April 27, 2024, 04:23:00 PM

Author Topic: Copa America Thread  (Read 106056 times)

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
Re: Copa America Thread
« Reply #870 on: February 27, 2024, 07:44:56 PM »
@kounty I don't know how to post it here but I downloaded as a pdf on concacaf site

« Reply #871 on: February 27, 2024, 11:31:42 PM »

« Reply #872 on: February 29, 2024, 12:27:37 PM »
Obikwu is still 19, so I think we've all been clamoring to widen the pool. I ent grudge the call to see what he look like. Sometimes when u brokes you does have to stretch and multi-purpose de ting.

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #873 on: March 12, 2024, 05:05:49 AM »
Players right now in goal scoring form:
Levi Garcia
Judah Garcia
Dantaye Gilbert
Justin Obikwu
Jomal Williams
 ;D ;D
A lot of other players (midfielders and defenders) started their season in US last week also (Real Gill and Noah Powder have a good connection for Hailstorm FC), Canadian Premier League players in preseason right now.  :) :)

Can't wait to see what madness this coach does in the game coming up IN 2 WEEKS!!!!!  :laugh: :worried:

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #874 on: March 12, 2024, 03:59:21 PM »
Obikwu get capped by T&T even though he's still techincally uncapped and find form right after yes 🙌🏽👏🏼

« Reply #875 on: March 14, 2024, 09:31:48 AM »
The squad has been named

« Reply #876 on: March 14, 2024, 09:40:58 AM »
How we looking?

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #877 on: March 14, 2024, 10:44:27 AM »
At times I does think Controversial just being controversial but after this squad was named I owe him/her an apology yes lol. Cuz ain't know way Angus does 2atch football bai. Wais really this team steups

« Reply #878 on: March 14, 2024, 11:41:53 AM »
Chelsea you have me nervous now...can't wait to see this roster.

« Reply #879 on: March 14, 2024, 11:42:28 AM »
How we looking. The good, Judah Garcia is included after 2 years.

The bad, Ryan Telfer is injured, so that was expected.
Sheldon Bateau, not included. No Obikwu or Dantaye.

Honestly, the center back position looks thin. Aubrey's fitness after 65mins is our achilles heal. That's where Sheldon Bateau can come in.

Gomez and Andre Raymond on the wings. Jones, Garcia and David in the middle. 5 in the back.

Rampersad, Phillips, J Garcia, and either Ajani or Reon Moore in the middle.

Levi at the top.

I hope Hackshaw is fit. Even if he is, he not ready to run hard against that Canadian midfield.

The selection wasn't too bad. Canada has higher quality players for sure. Theres a lot happening in their federation. I have faith though. We'll see.

Canada's overconfidence is going to work against them. They struggled against Guatemala. I think things will go in our favor if we plug up that defense.

« Reply #880 on: March 14, 2024, 11:46:09 AM »
Here it is:

Goalkeepers: 1.Christopher Biggette (Defence Force), 21.Adrian Foncette (Police FC), 23.Denzil Smith (Club Sando FC),

Defenders: 2.Aubrey David (CS Cartagines—Costa Rica), 3.Ross Russell Jr (La Horquetta Rangers), 4.Jesse Williams (Chattanooga FC—USA), 5.Robert Primus, 16.Alvin Jones (both Police FC), 6.Andre Raymond (GD Vilar De Perdizes—Portugal), 14.Shannon Gomez (San Antonio FC—USA), 17.Justin Garcia (Defence Force);

Midfielders: 7.Noah Powder (Northern Colorado Hailstorm—USA), 8.Daniel Phillips (St Johnstone FC—Scotland), 12.Kevon Goddard (Defence Force), 15.Neveal Hackshaw (Oakland Roots—USA), 18.Andre Rampersad (HFX Wanderers—Canada);

Attackers: 9.Nathaniel James, 20.Kaïlé Auvray (both Mount Pleasant—Jamaica), 10.Real Gill (Northern Colorado Hailstorm—USA), 11.Levi Garcia, 23.Judah Garcia (both AEK Athens—Greece), 13.Reon Moore (Pacific FC—Canada), 19.Ajani Fortune (Atlanta United—USA).

If we make copa, there'll be many Trinis coming out of nowhere with passports.

I expect Molino to sing a new tune if we get into Copa.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2024, 12:10:53 PM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #881 on: March 14, 2024, 12:09:11 PM »
I would have picked Ranjitsingh over Foncette. Also Luke Singh over Russell.

« Reply #882 on: March 14, 2024, 01:00:31 PM »
Primus is back eh ..

« Reply #883 on: March 14, 2024, 01:13:05 PM »
 :banginghead:. I guess our big coach need to see dantaye  play against caribbean opposition

« Reply #884 on: March 14, 2024, 03:46:15 PM »
Why suprised Chelsea? Angus is not looking for players . Remember is Lawence who recommended Obikwu to him. Obikwu just got his passport  Plus he wanted to give the opportunity for players who got us this far to finish the job

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/fZhgHLx9B8g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/fZhgHLx9B8g</a>
« Last Edit: March 14, 2024, 04:00:22 PM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #885 on: March 14, 2024, 07:55:46 PM »
I would like to see reon Moore and Levi playing together. Moore can take some of the defenders attention away from Levi

« Reply #886 on: March 14, 2024, 08:56:41 PM »
Eve selecting a team for a sweat in the Savannah on a Sunday evening ....

« Reply #887 on: March 14, 2024, 09:00:30 PM »
man real bereft of ideas. 5-4-1, levi up top just like last Gold Cup game against US. Canada squanders enough chances to 'only' win 3-0, never leaving 2nd gear. Eve talks BS to the media about The boys fought hard. After I do this  :banginghead: for a week or 2, back at it in the summer for more punishment. Life of a TnT fan.

Offline madness

« Reply #888 on: March 15, 2024, 04:53:04 AM »
Trinidad should play all-out attack football or soccer, not a 5-4-1 system. Based on the coach's selection, they should play a 4-2-3-1 system, which is my suggested lineup. Levi | Reon & Judah & Real | Daniel & Rampersad | Alvin & Primus & Aubrey & Raymond

Sub(in) Nathaniel | sub(out) Real
Sub(in) Fortune | sub(out) Judah ( system change to a 4-3-2-1)
Sub(in)  Powder   | sub(out) Daniel
Sub(in)  Reon   | sub(out) Auvray (70th min)
Sub(in)  Kevon/Hackshaw   | sub(out) Rampersad

We need a box-to-box midfielder and center-back, too.
WE CAN NOT PARK THE BUS BY PLAYING 5-4-1 

We must make Canada work hard and allow them to play football in the first 30 minutes. Trinidad can not allow them to pass the ball around on the pitch.

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #889 on: March 15, 2024, 05:56:54 AM »
Look I dunno where to start with this nah, this coach lacks any creativity and any sense of wanting to change, what he sees in Hackshaw is anyone's guess, the guy is mediocre and inconsistent at best. He going to play Levi as a sit on top striker (which he is not accustomed playing so he going to get frustrated and not look like the killer he is). Alphonso Davis going to murder Alvin Jones, and when Alvin gets left out, he going to force a CB to cover for him which leaves a gapping hole at the top of the box(cause Hackshaw gonna be MIA!), so poor Denzil Smith going to get peppered.
Coach might play Gill and Moore as the wingers, with Daniel Phillips, Noah Powder and Andre Rampersad ... with attacking mids Ajani and Judah coming in, but the concern is that these two youngsters haven't really played together so there could be a lack of cohesion there. If he playing Jesse Williams and Hackshaw, who he removing and again those two are more defensive minded so that pulls the team line a little further back and would make us absorb pressure in the wrong areas.
Let's pray some divine intervention happens from today till the game....  :worried: :worried:

This is what happens when you don't use your time off wisely to get proper games or a good look at the new players. Players like DJ Buffonge and Dantaye Gilbert should be getting a look at somehow, not 5th division or unattached players (cause then in your interview you said that's why you didn't choose Malcolm Shaw, so who you fooling!!). There's more happening here but I'm praying we get through this.

at this point I'm looking for the new committee coming in to help us here.  :(

« Reply #890 on: March 15, 2024, 01:01:11 PM »
@madness

@marcus868

Ofc Eve will park the bus and absorb pressure. TT is not good at that style of play, we are a naturally attacking team, that eases pressure off the players.

Eve knows this, this team is deliberate, it is to ensure Canada wins and TT does not advance. Eve is paid to fool us and play a stooge to the powers that be.

Both of you have great analysis in regards to the line up but you miss the point of what is really going...

Wharfe will win the election, he will not resign from the TTPFL and will be President of the TTFA. He has hired "The Dictator's" daughter (David John Williams) the most corrupt man in local football. They will maintain the status quo as instructed by FIFA... Who pays the TTFA and TTPFL and ultimately controls TT football.

Eve will not bite the hand that feeds him, he has sold out our country, he's a hired mercenary.

HE WILL NOT SELECT THE BEST PLAYERS TO PLAY FOR TT...

This will ensure TT football is kept down and under control. Nobody, including FIFA, the top nations in CONCACAF and the betting Lords of football gambling want surprises with a small twin island of black people. This is neo colonialism gentlemen...

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #891 on: March 15, 2024, 02:53:31 PM »
@contro Do you think this all stems from FIFA's fall out with Jack Warner? Because there must surely be a reason why our football is being sabotaged

« Reply #892 on: March 15, 2024, 03:46:54 PM »
I agree with contro to a certain extent. But I don't think it is that ubiquitous. I do think that strings can be pulled behind the curtain to make sure we stay struggling. But, I don't think that Eve is going home on evenings thinking of ways to sabotage the team. If it was that simple, he can easily choose a squad of pro leaguers for the Canada game. Based on who is available, this is probably the best squad on paper, minus 2 guys who could have been included Spicer, Gilbert..

Buffonge looks like a good addition to the midfield. But I seen he was called up to Antigua. But he did not play. So there might be an opportunity to grab him because he does not have a cap for Antigua.

We make this Copa, you'll see how more players Trinbagonians roots show up. This is what Jamaica is experiencing now. Although we might not have the numbers like Jamaica, we will see this happen to us.

« Reply #893 on: March 15, 2024, 08:58:05 PM »
Garcia pair return from injury for 'David vs Goliath' clash with Canada, Eve calls on 'Gally' for advice
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

National coach Angus Eve has announced a 23-man team that will challenge Canada in the CONCACAF Play-In in Frisco, Texas, USA on March 24 for the right to cement a place in the Copa America Cup in June, an experience he feels will impact T&T's football greatly.

The team sees the return of AEK Athens's speedy striker Levi Garcia, as well as Judah Garcia, who has been unavailable due to injuries.

Eve said at a press conference to announce the team at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo, Port-of-Spain, on Thursday, that he is very optimistic Garcia (Levi), who scored a wonder goal for his team at the weekend, could remain fit and ready to represent his country for the coming match.

Eve's selection process was hampered by injuries to a few key players such as Ajani Fortune, who has been struggling with a few niggling injuries, while also fighting for a place on his team Atlanta United, Miami FC's Ryan Telfer who has a hernia injury that has put him out of football for three weeks, and defender Kareem Moses (FF Jaro, Finland) had an operation on his knee about a week ago.

Both the inclusion of Levi and Judah appears to be the solution to the striking problem Eve said he had been grappling with. He said expects Garcia (Judah) to score goals from the midfield as he has done in the past.

Eve considered one of the country's most successful coaches in recent times, told the media he wanted to pick players who can play multiple positions in the event they need to make changes during the match, which according to Eve, holds tremendous benefit to the country.

"We know how important the game is, the staff and the players know how important the game is to us. This would be one of the most prestigious tournaments if we could go on and get the victory to go on to play against the calibre of players in that tournament. It would put us on a different level and on a different map, even if the people coming to see different players, they would still see us, and that would open up a lot of doors for our players and our football, and go one step further to where we want T&T football to be again, which is to be competing at the highest level," Eve explained.

"We need to defend well, it will be a David against Goliath match when you look at the players they have - Cyle Larin up front, David Junior Hoilett up front, Alfonso Davies on the left, and Tajon Buchanan on the right. You see these players playing at top Leagues.

"So it's top players that they have and we have to be astute defensively but also offensively we have to express ourselves so that we can come away with a victory," Eve said.

Meanwhile, Eve has sought the advice of former national coach Everald 'Gally' Cummings ahead of the match. He said Gally, the coach of the famous Strike Squad of 1989 which came within a point of the 1990 World Cup in Italy, called him this morning and they reminisced.

"I tend to always go back to the people who have been there and done it, so I have conversations with Stephen Hart, with Dennis Lawrence, so we have good people here and if you lean on them sometimes you get some good information.

"I spoke to Gally and got a sense of what he could have done differently back then which could probably help me going into this game."

Meanwhile, Eve also sends condolences to the country's most popular nutsman Keith 'Jumbo' Martin, who died yesterday. The coach described Jumbo as one of the best 12th-men that they ever had, saying he is always at hand to show his support.

The players will leave local shores on Monday (March 18) and will be joined by the other international players in the US.

T&T 23-man squad

Christopher Biggette, Aubrey David, Ross Russell Jr, Jesse Williams, Robert Primus, Andre Raymond, Noah Powder, Daniel Phillips, Nathaniel James, Real Gill, Levi Garcia, Kevon Goddard, Reon Moore, Shannon Gomez, Neveal Hackshaw, Alvin Jones, Justin Garcia, Andre Rampersad, Ajani Fortune, Kaile Auvray, Adrian Foncette, Denzil Smith, Judah Garcia.

« Reply #894 on: March 16, 2024, 08:19:59 PM »
I think Daniel Phillips ran a 90 vs celtic today. I'm watching Hackshaw play right now. He might have even lost a pound or two.

Hackshaw played the first half in defensive mid but they moved him to center back for the second half. He played the full 90.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2024, 10:01:57 AM by Peong »

« Reply #895 on: March 18, 2024, 06:20:35 PM »
Another platform
By Fazeer Mohammed (T&T Express)

At least on this occasion the big game is not at the end of the year.

From highway robbery in Port au Prince in 1973 to the massive let-down in Port of Spain in 1989. From unrestrained delight of an historic triumph in Bahrain in 2005 to the anguish of the women falling short at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in 2014, these monumental football moments for the nation cropped up in November or December.

Obviously it reflects the scheduling of World Cup qualification heading into the tournament proper the following year. This time though it’s not that very grandest of football stages, although getting to the Copa America in June in the United States could have a similar impact on the national team and individual players…if they can get past Canada in a one-off showdown in Texas on Saturday.

Edged out by Jamaica in a home-and-away playoff four months ago in what was a shock to the North Americans, the Canadians start the game as favourites, although it is left to be seen how they cope with the pressure of that expectation given that they are now experiencing their version of a footballing “golden generation,” ending a 36-year drought in appearing at the 2022 World Cup finals in Qatar and are joint-hosts— together with the United States and Mexico—of the bloated 48-nation event in 2026.

Already head coach Angus Eve has referenced the oft-repeated “David versus Goliath” comparison ahead of this encounter, which is an interesting analogy given that David slew Goliath. So the former national player, who has already achieved more in this role than most would have expected, therefore expects to conquer their fancied opponents.

Which member of the squad will be the figurative jawbone of an ass to get the job done in Frisco is anyone’s guess, although the coach will have his own plans in pursuit of a victory that, if achieved, will elevate Trinidad and Tobago to a platform the likes of which they have not enjoyed since that heady fortnight in June, 2006 when Dwight Yorke led the twin-island republic to its first, and so far only, senior men’s World Cup finals where they famously drew with Sweden, held England goalless for 84 minutes before going down 2-0 and then lost their final group game by a similar scoreline to Paraguay.

Reward for victory on Saturday is a duel with World Cup-holders Argentina in the opening game of the 2024 Copa America in Atlanta on June 20, followed by other group games against Peru and Chile. Even if they weren’t to get any further in that continental tournament, the boost for the local game, financially and otherwise, not to mention players also putting themselves in the shop window for a lucrative deal with a prominent club, all translate into a single game which is arguably the most important for Trinidad and Tobago men’s football since that 1-0 victory in Manama courtesy of Dennis Lawrence’s second-half header.

Unfortunately, the memory of that 2006 experience is tainted by the scandal which followed with players demanding a fairer share of revenue, being blacklisted and so on and so on. We seem to have an insatiable appetite for bacchanal and corruption of one form or the other when these big footballing occasions come around, as the aftermath of November 19, 1989 and indeed, the CONCACAF Gold Cup semi-final duel with Canada 24 years ago confirm. Then, in the aftermath of a 1-0 loss, head coach Bertille St Clair was fired.

His crime? Not winning the Gold Cup, even though Trinidad and Tobago had never reached the semi-finals previously. And the personality at the centre of it all, as it was in 2006 and 1989? Jack Warner. We really never learn.

Mercifully, there hasn’t been anything emanating from the national squad or the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association to compare with those convulsions, at least not yet. Five days is a long time in the nation’s premier pastime, but it would be a welcome experience to focus on the football itself before, during and especially after Saturday’s pivotal encounter.

We need a serious dose of positivity from our football, given the convoluted mess that the never-ending 2023 into 2024 Secondary Schools Football League season as become.

At least the senior national cricketers brought a smile to faces with victory over the Windwards Volcanoes at the Queen’s Park Oval this past week in a match soured by poor umpiring.

If nothing else, it was a momentary distraction from the disgraceful conduct of the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board executive which, in getting rid of its whistleblowing treasurer, confirmed the absence of any moral or ethical compass.

Sport can uplift and deflate in equal measure. We can only hope the footballers, win or lose, do us proud on Saturday.

« Reply #896 on: March 18, 2024, 10:16:17 PM »
@chelsealife

@gawd

It got worse with Jack undermining England and the US for the WC bids. Once again it goes back to FIFA's original make up, which was control of world football after independence of Caribbean and African nations with Sir Rous. That is until Joao Havelange decided to use the other nations like Africa and the Caribbean and played that masterstroke to gain power, which was eventually done by Sepp, under the tutelage of Havelange.

They never intended to have Caribbean and African nations dominate world football, they wanted stooges and hatchet men that are inherently corrupt to maintain their supremacy and get them the votes needed to secure the Presidency and ultimately control. Hence, the Caribbean is still the swing vote for the FIFA Presidency.

JW saw the opportunity to make that money and become the de facto "King of the Caribbean" via his cohorts in the other islands. A guaranteed revenue stream but JW did a lot of good also but he was under the gun. Meaning, he would still be beholden to the white supremacist that control world football.

T&T despite it's talent would never be a regional footballing power because TV rights, gambling, sponsorships and politics trump "talent". As a nation of color we are there to make up numbers and give the illusion of freedom and democracy, aka fairness. However, our own government was also colluding and contributed to the decline and deterioration of our football, as it is written to be this way. None of the higher ups want to see T&T dominating bigger teams like the US, Mexico etc, so you keep the football in problems, lack of funding and development, with little government cooperation and support. It is by design and JW was just a puppet in that play where now he has no choice but to save his skin because he decided to over extend his power and reach.

In order to maintain the balance in the region where teams from the African diaspora are not a "threat" they have to ensure coaches like Eve, tow the line. In response to Gawd, Eve is controlled, he is paid by FIFA, who do you think he answers to? Do you think he will forfeit this opportunity given to him by what Hadad calls the "Vatican" of world football? No, he will not ruin that opportunity, so in order to maintain the status quo, he tows the line. So it is not Eve's decision to sabotage, it is his superiors giving orders.

In comes Wharfe, another puppet who will as he said, continue where the NC left off, Hadad did his job of effectively crippling our football and removing any semblance of democracy. Now Wharfe will continue to tow the line for his imperial masters and any early exit for Eve, may not be in the cards ever...

So in summary brother, to answer your question, the reason for sabotage of our football, was written before JW, continued with JW and is after JW as well. It is more than just - "Peter, paying for Paul".... It is the only way to stop talented teams like T&T from dominating and creating problems for other bigger nations that are considered more valuable to the cause...

« Last Edit: March 18, 2024, 10:23:10 PM by Controversial »

Offline Trinidad Sports Reality

« Reply #897 on: March 19, 2024, 09:57:58 AM »
Anyone goin Texas for the game?

« Reply #898 on: March 19, 2024, 10:30:01 AM »
those stupid dudes finally decide to drop the price when making accommodations and finding flights is...tough. I might go.

« Reply #899 on: March 19, 2024, 11:26:11 AM »
Section 114!!!!