Hindsight is always 20/20. I choose to respect every player that manages to get a selection. Auvray could have started before this one, and Gill could have started before that one etc.
In Hackshaw defence, he still manages to get some kinda foreign pro contract playing a different position than where is is used. A feat many of our best local players seem unable to achieve. So as much as he wasn’t able to perform to many of us liking, he can’t be all bad.
I won’t blame any TEAM loss (or success) on one National , even if he scores own goals or the winning one. I will even extend my analysis to the managers, selectors, administrators and fans. Personally I’d rather see we stop wasting down any National team representatives . The stress involved in that important requirement is enough as it is. Even if we may think someone else would be capable of a better performance. In my experience, encouragement and support goes a long way to achieving better performances.
Don’t get me wrong, there are quite a few players I have been disappointed in, and preferred some other alternative, yet still have much respect for. I know what’s it like, cause I was considered a good athlete, yet regarded as below average footballer in TT, and in Canada,
considered Potential pro level developing player before a career ending injury.
Some players better in particular environments and certain levels. I don’t think Angus is the right coach for our Ntl team, don’t mean I think he’s no good for anything. He was one of our top Ntl players and probably a decent coach as well. Still I might give someone else a try.
Ps: I like Duaney too, wish he could get an outside shot to gain more experience, along with a few others. I know its not easy doh.