April 28, 2024, 02:43:25 AM

Author Topic: Copa America Thread  (Read 106087 times)

Re: 2011 Copa America Thread.
« Reply #540 on: July 24, 2011, 03:04:35 PM »
forlan now saying his grandpa win it, his dad win it, and now he win it...wow!

« Reply #541 on: July 24, 2011, 03:12:12 PM »
Like everybody does get a small trophy.
Best defender, best goalie, player of the tournament...

« Reply #542 on: July 24, 2011, 03:17:55 PM »
I missed it, who got player of the tournament and golden boots?

« Reply #543 on: July 24, 2011, 03:47:12 PM »
Sensational Uruguay! Well Deserved! :applause: :applause:

Suarez is a pest. Dam! They should nick name him "blue fly"
Forlan is simply a great example of doing what ever it takes for the team.

Two very modern footballers in a well balanced and superbly organized team

« Reply #544 on: July 24, 2011, 04:24:43 PM »
I missed it, who got player of the tournament and golden boots?

Suarez get Player of the Tournament from what I could tell.  Only saw the last 10 mins... enough to see Suarez set up Forlan for the finale.  Very intelligent play by Forlan to check his run at the last minute.  I have to say, seeing Suarez in that uniform evokes some very bitter memories fuh me... same for Uruguay, but no denying the quality of football they playing right now.  Was nice to see a couple dark brown faces on the squad as well... a rarity for sub-Amazonian teams.  Suarez may turn out to be Liverpool's best signing in quite some time.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2011, 04:26:33 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #545 on: July 24, 2011, 05:03:19 PM »
Forlan = winner/team player! Congrasts to Uruguay!

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

« Reply #546 on: July 24, 2011, 09:26:26 PM »
Who does Paraguay #20 play for? A classic regista. If they had given him some midfield protection and wingers to play with from the start this woulda be a different game. When he had time on the ball in the second half Paraguay looked like they would drag themselves back into it.

Uruguay played a damn good game though. Managed it well tactically, Forlan and Suarez mash up and the third goal was a beautiful counterattack.
Victoria concordia crescit

« Reply #547 on: July 29, 2011, 09:57:32 AM »
interesting theory on the roots of the vinotinto's success.

==

Venezuela’s Vinotinto: The New Vintage?

By KEYVAN ANTONIO HEYDARI

Copa América in Argentina is over, Uruguay has taken home the trophy for the 15th time, and the rest of South America assesses whether the balance of soccer power has been altered. If so, the net winner is Venezuela, which was eliminated in the semifinals, on penalty kicks against Paraguay, without having lost a match.

“We deserved to be in the final, but there is nothing compared with being able to bring together 30 million people,” said Gabriel Cíchero (who played briefly for the Red Bulls of M.L.S. in 2008) upon arrival in Venezuela. Against Paraguay, Venezuela was inches away from the final. It beat Ecuador and Chile, and tied Brazil and Paraguay. Venezuela hit the woodwork twice in overtime and was one missed penalty kick from playing Uruguay in the final.

Coach César Farías was adamant, even after elimination by Paraguay and losing the third-place match to Peru, on demanding respect for South America’s historic whipping boy. The history of the national team of Venezuela, know as the Vinotinto, (because of their red, wine-colored jerseys) is thin, but brewing.

Economic policy was a cornerstone in this process. In the 1950s, as Chico Carrasquel became the first of many Venezuelan shortstops in the major leagues, the president Marcos Pérez Jiménez promoted highway and large infrastructure projects in Venezuela financed by the nation’s oil revenues. He encouraged immigration from Europe, and two generations after many laborers and professionals arrived in Venezuela from Italy, Portugal, Spain and the rest of South America to work, a soccer boom is paying dividends for the national team.

Venezuela’s best players tend to migrate to Argentina or Mexico. Some like standout defender Oswaldo Vizcarrondo (Deportivo Anzoátegui), play in Venezuelan clubs. Two cities near the Colombian border, San Cristóbal and Mérida, are hotbeds of soccer. Venezuela’s best player, Juan Arango, of Germany’s Borussia Mönchengladbach, has Colombian parents. Another standout born in Venezuela, Jeffrén Suárez,,is a substitute for Barcelona who has decided to play for Spain’s youth national teams.

Venezuela played its first World Cup qualifiers for England 1966 and lost all four matches. Then in 1967, Venezuela participated in its first Copa América. It beat Bolivia in its debut and then finished last in the next five editions of the tournament. This week, Venezuela jumped 29 spots in the latest FIFA world rankings, from No. 69 to No. 40, after its performance in the Copa.

Decades of frustration lifted in the qualifying campaign for Germany 2002, when the Vinotinto strung together victories over Uruguay, Chile, Peru and Paraguay and finished out of the South American basement for the first time. For Germany 2006, the Venezuelans improved one spot to the eighth place in qualifying, and repeated the same result as the 2010 qualifiers.

A great shift came in 2007, as the administration of President Hugo Chávez made that Copa held in Venezuela a showcase event. In 2009, Venezuela finally participated in its first World Cup, the U-20 World Cup in Egypt.

Venezuela, however, was swept up in the Copa América 2011. The streets of Caracas also were mirrors of the people’s interest with public spaces like Plazas Alfredo Sabel, Venezuela, Sucre and Miranda were full of fans watching the match.

Hugo Chávez, wrote from Cuba on his Twitter account during the semis, “Epa! Here, watching the great game. Nicolás is here, and it looks like Fidel is on his way to watch the game with us. We will survive and triumph!” After the loss on penalties, Chávez added, “Great Venezuela! Viva the fatherland.”

With Uruguay crowned as champions of the 2011 edition, Venezuelans beamed with pride and bristled with disappointment.

“We felt we should have done more. We should have been in the final. The world knows that now in South America, there is another team to reckon with,” Farías said. “A team with quality, that is not afraid of anyone and will fight. Maybe we’ll have the satisfaction of reaching Brazil 2014.”

Giancarlo Maldonado, the former Chivas USA forward whose father Carlos was born in Uruguay but also played for Venezuela, told ESPN Deportes: “I think the desire, sacrifice and togetherness we have in this group the last two years is marvelous. We have sacrificed family, friends and many shortened their vacations. Each time we get closer, and we hope it will be the perfect opportunity to be in a World Cup.”

The World Cup qualifiers start in October. Since Brazil gets an automatic bid, there will be five other South American countries attempting to qualify. Could it be a celebration in 2014 with wine, Vinotinto perhaps? In August, Venezuela will play friendlies in Washington (El Salvador) and Miami (Honduras) as preparation for the qualifiers.

Keyvan Antonio Heydari writes about international soccer. You can follow him on Twitter at keyvan9

Offline Dynamite Warrior

Re: Conmebol and CONCACAF join to play COPA America????????
« Reply #548 on: January 30, 2012, 12:13:37 PM »
At this point it looks like it will happen the only question is weather we will be there.

The president of the Ecuadorean soccer federation, whose brother is on the CONMEBOL executive committee, told Mexican media that the USA is a potential candidate to host the 2016 Copa América in celebration of the South American confederation's 100-year anniversary.

"We are going to have the opening so that it's not held in one of the 10 countries of South America. It could be Mexico and it could be the United States as well," said Luis Chiriboga.

Chiriboga noted that the special edition of the 2016 Copa América would feature 16 teams: 10 from South America and six from CONCACAF. Apparently there would be a qualification process to determine the six CONCACAF nations.

Four groups of four teams with Argentina, Brazil, Mexico and the USA in separate groups? Fans will flock.

If US fans thought that was big news, the Ecuadorean chief also mentioned that the US would likely get an inivitation to participate in the 2015 Copa América in Brazil.

"I have no doubt that the obstacles [in CONCACAF] are being overcome," said Chiriboga. "Mexico's invitation has never been in question. Of the two teams we invite, one is Mexico and the other could be the United States or Japan."

Imagine this schedule for the USMNT: 2014 World Cup in Brazil, 2015 Copa América in Brazil and the 2016 Copa América on US soil. Something tells me Jurgen Klinsmann is not the type to decline these kind of invites.

http://www.mlssoccer.com/blog/smorgasborg/2012/01/27/no-world-cup-theres-always-copa-america

« Reply #549 on: January 30, 2012, 12:26:31 PM »
Will this actually raise our standard of football or will it serve to show how much behind we are? If our standard right now is below Grenada when it comes to  qualifying out of all the Caribbean countries for the Gold Cup and if we cannot get up to standard to  do better in WC qualifying, how will we strive to make  gains in a  more competitive expanded zone?
It will definitely raise our standard just look at Venezuela we used to be far ahead of them now look at them,we cant touch them at this time.The thing is it wont do anything bad for our boys they can only learn from playing superior opposition.

« Reply #550 on: January 30, 2012, 01:06:22 PM »
This will only raise the standard of our football if we do what is necessary to improve our game...a tournament doesn't make u better.

« Reply #551 on: January 30, 2012, 02:27:39 PM »
Will this actually raise our standard of football or will it serve to show how much behind we are? If our standard right now is below Grenada when it comes to  qualifying out of all the Caribbean countries for the Gold Cup and if we cannot get up to standard to  do better in WC qualifying, how will we strive to make  gains in a  more competitive expanded zone?
It will definitely raise our standard just look at Venezuela we used to be far ahead of them now look at them,we cant touch them at this time.The thing is it wont do anything bad for our boys they can only learn from playing superior opposition.

Stick to hop scotch buller!

« Reply #552 on: January 30, 2012, 03:24:05 PM »

Frico, I eh sure about that one. Venezuela was the doormat of Conmebol. TT was never better than Venezuela in football.

« Reply #553 on: January 30, 2012, 03:24:53 PM »

Stick to hop scotch buller!
bwda :rotfl:

« Reply #554 on: January 30, 2012, 03:37:23 PM »

Frico, I eh sure about that one. Venezuela was the doormat of Conmebol. TT was never better than Venezuela in football.
Dat is the point though. Since Conmebol switched to a round robin World Cup qualifying format and Venezuela started getting some regular games against quality opposition the standard of their football has improved to where they are no longer the doormats and IIRC have managed several significant upsets. I think it would be good for us but first we'd have to qualify for the tournament. And seeing as how we having trouble making de Gold Cup...

« Reply #555 on: January 30, 2012, 03:43:19 PM »

Dat is the point though. Since Conmebol switched to a round robin World Cup qualifying format and Venezuela started getting some regular games against quality opposition the standard of their football has improved to where they are no longer the doormats and IIRC have managed several significant upsets. I think it would be good for us but first we'd have to qualify for the tournament. And seeing as how we having trouble making de Gold Cup...

The Venezuela government under Chavez pumped money into football, hence their their gigantic improve.

« Reply #556 on: January 30, 2012, 04:10:13 PM »
when were we ever so far ahead of Venezuela is the point!

« Reply #557 on: January 30, 2012, 05:04:40 PM »
when were we ever so far ahead of Venezuela is the point!

I far as I know we never played Ven. much in football. If we played them 10 times that is plenty. I remember in 71 or 72 Ven. send team to TT on a goodwill tour. They send university students thinking they could walk over Trini. But they got a rude awakening. The three games ended in lopsided wins for Trini. Well, suffice to say to least,  the Venezuelans were embarassed and invited us to Ven. We went with there and lost both games. This time they used their pros. I remember one score was 3-1. We had basically and all amateur team. I know we have played them a couple of times again, but I could not tell the results

« Reply #558 on: January 30, 2012, 05:27:53 PM »
dat is why day buller frico needs to stick to floral arrangement and hop scotch and tiddly winks 

« Reply #559 on: January 30, 2012, 08:31:07 PM »
They will use the Gold Cup as a qualification for the  6 to play with Conmebol. The 4 that make the 1/4 finals and the next 2 with the best record. Rocket science! But if the US going to host it then 5 will be fighting for the qualification. If they decide that US/Mex are co-host, then is 4.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2012, 08:33:13 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #560 on: January 30, 2012, 09:44:45 PM »
They will use the Gold Cup as a qualification for the  6 to play with Conmebol. The 4 that make the 1/4 finals and the next 2 with the best record. Rocket science! But if the US going to host it then 5 will be fighting for the qualification. If they decide that US/Mex are co-host, then is 4.
[/b]
Then it will be us and 3 others, maybe Guyana might get a bly as well.

« Reply #561 on: January 31, 2012, 10:35:34 AM »
[/b]
When last we even qualify fuh de Gold Cup? Far less make the semifinals.

« Reply #562 on: January 31, 2012, 12:24:29 PM »
dat is why day buller frico needs to stick to floral arrangement and hop scotch and tiddly winks 

lol ok we get it - yuh doh like the fella... Doh chain up no thread derailment nuh...

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Would be great to play in Copa A. if we could qualify - Win or lose, I real missing the days of looking forward to T&T playing in proper competitions...
« Last Edit: January 31, 2012, 12:26:42 PM by kicker »

« Reply #563 on: January 31, 2012, 12:26:32 PM »
[/b]
Don't worry with me breds, I know if things continue as they are we don't stand a chance.

« Reply #564 on: January 31, 2012, 12:41:15 PM »
Grenada vs Brazil ... what a spectacle  :P

« Reply #565 on: January 31, 2012, 01:26:36 PM »
[/b]
Don't worry with me breds, I know if things continue as they are we don't stand a chance.
Cool! :beermug:

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #566 on: February 09, 2012, 03:12:47 PM »
Conmebol's Copa America is the oldest international continental tournament in soccer, and 2016 will mark its 100th birthday.

That could also be the year that many American soccer fans have a dream come true.

According to Mexican outlet mediotiempo.com, CONCACAF president Alfredo Hawit said during a recent stop in Mexico that an 18-team tournament consisting of teams from CONCACAF and Conmebol is being planned for 2016.

With no Gold Cup or Copa America scheduled for that year, officials are proposing the Copa America's centennial be celebrated with a tournament comprised of 10 Conmebol teams and eight from CONCACAF. There was no explanation on which eight teams would represent CONCACAF, but the United States and Mexico seem all but guaranteed to be included.

There also was no further comment made as to what the teams would play for. Both regions are scheduled to have their respective regular tournaments in 2015, and those are typically the ones with Confederations Cup berths on the line.

Hawit also said permanently inviting Brazil to future Gold Cups, starting with the one in 2013, is being contemplated.

http://www.soccerbyives.net/soccer_by_ives/2012/02/report-concacaf-conmebol-planning-18-team-copa-america-in-2016.html

The original article also has Hawit saying that he is trying to work with the Carib nations for a rotation policy for CONCACAF presidency. He wants a president to serve a four year term and each four years the presidency would rotate from a carib president to a Northern/Central American president. Right now i think hes doing a decent job as president and i think the rotation policy would help the regions start to trust each other again.

« Reply #567 on: February 09, 2012, 04:19:43 PM »
The original article also has Hawit saying that he is trying to work with the Carib nations for a rotation policy for CONCACAF presidency. He wants a president to serve a four year term and each four years the presidency would rotate from a carib president to a Northern/Central American president. Right now i think hes doing a decent job as president and i think the rotation policy would help the regions start to trust each other again.

What allyuh think about this idea. I kinder like the idea. But lets get some more details.

2016 Copa America to be played in U.S
« Reply #568 on: October 25, 2012, 04:00:55 AM »
2016 Copa America to be played in U.S

South American soccer governing body CONMEBOL will hold a special Copa America tournament in 2016 in the United States to commemorate the organization's 100th year.

CONMEBOL said at a meeting of its executive committee in the Argentine capital Wednesday that the tournament would include the 10 South American confederation teams, plus the United States, Mexico and four others from the CONCACAF region, which comprises North and Central America and the Caribbean.

The event will take place between the 2015 and 2019 Copa America tournaments.

CONMEBOL said in a statement that the four CONCACAF teams would be added according to their rankings in the Gold Cup, the CONCACAF regional championship.

CONMEBOL said the event will be played in July, but offered few other details. It's the first time the event will be played outside South America and could be a huge financial success showcasing Brazil and Argentina to North American fans.

Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Neymar, Oscar and Radamel Falcao are among the international stars who could represent South American teams.

The event will follow the 2016 European Championship in France, which will be expanded to 24 teams for the first time.

CONMEBOL also said Japan and Mexico will play in the 2015 Copa America as guest teams.

Uruguay won the 2011 Copa America, which was played in Argentina.

CONCACAF, which represents North and Central America and the Caribbean, holds its Gold Cup championship in odd-numbered years. Since 2007, South America's Copa America has been held every four years in the summers following World Cups. There have been two outside invitees since 1993, mostly from CONCACAF.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.

Re: 2016 Copa America to be played in U.S
« Reply #569 on: October 25, 2012, 06:06:13 AM »
Oh god please let we get we act together  :praying: