April 24, 2024, 09:57:21 PM

Author Topic: Trini killed in Iraq  (Read 7482 times)

Trini killed in Iraq
« on: July 07, 2007, 11:19:28 PM »
Trini killed in Iraq
Trinidad Express

by Darryl Heeralal

AMONG TWO KILLED: Trinidad-born Private Le Ron Wilson who was killed while on patrol in southeastern Baghdad, Iraq, on Friday.

WHEN Le Ron Wilson was seven, his father hugged him and said that the time had come for him to sleep in his own bed, to start learning to become a man.

Four years later Wilson left his father in Trinidad and went to live with his mother, Simona Francis, in Queen's, New York, USA.

Wilson, the only child of his parents, grew up to be the independent man his father wanted so much, that Lawrence Wilson was unable to convince his son not to join the United States Army.

Wilson always wanted to be like his dad-a Cadet Force major-to proudly wear a military uniform. It was his childhood dream that killed him: His life was snuffed out by a roadside bomb in Iraq on Friday.

Even more sadly for Lawrence, his son left for the killing fields of Iraq on his father's birthday, May 7, this year.

"This feels like falling with nothing to hold on to. I don't know what next to do. You're just falling, falling, hoping for some ground, some answer to this whole thing," Lawrence said yesterday during an interview at his San Juan home.

"Look at this boy's face. The baby milk still there. I never wanted this for him. I don't know what to feel, what to say. It is one thing to bury your parents, but your son..."

Lawrence is a Cadet Force major and the longest serving adjutant in the history of the force in Trinidad and Tobago.

Private Le Ron Wilson, in the army a mere months, became one of the latest US casualties in Iraq, killed when an explosively formed penetrator exploded near his patrol taking him and an Iraqi interpreter.

Wilson died around 2 a.m. on Friday in southeastern Baghdad and was one of nine US troops killed on the day.

Explosively formed penetrators are high-tech bombs that the US believes are provided by Iran. A charge the Iranians have denied.

Wilson died four months shy of his nineteenth birthday.

It was his second brush with death in the three months he was in Iraq.

Two weeks ago a roadside bomb exploded near his patrol, luckily for him that time the armoured Hummer protected his life.

Like any other parent, Lawrence said when he spoke to his son as he was about to leave for Iraq he supported him but hoped that he would come back home.

He never got the chance to speak with his son while he was in Iraq, though Wilson was able to send a few e-mails to his mother and call her on a couple of occasions.

"I never thought it could be my son. You always feel that bad things don't happen to good people."

Wilson is the second Trinidadian to be killed in Iraq since the start of the war in 2003. The first was Pte Kendell Frederick, 21, who died while awaiting his citizenship papers.

"Le Ron was always a little soldier. He reached the age to make his own decisions so I could not talk him out of it," Lawrence said about his son joining the US Army.

"I could not even convince him to join as a commissioned officer, his dream was to go through the ranks."

Wilson enlisted after graduating from high school and was promoted twice during pre-training.

"By the time actual training had started he was already the senior man in his unit at seventeen and a half," Lawrence said.

Wilson was shipped to Iraq right after his training ended.

Ironically, when he enlisted Wilson was told that he would not be sent to Iraq.

Instead Wilson trained as a weapons specialist and was supposed to replace someone at another security agency.

During his training Wilson placed top in a battalion of over 600 and twice won soldier of the month.

"I don't know how he end up in Iraq," Lawrence said.

In less than two months in Iraq Wilson became the scout for his squad.

"I felt it was a bit too early. Le Ron was a bit too green for that duty."

Lawrence feels that the Americans should pull out of Iraq as they have lost more soldiers than the total number of people killed in the September 11 terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center Towers.

Over 3,600 US soldiers have been killed in Iraq since the start of the war.

So far Lawrence said that the military has not released much information about his son's death and that his body is expected to be flown back to the United States in two weeks.

"Le Ron was bright as a bulb, always topping what he did. He could have been the next Colin Powell. He joined the army because he felt he was being of service to humanity. That was the kind of person he was."
« Last Edit: July 07, 2007, 11:24:43 PM by Grande »

Re: Trini killed in Iraq
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2007, 11:24:21 PM »
this is what happens when mad men run tings.

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2007, 11:52:11 PM »
well...what ya could say ???
<throws hands in dey air>

But why dis making news ? Isn't it that when you join up dey army and you go to war, there is ah 85% chance ya not coming back? And if ya come back, may not be how you left physically and mentally ???

Morvant is long time ah ain't see ya post....where ya???

Well dey finally reached dey amount of people dat dead in dey towers....no wait it was 3,973 dat dead, so by next month den :-\
Ah wonder how much innocent civilans dead???

What dis war is about again ???  Ah honestly forget...

Gosh meh post only have ??? in it...steups

« Last Edit: July 07, 2007, 11:56:16 PM by Rookmin V. Maharaj »

« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2007, 06:16:49 AM »
How dey go send ah wet behind de ears soldier as scout boy?

dat is ah real puzzle to me.....unless de report incorrect.   Dat doh make sense at all.  And even if he were trained for that job (highly unlikely)  he did'nt have the experience to cope.  He jes land dey, and training is one ting, fighting in an urban atmosphere is ah different kettle of fish altogether.  Even well trained and experienced soldiers have a hard time dealing with situations dat soldiers face in Iraq.

Real sad, and warrants an investigation.

« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2007, 08:39:31 AM »
that's ridiculous - they sending cadets to iraq? wtf wrong with these f**king people?  >:( 

« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2007, 08:49:19 AM »
steups

is this story on any of the American, British or even Canadian newspapers ?

Is only because this ended up on dey Express because he is ah "Trini", is how we found out about it.
How many like he, we don't know about ?
Allyuh think he is the first one with lack of experience that get sent out to get killed ?

What is the starting age for those in Iraq ? Not 12?

steups

I want to know how much of allyuh would send allyuh chile to fight ah war that has no purpose
« Last Edit: July 08, 2007, 08:50:59 AM by Rookmin V. Maharaj »

« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2007, 09:40:01 AM »
The US Military is made up of all volunteers.  Whne yuh sign yuh know what yuh getting into.  This fella sign after de war was already in full swing.  So he made a conscious decision.

My beef is with him being a scout!  He has very little experience...and why was he sent to Iraq so quickly?  Did he again volunteer for that duty, trust me, there are nuff fools who asking to go.

As a former member of the US miliitary, I must say that the training is outstanding, BUT...no amount of training can  make up for lack of experience.  Amid all the emotions, because he is ah trini, I damn vex he was ah scout, for an armed expedition...what de f**k he doing dat wuk for?  He cyar tell ah IED from and tin can.

dat is what pissing me orf.

« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2007, 07:29:02 PM »
de boy show real potential. 1st out of 600. soldier of the month twice. made a scout within 2 months of getting to iraq. like no one want that wuk. mad men running tings for true.

« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2007, 08:19:38 PM »
This is always sad news to hear, my condolences to his family, rumour has it i'll be leaving with my ship to the gulf either in Dec. or in Mar. looks like the U.S  up to something again.

« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2007, 08:39:41 AM »
18 years old!!!

« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2007, 11:36:52 AM »
Condolences to the family. RIP PFC Wilson  :(

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2007, 11:40:05 AM »
This is always sad news to hear, my condolences to his family, rumour has it i'll be leaving with my ship to the gulf either in Dec. or in Mar. looks like the U.S  up to something again.

triniairman...hold it down eh!  take yuh time.
"Moral certainty is always a sign of cultural inferiority.  The more uncivilized the man, the surer he is that he knows precisely what is right and what is wrong.  All human progress, even in morals, has been the work of men who doubted current moral values, not of men who tried to enforce them."

« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2007, 05:04:06 PM »
anybody know where Morvantman is ?
lass time he did check ein here he say he was watchin some darkie in africa and trying to slap dey knee caps off ah 7ft somalian...den he getting deplore somewhere again  :(

« Reply #13 on: July 10, 2007, 04:35:45 AM »

I think he had post somewhere a few days ago.

Military honours for Trini killed in Iraq
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2007, 01:02:09 PM »
Military honours for Trini killed in Iraq
Trinidad Guardian

Pfc Le Ron Wilson’s parents Simona Francis, right, and Lawrence Wilson place roses on the casket of their son during the funeral service at Long Island National cemetery in Farmingdale, New York, yesterday. T&T-born Wilson, 18, died in Iraq on July 6.
. Photo courtesy the New York Daily News

Soldier’s story
  • Le Ron Wilson migrated to US at age 11.
  • Joined the army right after high school in June 2006.
  • Shipped to Iraq on May 7, 2007.
  • Killed by roadside bomb in Baghdad two months later.

T&T-BORN US soldier Le Ron Wilson, the teenage army private who was killed by a roadside bomb in Iraq two Fridays ago, was buried in New York with full military honours yesterday.

Motorcycles roared along 145th Road in Brookville, Queens, and hundreds of mourners made their way to Christ the King Catholic Church to remember Wilson, who migrated from San Juan at the age of 11.

An honour guard in uniform and berets stood at the doors to the church as the coffin was carried down to a basement chapel packed with mourners.

“Le Ron lived a life of dignity and integrity,” Rev Jeff Dillon said in his homily. He was willing “to do whatever was necessary to be an instrument of peace.”

After the mass, as the family prepared to leave for the soldier’s burial at Long Island National Cemetery in Farmingdale, Wilson’s parents and friends remembered a young man intent on joining the military.

“We all told him not to go, but he still went,” said Wilson’s aunt Anne Marie Charles. “That was his choice.”

Wilson had followed in the footsteps of his father Lawrence, a T&T Cadet Force major.

Lawrence, of Newalloville, San Juan, said he was still coming to grips with his son’s July 6 death. He said: “I have mixed feelings but if you know Le Ron he didn’t die for no reason.”

A close family friend, Leandra Deane, 15, said while other high school students were planning for college young Wilson was signing up for military service. “He died the way he wanted to die,” she said.

Wilson, at age 18, was one of the youngest US soldiers to lose his life in the US-Iraq conflict since the start of the war in 2003, NY newspapers have been reporting.

He had trained as a weapons specialist, and was considered the top performer in a battalion of more than 600, twice being named soldier of the month.

Wilson’s mother Simona Francis said her son was always fascinated with things like guns and camouflage, and she recalled his joy when he enlisted right after graduating from high school. She said she learned of his death when an officer visited her.

“The moment I saw the uniform, I knew,” she said in an interview last week.

Wilson was posthumously awarded the Good Conduct, Bronze Star and Purple Heart medals.

— With reporting from New York Newsday and the Daily News

Daddy’s pride

“I’m very proud of him. I don’t want his name to just be a name hanging on a wall. I want him to live on.

“I’ve been promised by a couple people that they’re going to do whatever they can to keep his name living on and that’s what I hope.

“I’m going to fight every fight possible to ensure that his name lives on. He didn’t die for no reason. He died for a cause.”

— Lawrence Wilson, father of Private First Class Le Ron Wilson, who was killed in Iraq two Fridays ago.

« Reply #15 on: July 19, 2007, 01:47:37 PM »
Anger.

TT - Recently heard accounts of returning soldiers feigning psychological illnesses in order not to be re-deployed ... some so compelling that they've secured disability checks.

Meanwhile this youth paid the maximum ... and as for the lying recruiters? The least they could do is level with these youths ...

Anyhow, 80s rockers will remember that song by Paul Hardcastle dealing with Vietnam ... NINETEEN ... average age of a soldier during that conflict ... wonder where we at now in Iraq. 

« Reply #16 on: July 19, 2007, 01:59:27 PM »
Anger.

TT - Recently heard accounts of returning soldiers feigning psychological illnesses in order not to be re-deployed ... some so compelling that they've secured disability checks.

Meanwhile this youth paid the maximum ... and as for the lying recruiters? The least they could do is level with these youths ...

Anyhow, 80s rockers will remember that song by Paul Hardcastle dealing with Vietnam ... NINETEEN ... average age of a soldier during that conflict ... wonder where we at now in Iraq. 
asylum I feel yuh on yuh comment, luckily for me I had a trini recruiter who helped me out and was straight up with me until I left for boot camp, but you have to understand unlike Trinidad and Tobago regiment who collects ah paycheck for looking good, the U.S military loves to fight wars, so if you gonna join the U.S military expect to fight,  weather it be you or your friend, expect loss of life.

« Reply #17 on: July 19, 2007, 03:40:57 PM »
RIP son :'(

« Reply #18 on: July 21, 2007, 07:35:03 AM »
Anger.

I know some troopers who are on their third tour and some going on four...and five if you count Afghanistan!

I was in the military when Paul hardcastle sang 19....it was our theme song.  Recruiters lies have no impact...unless yuh is ah dummy...doh read papers, hear people talking about de war or doh look at TV and movies.  What usually hapens is some younths gung ho...and others get dat carrot dangled in their faces...money for college, bonuses, steady pay check  etc.  I dont blame recruiters for anything.

And militar peoplehave been feinging PTSD for ever...there haas been a rise,,however no-one can say with any surey that the symptoms are faked.  he VA tried to deny claims but the political backlash was so hard they were ordered to chil out.

19 - Paul Hardcastle

In 1965 Vietnam seemed like just another foreign war,
but it wasn't.
It was different in many ways, as so were those that did the fighting.
In World War II the average age of the combat soldier was 26...
In Vietnam he was 19.
In inininininin Vietnam he was 19.

(TV announcer's voice)
The shooting and fighting of the past two weeks continued today
25 miles west of Saigon
I really wasn't sure what was going on (Vet's Voice)

Nininini Nineteen, 19, Ni-nineteen 19

In Vietnam the combat soldier typically served a twelve month tour of duty
but was exposed to hostile fire almost everyday
Ninininininininininin 19 nininininninin 19

Hundreds of Thousands of men who saw heavy combat in Vietnam were arrested
since discharge Their arrest rate is almost twice that of non-veterans of the same
age. There are no accurate figures of how many of these men have been incarcerated.
But, a Veterans Administration study concludes that the greater of Vets exposure
to combat could more likely affect his chances of being arrested or convicted.

This is one legacy of the Vietnam War

(Singing Girls)
All those who remember the war
They won't forget what they've seen..
Destruction of men in their prime
whose average was 19
Dedededededede-Destruction
War, War
Dededede-Destruction, wa-wa-War, wa-War, War
War, War

After World War II the Men came home together on troop ships, but the Vietnam
Vet often arrived home within 48 hours of jungle combat
Perhaps the most dramatic difference between World War II and Vietnam was
coming home.. .none of them received a hero's welcome
None of them received a heroes welcome, none of them, none of them
Nenene Nenene None of them, none of them, none of them (etc...)
None of them received a hero's welcome

According to a Veteran's Administration study
Half of the Vietnam combat veterans suffered from what Psychiatrists call
Post-Traumatic-Stress-Disorder
Many vets complain of alienation, rage, or guilt
Some succumb to suicidal thoughts
Eight to Ten years after coming home almost eight-hundred-thousand men are
still fighting the Vietnam War

(Singing Girls)

Nininininininininin Nineteen, 19, Ni-nineteen 19

(Soldiers Voice)
When we came back it was different.. Everybody wants to know "How'd it
happened to those guys over there
There's gotta be something wrong somewhere
We did what we had to do
There's gotta be something wrong somewhere
People wanted us to be ashamed of what it made us
Dad had no idea what he went to fight and he is now
All we want to do is come home
What did we do it for
Was it worth it?
« Last Edit: July 21, 2007, 07:43:34 AM by truetrini »

« Reply #19 on: July 21, 2007, 09:30:03 AM »
Allyuh ah sympathized with the losses of these people and those who were killed by "friendly" fire and those innocent victims of war....but ya have to excuse me - I DON"T UNDERSTAND THE WAR.

Bush:
First he/they say "we looking for Osama"
Then he/they say "we hear it have weapons of mass destruction"
Then he/Condi/they say "we hear Saddam treated HE people bad" <-----we know dey outcome dere.
Then he/they say "dey tailban and dem mashing up DEY OWN place in Iraq - we is PEACE makers and keepers"
Now ya hearing "The Tailban are steadily coming back into full gear. The MAY strike again.

Wha ya mean "may?"  The are, ya jackass...

Ya hearing ah tailban cell blow up this market. Ya hearing, that sucide bomber was from dey tailban.
My question is: How Bush and he Commander know these people are really from the Tailban ? The boomer had ah Tshirt, "Sombody from dey Tailban loves me?"

Could be some fool who just wanted to become ah martya for his/her people....and not necessarily ah member of the Tailban.

The twin Towers was just ah tester teaser.

Half of the Vietnam War in Iraq combat veterans suffered from what Psychiatrists call

And these people coming back to normacy after ? dey government paying for them threapy sessions ?

Some coming back with no limbs...who taking care of the family now ?

Half of them ain't reach 20 years, without limbs and only high school education, but they minds so screwed up, that its impossible to get into college. Are they employable ?

I've watched some of the CNN, ABC, CBS Fox news and for the life of me i can't understand this statement from the people deplored over there -

reporter: so what's it like to be in Iraq at this moment?
soldier with he mudda milk still in he face: " I want to come home" 
reporter: how long have you been deplored?
soldier: 2 months

Who send you ?

Didn't your Superior tell you how its  gonna be like, and what to expect ?  You think he was on kicks ?
Your family getting what? 3,000US ah month (correct meh eh) and how much after ya come back ?

Now Bush what to interfering with Iran...wha happen - he hear dat it have weapons of mass destruction there too ???
Why he doh interfere wid dem korean and dem.  Dey bitch smart.

Is not what YOU do for your country, is what YOUR country doing for your family when you gone.

ah going and eat breakie....steups

« Reply #20 on: July 21, 2007, 10:01:29 AM »
Allyuh ah sympathized with the losses of these people and those who were killed by "friendly" fire and those innocent victims of war....but ya have to excuse me - I DON"T UNDERSTAND THE WAR.

Bush:
First he/they say "we looking for Osama"
Then he/they say "we hear it have weapons of mass destruction"
Then he/Condi/they say "we hear Saddam treated HE people bad" <-----we know dey outcome dere.
Then he/they say "dey tailban and dem mashing up DEY OWN place in Iraq - we is PEACE makers and keepers"
Now ya hearing "The Tailban are steadily coming back into full gear. The MAY strike again.

Wha ya mean "may?"  The are, ya jackass...

Ya hearing ah tailban cell blow up this market. Ya hearing, that sucide bomber was from dey tailban.
My question is: How Bush and he Commander know these people are really from the Tailban ? The boomer had ah Tshirt, "Sombody from dey Tailban loves me?"

Could be some fool who just wanted to become ah martya for his/her people....and not necessarily ah member of the Tailban.

The twin Towers was just ah tester teaser.

Half of the Vietnam War in Iraq combat veterans suffered from what Psychiatrists call

And these people coming back to normacy after ? dey government paying for them threapy sessions ?

Some coming back with no limbs...who taking care of the family now ?

Half of them ain't reach 20 years, without limbs and only high school education, but they minds so screwed up, that its impossible to get into college. Are they employable ?

I've watched some of the CNN, ABC, CBS Fox news and for the life of me i can't understand this statement from the people deplored over there -

reporter: so what's it like to be in Iraq at this moment?
soldier with he mudda milk still in he face: " I want to come home" 
reporter: how long have you been deplored?
soldier: 2 months

Who send you ?

Didn't your Superior tell you how its  gonna be like, and what to expect ?  You think he was on kicks ?
Your family getting what? 3,000US ah month (correct meh eh) and how much after ya come back ?

Now Bush what to interfering with Iran...wha happen - he hear dat it have weapons of mass destruction there too ???
Why he doh interfere wid dem korean and dem.  Dey bitch smart.

Is not what YOU do for your country, is what YOUR country doing for your family when you gone.

ah going and eat breakie....steups

You rasie a good point. I'm also confused about the justification for the current military campaign in Iraq. It seems to be changing every day it seems. First it iwas about Osama, now it's about maintaining stability in Iraq. These changing stories are really beginning to annoy me.

« Reply #21 on: July 21, 2007, 11:04:26 PM »
Iraq was NEVER about Osama!.Like in NEVER!

« Reply #22 on: July 21, 2007, 11:06:48 PM »
Iraq was NEVER about Osama!.Like in NEVER!
neither is afganistan.

« Reply #23 on: July 22, 2007, 07:05:48 AM »
...so Capo and TrueTrini why the invasion of those 2 countries ?

If it wasn't for weapons of mass destruction and/or Osama, den why ?  dey OIL?  PEACE?

Since 2002 the Americans and their allies  are at war with who ever in their way of finding god knows what.
Mine you the allies are backout out slowly, because they were lied too by Bush.

Doesn't it make some sort of sense that the guns the "tailan/enemies" are killing the americans/allies with, are the same guns that were sold to SUDAN what year it was ?  Aright so lets say ya catch Osama and dey whole american nation kissing your feet now and/or lickin ya ass, and ya is dey bestest president....ya doh think Bush, dat while allyuh celebrating, it doh have another more educated/intelligent Osama coming up on dey throne ??? Who knows, he may already be dere.

jackass

« Reply #24 on: July 22, 2007, 10:54:50 AM »
Osama and the 9-11 attacks gave the USA worldwide approval to invad Afghanistan.  The Taliban were warned to give up Osama and the Al Qaeda or face a war, they chose to go to war....that is de official story and the USA were not castigated for that action.  The rest of the world more or less fond the invasion to be justified.

Iraq is another story.  Weapons Inspectors found no evidence of weapons of mass destruction.  Saddam and Osama is too different people.  And dey did not like each other.  Al Qaeda was NOT in Iraq.  Bush and his war hawks looked for reasons to attack Saddam and gave the Al Qaeda link and weapons of mass destruction story.

To this day they have never been able to show that Saddam had any weapons of mass destruction left in his arsenal or that Al Qaeda was active in Iraq.

Invasion of Iraq qas based on lies, and the obvious view is that they went in after the oil, and to establish a strong military presecnce in Iraq.

As a veteran who participated in Operation Desert Shield and Operation Desert Storm, I feel Bush and Cheney and Rumsfeld and Colin Powell hoodwinked de US public with lies, and in de end we get BUSH wacked!

Iraq had nutten to do with Osama.

« Reply #25 on: July 22, 2007, 11:03:36 AM »
If Al Qaeda wasn't there before they there now.  Sad irony.

I really doh know what their vision for Iraq is now.  Split into 3 nations...something like Yugoslavia?

« Reply #26 on: July 22, 2007, 07:02:54 PM »
Why he father wear dat cadet Force Uniform at de funeral?

steups.

« Reply #27 on: July 22, 2007, 08:43:24 PM »
sorry to hear this

RIP