March 29, 2024, 09:11:42 AM

Author Topic: The best Caribbean-born footballer  (Read 15112 times)

Re: Who is the best Player in the Caribbean
« Reply #60 on: July 04, 2007, 01:07:57 PM »
right now: 3 way tie between Jason Roberts (Grenada), Carlos (T&T), and Gardner (Jamaica)

best ever: Leonson Lewis

ha ha ..filho you should get around some more ... Ask Leonsen and he will tell you who is de best ever ...he been saying it for many years ...since you rate him so highly you should respect his opinion ...
Ask him nah

There's really only 2 answers to that question.  Which answer comes down to personal preference and neither is wrong.  I know mine.

Offline Swima

« Reply #61 on: July 04, 2007, 01:25:21 PM »
D Jamaicans gettin real pong as is, but I would not include Gardner with Edwards and Roberts right now. His season has been sporadic. Claude Davis had a more solid season in my mind. Nonetheless, I think if we were to add a potential third that Shelton, once his eye for goal improves, will be a torment in both the EPL and CONCACAF.

Shelton will turn out to be another Ricardo Fuller.  Plenty flash, lots a great predictions bout potential, and ultimately end up in a Championship or Division 1 squad scorin 5 goal a season.  As fuh CONCACAF.....same returns as Fuller.

Respect!

The reason why I do not see him as another Fuller is because his pace is so deadly. Fuller had more beat than pace, but we see where in England, having beat alone don't necessarily make you a star. Pacy winger/forwards tend to shine in the frenetic atmosphere of the prem. I could be wrong and would in no way put my head on a block for anyone, but coming up against Manu this past season, he was quite impressive for such a young inexperienced guy. I wouldn't hate on him nor would I sleep on the potential he has already shown. That's all it is though, potential.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #62 on: July 04, 2007, 01:37:32 PM »
right now: 3 way tie between Jason Roberts (Grenada), Carlos (T&T), and Gardner (Jamaica)

ha ha ..filho you should get around some more ... Ask Leonsen and he will tell you who is de best ever ...he been saying it for many years ...since you rate him so highly you should respect his opinion ...
Ask him nah

Aye boy. You back..talk to me nah. How you feeling bout you biancocelestes. I feel dat Crespo injury will have big repercussions. Anyhow..this is not the thread. I will catch yuh on a copa thread. Anyhow, personally, I just value what Leo brought to the table over all others. We can't all value the same thing. Doh really matter what Leo himself thinks. The man humble  ;) Read his interview with socawarriors.net. He would have played for a big European team if not for naivete and an unscrupulous agent. Even When portuguese scouts had come to see the #10, when they were done they said they'll only take him if they could have the #11. Not everyone values the same things I guess. Respek

« Reply #63 on: July 04, 2007, 01:39:30 PM »
D Jamaicans gettin real pong as is, but I would not include Gardner with Edwards and Roberts right now. His season has been sporadic. Claude Davis had a more solid season in my mind. Nonetheless, I think if we were to add a potential third that Shelton, once his eye for goal improves, will be a torment in both the EPL and CONCACAF.

Swimz..you sound like you talking more bout Gardner form than how good he actually is  ;).

« Reply #64 on: July 04, 2007, 01:45:30 PM »

Ask him nah

Aye boy. You back..talk to me nah. How you feeling bout you biancocelestes. I feel dat Crespo injury will have big repercussions. Anyhow..this is not the thread. I will catch yuh on a copa thread. Anyhow, personally, I just value what Leo brought to the table over all others. We can't all value the same thing. Doh really matter what Leo himself thinks. The man humble  ;) Read his interview with socawarriors.net. He would have played for a big European team if not for naivete and an unscrupulous agent. Even When portuguese scouts had come to see the #10, when they were done they said they'll only take him if they could have the #11. Not everyone values the same things I guess. Respek

yeah boy Filho I was off for awhile ...you know I would have a thing or two to say on de Copa  :beermug:
Purely as a matter of personal preference Latapy is my player as best ever .....most underrated player for me is Hutson Charles. i was around them when they played under 23 and even later ....Hutson just never got the break ....something a lot of young players get caught up with ...children at an early age..unable to leave ...
I remember one player ..I wont say who, had 5 children and was on de under 23 team ! You tink  easy.

« Reply #65 on: July 04, 2007, 02:08:51 PM »
nah...i think shelton will get far.....de man have stuff...shhhhh  doh tell RF i said that

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #66 on: July 04, 2007, 02:31:52 PM »
 Russel Latapy, Dwight Yorke, Leonson Lewis,  Theodore Whitmore, Stern John   (These are the best players that I have seen in the Caribbean)....I will throw Angloma in there too since he played for Guadelope.

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #67 on: July 04, 2007, 02:35:09 PM »
and of Carlos Edwards is currently the best that I have seen....can't forget Carlos.

« Reply #68 on: July 04, 2007, 04:26:55 PM »
Me  8)

Oh crap is football allyuh men talkin bout? I say is gyals..  ;D

Offline Swima

« Reply #69 on: July 04, 2007, 04:48:18 PM »

Swimz..you sound like you talking more bout Gardner form than how good he actually is  ;).

Yeah Fil, dais why I say right now. Bibi is the best to come outta JA probably since Alan Cole. But i ehn no expert on football in the land of wood and water. We go hadda talk to Big Mag about dat.  ;D
Success will never take you by surprise.

Re: The best Caribbean-born footballer
« Reply #70 on: July 04, 2007, 06:08:00 PM »
How come Latas better than Yorke? Yorke has been very successful in achievement and also has proven himself as a striker and a midfielder. His technique and knowledge of the game is tremendous. I know Latas has skills and all that jazz, but Yorke has shown that no one else can stand up to him. He keeps on producing any where you put him on the field and off.

« Reply #71 on: July 04, 2007, 08:11:45 PM »
What about dem man born in Guad. Like Anelka, Thuram, Tresor, Henry etc dem count.

« Reply #72 on: July 04, 2007, 08:40:19 PM »
Stephen "Trini Pele" Hart

Offline kaiser

« Reply #73 on: July 04, 2007, 08:42:27 PM »
like everybody fogetting yorke time down under the a league should be the yorke league the man carry a whole league and he was the best defensive player in the opening round of the wc,to any sensible and un baised person yorke is the easy decision he is above john barnes because he still belongs to the carribbean

Offline prodigy23

« Reply #74 on: July 04, 2007, 09:18:32 PM »
dwarika?!??? ???

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #75 on: July 04, 2007, 09:20:02 PM »
onandi lowe coulda really been playin for a top club if he was serious...

he was real bad ...esp. when he play TT

i think Walter "Pearl' Boyd was better then him. Play with the man real skill and touches best jamaican i have ever played with...
All American

« Reply #76 on: July 05, 2007, 03:13:40 AM »
What about dem man born in Guad. Like Anelka, Thuram, Tresor, Henry etc dem count.
Out of that list only Thurham and Tresor are Born in Guadeloupe.
Anelka is of Martiniquean Heritage.

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
« Reply #77 on: July 05, 2007, 03:01:31 PM »
Unlike Barnes yorke was born bred and learnt his trade here which gives him a plus!!!!

« Reply #78 on: July 05, 2007, 04:38:47 PM »
Hardest.
Talk Done.

« Reply #79 on: July 05, 2007, 05:29:29 PM »
Unlike Barnes yorke was born bred and learnt his trade here which gives him a plus!!!!

from what i understand Barnes was born in Jamaica and left at the age of 15 or 16 for the UK. Much like Dwight. I may be wrong

« Reply #80 on: July 05, 2007, 05:35:48 PM »
Allyuh eh hear me or what.
Talk done!

« Reply #81 on: July 05, 2007, 05:39:17 PM »
Hardest.
Talk Done. LOCK DE CHREAD!

Bitter, while you still can
''
“Sometimes the hardest thing in the world is admitting you need help''

http://www.sportingchancecharity.com/

« Reply #82 on: July 05, 2007, 06:38:29 PM »
Hardest.
Talk Done. LOCK DE CHREAD!

Bitter, while you still can
''
“Sometimes the hardest thing in the world is admitting you need help''

http://www.sportingchancecharity.com/
Ah man dig this thread up from April 2005....

but yes, I need help.

« Reply #83 on: July 05, 2007, 10:41:14 PM »
April 2005 nuff ting happen since then

« Reply #84 on: July 05, 2007, 11:51:22 PM »
I thought you'd say Yorke's peak could have been inthe world cup...

Offline Remie

« Reply #85 on: July 06, 2007, 03:59:07 AM »
onandi lowe coulda really been playin for a top club if he was serious...

he was real bad ...esp. when he play TT

i think Walter "Pearl' Boyd was better then him. Play with the man real skill and touches best jamaican i have ever played with...

Yes Garcia. Walter Boyd is my choice for who i would most like to watch on pure talent. That man had real skills when he got on the football pitch.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2007, 04:53:46 AM by Remie »

« Reply #86 on: July 06, 2007, 05:31:18 AM »
how you all not even rating Thuram ?

the man have a world cup and european championship medal !

check these stats !

Monaco (1991-1996)
French Cup 1990/91
Parma (1996-2001)
UEFA Cup 1998/99
Italian Cup championships 1998/99
Italian SuperCup 1998/99
Juventus (2001/02-2005/06)
Serie A Championships: 2001-2 2002-3 (2004-5 & 2005-6 titles stripped)
Italian SuperCup 2002 2003
FC Barcelona (2006/07-present)
Spanish Super Cup 2005-06
French national team (1994- )
FIFA World Cup winner 1998, runner-up 2006
European Championship winner 2000, semi-finalist 1996

Offline fivers

« Reply #87 on: July 06, 2007, 06:22:15 AM »
Come on fellas, there is even a discussion on this? Given the achievement dating back from college years right up to his senior career nobody has a better resume. Yorke is total class man. Simply a joy to watch.

« Reply #88 on: July 06, 2007, 06:30:50 AM »
Robbie Greenidge from Malvern glamour boys......1960

« Reply #89 on: July 06, 2007, 07:27:44 AM »
so I guess yorke is de wiiner, Thuram going to be upset  ;)