manchester United captain Roy Keene saying, “It was a real honor to train with Dwight Yorke again and under the watchful eyes of Roy Keene who needs no introduction.”
Silvio also went on to explain that Carlos Edwards the third T&T player in Sunderland squad wasn’t involved in training while at the club due to an injury, but was very influential in his time at the club.
“Sunderland’s training was at a higher level,” he said. “While at Sheffield it was more of a physical one,” explained the W Connection playmaker.
“In both sessions I had with Sunderland I was able to show Manager Roy Keene and the rest of the staff that I have a lot of quality and I am capable to play at Premiership level,” said Silvio.
Silvio also said that the Sunderland Manager assured to keep in touch with him after being impressed with his performance.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2007, 09:24:55 AM by Flex »

Re: Silvio off to Sheffield United on trial.
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2007, 02:24:51 PM »
Good luck to Silvio, make sure you are fit and ready!!  :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2007, 02:38:38 PM »
Ah real happy fuh dat boy. Midfielder, Beckham-style free kick specialist, Brazilian-style 40 yard goal specialist, Corner specialist able to swing de ball into goal and string up keepers who leave dey line, stylish playmaker, able to be a holding midfielder, able to play defense and utility, disciplined and fairly young. ..And he doh run dong woman, he doh drink to make him late fuh practice to spoil de image of de club as he is a tow-de-line church bwoy. What more yuh want. Shefffield ha' to jess sign de dyam paypah as soon as he step off de plane!! Dem eh have no choice !!  ;D  ;D
« Last Edit: July 02, 2007, 02:40:27 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2007, 02:42:06 PM »
I now know why yuh name is Dreamer. Silvio I know u ah prayin fella. Pray to d fadder and all will go well. hail up Marvin leh him agree with u in prayer.

« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2007, 02:55:43 PM »
He have no chance of getting a contract..(KND Goat mouth in full effect)

« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2007, 03:57:20 PM »
He have no chance of getting a contract..(KND Goat mouth in full effect)
elaborate.

« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2007, 05:43:11 PM »
Just cool

KND is the goatmouth King...anything he say will NOT happen

But everyone say a prayer for Silvio.

Let him not get injured during this trial and let him be successful.

Amen
« Last Edit: July 02, 2007, 05:44:46 PM by Touches »

« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2007, 06:05:32 PM »
Good luck Young Spannah!!!

« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2007, 07:06:36 PM »
He will get the contract,I'll pray for him,met him on three occassions,what a well mannered young man,signed my sons football......

« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2007, 07:36:36 PM »
all the best spanner

« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2007, 09:12:12 PM »
Good luck Silvio

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2007, 09:15:03 PM »
Good Luck Spany!!!!
All American

« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2007, 09:18:10 PM »
Go Silvio.

« Reply #13 on: July 02, 2007, 09:50:03 PM »
My bad. hmmmmmm...... by the way i think it's the other way around, if my memory serves me right from my understanding, goat mouth is when yuh say something it actually happens, not the opposite. but then again i could be wrong , but i used to hear the elders talking that talk.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2007, 09:52:47 PM by just cool »

« Reply #14 on: July 02, 2007, 09:55:00 PM »
My bad. hmmmmmm...... by the way i think it's the other way around, if my memory serves me right from my understanding, goat mouth is when yuh say something it actually happens, not the opposite. but then again i could be wrong , but i used to hear the elders talking that talk.
that is de way i know it,buh anyways,ah hope spann seal de deal.

Offline okaki

• Go! Silvio!
« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2007, 11:36:25 PM »
Gook Luck Silvio ;D

« Reply #16 on: July 03, 2007, 12:28:52 PM »
That is why he say "KND goat mouth in full effect"...as I took it, whatever he say will NOT happen usually does...so the opposite of de regular goat mouth.

« Reply #17 on: July 03, 2007, 01:46:42 PM »

yeah..doh know the origins, but growing up we always used it both ways. You either say something real good and something bad happens: Dat keeper real good..he doh colleck no stupidy goal and whaps...ball roll thru he legs. OR. you joke about something bad and it actually happens: Boy watch how you pelting dem stones, you go break somebody window...and crash..window break and is yuh tail
« Last Edit: July 03, 2007, 01:48:31 PM by Filho »

« Reply #18 on: July 03, 2007, 01:58:35 PM »

yeah..doh know the origins, but growing up we always used it both ways. You either say something real good and something bad happens: Dat keeper real good..he doh colleck no stupidy goal and whaps...ball roll thru he legs. OR. you joke about something bad and it actually happens: Boy watch how you pelting dem stones, you go break somebody window...and crash..window break and is yuh tail

From what I gather, which may be almost the same as what you said but with a little twist..is saying something...whether positive or negative and it happens..so in your eg. just the mention of he never get scored on by easy goals and it happens is is putting goat mouth, it's the same as saying becareful ah man score ah easy goal on you and then it happens  ;D Hope ah make sense  :)

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
« Reply #19 on: July 03, 2007, 03:40:53 PM »
All the luck young Spanner!!!!!

« Reply #20 on: July 03, 2007, 06:04:50 PM »
Ah real happy fuh dat boy. Midfielder, Beckham-style free kick specialist, Brazilian-style 40 yard goal specialist, Corner specialist able to swing de ball into goal and string up keepers who leave dey line, stylish playmaker, able to be a holding midfielder, able to play defense and utility, disciplined and fairly young. ..And he doh run dong woman, he doh drink to make him late fuh practice to spoil de image of de club as he is a tow-de-line church bwoy. What more yuh want. Shefffield ha' to jess sign de dyam paypah as soon as he step off de plane!! Dem eh have no choice !!  ;D  ;D

whey sah..not sure who you describe there..but we could sure use him on our national team  ;D :devil:
And he clearly should not be wasting his time at SU..heheh

Good luck Silvio

« Reply #21 on: July 04, 2007, 09:20:14 AM »
What ever happened to the jablote trio that was trying out at pompey, last i heard they were on the brink of being signed, could someone shed some light. por favor.   positive.

« Reply #22 on: July 04, 2007, 02:04:49 PM »
just want to wish spann all the best at sheffied U.

he deserves a break, and I think he'll make good use of any time he spends o/seas

Triallist stay around
« Reply #23 on: July 20, 2007, 08:10:18 AM »
Triallist stay around
sufc.premiumtv.co.uk

Bryan Robson says that no decision has yet been made on whether to sign Trinidad trialists Jan-Michael Williams and Silvio Spann.

Michael-Williams, a goalkeeper, and Spann, a midfielder, each played a full 90 minutes in United's pre-season friendlies against Alfreton and Worksop respectively this week.

Robson said: "It's a situation we're looking at, and we have a bit more time. There are work permit issues on that one as well, but we'll assess them as we go along. They won't be able to play in the tour of Ireland because of the permit situation."

« Reply #24 on: July 20, 2007, 06:22:52 PM »
So the work permit say England not the Uk I eh get it somebody who brighter than me pleezeeeeeeee explain

« Reply #25 on: July 20, 2007, 06:48:01 PM »
So the work permit say England not the Uk I eh get it somebody who brighter than me pleezeeeeeeee explain

:rotfl: :rotfl:  8). HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #26 on: July 20, 2007, 07:57:00 PM »

(The Republic of) Ireland is not part of the UK

« Reply #27 on: July 20, 2007, 08:08:04 PM »
The Republic of Irelnad I now get it not Nothern Is. I now see ok lime with Stern and dem

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #28 on: July 21, 2007, 12:29:39 PM »
Sheff Utd trialists to miss tour 

Sheffield United trialists Silvio Spann and Jan-Michael Williams have not gone on the pre-season tour to Ireland because of work permit restrictions.
The duo are expected to feature in some of the reserve team games next week while the first-team are in Ireland.

Boss Bryan Robson told BBC Radio Sheffield: "There are work permit issues that are ongoing.

"So we are just going to assess these two lads as they go on and then later on we can make a decision."

Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #29 on: July 21, 2007, 12:32:31 PM »
come on SILVIO!!!!!!!!