April 29, 2024, 01:57:47 AM

Author Topic: Sunderland boss praises T&T players  (Read 2442 times)

Sunderland boss praises T&T players
« on: July 07, 2007, 10:40:54 AM »
Sunderland boss praises T&T players.

As Sunderland goes into its preseason campaign ahead of the new English Premiership season, club chairman Niall Quinn has warned any new players that they will have to show the same level of commitment displayed by those who helped the team earn promotion.
T&T midfielder Carlos Edwards as well as Dwight Yorke and Stern John were all part of that effort and Quinn used them as examples of committed professionals when he spoke to the media in Sunderland on Monday.
“All the players we sign, no matter how skilful and graceful, it’s that commitment that’s so vital.The likes of Carlos Edwards bought into that immediately; the amount of ground he covered on his team-mates’ behalf last year. Okay, the spectacular goals are great, but it’s that commitment and conviction that counts,” Quinn stated.
“The group we have at this club now – and I’d include the older ones like Dwight Yorke – they want to kick on. It’s refreshing to see Dwight as fit as he is, showing the young lads how it’s done.That’s the thing we need looking forward, we don’t need to look back. I know Dwight will be eager to stake his claim for another run at the Premiership. His commitment last year was colossal and that runs right the way through to the Grant Leadbitters who want to show that they can do it on the big stage as well,” Quinn continued.
Edwards said he's looking forward to the preseason campaign coming up.
"Right now I'm just settling back into the conditions here after the trip to Trinidad. We have a hectic schedule coming up but I think all the boys are up for it. We want to to embrace everything that comes away and show that we belong on the Premiership stage," Edwards added.

Re: Sunderland boss praises T&T players
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2007, 11:21:56 AM »
Nice... Ah cah wait on the season to start...

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2007, 02:09:05 PM »
-sigh- it would have been nice to see Carlos and Stern in de gold cup...

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2007, 02:15:54 PM »
...praises SOME T&T players.

I still worried bout what they'll do with Stern.

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2007, 02:55:34 PM »
doh study that praise

Niall doh pick de side

« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2007, 06:59:14 AM »
He didn praise the T&T players, he praise Dwight and Carlos...both already well known for their fitness and work rate, regardless of nationality.

« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2007, 05:33:58 PM »
Notice... the Boss ent even call Stern John name. Like they planning to leh that sit down.

« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2007, 08:02:02 AM »
SPOT A TRINI

allyuh always wanna jus see d worst

nobody think stern cud buckle down earn he pick and light up the prem???

patriotism

« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2007, 09:41:15 AM »
SPOT A TRINI

allyuh always wanna jus see d worst

nobody think stern cud buckle down earn he pick and light up the prem???

patriotism

only person seeing the worst is you
where you see anyone say Stern cyah make? steeups

« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2007, 11:52:32 AM »
i really hope stern stays and gets some playing time and score goals....maybe its a situation where sunderland will give him till december and see how he goes at this level....stern cant handle that "heartbreak"....plus he needs to settle at a club....but thats professional football....all the best to the best...

« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2007, 12:03:07 PM »
i really hope stern stays and gets some playing time and score goals....maybe its a situation where sunderland will give him till december and see how he goes at this level....stern cant handle that "heartbreak"....plus he needs to settle at a club....but thats professional football....all the best to the best...
Am I missing something here?  What is de "heartbreak" and why people taking Quinn's words as some knock or slight to Stern?

« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2007, 02:12:04 PM »
sorry bake n shark....i  really meant when i said "heartbreak"..that i spoke with stern personally when he first left Birmingham to join Coventry....and he was suffering a "heartbreak from the EPL"....some of you may call it weakness...but ..say wha...i was not going on about Naill quinn