April 28, 2024, 04:32:15 AM

Author Topic: Sunderland Calypso?  (Read 3084 times)

Sunderland Calypso?
« on: August 08, 2007, 01:11:29 PM »
So the new season kicks off this weekend. Considering we have at least 3 Trinis at Sunderland maybe it's time to write an official calypso for the team. It would be great for a veteran artist to come out with something, but I know we have plenty of talent on this forum as well.

Consider that many other English teams have had calypsos written about them (granted some are kind of fake - mostly coming out of the calypso craze of the late 50's) but how about it?

(1953) Edmundo Ros: Exotic Football Calypso of 1953
 (1954) Edric Conner: Manchester United Calypso
 (1956) Lord Kitchener: The Manchester Football Double
 (1964) Ronnie Hilton: Leeds United Calypso
 (1972) Chic Applin Sound: Norwich City Calypso
 (1972) Johnny Cobnut: Ipswitch Football Calypso

Click here for a listen

Re: Sunderland Calypso?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2007, 01:33:36 PM »
put Truetrini and TriniInfinite in the studio

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2007, 01:41:19 PM »
nah is ok mr mc

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2007, 02:13:20 PM »
Ah tink Alberta Trini used to compose from time to time on here, no?

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2007, 02:15:30 PM »
nice work boi that super blue make want to cry yes

« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2007, 02:38:44 PM »
dah Volkanikman freaky    :D

oh Classics guy  :o
« Last Edit: August 08, 2007, 02:43:45 PM by maxg »

« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2007, 02:42:06 PM »
That collection is super. Was Ed Ross Venezuela with Trini roots.?

« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2007, 02:52:55 PM »
That collection is super. Was Ed Ross Venezuela with Trini roots.?

Yeah born in T&T but went off to Venezuela then England (http://www.edmundoros.com/bio.html) - Did a few duet albums in latin style with Caterina Valente who did a german version of Island in the Sun.

« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2007, 03:29:00 PM »
put Truetrini and TriniInfinite in the studio

can we give them weapons too... and get some camera men in?
« Last Edit: August 08, 2007, 03:41:40 PM by Jefferz »

« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2007, 04:26:11 PM »
Thanks for the info E-man. In a next couple years he go be 100. Ole!!!!!

« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2007, 06:07:52 AM »
eman iz more trini than plenty men i know

« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2007, 09:13:03 PM »
Morvant u take the post right out of meh head. A partner taught he wasTrini who lived in Germany

« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2007, 09:42:58 PM »
Morvant u take the post right out of meh head. A partner taught he wasTrini who lived in Germany
most people in de world have a bit of Trini in dem ;)
is like half a dozen degrees of seperation ;D
Ent?
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.