April 24, 2024, 04:29:56 PM

Author Topic: North East Stars/AC Port of Spain Thread  (Read 38430 times)

Kerry Baptiste signed by Eve’s modified North East Stars.
« Reply #90 on: June 25, 2012, 03:42:47 PM »
Kerry Baptiste signed by Eve’s modified North East Stars
ttproleague.com

North East Stars Head Coach Angus Eve has included striker Kerry Baptiste into his plans for upcoming TT Pro League season which is expected to begin in August.

It was one of the many new additions made by the Darryl Mahabir owned Sangre Grande club since hiring Eve, on a two-season agreement, this month.

The former San Juan Jabloteh and Ma Pau SC assistant coach entering his first season as head coach of a club began tailoring the Sangre Grande club with the additions of the 30 year old Baptiste and Trinidad &Tobago U23 players, defender Kareem Moses (formally of St. Ann’s Rangers) and midfielder Micah Lewis (formally of Caledonia AIA).

Baptiste, who climbed his way from T&T U20 to senior level and began his professional career at Jabloteh(2003-2006), is a former teammate and player of Eve at the San Juan club.

Baptiste then moved to Joe Public (2007-2010) and had trials with English Championship club Ipswich Town(December 2009) and Major League Soccer clubs Toronto FC(May 2010) and Seattle Sounders FC(2011) before finally signing a short term deal with North American Soccer League side FC Tampa Bay in July 2011.

He then returned to Trinidad joining T&TEC in January till the end of the 2011-2012 season, but is noted for his record 48 goals in the 2009 season at Joe Public which led to the club’s record haul of five titles.

“When you think of an efficient striker at club and national level, you think of Kerry Baptiste,” said the new North East Stars coach. “So I expect nothing less than twenty(20) goals from him this season.”

Baptiste became a free agent after a short spell with last season’s Digicel Pro League runner-up T&TEC which finished just a point shy of champion W Connection.

Eve also revealed during a press conference hosted by the club last Friday at the Larry Gomes Stadium that Jabloteh trio goalkeeper Cleon John, defender Sheldon Bateau and midfielder Elijah Manners have also been signed pending transfers.

While Defenders Glenton Wolfe, Kern Navarro and Seon Power, and midfielder Akeil Guevara are the only players with existing North East Stars’ contracts and will serve under Eve.

“This is a year of consolidation for us,” said Eve.

“We are going to bring in a lot of players, primarily U23 players who we can continue to develop, to help Trinidad and Tobago go forward not just at youth level but also at senior level. (There would also be) a trickling of senior players so that they can help develop these young players to come on.”

Meantime veteran striker Gary Glasgow will serve as assistant coach and new technical additions include former Jabloteh goalkeeping coach Brian James, former Ma Pau SC team administrator Brian Bain and Earl Joseph as team physiotherapist.

Eve opened his speech on Friday by congratulating fellow Pro League club Caledonia AIA on winning the Caribbean Football Union(CFU) Club Championship.

“In a couple years that’s where we want to be,” he said.

The former T&T international said that the plans of the club includes further developing its “very vibrant” youth academy, use the Reserve League as a development system and play a very attractive and competitive style at the senior level.

« Last Edit: July 21, 2012, 09:10:07 AM by Flex »

Re: Kerry Baptiste signed by Eve’s modified North East Stars
« Reply #91 on: June 25, 2012, 05:57:48 PM »
Wheysss ..... like Eve causin' an exodus from Jabloteh boy, +/- Jab was said to be in some trouble with sponsors and not paying folks.
Guess daiz how de cookie crumbles. Good acquisitions.

Re: North East Stars thread??
« Reply #92 on: June 25, 2012, 06:53:02 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5WDRASvMZFs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5WDRASvMZFs</a>

« Reply #93 on: June 25, 2012, 10:15:12 PM »
Keep at it North East Stars, keep at it

Re: Kerry Baptiste signed by Eve’s modified North East Stars
« Reply #94 on: July 06, 2012, 05:37:33 AM »
Moses delighted to join Eve at Stars.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

National Under-23 team defender Kareem Moses was one of Angus Eve’s first major signing since he took over the post of head coach, at Pro League outfit DirecTV North East Stars and the former St Ann’s Ranger’s man is more than happy to repay Eve for the vote of confidence.

Moses was one of the better performing members of the recent T&T Olympic team that participated in the qualifiers for London 2012. Eve went on record praising the central defender for his efforts.

“Coach Angus called me and ask if I was interested in joining North East and I didn’t have to think twice about the move,” Moses said.

“We have a good understanding and I’m happy to be joining him at the club. I think he has a good understanding of what he wants to achieve and I’m looking forward to being part of the whole exercise.”

Moses still hopes to attract interest from overseas and has agreed to a deal that can see him depart if the opportunity arises.

“I want to play in a foreign league so even though I have signed with North East for the season, there is the option for me to leave if something comes up where the club will also benefit in some way. But my first priority now is North East Stars,” the 22-year-old Moses added.

Offline SWF Reporter

One on one with North East Stars midfielder Jeromie Williams
« Reply #95 on: May 12, 2014, 09:19:20 PM »
One on one with North East Stars midfielder Jeromie Williams
By Dominique Webb (Wired868)

The first thing that hits you about 24-year-old North East Stars midfield enforcer Jeromie Williams is his round appearance. Williams, who also answers to the nickname “Butters”, stands at five-foot-two but more than compensates with his beefy 179-pound frame.

He is quicker than he looks over short distances, though, and as focused as they come. When he hits you, the jokes stop.

Butters’ career started with Goal City in his Tobago hometown of Castara before moving to St Clair’s Coaching School and then to Trinidad where he had stints with United Petrotrin and W Connection before linking up with his national under-23 coach, Angus Eve, at Stars.

Williams, now an established Digicel Pro League player, sat down with Wired868 to talk some more about his career thus far:

Full name: Jeromie Curtly Williams

Date of birth: 17 May 1989

Hometown: Castara, Tobago

Former schools: Castara Primary School and Scarborough Secondary School

Position: Midfield and sometimes defence

Favourite player: I have two: Michael Essien from Chelsea and Gennaro Gattuso from AC Milan.

Favourite team: Chelsea

How did you get into playing football?

I came from a football family. My family plays football in the village and my uncle, Kevon Manswell, once played with the Trinidad and Tobago national Under-17 team.

How did you get the nickname “Butters”?

When I just started playing, I was very chubby and people called me “Butterball.”

How would you describe yourself as a person?

I am a cool person and like to have fun.

What is something most people do not know about you?

I am a shy person.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?

I enjoy hanging out with my friends and going to the beach and the movies. My favourite would be Castara Beach in Tobago; and I love action movies.

Who had the most influence on your career?

My mother Perline George and dad David Williams. They always supported me throughout my career.

Who were your most important coaches?

Marvin Lewis and Bertille St Clair started my career and then there was Brian Williams, Stuart Charles-Fevrier and, presently, Angus Eve. All my coaches thought me how to improve my game.

What makes you stand out as a player?

I would have to say my chubbiness. I am bigger than most midfielders and most people would usually ask: “Who is that fat guy in the midfield?”

What was your best moment in football so far?

My best moments were playing against Mexico in the Pan-American Games and the 2011 Olympic Qualifiers. I would say the atmosphere and the experience (of those games) made them the best.

Which team do you look forward to playing the most?

I look forward to playing all the teams; but mostly the top teams like W Connection because they give you a greater fight for the win.

What is your pre-match routine?

I drink a lot of water and I usually stay off my legs as well.

What pushes you to succeed?

I like to be independent and, by 30, I must own my own home and car and be able to relax.

What would be success for you as a player?

Winning the World Cup and playing professionally outside of Trinidad.

What is your immediate target?

To win the Pro League competition.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 05:47:24 AM by Flex »

Re: One on one with North East Stars midfielder Jeromie Williams
« Reply #96 on: May 12, 2014, 10:17:16 PM »
Butters was always an enigma. His shape is all wrong, yet he's a very good midfielder. We signed him to North East Stars and, I felt we did much to develop him for the U23's. He's certainly at home with the midfield enforcer role and is one of the reasons that North East are always hard to beat. 

« Reply #97 on: August 31, 2016, 03:28:36 AM »
Name change for North East Stars.
By NICKOLAI MADRAY NYLO (Newsday).

NORTH EAST Stars FC will soon be formally known as Ma Pau Stars FC during the 2016-2017 local football season.

According to a media release from the club, Ma Pau Members Club reached an agreement to partner with the club in a deal worth $4 million for the Pro League season.

The club considers this negotiation to be beneficial to the football fraternity and by extension Trinidad and Tobago’s World Cup qualifying team. The management of Ma Pau also shared their beliefs in giving back to the community as this is just one of the channels in which they have chosen to venture.

The members of the North East Stars FC extended their gratitude to Ma Pau Members Club and its management for their support and are looking forward to future partnered success in the 2016-2017 season..

« Reply #98 on: August 31, 2016, 05:49:51 AM »
Beggars can't be choosers, but why change the name?

« Reply #99 on: August 31, 2016, 06:40:32 AM »
Beggars can't be choosers, but why change the name?

Yet another example of an incomplete article in the press.

Offline SWF Reporter

Fenwick set to take over North East Stars, will move club to Arima Velodrome
« Reply #100 on: March 06, 2017, 04:41:36 PM »
Fenwick poised to take over North East Stars, will move club to Arima Velodrome
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868)

Terry Fenwick looks set for a sensational return to the Pro League with increased powers to boot, as the successful and combative English coach declared that he will lead North East Stars into battle for the 2017 season.

The deal, according to Fenwick, would give the former San Juan Jabloteh and Central FC coach full authority over all football operations at the club, although Stars owner Darryl Mahabir remains as chairman.

“Over the last month, Darryl Mahabir and I have met on several occasions to figure out how we will handle the situation,” Fenwick told Wired868. “He will remain as our chairman but all football matters will come under my remit, so he can get on with his outside interests.”

Mahabir could not be reached for comment. However, a senior official at Stars confirmed that a formal deal between the two parties appears to be a matter of when and not if.

“Basically, the plan is for Terry to take over the running of the club,” he said, under the condition of anonymity. “The confirmation should happen within the next 24 hours.”

Arguably, the most eye-raising aspect of Fenwick’s return lies in his new base. Stars, who initially played at Ojoe Road in Sangre Grande but have not had a home for years, have agreed a deal with the Arima Borough Council to move the club to the Arima Velodrome.

“We feel that we have got a bit of a coup there,” said Fenwick, a former England World Cup player and Tottenham Spurs captain. “The Arima Mayor [Lisa Morris] is quite keen for us to use the Velodrome as a home base. The Velodrome is possibly the only stadium that is right in the heart of a community.

“Everything revolves around the Velodrome and it has such a great following. From my experience in the past, even minor league games at the Velodrome would attract 1,000 fans and sometimes more.

“It is a focal point [for Arimians] and this is something we hope to take advantage of.”

Arima Mayor Lisa Morris-Julian said she is excited by the pending arrival of not only Fenwick’s Stars but also National Super League champions FC Santa Rosa, who are led by interim Trinidad and Tobago Super League (TTSL) president Keith Look Loy.

Santa Rosa played at the Centre of Excellence in Macoya for the last two years while they used the UTT facilities in Malabar before that.

Morris hopes the two clubs can return the spotlight to a community that once produced or showcased talented players like Kerry Jamerson, Timothy Haynes, Kerwin “Papa” Emmanuel, Derek King, Dwayne and Craig Demmin and the late Mickey Trotman.

Morris knows first-hand the power of sport in the borough. Her father, Raymond Morris, had close ties with the Arima Memphis football club while her grandfather, Leroy Morris, was a footballer before he became Arima mayor.

“Officially, Mr Fenwick will receive his [confirmation] letter on Thursday but it was already discussed and decided upon unanimously by the Borough,” Morris told Wired868. “We are just excited that someone of Mr Fenwick’s international stature would come here and [help] Arima to be the football mecca as it once was back in the 1970s and 1980s.

“So we hope with Mr Fenwick and Mr Look Loy, we can once more be a powerhouse in Trinidad and even the Caribbean.”

Two years ago, Fenwick was on the verge of a similar relationship in the Morvant/Laventille region, which had the blessing of then MP Donna Cox and Sport Ministry Permanent Secretary Gillian MacIntyre.

However, the proposal ended in controversy after Kevin Harrison—then advisor to Sport Minister Brent Sancho—ordered MacIntyre to withdraw the Ministry’s financial support.

Fenwick was previously employed by Harrison and Sancho at Central FC and parted way on acrimonious terms, despite helping the pair to their maiden Pro League and Caribbean Cup titles in 2015.

The Sport Ministry subsequently started a probe into its support for the project, which was a collaborative effort by Fenwick and the Ma Pau Casino. MacIntyre gave a TT$450,000 cheque to the fledgling Ma Pau Morvant Sports Club, as was within her remit as PS. However, the application fee for the Pro League was TT$400,000.

Pro League CEO Dexter Skeene said, at the time, that his body felt it was an innocent mistake while the Sport Ministry never proved fraudulent behaviour—although two employees, exclusive of the PS, were suspended pending investigations.

This time, Fenwick appears to have avoided controversy. Harrison claimed that his only concern is regarding the details of Stars’ new partnership at board room level. Once more, Ma Pau, according to Harrison, is involved.

“My only question was concerning the status of Ma Pau,” said Harrison. “To date, I am not aware of the arrangement made between Ma Pau and North East Stars regarding ownership, etc. When Ma Pau were in the League before and they left, apparently they owed players some money. So have they sorted that out first?

“Otherwise, I can’t see it being a problem. We have no problem with [Fenwick]. He always makes football more interesting and I think the League needs that spice.”

So far, Fenwick has not revealed whether he has any financial backers and who they might be.

Arima is already making adjustments for the new year and Morris said Sport Minister Darryl Smith promised to help develop the India Ground in Malabar, which would allow the Borough to comfortably host Pro League and Super League games without leaving out the Arima League.

“It is exciting times ahead,” said Morris. “We have the room and we just look forward to embracing everyone. I would also like to acknowledge the social aspect of both plans. Both [Fenwick and Look Loy] have promised to give back to the at-risk communities in Arima.

“Santa Rosa have always been closely intertwined with the community but will now actively go out to the at-risk areas while [Fenwick’s] Football Factory is also supposed to come to Arima.”

Fenwick explained how he thinks he can provide a social benefit to Arima.

“We are looking at opening a Football Factory in Arima that will help young players develop and learn the game and get life skills,” said Fenwick. “And by that I mean discipline, communication, leadership skills, confidence and all kinds of life skills. In Port of Spain, we have kids from all walks of life—kids from Morvant and Caledonia who can’t speak to each other on their block but get along at Football Factory.

“Not all of these kids will be excellent footballers. The better youngsters will move on and compete with the professional youth teams. So we see it as a holistic all-round program.

“In Port in Spain, where we attract 175 kids, we can sometimes have as many as 150 parents who come out to watch their kids go through their drills on Tuesday and Thursday evening. So we see that as the family aspect of it…

“We have had a good working relationship with the British High Commission in the past on anti-gang initiatives as well that maybe we can help to get started in Arima.”

The Football Factory, like most football academies, operates with a combination of paid players and others who receive scholarships. Fenwick and Morris said both parties still need to iron out further details of their partnership beyond Stars’ use of the Velodrome.

In terms of the Pro League club’s ambitions on the field, Fenwick promised to create a team capable of challenging for the title within a year and a half. The Englishman unearthed a stream of teenaged talent at Jabloteh—such as Khaleem Hyland, Sheldon Bateau, Ataulla Guerra, Robert Primus and Lester Peltier—and will attempt to use a similar formula in Arima.

“We are looking at the development of young players because there are some terrific young players out there,” said Fenwick. “So we want a handful of experienced players—who are good role models—to lead a young team that might take 18 months to reach their full potential.

“We recognise that we need to have an excellent team and we hope people in Arima are patient as we build. I want a sprinkling of senior boys that will give us some shape to start with, but that will be four or five tops.”

While Fenwick declined the chance to name any youthful transfer targets, he did mention a 41-year-old talisman who worked alongside him at Jabloteh and Central.

The evergreen Marvin Oliver, who spent last season with relegated Super League Premiership Division team, Maracas FC, is first on Fenwick’s list and could operate as a player/coach for Stars.

“Marvin is somebody I have a lot of time for because I recognise his professionalism and how he applies himself,” said Fenwick. “He leads by example and gives good information to the youngsters on and off the training ground. I will speak to Marvin in due course [and] I will like his involvement. But it is still early stages.”

Fenwick also identified King, the former Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team assistant coach, as a potential asset for his coaching staff.

King, who still lives in Arima, is a former Pro League champion coach with Joe Public and steered the Trinidad and Tobago National Under-20 Team to the Caribbean Cup title in 2004. He quit the national team last November after the David John-Williams-led TTFA administration dismissed head coach Stephen Hart.

Fenwick has already approached King and hopes to convince the promising 36-year-old coach to join him at Stars.

“We need people on the ground who are capable of looking after the programme,” said Fenwick. “I would run the programme—to make sure it is delivered with the same quality and intensity—but I want to rely on people like Derek King for his expertise and knowledge of the area.

“I haven’t decided on what role he will have yet because I need to talk to him [formally] to see if he is available.”

The Pro League has not revealed a start date for its new season although it is expected to kick off in May.

Fenwick’s potential move to Arima will mark the first time a Pro League team has used the Velodrome as its home base since Arima Fire in 2000.

Stars used the Larry Gomes Stadium in Malabar in recent years but the inadequate lighting at the venue meant that they often played home games at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva instead.

“Darryl has been a bit frustrated not to have a home ground in Grande but he is delighted we got the velodrome,” said Fenwick. “He wants to see his baby, his North East Stars, go on to bigger and better things. He has had several coaches fail to deliver what he was looking for.”

As always, Fenwick backs himself to deliver something special.

The Englishman is the Pro League’s second most accomplished league coach with four titles, which is one short of the five league trophies held by W Connection technical director Stuart Charles-Fevrier.

Fenwick is also the only coach to win league trophies with two separate clubs, although there is a caveat. He spent barely a month at Central when he won his only league trophy with that club in 2014—after Sancho and Harrison replaced coach Zoran Vranes within touching distance of the finish line.

Ross Russell subsequently replaced Fenwick at Central but was fired midway through the season, which the “Couva Sharks” again won. Russell managed two Pro League titles at Defence Force but did not get the chance to match Fenwick’s feat of succeeding at more than one team.

Ironically, Russell coached Stars last season. However, Wired868 understands that all player and coaching contracts at the club expired earlier this year, which gives Fenwick a free hand to reshape the team.

« Last Edit: March 09, 2017, 03:36:13 AM by Flex »

Fenwick will attract players to NE Stars. And, possibly in exodus proportions too.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2017, 04:54:26 PM by asylumseeker »

Excellent that they got the Arima Velodrome as their home ground.

The cycle track is a natural, and ample buffer between the action on the field and the crowd in the stands.

It means that Terry will have to travel that much further to cuff dong any rival supporters.

Wide opposition players will unfortunately still be in danger of slide and rugby tackles from the "passionate" coach tho

Excellent that they got the Arima Velodrome as their home ground.

The cycle track is a natural, and ample buffer between the action on the field and the crowd in the stands.

It means that Terry will have to travel that much further to cuff dong any rival supporters.

Wide opposition players will unfortunately still be in danger of slide and rugby tackles from the "passionate" coach tho

Lol, Poor Gefferson Goulart. He get ketch celebrating in Fenwick's area and ketch a elbow in his face.

http://legacy.guardian.co.tt/archives/2005-11-11/sports3.html

It would be good if they could sync FC Santa Rosa and NE Stars home games into double headers at the drome.

Arima is a buzz on a friday night. Imagine if you throw in some competitive football on top of that. The major issue is the quality of the field. Haven't been there in a while but it could do with a re-grassing if possible.

can't see Fenwick and Mahabir working together. Mahabir is a hands on owner who will meddle in de football side of things. 

Lasana, ah thought North East Stars dont exist anymore, ent they change they name to Ma Pau Stars?

One of the reason why people has never taken the pro-league seriously. Teams come a go so often. It was Arima Fire, South West drillers?, Mau Pau, Joe Public. I can't remember the others. There is no stability with clubs. The stable clubs do not get the sponsors. But I think it is a good move that NE and Santa Rosa can share the same field. Hopefully, Keith can get some money and bring his team to the proleague. Then there will be a real rivalry in Arima. It would be nice if Tunapuna and Tacarigua can form a a team and play under the name of Eddie Hart United or something like that. That would be interesting.

Offline amielisadore

One of the reason why people has never taken the pro-league seriously. Teams come a go so often. It was Arima Fire, South West drillers?, Mau Pau, Joe Public. I can't remember the others. There is no stability with clubs. The stable clubs do not get the sponsors. But I think it is a good move that NE and Santa Rosa can share the same field. Hopefully, Keith can get some money and bring his team to the proleague. Then there will be a real rivalry in Arima. It would be nice if Tunapuna and Tacarigua can form a a team and play under the name of Eddie Hart United or something like that. That would be interesting.

Not Keith's plan in the slightest lol

Yes, you right about that. Well they go meet up in the FA.

Re: North East Stars Thread??
« Reply #110 on: June 13, 2017, 01:54:37 AM »
North East Stars sale fails to go through.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

DARRYL MAHABIR is still the owner of TT Pro League club North East Stars after a failed attempt by former San Juan Jabloteh and Central FC coach Terry Fenwick to purchase the franchise.

Mahabir, in a telephone interview yesterday, said: “Terry and another guy (name called) attempted to purchase the franchise, but based on procedural issues at the Pro League, they weren’t successful. So I would have retained the ownership of the franchise, at this point in time.”

Asked what were the procedural issues, Mahabir responded, “I prefer the Pro League say (what are) the procedural issues.” However, Pro League CEO (Chief Executive Officer) Dexter Skeene said that the League had no part to play in that matter, insisting that it is an issue between the club and the potential buyer.

“I don’t know what he’s specifically referring to. I’m not sure. He would be the best person – the best placed – to give that in detail, because it’s regarding his club.

“So he would know exactly what are the different factors why he couldn’t sell the club,” Skeene said.

The long-standing Pro League CEO pointed out, “A person is free to sell their club, that’s their business. The club is their business, so they could sell their club.

“The (main issue) is that anybody who’s coming into the League has to show that they’re financially able and equipped, as well as administratively, to run a club.” Skeene made it clear that the League had no say in that process, nor had any issue with Fenwick himself.

“Anybody (who is) selling a club, that’s between (both parties),” said Skeene. “They just have to prove to the League that the person is financially equipped to handle all the financial affairs of the club.” Contacted yesterday, Fenwick declined to elaborate on the transaction but said Mahabir was doing a terrific job as owner of North East Stars and wished him success.

Mahabir, when asked why he was selling the club, replied, “personal issues, as it relates to my business.” He noted, “I wouldn’t say financial.

I would say more on the basis of putting more of my energy into the business, which I have recently re-branded, Darryl’s Famous Foods, formerly Japs Fried Chicken.” With regards to whether or not he’ll plan to sell the team once more, Mahabir noted, “I am still in talks with the League as it relates to what is required for the sale of a franchise. As soon as they give that, then (I’ll decide).

I don’t know if Terry will still be interested. I can’t say.” Former Joe Public coach and national assistant tactician Derek King has asummed the role as North East coach for the 2017 season.

Re: North East Stars Thread??
« Reply #111 on: June 13, 2017, 08:14:52 AM »
Why can one or two of the big  businesses in the country buy the club and make it into a real pro outfit. Ah mean, what stopping them. How much is NE worth? 100 mill?  ;D

Re: North East Stars Thread
« Reply #112 on: July 28, 2017, 12:35:46 AM »
North East Stars eye Pro League lead.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

North East Stars, coached by Derek King, will have a chance to go three points clear at the top of the 2017 T&T Pro League table when it welcomes Police FC at its Arima Velodrome home ground from 8pm tonight. King showered praise on his players for the team’s best run of form in recent years.

“A lot of credit must be given to the players,” said King, a 37-year-old Arima-native, who unexpectedly stood in charge of a squad equipped with the likes of Rundell Winchester, Leston Paul, Kevon Villaroel, Elton John, Kerry Baptiste, Kordell Samuel, Yohance Marshall, Seon Thomas, Jameel Neptune and goalkeeper Akel Clarke among others.

“Our players are buying into how I am trying to play the team,” added the North East Stars coach.

“We’ve had no problems in the attitude of the players and they are all giving their full efforts in every session. We have a nice bunch with experience and youth. And I say youth, but these are some young guys with three to four years at the Pro League level.

“Nobody expected us to be where we are currently and challenging for the league title. It’s also great to put Arima back on the map like the old days with Memphis United and Arima United and to try and achieve something for the owner Darryl Mahabir and all the people that are on board with us.”

King though, is fully aware that the truncated 2017 calendar (June 9 –December 17) is still in the early stages.

“We haven’t won anything yet, so we are trying to keep our players focused. We also have to improve in our play because defensively we are lacking discipline and mistakes can cost us. On the other end of the field we are creating chances but not putting them away as much as we should.”

King who was an assistant coach to former Soca Warriors head coach Stephen Hart initially joined on as North East Stars’ assistant coach, took charge of the now Arima-based club a week before competition following a failed attempt by former multiple-time Pro League winning coach, Terry Fenwick, to lead the club into the 2017 season.

“It’s good to be back coaching competitively every week in the Pro League and competing against guys who I’ve played with such as Angus Eve (Club Sando) and Dale Saunders (Central FC), and against Stuart Charles-Fevrier (W Connection) who coached me,” said King, who will have available former T&T youth midfielder Duane Muckette for the first time this season when the Stars take on the Lawmen.

Currently, the “Savonetta Boys” as W Connection is called head the ten-team standings with 13 points from six matches, the same as Stars who have a match in hand while Club Sando and San Juan Jabloteh are next with ten points each.

Three-time defending champions Central FC lies in fifth spot with eight points from five matches followed by Police FC and Morvant Caledonia United with six apiece, Defence Force (five), St Ann’s Rangers (four) and Pt Fortin Civic, a point less.

Stars will enter tonight’s match on the back of a 2-2 top-of-the-table draw with W Connection last time out on July 14, but it is not certain of coach King, who previously led Joe Public to five titles in one season will have his full quota of players available.

This as defender Kevon Villaroel and midfielder Leston Paul, a former national Under-17 and Under-20 World Cup captain were due to return with the Soca Warriors team yesterday from national duty and may be rested.

Police was also held to a draw 0-0, by Pt Fortin Civic also on July 14, but will a chance to leapfrog the champions into fifth spot, the Richard Hood-coached squad will be up for the challenge.

In tomorrow’s other matches, St Ann’s Rangers host Morvant Caledonia United at Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar from 4pm while W Connection tackles Defence Force in the opening match at Couva from 4pm.

The other match on schedule between, Pt Fortin Civic and San Juan Jabloteh has been rescheduled for Friday August 18 at Mahaica Oval, Pt Fortin, from 6pm as the San Juan-based club, runners-up in the Caribbean Football Union Club Championship held here in May, will leave on the weekend in two batches for San Jose, Costa Rica.

Jabloteh is set to face Santos de Guápiles on Tuesday at the Estadio Ricardo Saprissa Aymá in the inaugural Scotiabank Concacaf League (SCL), part of the Confederation’s expanded competitions platform, kicks off in August with the Round-of-16 while

Central FC, fourth in this year’s CFU competition host Panama’s Deportivo Árabe Unido on Thursday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo from 8pm with the return matches set for August 8 and 10 respectively.

At the end of the home-and-away ties, the aggregate winners will progress to the quarter-finals later in the month. The league resumes following a two-week break for T&T’s international friendly away to Ecuador on Wednesday night, a 3-1 loss.

RELATED NEWS

King laud players over solid NE Stars start to 2017 season.
ttproleague.com.

North East Stars’ last result, a late 2-2 comeback draw against leaders W Connection on July 14, proved more than a point and five a five-game undefeated stretch for head coach Derek King.

It showcased the return of a young and talented coach to the Pro League. That’s if his four wins in as many matches—Point Fortin Civic (1-0), Defence Force (2-1), Morvant Caledonia United (1-0) and St. Ann’s Rangers (2-1)—prior to the Connection visit weren’t convincing enough.

Connection had taken a two-goal first half cushion in Couva but the Stars, following tactical changes by King, rebounded late with a goal each from pre-season signings Jameel Neptune and Kordell Samuel to hold the Savonetta Boys—a team managed by the most successful coach in the Pro League, Stuart Charles-Fevrier—to a draw.

King, however, preferred to shower the praise on his players for the team’s best run of form of recent years which has them positioned second on the Pro League 2017 standings and tied on 13 points with leaders Connection, and with a game in hand against three-time defending champions Central FC.

“A lot of credit must be given to the players,” said King, a 37-year-old Arima-native, who unexpectedly stood in charge of a squad equipped with the likes of Rundell Winchester, Leston Paul, Kevon Villaroel, Elton John, Kerry Baptiste, Kordell Samuel, Yohance Marshall, Seon Thomas, Jameel Neptune and goalkeeper Akel Clarke among others.

“[Our players] are buying into how I am trying to play the team,” added the North East Stars coach. “We’ve had no problems in the attitude of the players and they are all giving their full efforts in every session. We have a nice bunch with experience and youth. And I say youth, but these are some young guys with three to four years at the Pro League level.

“Nobody expected us to be where we are [currently] and challenging for the league title. It’s also great to put Arima back on the map like the old days with Memphis United and Arima United and to try and achieve something for the owner Darryl Mahabir and all the people that are on board with us.”

King though, is fully aware that the truncated 2017 calendar (Jun. 9 – Dec. 17) is still in the early stages. “We haven’t won anything yet, so we are trying to keep our players focused. We also have to improve in our play because defensively we are lacking discipline and mistakes can cost us. On the other end of the field we are creating chances but not putting them away as much as we should.”

King and his North East Stars side, which now calls Arima home, will return to action on Friday 28 July when they host Police FC from 8pm at the Arima Velodrome.

King, a former Trinidad and Tobago international, began his professional career as a player at Connection, under the club’s current coach Stuart Charles-Fevrier in 1999, but later joined rivals Joe Public.

A knee injury, however, in 2002 curtailed a promising career, forcing the defender to move into coaching at Joe Public at an early age.

King went on to enjoy success as a club coach – most notably leading the Eastern Lions to a historic five-title haul in 2009, including the Pro League title as the youngest winning coach to do so at age 29.

King also had various stints at the national level—his most recent being assistant coach to former Soca Warriors head coach Stephen Hart.

Then through luck as it may be, King, who initially joined on as North East Stars’ assistant coach, took charge of the now Arima-based club a week before competition following a failed attempt by former multiple-time Pro League winning coach, Terry Fenwick, to lead the club into the 2017 season.

“It’s good to be back coaching competitively every week in the Pro League and competing against guys who I’ve played with such as Angus Eve (Club Sando) and Dale Saunders (Central FC), and against Stuart Charles-Fevrier (W Connection) who coached me,” said King, who will have available former Trinidad and Tobago youth midfielder Duane Muckette for the first time this season when the Stars take on the Lawmen.

Pro League action will continue on Saturday 29 July with a double-header at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva when Central FC take on Club Sando, a side on a three-game winning streak, from 4pm, followed by W Connection against Defence Force from 6pm.

Also on Saturday MIC-IT St. Ann’s Rangers, 1-0 winners over three-time Pro League holders Central FC in their last outing, will host Morvant Caledonia United from 4pm at the Larry Gomes Stadium in Malabar.

San Juan Jabloteh’s visit to Point Fortin Civic has been rescheduled to August 18 due to the San Juan Kings away fixture against Costa Rica’s Santos de Guapiles on August 1 on the international stage in the inaugural Scotiabank CONCACAF League, which also involves Central FC.

Upcoming Games.

28:07:17, 4:00pm, St. Ann’s Rangers v Morvant Caledonia United, Larry Gomes Stadium
28:07:17, 4:00pm, Central FC v Club Sando, Ato Boldon Stadium
28:07:17, 6:00pm, W Connection v Defence Force, Ato Boldon Stadium
28:07:17, 8:00pm, North East Stars v Police FC, Arima Velodrome

« Last Edit: July 28, 2017, 12:45:16 AM by Flex »

Baptiste, 36, reaches for the Stars
« Reply #113 on: December 26, 2017, 07:57:13 AM »
Baptiste, 36, reaches for the Stars
T&T Newsday

Veteran striker Kerry Baptiste has no intention of hanging up his football boots, even as he achieved his fifth TT Pro League crown in November.

In a recent interview, the 36-year-old Baptiste acknowledged, “I won it five times, twice with Jabloteh, (one with) Joe Public, Central FC and now here with North East.”

He was a member of the victorious Jabloteh teams which lifted the league crowns in 2002 and 2003-2004 seasons, as well as Joe Public (2009), Central FC (2015-2016) and North East Stars (2017).

“It’s always good to end the season on a high note,” he said. “The coach (Derek King) and (technical staff) put together a team with experienced men, and that will beat you everyday. The results will show, and we’re 2017 Pro League champions. It’s a good feeling and I’m enjoying it. I enjoy playing.”

Baptiste began his career as a midfielder, both at Mucurapo Senior (now East Mucurapo Secondary) and at the national Under-20 level, before he was utilised as a striker by King during his time with Joe Public.

At Joe Public, he had his most prolific season (2009), netting a record 34 goals – which still stands – and taking the accolade as the Pro League’s Player of the Year.

This past season, Baptiste was mainly used as a substitute and netted four goals in the campaign.

“I’m enjoying playing the game and that’s what keeps me motivated,” he said. “Every time I step out on the field and it’s time for training, I’m excited.”

A number of experienced players were involved with North East Stars in the 2017 season, including ex-national captain Densill Theobald, team skipper Elton John as well as defenders Julius James and Yohance Marshall.

“Most of the younger guys in this team, they’ve shown me and a lot of the senior guys respect,” Baptiste stated. “We know what we’re about. We’ve been playing the game for a while.

“When we talk to them, they try their best to take heed, we always try to keep them at the right path and let them know the ins-and-outs, that professionalism is on and off the field,” he added. “We hope that they could take heed and, in the future, be our age and still playing.”

How will he rank this Pro League title? “It was a good one,” he replied. “I really enjoyed this one. I’ve never played with a friend of mine, Densill Theobald, at club level.

“I (got) the opportunity to play with him for the first time and he won the Pro League title for the first time this year. So I enjoyed that. Next season, God spare life, I hope to cop another title,” Baptiste ended.

When asked about his long-term ambitions, Baptiste replied, “Nobody really can tell me when to stop playing. I will stop playing when I feel to stop playing. Once I’m getting the respect from whatever club I’m with (I’ll keep playing).

“But when I stop playing, I’ll try to go into the coaching, I’ll try to get into the coaching academies,” he continued.

Looking to 2018 with North East Stars, he said, “CFU (Club Championship 2018) is ahead of us. We’ll try to win the CFU group, qualify for CONCACAF (Club Championship) and take it from there.”

At the international stage, Baptiste has played 50 times for Trinidad and Tobago, from 2003-2010, netting 12 times. He is still keeping his fingers crossed that he can add to those figures (appearances and goals) one day.

“I’ve never called retirement at the international level,” he said. “At the end of the day, the coaches have their jobs to do. I always leave that option open. It’s always an honour to represent your country. Like I always say, age is a number.”

With regards to his fitness level, Baptiste pointed out, “I try to take care of myself a lot. I try to eat as disciplined as I could. I try to work hard, I try to rest as much as I could. I think that is what helps me a bit.”

« Reply #114 on: February 21, 2018, 02:49:26 AM »
King, 10 players leave North East Stars.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Players object to $2500 basic wage deal

Pro League champion club North East Stars were thrown into turmoil after more than 80 percent of its players and staff could not agree with the direction the club is heading under the new management team being led by businessman Ryan Nunes and Michael Awai, the former FUTGOF manager.

Yesterday, coach Derek King confirmed his exit from the team after venting his disgust in the team's decision to implement a basic wage deal of between $2500 to $3000 monthly salary payment for all players. The management also decided that the team should field an under-21 team for the 2018/19 pro league season.

King has been followed by ten players Elton John, Yohance Marshall, Julius James, Rundell Winchester, Densill Theobald, Akeem Garcia, Kevin Goddard, Kerry Baptiste, Jevon Neptune, Akile Clarke and equipment manager Selwyn Gabriel.

Some players have already signed deals with Central FC which has advanced to the final phase of the CONCACAF Caribbean Champions League, while others secured contracts with other international clubs.

King who guided the team to victory last year after winning 12 matches, losing two and drawing four, has described the package as madness and questioned the logic in paying all players a fixed amount, despite their experience and ability.

King, who commanded a salary of $8, 000 a month because of his experience, was one of the highest paid in the club. But when contacted Awai said the club's business model does not cater to pay players exorbitant amounts as it did not make proper business sense in the current economic environment.

In addition to challenges to receive pro league earnings, the club will be unable to sustain itself financially if it paid large salaries. The club's business model entails developing and paying players basic wages and selling them to international clubs.

"This is the only way we can sustain ourselves," Awai explained. The clubs was scheduled to begin negotiations on new deals on February 1 after the contracts of all the players came to an end in December last year. And Awai made it clear they will not be able to afford the players although they would like to have them.

Most of the players even though they may command a larger salary than the base being offered will still not meet the age requirement of being under 20.

Awai questioned why players could not play for a basic salary when the club's earnings were minimal. "What's wrong with playing for a decent amount until they get the opportunity to earn huge amounts at an international club," Awai asked.

The club forks out approximately $1 million to fund the team in the pro league for the year, but now the Sangre Grande club will require an additional amount to ensure the team participates in the Caribbean Club Championship next year.

Only recently the club had to default all its matches in the Flow Youth Pro League in the under-14, 16 and 18 categories as it was not properly registered.

« Reply #115 on: February 21, 2018, 06:09:32 AM »
Prior to this development ah heard that $1500 is the lowest wage players can earn in the Pro League, either per league policy/agreement of the clubs. However, because that's not a realistically sustainable wage, what's offered tends to be "more". See below for what "more" could be. A player right out of school might ketch at $1500 but not for long.

In the PL, players can be lured from one club to another by the incentive of receiving a $500 increase. It happens.

The interesting thing about this development is that the U-21 policy would create room to mitigate an issue ... getting younger players playing time. HOWEVER, internal club business or not, the Pro League directorate should not let that slippery slope occur because the league has a product to protect.

Other than that, some transitional teething issues are evident in the NE Stars acquisition.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2018, 06:14:03 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #116 on: February 22, 2018, 07:21:19 AM »
King, 10 players leave North East Stars.

Players object to $2500 basic wage deal

Pro League champion club North East Stars were thrown into turmoil after more than 80 percent of its players and staff could not agree with the direction the club is heading under the new management team being led by businessman Ryan Nunes and Michael Awai, the former FUTGOF manager.

Yesterday, coach Derek King confirmed his exit from the team after venting his disgust in the team's decision to implement a basic wage deal of between $2500 to $3000 monthly salary payment for all players. The management also decided that the team should field an under-21 team for the 2018/19 pro league season.

King has been followed by ten players Elton John, Yohance Marshall, Julius James, Rundell Winchester, Densill Theobald, Akeem Garcia, Kevin Goddard, Kerry Baptiste, Jevon Neptune, Akile Clarke and equipment manager Selwyn Gabriel.

Some players have already signed deals with Central FC which has advanced to the final phase of the CONCACAF Caribbean Champions League, while others secured contracts with other international clubs.

King who guided the team to victory last year after winning 12 matches, losing two and drawing four, has described the package as madness and questioned the logic in paying all players a fixed amount, despite their experience and ability.

King, who commanded a salary of $8, 000 a month because of his experience, was one of the highest paid in the club. But when contacted Awai said the club's business model does not cater to pay players exorbitant amounts as it did not make proper business sense in the current economic environment.

In addition to challenges to receive pro league earnings, the club will be unable to sustain itself financially if it paid large salaries. The club's business model entails developing and paying players basic wages and selling them to international clubs.

"This is the only way we can sustain ourselves," Awai explained. The clubs was scheduled to begin negotiations on new deals on February 1 after the contracts of all the players came to an end in December last year. And Awai made it clear they will not be able to afford the players although they would like to have them.

Most of the players even though they may command a larger salary than the base being offered will still not meet the age requirement of being under 20.

Awai questioned why players could not play for a basic salary when the club's earnings were minimal. "What's wrong with playing for a decent amount until they get the opportunity to earn huge amounts at an international club," Awai asked.

The club forks out approximately $1 million to fund the team in the pro league for the year, but now the Sangre Grande club will require an additional amount to ensure the team participates in the Caribbean Club Championship next year.

Only recently the club had to default all its matches in the Flow Youth Pro League in the under-14, 16 and 18 categories as it was not properly registered.

Anytime NE Stars qualify for de Caribbean Cup something does go wrong.

So I guess them eh get they Pro League prize money yet?

Only in T&T.

Dexter Skeene really good.

Somebody need to his Darryl Smith some f00cking hard calpat.

« Reply #117 on: February 22, 2018, 07:41:35 AM »
There is really something wrong anytime NE win the league. How could this be?

« Reply #118 on: April 26, 2018, 01:45:54 AM »
Vranes to take over at North East.

Former national football coach, Yugoslavian Zoran Vranes is set to take over at North East Stars for the coming T&T Pro League season.

Vranes who still considers himself a Trinidadian, having coached the country's senior team in 1994-1996; 2003; assistant coach in 2009-2010 and Under-20 coach in 2009-2010, is expected to sign on the dotted line over the next two days. The former head coach at Joe Public Football Club in 2001-2002 and Central FC in 2014-2015, was hesitant to offer a comment until he signs the contract. However, he told Guardian Media Sports that he is happy to be back in T&T football.

He promised to do his best to guide the pro league's defending champion team to its second title in as many years.

Vranes will work for a Board that is results-oriented and favours attractive football. The Yugoslavian is expected to be equipped with a few marquee players as well as other talented young players that have emerged from the club's youth system.

It is understood the club will also make provisions for amateur players, who are likely to come from the nation's schools, to play and be paid on a game-by-game basis.

Director of Football Michael Awai, the Arima-based team intends to revolutionise the business model of the sport in T&T and the way clubs manage its affairs.

Its foundation will be a youthful development academy at which players will be prepared to represent the club's junior and senior teams. The club's development structure will also prepare players to be shipped out to teams abroad on contracts.

The club is set to be bigger and stronger than last year, with players expected to receive all the winnings from the First Citizens Cup as a form of incentive to them. A member of the club said all efforts will be made to ensure players are treated like professionals and are comfortable.

Vranes will be in charge of all the teams and coaches. Yesterday, he painted a bleak picture of the standard of local football in T&T. He said the quality of play has dropped more than 10 years behind and he felt obligated to return to help lift the standard of local football to where it should be at present, starting at North East Stars.

He was left bemused by the disparity between T&T football and the level being played internationally.

He said, "I can't understand why we do not have a lot more players in the Leagues in Europe and elsewhere. It is very sad because when I coached here at the senior and junior levels, we had players who held their own against top teams such as the Brazil Under-20 and Paraguay etc." V

According to Vranes, "One thing I know is that T&T has a lot of players with potential, but now we must work hard in all areas to ensure the standard is rise again."

ZORAN VRANES

1994–1996 Trinidad & Tobago

2001–2002 Joe Public F.C.

2003 Trinidad & Tobago

2003–2004 Rudar Pljevlja

2004–2007 St. Vincent & the Grenadines

2009–2010 Trinidad & Tobago (assistant-coach)

2009–2010 Trinidad & Tobago U20

2014–2015 Central FC

« Reply #119 on: April 26, 2018, 07:20:40 AM »
He is still around?