March 28, 2024, 11:03:00 AM

Author Topic: Copa America Thread  (Read 104659 times)

Re: 2015 Copa America Thread
« Reply #720 on: June 26, 2015, 02:31:21 PM »
Saw that game. What a travesty. That was a return game in Santiago. That games was high before it started. Romario and and one of their players were arguing nose to nose before the game started. The game was a good game though. Chile tried a fast one. That was a case of "by any means necessary".

« Reply #721 on: June 26, 2015, 03:46:25 PM »
Saw that game. What a travesty. That was a return game in Santiago. That games was high before it started. Romario and and one of their players were arguing nose to nose before the game started. The game was a good game though. Chile tried a fast one. That was a case of "by any means necessary".

The entire chilean team was in on it.  It was the return game, but it was played at the Maracana...not in Santiago.

And it was all planned.  If it was late in the game and looked like Chile were going to lose (Brazil only needed a draw to advance), then a plant in the crowd would throw a flare on the field and Ramos would cut himself with the razor blade hidden in his gloves.  That would be enough to rule the game in favour of Chile, disqualify Brazil, and have Chile qualify for the World Cup.

It was a complete con job.  Look at how the Chilean players were remonstrating with the crowd behind the goal.  Grabbing their balls and making obscene gestures to the crowd.  Getting on indignant knowing full well the deceit that was taking place.

I have nothing but contempt for them.

Their U 20 team rioted in Toronto a few years ago because they lost.   I know it's completely unfair to tarnish an entire nation based on the actions of some of their representatives.  I know many GOOD Chileans....but too often their sporting representatives do them a grave disservice.  Thankfully, there are the likes of Alexis Sanchez who amply demonstrate that there are decent, SPORTING, and superlative Chilean athletes out there too.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2015, 03:49:01 PM by palos »

« Reply #722 on: June 26, 2015, 05:58:32 PM »
More wildness in this Argentina - Colombia game.

Ospina with a huge double save to keep Colombia in this game.

« Reply #723 on: June 26, 2015, 06:17:47 PM »
6 yellow cards in the first half. If Colombia finish this game with 11 men, I'd be surprised.

« Reply #724 on: June 26, 2015, 06:35:02 PM »
Who have an English stream?

« Reply #725 on: June 26, 2015, 06:57:59 PM »
any stream ....any language >>>

« Reply #726 on: June 26, 2015, 06:58:40 PM »
desperate ...i taking any stream ...

« Reply #727 on: June 26, 2015, 07:11:56 PM »

« Reply #729 on: June 26, 2015, 07:12:21 PM »
jai john where yuh been

« Reply #730 on: June 26, 2015, 07:15:30 PM »
Penalties beckon...

« Reply #731 on: June 26, 2015, 07:18:39 PM »
Ospina is on fire tonight.

« Reply #732 on: June 26, 2015, 07:29:27 PM »
Colombia is very lucky to still be in this match. Argentina have had the ball hit the post and deflect across the Colombian goal line without crossing it and have had a ball cleared off the line by a Colombian defender.

Wow.

« Reply #733 on: June 26, 2015, 07:35:40 PM »
Wait for it ... the hammer is about to fall on someone's head.

« Reply #734 on: June 26, 2015, 07:39:44 PM »
This is a job for Tevez! Only Tevez!

« Reply #735 on: June 26, 2015, 07:40:54 PM »
What drama

« Reply #736 on: June 26, 2015, 07:42:24 PM »
any link to see from TNT ?

« Reply #737 on: June 26, 2015, 07:42:45 PM »
That was one of the most bizarre penalty shootouts I have seen in a while.

Argentina seemed to have it in hand at 4-3 up with just one penalty to win; and then the missed penalty show began...

Argentina rellllll lucky

« Reply #738 on: June 26, 2015, 07:43:58 PM »
jai john where yuh been
you know once my boys playimg I on ...need a link from trini ...

« Reply #739 on: June 26, 2015, 07:44:32 PM »
Damn Colombia

« Reply #740 on: June 26, 2015, 07:45:49 PM »

Only Spanish links.

I was watching on rojadirecta.me

Luckily my Spanish has improved so I understood about sixty percent of what the commentators were saying.

« Reply #741 on: June 26, 2015, 07:46:28 PM »
yessss!!!!

« Reply #742 on: June 26, 2015, 08:36:28 PM »

Only Spanish links.

Luckily my Spanish has improved so I understood about sixty percent of what the commentators were saying.

now if we can only say de same thing about your English....yuh know yuh walk right into that ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #743 on: June 26, 2015, 09:23:59 PM »

Only Spanish links.

now if we can only say de same thing about your English....yuh know yuh walk right into that ;D ;D ;D ;D

My apologies sir; I was speaking in internet vernacular; sometimes one falls prey to the linguistic laziness of the technological age, which has proved to be a beacon of hope for humanity and the scourge of mankind's existence at the same time.

I trust that my syntax and communication style is clearer now

;D :beermug:

« Reply #744 on: June 27, 2015, 03:57:10 PM »
Brazil is leading 1-0 in its quarterfinal against the Paraguayans.

Since when "saque lateral (phonetic sounds to my ears) means throw-in?

I learned that the proper phrase is "saque de banda" or "saque de manos".

This probably has to do with the country that the commentator is a native of.

« Reply #745 on: June 27, 2015, 04:36:52 PM »

Actually, saque lateral and saque de banda are more commonly used than saque de manos. Can't recall hearing saque de manos much (or ever).

Like anything else, there is more than one usage to describe an event. For instance, you might hear the term 'tiro libre' but you may also hear 'balón detenido' or 'balón parado' to describe dead-ball situations.

« Reply #746 on: June 27, 2015, 04:41:03 PM »

Actually, saque lateral and saque de banda are more commonly used than saque de manos. Can't recall hearing saque de manos much (or ever).

Like anything else, there is more than one usage to describe an event. For instance, you might hear the term 'tiro libre' but you may also hear 'balón detenido' or 'balón parado' to describe dead-ball situations.

Muchos gracias por su explicación.

It's good that I am learning something while watching the match.

Paraguay is holding its own against Dunga's charges

« Reply #747 on: June 27, 2015, 05:00:14 PM »
Penalty for Paraguay.

Very stupid handball by the Brazilian player

« Reply #748 on: June 27, 2015, 05:30:59 PM »
Ribeiro take that penalty like his first name is Alphonso.

Costa wish he first name was Diego
« Last Edit: June 27, 2015, 05:33:16 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #749 on: June 27, 2015, 05:34:40 PM »
Ribeiro take that penalty like his first name is Alphonso.

Costa wish he first name was Diego

dat eh make no sense, I killin my self laffin :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: