April 27, 2024, 01:16:28 AM

Author Topic: Copa America Thread  (Read 105999 times)

Re: 2011 Copa America Thread.
« Reply #90 on: July 03, 2011, 12:17:19 PM »
Don't sleep on Ganso at all. He real bad.

..which is kind of a blanket statement for most young up and coming Brazilians, but I wonder where most people have gotten dat assessment from, seeing as he still playin in Brazil (which most people dont watch) and was injured for most of last season anyway and a good chunk of this one.

not sayin he eh good, but i've only seen him playing a few times...

Word of mouth is a helluva thing.  I knew who Russell Latapy was I feared how good he was before I ever saw him play or played against him.

« Reply #91 on: July 03, 2011, 12:36:40 PM »

..which is kind of a blanket statement for most young up and coming Brazilians, but I wonder where most people have gotten dat assessment from, seeing as he still playin in Brazil (which most people dont watch) and was injured for most of last season anyway and a good chunk of this one.

I like his control, composure, vision and passing. Well advanced for a player that age .

« Reply #92 on: July 03, 2011, 01:08:13 PM »

I like his control, composure, vision and passing. Well advanced for a player that age .

well he is 21, same as Pato, so he eh all dat young...but anyway, I find he looks good too, just need 2 see him a few more times to draw a proper conclusion (and I doubt I am the only one).

« Reply #93 on: July 03, 2011, 01:09:58 PM »
Robinho look like he has been using James Brown's hairdresser!

« Reply #94 on: July 03, 2011, 01:11:01 PM »

every baller in Brazil has dat hairstyle nowadays lol

« Reply #95 on: July 03, 2011, 01:11:14 PM »
Good tuh see a healthy Pato! Hope he stars in this tournament!

« Reply #96 on: July 03, 2011, 01:14:56 PM »
Good tuh see a healthy Pato! Hope he stars in this tournament!

I expect him 2 do well here too

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #97 on: July 03, 2011, 01:15:40 PM »
Look at day piece of ball control frm pato! Same post WC side except Lucio in for David Luis. They looking crisp so far.
Ketch footballitis

« Reply #98 on: July 03, 2011, 01:17:12 PM »

every baller in Brazil has dat hairstyle nowadays lol

mohawk crew

« Reply #99 on: July 03, 2011, 01:18:04 PM »
boy I jes about to say de same ting...I swear he singing doo wop

« Reply #100 on: July 03, 2011, 01:28:31 PM »
i hope they play better than how they hair looking

« Reply #101 on: July 03, 2011, 01:33:13 PM »
When allyuh go Brazil for 2014 allyuh go have to get the same styles so they doh mark you as a tourist.

« Reply #102 on: July 03, 2011, 01:35:19 PM »
wait nah alyuh getting this feed? i seeing it live on youtube , just found it , spanish and english commentary to choose from

http://www.youtube.com/user/CopaAmerica

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #103 on: July 03, 2011, 01:45:23 PM »
Neymar ain't bet he could beat nuh.
Ketch footballitis

« Reply #104 on: July 03, 2011, 01:46:45 PM »
But Venezuela well come far with dey football. By now dey would have collected 4 or 5 and dey attacking too. Nice defending!

« Reply #105 on: July 03, 2011, 01:55:45 PM »
So is Neymar's hairdresser working for the whole team now?

« Reply #106 on: July 03, 2011, 02:05:23 PM »
You see ESPN? That is how you analyze a game at half time.

« Reply #107 on: July 03, 2011, 02:10:57 PM »

With ESPN it stopped being about the sport and more about the show! Plus dey catering to people/fans who don't really know any better.

« Reply #108 on: July 03, 2011, 02:15:30 PM »

With ESPN it stopped being about the sport and more about the show! Plus dey catering to people/fans who don't really know any better.

They doing everyone a disservice. The u17 WC even worse, them does talk about champions league and the transfer market before they tell you why the score in the game is 2-0.

I think during the game, if you going to have a colour commentator, they should be able to provide some insight, not tell me what xyz should have done, or what you would do. Efan Ekoku does this perfectly. 1/2 time, I expect more in-depth analysis, this is where you should hear about what working and not working, and what should be done to change it.

« Reply #109 on: July 03, 2011, 02:24:23 PM »

They doing everyone a disservice. The u17 WC even worse, them does talk about champions league and the transfer market before they tell you why the score in the game is 2-0.

I think during the game, if you going to have a colour commentator, they should be able to provide some insight, not tell me what xyz should have done, or what you would do. Efan Ekoku does this perfectly. 1/2 time, I expect more in-depth analysis, this is where you should hear about what working and not working, and what should be done to change it.

The best thing they did for the last World Cup was rent some foreign talent like Martinez, Guillet, Andy Gray ect. People who wasn't into talking shit or talking for talkin sakes. yeah we still dealt with the ex US players but al least it wasnt a steady diet of them and their shit. The only American commentator who can hold his own is Christopher Sullivan on FSC.

« Reply #110 on: July 03, 2011, 02:30:04 PM »
lol like d brazil men team rusty too

« Reply #111 on: July 03, 2011, 02:31:21 PM »
lol like d brazil men team rusty too

The best today might turn out to be the under 17 side who playing later today. We getting a triple dose of Brazilain national sides today!

« Reply #112 on: July 03, 2011, 02:38:17 PM »
The only American commentator who can hold his own is Christopher Sullivan on FSC.

well said Giggsy, been sayin dis fuh years

« Reply #113 on: July 03, 2011, 02:46:13 PM »
Any time Brasil have two defensive midfileders like Ramires and Lucas in their mildfield you know they will be short on creativity in that area of the field. I don't think they need two of the same on the field.

« Reply #114 on: July 03, 2011, 02:52:47 PM »
The only American commentator who can hold his own is Christopher Sullivan on FSC.

Yeh, I really respect that fella. He does rell study football and you can tell he really passionate about the game it self and like sharing his knowledge about it without coming off as a know it all.

« Reply #115 on: July 03, 2011, 02:56:42 PM »
I don't think it's an American thing, so much as an ESPN thing. They do well in the loud, manic, sportscenter type shows and the in-depth 30 for 30 type shows, but they seem to have trouble with live sports.

The NBA coverage on ESPN is soporific at times and the NFL works because Tirico keeps it simple and Jaws provides real insight.

All the other live sports coverage tends to be either overwrought or boring

« Reply #116 on: July 03, 2011, 02:58:04 PM »

Yeh, I really respect that fella. He does rell study football and you can tell he really passionate about the game it self and like sharing his knowledge about it without coming off as a know it all.

So much so he calls it "football" more often than not, more guys should take a leaf out of his book

« Reply #117 on: July 03, 2011, 03:02:52 PM »
5 Minutes!
Is this Old Trafford?

« Reply #118 on: July 03, 2011, 03:05:00 PM »
And men was getting kicks off Argentina

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #119 on: July 03, 2011, 03:06:46 PM »
Ganso was poor in this game, lucus brought nothing. In the next game Sandro and Elano should start.