April 23, 2024, 12:27:43 PM

Author Topic: Copa America - Knockout matchups  (Read 2351 times)

Copa America - Knockout matchups
« on: July 06, 2007, 10:12:48 PM »
How they setup that knockout section like that?...Yuh woulda thought that this is the first 3 groups of 4 tournament it ever had..steups
Whats the point of Brazil playing Chile again and the same with Venezuela and Uruguay?

maybe it was better to go with 4 groups of 3 teams.

anyway i think the winner go come from Mexico or Argentina.

Re: Copa America - Knockout matchups
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2007, 10:47:40 PM »
What time is the game tomorrow, please?

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2007, 04:09:05 AM »
How they setup that knockout section like that?...Yuh woulda thought that this is the first 3 groups of 4 tournament it ever had..steups
Whats the point of Brazil playing Chile again and the same with Venezuela and Uruguay?

maybe it was better to go with 4 groups of 3 teams.

it have nothing to do with the size of the groups. the system just messed up. Even broke of ideas Concacaf avoid that with the same format...anytime you have best third placed teams qualifying, is trouble though

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2007, 09:26:37 AM »
QUARTER-FINALS
Date    Local                Time (local)    GMT    Match
07/07    San Cristóbal      18:05           22:05          Venezuela -     Uruguay    S1
07/07    Puerto La Cruz    20:50                 00:50         Chile    -    Brazil    S2
08/07    Maturín      16:05            20:05      Mexico    -    Paraguay    S3
08/07    Barquisimeto    18:50                  22:50          Argentina -     Peru    S4

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2007, 09:48:53 AM »
Yeah..I can't think of any foolproof solution, but you'd think that if they are going to allow two 3rd place teams, then two of the group winners should play them. I mean..Mexico wins Brazil's group, but Brazil gets a third place team in the QFs and Mexico gets a second place team. I would have the group winner with the worst record play against a 2nd place team and let the other two first place teams play against the 2 third place teams. The last quarter final will then be between two 2nd place teams..

Think that seems more fair  :-\

« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2007, 10:26:21 AM »
how come i eh hearing de usual suspects with dey conspiracy theories?  Maybe it rigged for Brazil to meet Argentina in de finals...ent?

steups

« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2007, 10:31:50 AM »
how come i eh hearing de usual suspects with dey conspiracy theories?  Maybe it rigged for Brazil to meet Argentina in de finals...ent?

steups

Because if Brazil & Argentina both won their groups (as conventional wisdom would have had it be)..... they would have met in the semi-final.

« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2007, 11:20:37 AM »

steups

I eh think is that they saying. Man just saying it seems a bizzar way to run the tournament.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2007, 12:29:22 PM »
Wha happen to all yuh is South American organization we talking about. Dem cannot even organize to get Fu#*ed in a whore house.  :devil: