April 26, 2024, 08:59:31 AM

Author Topic: Noriega Back Home  (Read 7016 times)

Noriega Back Home
« on: July 18, 2007, 09:18:05 PM »
Noriega back home

Ian Prescott iprescott@trinidadexpress.com

ANTHONY NORIEGA, the Trinidad and Tobago centre back, returned home on Saturday after suffering a head injury against the United States at the recent CONCACAF Gold Cup football tournament.

Noriega was injured in the first 15 minutes of the game when he collided with two players. He fell, became unconscious and had to be taken to hospital. Noriega had a CT scan which showed that he had a brain contusion or a brain bruise in the front part of the brain.

Noriega remembers little of the incident. "I don't remember anything about the accident from the moment I got hit, to the time walked out of the hospital,"he said. "I can walk and so on, but I cannot do any physical fitness activity for a while. But, I am feeling much better than I was. I've still got to do a few check ups and it could be a further six weeks before I can play any football again. The doctor said that even though I was feeling good. I have to make sure I had a full recovery before play again."

Speaking to the Express on Tuesday, Noriega said that the collision resulted in him having a concussion and that he may have also had slight swelling and possibly bleeding of the brain. He added that since being released from hospital around June 14, he has stayed with family in the US and has also not heard much from the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation.

"They (T&TFF) did not call me to see how they could assist me with my medical condition. It was up to a lot of good people to help me. It was my mom who did most of the running around to help me," Noreiga said.
Noriega added that he was also unable to leave the United States for some time since his hospital release because commercial aircraft carriers were not willing to take the risk that he would suffer further serious injury. Before being allowed to fly, the airlines required that the Joe Public defender take a CT scan and get other medical clearance before they flew him back home.

Re: Noriega Back Home
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2007, 09:25:07 PM »
Glad to see that he is doing well. I wonder what the TTFF has to say now that we hear it from the hores's mouth that they did not do any real follow up on him? Sad on the TTFF part.  :-[

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2007, 09:31:28 PM »
Glad to see that he is doing well. I wonder what the TTFF has to say now that we hear it from the hores's mouth that they did not do any real follow up on him? Sad on the TTFF part.  :-[
well de man kinda contradict heself dey
1st he say he cyah remember nuttin
...so how he ent know ttff ent do nuttin when he was knock out?
I jus sayin it b4 jack put it in the official press release. ;)

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2007, 09:31:58 PM »
They go say he still unconscious.

« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2007, 06:13:44 AM »
Allyuh seem suprised. Knowing how de TTFF is i say dem musbe forget bout trying to bring de man home...and was jus waiting for immigration to deport him to cut costs. Glad he back home doh.........hope he suffers no future ill effects. Wonder if his comments might put his football future in jeopardy......ent is Joe Public he does play for?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2007, 07:14:51 AM »
alyuh remember this article.....I wonder if this cost was really covered ???

Noreiga Discharged !
>By: Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).
>
>National Team defender Anthony Noreiga was discharged from the Habour UCLA
>Medical Center on Thursday after being warded there since Saturday following
>his head injury sustained against the United States in Boston.
>Noreiga, who sustained a brain contusion in the CONCACAF Gold Cup fixture,
>improved considerably over the past two days, according the T&T Team Doctor
>Terence Babwah.
>"Noreiga has improved considerably over the last 2 days to the point that he
>was seen and discharged from hospital today. He was a bit confused over the
>last 2 days stating inappropriate events and he had some delusions about the
>hospital," Babwah said in a statement to TTFF Media.
>"Today (Thursday) he had less delusions and walked comfortably around the
>ward. His mother was around him today. The attending neurosurgeon cleared
>him to fly home and continue treatment home."
>However, Noreiga's mother felt more comfortable with her son spending a
>couple extra days and he will now return home on Monday. TTFF Special
>Advisor Jack Warner will cover the cost of the three extra nights for the
>player and his mother.
>Upon arrival in Trinidad, he will be seen and treated by doctors in Trinidad
>and receive physiotherapy there after.
>Babwah also wished to clear the air on a media report carried on local radio
>station 91.9 fm which stated that Noreiga was not sufficiently taken care of
>by TTFF officials since his injury.
>"Sam Phillip and I visited Noreiga twice daily from Sunday to Tuesday. He
>was in ICU for 2 days and had limited visitors. He moved to a step down ward
>on Monday with limited visitors and to a general ward on Tuesday with
>unlimited visitors. He was only allowed food and drink on Tuesday night. On
>Wednesday, we visited until 1pm and was due to return to visit after picking
>up his Mom at 6:55pm at the airport. Due to inclement weather in Miami, she
>didn't arrive until 2:30am this morning June 14th.
>"Some Trinis were able to visit him and not seeing us yesterday evening he
>thought that we went to Boston and left him alone. He was confused and so
>wouldn't know how many times we visited him. He even had to be restrained to
>the bed. We didn't get to return with his toiletries on Wednesday night.
>These "trinis" called the radio station and complained bitterly about him
>being abandoned by the TTFF without knowing exactly what was happening,"
>Babwah added.
>One individual even called the Trinidad and Tobago Embassy to complain.
>"I got an update daily from his doctors and so had all the necessary
>information. There were records that we visited every day- so there were
>unfounded complaints," Babwah concluded.

« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2007, 07:51:41 AM »
Let me give you guys the run down.

Anthony made many attempts to fly back to Trinidad but was turned down several times by American Airlines since he (Anthony) was a liability in the air. So that was the main reason he remained in the US for that long.

When Anthony was in California, there was no love, little concern, no heart, no "equal place" shown towards the young man. After the team left the USA he (Anthony) occasionally got calls from the team Dr. Terrance Babwah. But guess what? During those conversations Terrance use to record the conversations because he wanted to clear his name. I know Terrance personally for quite some time and I could say that he is "down-to-earth." But when I heard this piece of information I was extremely disappointed.

At this present point in time, Anthony is still not fully recovered. He complains of "black outs" and dizziness when juggling the ball and very light jogging. Right now he is very happy to be back with his family. He is so scared of alternative serious repercussion that he may or could have encountered.

« Last Edit: July 19, 2007, 08:45:41 AM by kingman »

« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2007, 08:03:46 AM »

Anthony made many attempts to fly back to Trinidad but was turned down several times by American Airlines since he (Anthony) was a liability in the air. So that was the main reason he remained in the US for that long.

When Anthony was in California, there was no love, love concern, no heart, no "equal place" shown towards the young man. After the team left the USA he (Anthony) occasionally got calls from the team Dr. Terrance Babwah. But guess what? During those conversations Terrance use to record the conversations because he wanted to clear his name. I know Terrance personally for quite some time and I could say that he is "down-to-earth." But when I heard this piece of information I was extremely disappointed.

At this present point in time, Anthony is still not fully recovered. He complains of "black outs" and dizziness when juggling the ball and very light jogging. Right now he is very happy to be back with his family. He is so scared of alternative serious repercussion that he may or could have encountered.

De TTFF shameless !!!!!!!! this will not go down good for the rest of players on the team. I think de whole team should just quit until they desolve the TTFF and jail Jack Warner..... we cant be treating players like this while on international duty and to know he could end up ending his career is bad too.

1. Will Noreiga be able to play footrball again, I hope so.

2. Will Joe Public honour their contract with Noreiga, if his career should come to and end ?

3. What will happen now. It has been to long now and Noreiga still seems to still be suffering a bit, maybe the injury is more serious than one thinks.

4. I hope the TTFF dont hold him responsible for any misunderstanding he may say as Noreiga might have been a little off. But his Mom should be able to tell the full tail..... come on Lasana where you.... run something on this....

God Bless him and I hope he gets better 100%.

« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2007, 08:07:58 AM »

According to the Doctors in California, they said that he would be able to play again but advised that he take time off for quite a bit.

« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2007, 08:26:03 AM »
Before we just try to grab any excuse to bash TTFF, let's get some answers

Do National Players/TTFF  have insurance ?
Who paid his hospital bill and extended stay?
How did his mother get there and where did she stay, who paid her bill ?
Did Babwah(TTFF rep.) not only speak to him, but also was im comtact with the US doctors more ?
What more could the TTFF have done ?

« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2007, 08:26:11 AM »
SHAME...SHAME...SHAME.

these old men have no f**king conscience?

« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2007, 08:43:51 AM »

Did Babwah(TTFF rep.) not only speak to him, but also was im comtact with the US doctors more ?

even if this whole ordeal did not cost him and his family one cent the TTFF, totally mishandled it.
You think if the US team come to Trini to play and one of their National Team players get hurt while representing the country, the entire team and staff will move on, leave the country, and that player would then have to stay at a strangers or friends house?
You think the would not leave someone here, or send someone back to personally look after his care, housing and return trip home?
yo think they would leave it up to the player and say "see you back at practice when you feeling better!"

« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2007, 09:13:50 AM »

even if this whole ordeal did not cost him and his family one cent the TTFF, totally mishandled it.
You think if the US team come to Trini to play and one of their National Team players get hurt while representing the country, the entire team and staff will move on, leave the country, and that player would then have to stay at a strangers or friends house?
You think the would not leave someone here, or send someone back to personally look after his care, housing and return trip home?
yo think they would leave it up to the player and say "see you back at practice when you feeling better!"
It all depends , as far as I know, the Doctor and manager stayed for some part, and his mother was sent for, I presume to stay for the term (did she get timeoff),he had constant hospitalcare and monitoring, the team doctor was in touch, The team travelled on, and there are other National teams to take care of.
 However, Was as you decribed, was that the case ? He had to stay by strangers and friend house unwillingly ? Personally, I know if I get bang travelling for work or play, me doh wha sit down in no hotel or hospita for no extended time, I rather stay by supportive friends or fellow Trinis anyday..With his mother there and everything else taken care of, and other teams to see about, should they hire and send another stranger to hold his other hand ? Or run around?  I  not saying they couldn't do more, I just can't think of what that is, and ah don't see how he could make that statement, "They (T&TFF) did not call me to see how they could assist me with my medical condition. It was up to a lot of good people to help me. It was my mom who did most of the running around to help me," cause Babwah was in touch, with him(according to kingman) , and if he is 'not bad' I'm sure with the hospital doctors. And what kind of running run was required ? Could the TTFF have sent someone who knew more on such a condition, cause we have so much specialist...anyway....fill meh in...we all agree we would like to see more done, but let's be practical, and try to determine , for all our future references, what could that have been. We know TTFF cyah get lil tings right, but ah doh want to presume, that they or anybody else would be able to fix, what may not have been broken......Is it possible the statement, may have been taken a lil out of context, or exagerrated by the reporter, as they(reporters) are sometimes wont to do
« Last Edit: July 19, 2007, 09:16:03 AM by maxg »

« Reply #13 on: July 19, 2007, 09:16:31 AM »
The TTFF is an embarassment to football and footballer in T&T. They are an insult. >:( >:(

« Reply #14 on: July 19, 2007, 09:43:09 AM »

It all depends , as far as I know, the Doctor and manager stayed for some part, and his mother was sent for, I presume to stay for the term (did she get timeoff),he had constant hospitalcare and monitoring, the team doctor was in touch, The team travelled on, and there are other National teams to take care of.
 However, Was as you decribed, was that the case ? He had to stay by strangers and friend house unwillingly ? Personally, I know if I get bang travelling for work or play, me doh wha sit down in no hotel or hospita for no extended time, I rather stay by supportive friends or fellow Trinis anyday..With his mother there and everything else taken care of, and other teams to see about, should they hire and send another stranger to hold his other hand ? Or run around?  I  not saying they couldn't do more, I just can't think of what that is, and ah don't see how he could make that statement, "They (T&TFF) did not call me to see how they could assist me with my medical condition. It was up to a lot of good people to help me. It was my mom who did most of the running around to help me," cause Babwah was in touch, with him(according to kingman) , and if he is 'not bad' I'm sure with the hospital doctors. And what kind of running run was required ? Could the TTFF have sent someone who knew more on such a condition, cause we have so much specialist...anyway....fill meh in...we all agree we would like to see more done, but let's be practical, and try to determine , for all our future references, what could that have been. We know TTFF cyah get lil tings right, but ah doh want to presume, that they or anybody else would be able to fix, what may not have been broken......Is it possible the statement, may have been taken a lil out of context, or exagerrated by the reporter, as they(reporters) are sometimes wont to do

you have to take into account the severity of the injury we talking about here, is not like the man broke his leg and could not move around.
The team has been home and out of the Gold Cup since when?
According to the player, he has not heard from the TTFF much, this incident that took place on the field is still ongoing for the player how then can it be over and done with for the team, TTFF and team Dr?
So babwah calling the man on the phone, write in he lil book, "Called Noreiga, Tuesday July 17th 2:34 PM" and he wok done!
sometimes we need to try and emphatise (sic) and think what if that was our little brother being treated this way, would we be so cool with the treatment.

« Reply #15 on: July 19, 2007, 09:53:06 AM »
we need to take this to the international press & embarrass the f**k out of the TTFF.

anybody have any media contacts?

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #16 on: July 19, 2007, 09:56:56 AM »

I agree.
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #17 on: July 19, 2007, 09:58:51 AM »

I would hope so...as a matter of fact they should

Well even if insurance payments could not come through on time....from what i know the TTFF should pay the up front fees...then the insurance would reimburse after a claim is made. Dunno if somebody who could give a more informed opinion on it could help.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #18 on: July 19, 2007, 10:50:02 AM »

you have to take into account the severity of the injury we talking about here, is not like the man broke his leg and could not move around.( with this type of injury, the real care is in the followup and assistance, because the player may not be able to return to the activity or work)
The team has been home and out of the Gold Cup since when?( We don't have a doctor assigned to each team, very few countries do, he may be responsible for all players at all levels)
According to the player, he has not heard from the TTFF much, this incident that took place on the field is still ongoing for the player how then can it be over and done with for the team, TTFF and team Dr?(a. According to the news reporter ! b. It cannot be done for anybody, as we are still in the followup stage, most Head injuries are treated on followup and observation, unless emergency surgery is required)So babwah calling the man on the phone, write in he lil book, "Called Noreiga, Tuesday July 17th 2:34 PM" and he wok done! (do we have other players that require his immediate attention, should all our other players be forgottten, even though it has been determined that the player/patient is deemed in "good hands")sometimes we need to try and emphatise (sic) and think what if that was our little brother being treated this way, would we be so cool with the treatment[font=Verdana].( I hope not, though I myself have been an Ath. therapist(non-active), a Head injury is something we don't want to see, and in reality, the followup phase is the most difficult. I also know an ICU specialist(mrs.g) who treats many patients, an although does her best, while they are in her unit, followup is always an issue (the ones that live) and sometimes near impossible for the orig. treating doctor...I know the pain of knowing the symptom and not being able to do much, even when it is ppl you care a great deal)[/font]So initially, I think the TTFF did the most they could do..i.e. billls etc..if they did that, though now is where they assist more, in the follow up and assistance(where necessary) phase. Just my opinion.

edit: my response is above - after your questions, ah kinda messup, thinkin ah was changing colour..think I did now
« Last Edit: July 19, 2007, 12:21:41 PM by maxg »

« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2007, 11:09:28 AM »
Watch meh gross unprofessional conduct and organisation by the TTFF. I just came back from Region ODP, and we had people who just follow the team with a note book containing all players on that state team medical info, insurance and emergency info. One player had to go the hospital and for sure there was someone from the staff to take him there, stay with him and bring him back. Parents were informed but, was told to stay put until everything was clarified.  The player  had nothing to worry about.

« Reply #20 on: July 19, 2007, 11:39:08 AM »
Watch meh gross unprofessional conduct and organisation by the TTFF. I just came back from Region ODP, and we had people who just follow the team with a note book containing all players on that state team medical info, insurance and emergency info. One player had to go the hospital and for sure there was someone from the staff to take him there, stay with him and bring him back. Parents were informed but, was told to stay put until everything was clarified.  The player  had nothing to worry about.
at the school level you have all kinds of volunteers and individuals who work for free(many real pre=professional doing their internship etc.) in addition, many schools rarely have the privelige to get that kinda of "sit in" service when travelling internationally. In many case, depending on the severity, they whole trip may be cancelled...Since this player could nott fly or travel, I understand, the Manager and Team doctor stayed...Luckily we did not have another injury..Someone could have stayed with Noriega, but they (parent and admin) decided to bring his mother. Would Oliver going have been ah better choice ?   I don't think so.....anyway bash away, I out

« Reply #21 on: July 19, 2007, 12:13:57 PM »
I hear yuh maxg.  I tink some men livin in babylon too long and buy in to the philosophy of when something go wrong one of the 1st tings dat NEEDS to be done is to find somebody to blame.
for how bumblin and foolish and currupt an organization ttff is, if both sides tellin the 'truth' and the 'real truth' is somewhere in the middle there, then I think ttff didn't f0k up soo bad this time - I mean if the hospital say everything cris saddis ready to travel babwa and dem say come we ridin on this plane and the mudder say we have lil business to take carae of, then afterwards - cyah get on flight...all dem men done in T'dad.
somebody to blame there?
as somebody else ask, if man playin in a gold cup competition, part of registration fee and ting is not for players insurance?
a lot of the rest is speculation I seein on here.
I think men jus in the habit of cussin ttff, so they jus carryin along,.

« Reply #22 on: July 19, 2007, 01:09:57 PM »

When Anthony was in California, there was no love, love concern, no heart, no "equal place" shown towards the young man. After the team left the USA he (Anthony) occasionally got calls from the team Dr. Terrance Babwah. But guess what? During those conversations Terrance use to record the conversations because he wanted to clear his name. I know Terrance personally for quite some time and I could say that he is "down-to-earth." But when I heard this piece of information I was extremely disappointed.

De TTFF shameless !!!!!!!! this will not go down good for the rest of players on the team. I think de whole team should just quit until they desolve the TTFF and jail Jack Warner..... we cant be treating players like this while on international duty and to know he could end up ending his career is bad too.

2. Will Joe Public honour their contract with Noreiga, if his career should come to and end ?

3. What will happen now. It has been to long now and Noreiga still seems to still be suffering a bit, maybe the injury is more serious than one thinks.

4. I hope the TTFF dont hold him responsible for any misunderstanding he may say as Noreiga might have been a little off. But his Mom should be able to tell the full tail..... come on Lasana where you.... run something on this....

God Bless him and I hope he gets better 100%.

Some good points, but...you real dramatic dred.

« Reply #23 on: July 19, 2007, 01:12:41 PM »

Good post.  I've been saying it all along that men have been coming down too harsh on the TTFF in this instance.  Many of the complaints about what they should have done are largely unrealistic or unfair.

« Reply #24 on: July 19, 2007, 01:17:00 PM »
i am extremly pissed off about this outcome!! This is the Facking reason we need FPATT or a similar situation to fight for the players rights... i do not care what anyone here want to say about people within the TTFF. If this was anyother country this will never happen... ah man get hurt playing for his country and have to be discharged from a hospital because they do not know how they getting paid. Bull real real BULL yuh hear!! then yuh staying at some "good semaratons" house. so what if they give his mother a ticket and a visa to go see him hoow is that helping his need of medical attention. BULL Sh*T yuh hear.. I already say them man and then have to look ah alternative route go to school and at least get ah education alright!!! put football second!! Blessings!!!

Do you know that to be the case?  I know that was the case with the hotel, that only a certain number of days were booked and he had to be checked out but nowhere did I read that the was PREMATURELY discharged from the hospital because he couldn't pay.  Matter of fact I would go out on a limb and say that NO HOSPITAL would dare do that, b/c their mission is primarily to care for the sick.  They may get away with not admitting you, but once admitted they cannot discharge you until you are well enough.  To do so would be for the hospital to lose it's JCAHO accreditation (and thus not be allowed to care for patients) and the attending (and discharging) physician would be brought before a board of inquiry...there would be a lawsuit as sure as night follows the day.

« Reply #25 on: July 19, 2007, 01:21:36 PM »

you have to take into account the severity of the injury we talking about here, is not like the man broke his leg and could not move around.
The team has been home and out of the Gold Cup since when?
According to the player, he has not heard from the TTFF much, this incident that took place on the field is still ongoing for the player how then can it be over and done with for the team, TTFF and team Dr?
So babwah calling the man on the phone, write in he lil book, "Called Noreiga, Tuesday July 17th 2:34 PM" and he wok done!
sometimes we need to try and emphatise (sic) and think what if that was our little brother being treated this way, would we be so cool with the treatment.

"Empathize"...but close...and while I agree with you I also must ask, what more should the TTFF and Dr. Babwah have done?  Remember, Dr. Babwah is no Neurologist..my guess is that he's likely an Orthopedic surgeon or, this being TnT we talking about, a Generalist.  He cannot provide any better care for Noriega than he was receiving from the hospital...and from what I've read he continued to receive outpatient care for the injury.  I also think folks are overplaying the extent of the injury, there likely still is some fogginess from the concussion but once that clears, my guess is that he'll return to the pitch just fine.

Offline Slade

« Reply #26 on: July 19, 2007, 02:54:43 PM »
well de man kinda contradict heself dey
1st he say he cyah remember nuttin
...so how he ent know ttff ent do nuttin when he was knock out?
I jus sayin it b4 jack put it in the official press release. ;)
Hey that was after he recovered, stop trying to defend the tttf

« Reply #27 on: July 19, 2007, 02:59:34 PM »
If u walk like a duck etc. Too harsh on JWFF pleezeeeeeeeeee. Somebody from th eteam should ah stay wit d man till AA bring him home. I sure dat eh happen so me eh need to know any more

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
« Reply #28 on: July 19, 2007, 04:40:17 PM »
WTF wrong with these old good for nuttin TTFF Mother f**kers boy?. They aint doing s**t for this country's football fraternity they need to get the F**K out.

« Reply #29 on: July 19, 2007, 07:47:09 PM »
Nobody just bashing for bashing sake. As a professional outfit there are certain things required of you and when you consistently fail to provide said service, then questions will be asked and conclusions drawn. This is not just about fans vs JW or TTFF, it's about people being concerned about the life and health of a young man and wanting the best for him.