April 27, 2024, 04:09:31 PM

Author Topic: Colin Rocke  (Read 10640 times)

Re: Colin Rocke
« Reply #30 on: April 13, 2009, 12:13:23 PM »
Cool, I hear you...I wouldn't doubt that it's told differently here & there...though the way I see ole brains struggling to remember the name of "de white fella" who used to strike with Kona, lol.... who's to say that the minor details of a parable couldn't get mixed up in the rust of blurred memory as well... 

:beermug:  :beermug:

Nah man, dat story resonate wid mih, lol.  Ah even remember peripheral details, like the fact that it was told during "Mass" (an actual class every Monday believe it or not) in Form 2, lol.  Then years later in 'service' while at GU.

« Reply #31 on: April 13, 2009, 12:52:08 PM »
Office: 504-736-0368
E-mail: colin@riversideindoorsoccer.com

Riverside was sold don't think Colin is running it anymore

« Reply #32 on: April 13, 2009, 05:59:47 PM »
Colin was doing great when we last spoke. I did not know it was sold. thanks for the info.

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #33 on: April 14, 2009, 11:20:13 AM »
Rocke was and probably still is a very simple fella with great talent. Sometimes people say things that come across ah little shaky without even realizing it. Even though he could have minced his words a lil bit, he was definitely good enough to talk like that. Unbelievable talent. Maybe lacked the courage to dominate at higher levels, but had all the tools to do so. Gatt hardly played with Kona. Rocke and Hackett with Choy Yuen, then Kona and Rocke, then Kona and Regis, then Regis and Gatt for c couple yrs before Gatt and young Rocke had a yr or 2. Rocke was de most talented and Kona was a superstar too, but Rocke really never scored a whole lot of goals. He would set up plenty, score a few, and have some of de most memorable, spectacular misses yuh could imagine. Kona score 21 a year and Regis score 18 the following year. Like de respect he give Latapy. Yorke may not be too pleased but ah feel dat is because Yorkie was a youth man coming up after Rocke. Good to read bout a real youth legend. Did well as a senior player(could vouch for dat cause ah played against him in college), but should really have accomplished more.
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #34 on: April 14, 2009, 10:44:13 PM »
Rocke was ah boss back in the days. He would dribble thru the whole team and throw it over bars. He was bad at finishing. Knew him, he father he lil brother all them uses to come by de Brian grounds in Santa Cruz when he played. I use to copy some ah he moves.  ;D

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #35 on: April 15, 2009, 12:58:22 AM »
All who know Rocke,yuh tink he could be pursuaded to

upload that U-16 Final fuh we to see how good he is ?

Some ah we never see dat final. Just wondering.
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #36 on: April 15, 2009, 04:35:32 AM »
Breds,

what I remember about that tournament was Rocke turning he back on man, sexing dem and then going around to get the ball.  :rotfl:

Never before had I seen a man turn his back on someone and then juss sex dem!! I was in awe.
Still can't understand how you have a man like dat and a simple phone call from the TTFF was too much for dem. Maybe Jack didn't approve the expense.

« Reply #37 on: April 15, 2009, 06:51:21 AM »
Breds,

what I remember about that tournament was Rocke turning he back on man, sexing dem and then going around to get the ball.  :rotfl:

Never before had I seen a man turn his back on someone and then juss sex dem!! I was in awe.
Still can't understand how you have a man like dat and a simple phone call from the TTFF was too much for dem. Maybe Jack didn't approve the expense.

I can answer that question. I called into a tv interview Jack was giving asking why Rocke and Shaka(at that time - 93/94) were not being called up to the Senior National team... his response was that the TTFA didn't have any info on the level of competition those fellas were playing at, and as such wanted them (the players) to pay their own way to come back to T&T and try out for the team. Having gone to school with Colin I can attest to all that was said before - talent fuh so, unbelievable dribbler, throw-way specialist, and VERY full of himself... but had he been capped for T&T, and given a midfield role with Latas,maybe our fortunes would have been different in the 94 and 98 qualifiers... he was THAT good!

« Reply #38 on: April 15, 2009, 07:46:04 AM »
Breds,

I can answer that question. I called into a tv interview Jack was giving asking why Rocke and Shaka(at that time - 93/94) were not being called up to the Senior National team... his response was that the TTFA didn't have any info on the level of competition those fellas were playing at, and as such wanted them (the players) to pay their own way to come back to T&T and try out for the team. Having gone to school with Colin I can attest to all that was said before - talent fuh so, unbelievable dribbler, throw-way specialist, and VERY full of himself... but had he been capped for T&T, and given a midfield role with Latas,maybe our fortunes would have been different in the 94 and 98 qualifiers... he was THAT good!

No fuh real. Somebody post some clips from when he played with the under 16 team, so people could see what we talking about, because words can't really describe Colin’s talent....I would go as far to say he was in the same realm with Yorke at a younger age. His arrogance attitude might have been his downfall not being offered to play for a well known team. I have yet to see a player with his type of talent to represent our Senior national team.  This man would beat everybody ah mean everybody even de goal keeper turn back around and want to do it again…addicted to his ability to dribble. He was also very cocky. He uses to play striker at times, he would have been better at a midfield position. 

Another top class player gone down de drain because ah foolish ttff.  :'( 

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #39 on: April 15, 2009, 11:29:27 PM »
i like this thread and wanted to offer up some information on the brother you all are speaking of. I have known Rock now for almost 25 years. During that time I played against him when I suited up for John-D and took away a few North Zone titles from him during that time. We then clashed in the US at the college level where the tables turned playing against each other in the same conference. Colin Rocke was the real deal and I would safely say he had the tools to represent Trinidad at the senior level. Over the years we shared many conversations. As you all could tell the brother is very bitter and he has some real reasons for feeling the way he feels today. I know he may come across as being entitled. However, when you had the kind of career he had in Trinidad and then come to the US and playing with one of the best college teams and winning national titles and being recognized. If jack and them was doing they home work back then they would have been able to track down Rock. His team was mashing up big time Division i programs back in the early 90's and he was performing against other world university teams at the World College games.

Before men start to dog out the level he was associated with and played against. He was getting it done against top level international players. Back in 1990 the college team he was on had over 15 international players from all over Europe. His college team was no joke. Back then we played in the NAIA league. All that means is that we played against a lot of top level older players from all over the world. The ages back then was anywhere from 19-31yrs old.

So based on what I saw from Rocke over the years he should have been given a couple call ups. So on the real i really don't have a problem with how he deal with that interview. There are a lot of pent up emotions and a man should be allowed to express himself. Anyone of us who went through what he went through I have no issues with that man expressing himself in that manner. We all have out krptonite in this game and he had his.

So the only stain I would say that he maintained from his days at CIC and Wesleyan was his unwillingness to mix it up. It is a weakness we use to exploit whenever John-D played Saints. We often used it against him in the US as well. The mind set was rough him up, be very physical with him and he wouldn't want to deal with it. injuries was another factor that played a role as well. By the time he had left Wesleyan it was no longer a major kryptonite. So I am going on recorded to say that the federation lapse. When you looked at the U-16 national team it was Rock, Latas and Clint running things on that team. He was in that group with Dwight, Latas and Clint.
So the Rocke I know I look at that interview and I say I understand where you coming from brother.
We all know the US stigma with brothers who doing things out here either coaching or playing.

I don't expect men home to see me as a serious coach and I don't give a flying &^%K Is that full of myself? Maybe! Bob said it a long time ago you will get more love outside yuh yard. So Rocke just keep on moving. Dwelling on the past ain't doing anything for you as you already know.
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

« Reply #40 on: April 16, 2009, 06:17:39 AM »
i like this thread and wanted to offer up some information on the brother you all are speaking of. I have known Rock now for almost 25 years. During that time I played against him when I suited up for John-D and took away a few North Zone titles from him during that time. We then clashed in the US at the college level where the tables turned playing against each other in the same conference. Colin Rocke was the real deal and I would safely say he had the tools to represent Trinidad at the senior level. Over the years we shared many conversations. As you all could tell the brother is very bitter and he has some real reasons for feeling the way he feels today. I know he may come across as being entitled. However, when you had the kind of career he had in Trinidad and then come to the US and playing with one of the best college teams and winning national titles and being recognized. If jack and them was doing they home work back then they would have been able to track down Rock. His team was mashing up big time Division i programs back in the early 90's and he was performing against other world university teams at the World College games.

Before men start to dog out the level he was associated with and played against. He was getting it done against top level international players. Back in 1990 the college team he was on had over 15 international players from all over Europe. His college team was no joke. Back then we played in the NAIA league. All that means is that we played against a lot of top level older players from all over the world. The ages back then was anywhere from 19-31yrs old.

So based on what I saw from Rocke over the years he should have been given a couple call ups. So on the real i really don't have a problem with how he deal with that interview. There are a lot of pent up emotions and a man should be allowed to express himself. Anyone of us who went through what he went through I have no issues with that man expressing himself in that manner. We all have out krptonite in this game and he had his.

So the only stain I would say that he maintained from his days at CIC and Wesleyan was his unwillingness to mix it up. It is a weakness we use to exploit whenever John-D played Saints. We often used it against him in the US as well. The mind set was rough him up, be very physical with him and he wouldn't want to deal with it. injuries was another factor that played a role as well. By the time he had left Wesleyan it was no longer a major kryptonite. So I am going on recorded to say that the federation lapse. When you looked at the U-16 national team it was Rock, Latas and Clint running things on that team. He was in that group with Dwight, Latas and Clint.
So the Rocke I know I look at that interview and I say I understand where you coming from brother.
We all know the US stigma with brothers who doing things out here either coaching or playing.

I don't expect men home to see me as a serious coach and I don't give a flying &^%K Is that full of myself? Maybe! Bob said it a long time ago you will get more love outside yuh yard. So Rocke just keep on moving. Dwelling on the past ain't doing anything for you as you already know.

That is why when Bennie came to coach he send out ah message fur overseas or anyone who from the country that could play de game on another level, come show yourselves. This happen to plenty men even men on here probably, not just Rocke but alot of men that happen to, who came foreign. The federation was sad back then and they still sad today. Losts Diamonds.  :-[

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #41 on: April 17, 2009, 12:03:16 PM »
Ah fully agree with that one. I could only imagine how many brothers fell through the crack then

« Reply #42 on: April 18, 2009, 09:06:49 AM »
I never Rocke personally, just saw him play and did the interview with him.

The few who I have spoken to that knew him, indicate a certain cockiness on his part.
But let's face it when you that good at such a young age, you are going to be a bit cocky. I am not defending him  but I remember a young Brian Lara full of lyrics at fatima College.

i will say I was in awe of what I saw on the field when I saw him play. In the mid 80s, he Latas and Leonson Lewis simply blew me away with their skills.

After I left TT, I heard of fellas like Sheldon Bennet, the younger Hislop and young Rocke along with a host of other young talents. When you consider all that youth talent and our flops in the 90s, those prodigies simply ended up playing in a pull stones era as seniors.

I can distinctly remember the hurt and wonderment in Rocke's voice when he queried out aloud: " I don'nt know why they won't pick me for Trinidad. I don't know if it's because I went to St. Mary's College."

To have a man making waves like that and not even have the sense to call him, write him, is just the essence of a Third World administration.

« Reply #43 on: April 18, 2009, 11:22:24 AM »

I can answer that question. I called into a tv interview Jack was giving asking why Rocke and Shaka(at that time - 93/94) were not being called up to the Senior National team... his response was that the TTFA didn't have any info on the level of competition those fellas were playing at, and as such wanted them (the players) to pay their own way to come back to T&T and try out for the team.

Sounds reasonable to me.  If TTFA was to pay to bring back every man who could "turn he back on a man and sex him" or who people say is dis "big player", dey would be even more bankrupt.

I'm sure Rocke made return visits to T&T when he was in College in de US.  Did he ever offer himself for trials?  Maybe he felt that was beneath him...me eh know.  What I do know is that if yuh TRULY want something, yuh put yuhself in a position & do whatever it takes to try & make it happen.

« Reply #44 on: April 18, 2009, 12:21:06 PM »

I can answer that question. I called into a tv interview Jack was giving asking why Rocke and Shaka(at that time - 93/94) were not being called up to the Senior National team... his response was that the TTFA didn't have any info on the level of competition those fellas were playing at, and as such wanted them (the players) to pay their own way to come back to T&T and try out for the team.

Sounds reasonable to me.  If TTFA was to pay to bring back every man who could "turn he back on a man and sex him" or who people say is dis "big player", dey would be even more bankrupt.

I'm sure Rocke made return visits to T&T when he was in College in de US.  Did he ever offer himself for trials?  Maybe he felt that was beneath him...me eh know.  What I do know is that if yuh TRULY want something, yuh put yuhself in a position & do whatever it takes to try & make it happen.

I eh understand how jack's response could be considered "reasonable."   I would think that when one is running/operating a football federation on behalf of a Nation, you set up a system (including a scout team) to keep tabs on all your available or potential talent.  How could jack and the ttff "not know" what competition shaka was coming up against when he was at Howard U?  N E Way....I guess the real perspective for jack here is, "why invest money in anything to do with proper football operations when I can simply pocket the money." 

« Reply #45 on: April 18, 2009, 12:44:01 PM »

I eh understand how jack's response could be considered "reasonable."   I would think that when one is running/operating a football federation on behalf of a Nation, you set up a system (including a scout team) to keep tabs on all your available or potential talent.  How could jack and the ttff "not know" what competition shaka was coming up against when he was at Howard U?  N E Way....I guess the real perspective for jack here is, "why invest money in anything to do with proper football operations when I can simply pocket the money." 

No it doh sound reasonable. But look at who leave the post nah.

Bear in mind that in 1993, Rocke was already a Combine All Star around that time it was reported in the TT papers that Santos had offered him a contract. Poor TTFF, they obviously didn't get that issue or have anybody nice enough to share the news.

Why keep tabs on prodigies, speak to their families or get their phone numbers?
Give them credit though, they manage to track a white boy down in England.

« Reply #46 on: April 18, 2009, 12:46:29 PM »
 :flamethrower:

VB, ah line dey looking kinda incendiary. :)

« Reply #47 on: April 18, 2009, 12:57:03 PM »
:flamethrower:

VB, ah line dey looking kinda incendiary. :)

All dat shit Palos talk and you tell ME a line looking incendiary  :)

Say wha. you had me running for the dictionary. I learn a new word today  ;D

« Reply #48 on: April 18, 2009, 12:59:25 PM »

Up until recently, the US College system was a black hole for T&T youth footballers.  The TTFA hardly used to pay any attention to the hundreds of players from that system.  This goes back to men like Leiba, Bain etc.  Yuh hear people talk about how Ian Bain should have played for T&T (or played more..me eh know if he ever did) and he was de best midfielder we produce in dem times etc.  Is really only in de past few years a concerted effort has been made to properly scout and keep tabs on our players in that system.  Colin Rocke was a good colleges league player but IMO he couldn't hold a candle to Wendell Moore for example...and he was also swallowed up in the black hole of US College Football.

I not sayin dat it was right to ignore the US College system, I jes sayin dat was de reality.  The US...especially in those days, was not considered a football power.  Matter of fact, when we lost to the US in 1989, they were the decided underdogs.  Their own media and players expected to lose.  They were described as a bunch of college players.  We had a sense of superiority to them (which lasts to this day despite the overwhelming evidence to the contrary) that says we have more skills and they cyah play.

I'm saying given that REALITY, if Rocke really wanted to play for T&T, he could have come and at least try out himself.  Make contact with the administrators and not wait for them to contact him.  Maybe he did...I doh know...but from the articles, it seems as if he vex because they didn't contact him.  Every action have it's consequence.  Every inaction too.

« Reply #49 on: April 18, 2009, 01:01:48 PM »

Breddrin.  I apologize if I hurt yuh feelings.  I only quoted the "turn around and sex a man" as a reference, NOT an attack on you.  Nutting personal.

« Reply #50 on: April 18, 2009, 01:12:02 PM »

Breddrin.  I apologize if I hurt yuh feelings.  I only quoted the "turn around and sex a man" as a reference, NOT an attack on you.  Nutting personal.

Why would I  be offended?

It wasn't me who sex de man. And it wasn't me who get de sex LOL ;D

« Reply #51 on: April 18, 2009, 01:32:19 PM »

Why would I  be offended?

It wasn't me who sex de man. And it wasn't me who get de sex LOL ;D

Peace breddrin.  Respeck all de time... :beermug:

« Reply #52 on: April 18, 2009, 03:50:22 PM »

Up until recently, the US College system was a black hole for T&T youth footballers.  The TTFA hardly used to pay any attention to the hundreds of players from that system.  This goes back to men like Leiba, Bain etc.  Yuh hear people talk about how Ian Bain should have played for T&T (or played more..me eh know if he ever did) and he was de best midfielder we produce in dem times etc.  Is really only in de past few years a concerted effort has been made to properly scout and keep tabs on our players in that system.  Colin Rocke was a good colleges league player but IMO he couldn't hold a candle to Wendell Moore for example...and he was also swallowed up in the black hole of US College Football.

I not sayin dat it was right to ignore the US College system, I jes sayin dat was de reality.  The US...especially in those days, was not considered a football power.  Matter of fact, when we lost to the US in 1989, they were the decided underdogs.  Their own media and players expected to lose.  They were described as a bunch of college players.  We had a sense of superiority to them (which lasts to this day despite the overwhelming evidence to the contrary) that says we have more skills and they cyah play.

I'm saying given that REALITY, if Rocke really wanted to play for T&T, he could have come and at least try out himself.  Make contact with the administrators and not wait for them to contact him.  Maybe he did...I doh know...but from the articles, it seems as if he vex because they didn't contact him.  Every action have it's consequence.  Every inaction too.

From what you're saying there, Palos, WE are the ones that are are/were arrogant.  If that U-16 tournament didn't teach us, or at least teach jack and the ttfa, that the usa was not to be taken lightly, then nothing was going to do it for us.  Indeed it hasn't.  I had been keeping up with this thread for days, (as a matter of fact, I read that Rocke interview on another medium a long time ago) and I never thought his words represented arrogance.  Bitterness, yes, but not arrogance.  Being borne out of T&T culture, I could see how Colin, or any player at that time, could have expected a call up from our national team if they were doing the things in college football as he was doing.  I thought that when it came to our National team, ours has always been a system of "call ups."   I also know of one major, big named T&T player who, for the few years he was excelling at an American university, more than made himself available to our national team, only to be shooed away and later on have jackula try to hijack the man's professional and international career when he was doing well for himself.   But for all the people that want to criticize Rocke for not doing whatever it takes to "make the national team" well, if the people running the team don't know how to manage the players and player development how can we expect the players to do it themselves.  After playing against Colin a few times while at school, (QRC) I had a chance encounter with him down in El Paso, TX when, by chance, I learned of and attended the University games that he performed so well in back in the late 80's.  I only know who the participating players were going to be when I walked through the gates and bought a programme, and when I had a chance to call out the man, he recognized me, came and sat in the stands and ole talk and was talking to me like we knew each other for years.  After watching the performance he had put down that weekend, and knowing the reputation he had in school, I couldn't believe the man was as humble he actually was. I said all of that to reiterate that, I don't think the man's words were representative of his arrogance.  I think the man looking at our football how it is NOW and seeing how things maybe could have been a whole lot better for T&T football, had the powers-that-be done a much better job of developing our talent.  Including himself, from way back when. 

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #53 on: April 18, 2009, 08:57:51 PM »
The unfortunate thing about all of this is a good young soldier who would have definitely had an impact on we national team was left out. I don't front the man for venting.The major concern for me is what has our federation learned from these sort of errors. Do they even care? I will leave it on that note

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #54 on: April 18, 2009, 11:20:05 PM »
Palos, players like Rocke doh facking try out for Trini national team. Yuh could ask all de big name players from that period of time bout Mr Colin Rocke. I know everybody does have dem village favourites. Wendell Moore was indeed good, but Rocke was already in de national program as a special talent.........yuh telling me it wasn't worth it even just to see if he still was better than his peers? Allyuh man too fackin evil yes!!
Doh loss yuh head boss