0 (0%)
Brent Rahim
0 (0%)
Densill Theobald
0 (0%)
None
9 (14.1%)

Total Members Voted: 63

Author Topic: Thread for the TRI vs USA game.  (Read 21712 times)

Thread for the TRI vs USA game.
« on: August 11, 2005, 04:13:10 PM »
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores on the game vs United States will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary headlines and postings.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at these sites;

1. SW Online Forum.

2. SW Online Live Chat.

3. Fifaworldcup.com.

4. Homeviewtnt/CT105fm.

5. Ussoccer.com.

TV- Viewers:
U.S. Men vs. Trinidad & Tobago
Wednesday, August 17
ESPN2 - 8 p.m. ET.

Crew meet-up:
Crew meet-up for the game.

Roll Call.

Preview:
Game Preview.

Head to head

vs USA:
P   W   D   L   GF    GA

9    0   2   7    3     12

The WCQ Results:

1. 15-MAY-85 - USA 2 vs 1 TRI.
2. 19-MAY-85 - USA 1 vs 0 TRI.
3. 13-MAY-89 - USA 1 vs 1 TRI.
4. 19-NOV-89 - TRI  0 vs 1 USA.
5. 10-NOV-96 - USA 2 vs 0 TRI.
6. 24-NOV-96 - TRI  0 vs 1 USA.
7. 20-JUN-01 -  USA 2 vs 0 TRI.
8. 11-NOV-01 - TRI  0 vs 0 USA.
9. 09-FEB-05 -  TRI  1 vs 2 USA.

Current Standings.
Standings.

Updates:

DaMarcus Beasley has been ruled out of the USA's upcoming qualifier against Trinidad & Tobago on Aug. 17 due to injury. According to his club, the U.S. international has not fully recovered from a hamstring strain. No additional players will be added to the roster, and the remaining 19 players will begin to report to Hartford on Aug. 14, with training scheduled to begin Monday.
Beasley was a force for the U.S. during their recent run to the Gold Cup title, registering three goals and four assists in six matches. For his efforts, Beasley earned the Golden Shoe as the tournament's top scorer.

Squads:

Trinidad & Tobago Roster:[/color]

Goalkeepers:
Kelvin Jack (Dundee FC), Shaka Hislop (West Ham United).

Defenders:
Marvin Andrews (Glasgow Rangers), Brent Sancho (Unattached), David Atiba Charles (W Connection), Cyd Gray (San Juan Jabloteh), Dennis Lawrence (Wrexham), Avery John (New England Revolution).

Midfielders:
Christopher Birchall (Port Vale), Collin Samuel (Dundee United), Aurtis Whitley (San Juan Jabloteh), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA Fire), Silvio Spann (Yokohama FC).

Forwards:
Dwight Yorke (Sydney FC), Scott Sealy (Kansas City Wizards), Kenwyne Jones (Southampton), Stern John (Coventry City), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars).

United States Roster:[/color]

Goalkeepers:
Kevin Hartman (Los Angeles Galaxy), Tim Howard (Manchester United), Kasey Keller (Borussia Moenchengladbach).

Defenders:
Chris Albright (Los Angeles Galaxy), Gregg Berhalter (Energie Cottbus), Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards), Oguchi Onyewu (Standard de Liege), Greg Vanney (FC Dallas).

Midfielders:
Chris Armas (Chicago Fire), Bobby Convey (Reading FC), Eddie Lewis (Leeds United), John O’Brien (ADO Den Haag), Santino Quaranta (D.C. United), Steve Ralston (New England Revolution), Claudio Reyna (Manchester City).

Forwards:
Jeff Cunningham (Colorado Rapids), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy), Brian McBride (Fulham FC), Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution).

Warriors All The Way:
« Last Edit: August 16, 2005, 05:30:14 AM by Flex »

Re: Trinidad & Tobago vs United States Thread.
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2005, 04:43:45 PM »
Rahim might do good seeing that he ruled the UCONN Field once.  ;D
Welcome home Rahim.

DaMarcus Beasley out.      GREAT !
Watch Donovan, Ralston and Lewis for outside shots and big head defender Onyewu for headers on set pieces, Twellman to.. Cunningham does find himself in spaces, a sneaky player.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2005, 04:49:12 PM by Flex »

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2005, 05:00:35 PM »

Come Dwight....they wukking yuh hard down under so yuh shud be ready to blaze Keller.

Offline Valiantnodge

« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2005, 05:25:29 PM »
Eddie Lewis is nusiance of a winger and an excellent crosser. Claudio Reyna is a decent player too but i'm not convinced he is over a spate of injuries.

« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2005, 06:53:02 PM »
oh gad is me alone vote for Stern!!!!
I got $5 say he score in this game

« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2005, 08:26:25 PM »
Yessssssss Beasley out.

Now all we need is Keller to get injured in training  ;D

« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2005, 08:44:16 PM »
allright boys...get ready for a cracker....HISTORY will be created

« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2005, 09:58:05 PM »
Rahim might do good seeing that he ruled the UCONN Field once.  ;D
Welcome home Rahim.

DaMarcus Beasley out.      GREAT !
Watch Donovan, Ralston and Lewis for outside shots and big head defender Onyewu for headers on set pieces, Twellman to.. Cunningham does find himself in spaces, a sneaky player.

unfortunately i dont think rahim ever played on that field. but lets hope he plays well after seeing all the UCONN signs.

beasley out is a huge relief. we need someone to man mark landon donovan and marv should negate mcbride.

most importantly, please keep an eye on the following: 1. how long it takes for the long ball shit to come back during the game. 2. how long it takes for the midfield to sop makin runs. 3. the confidence,or lack thereof, in the midfield's game when they have the ball. im looking for spann to have a huge game. im real glad hes back in the fold because he controls things. and with carlos back we should be set

« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2005, 04:16:08 AM »
Who allyuh like to start Wed.

Starters (4-4-2):
                             Hislop                 
Charles      Andrews             Lawrence         Avery
Edwards    Birchall                Spann              Samuel
                Yorke                  Whitley

If we winning (4-5-1):

Hislop                 
Charles      Andrews             Lawrence         Sancho
Jones      Theobald    Whitley       Spann       Avery
                             Yorke

OUT: Edwards, Samuel & Birchall or maybe Spann. Dont get me wrong, I like Birchall but I wanted to see a Spann/Theobald combo or even a Rahim/Spann combo in the center.

If we loosing (3-5-2):

Hislop                 
Andrews               Lawrence                    Avery
Jones        Whitley                Spann           Edwards
                             Yorke                                     
                Sealy                  John

OUT: Charles, Samuel & Birchall or maybe Spann instead of Birchall, depends on who playing better I guess.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2005, 07:12:32 AM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the TRI vs USA game.
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2005, 08:34:52 AM »
Unless Hislop do something amazing in training I don't see him starting. He hasn't played much at all and if Shaka isn't Match fit he prone to get string up bad. I would think Jack will start. ???

I would also think that Beenie would play Jones up front. Stern will probably start since he would convince Beenie that he know the US like the back ah he hand.

Beasley out is really good news so no need to have Cyd Gray since his job has already been done :)

Spann will be key in this game. In controlling the midfield.

I hope Beenie don't play fellas out of position unnecessarily. If edwards can't play at the start...Birchall should assume that position. If Edwards does play then we'll have to play Birchall in the middle.
And Charles should definitely start. Not sure what Beenie been smokin the last few games...whatever it was ah hope he eh travel with it.

« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2005, 02:05:34 PM »
Nice line up Sam but do you really feel they will bench Stern John ? even if he was playing bear-feet they would still start him.

Hislop played 2 games for West Ham last week so he should start.

Beenie man love Gray so Charles might be benched.

Beenhaker Double Standard
« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2005, 06:40:19 PM »
Is it just me who thinks there's a Beenhaker double standard for leaving out Cornell Glenn and to a lesser extent Jason Scotland, under the rationale that they haven't been training regularly with a club and has Sancho in his side who is currently unattached. I mean I agree Sancho is one of our better defenders, but as a reason for leaving out Glenn...Beenhaker needs to come better

Re: Beenhaker Double Standard
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2005, 07:04:32 PM »
Is it just me who thinks there's a Beenhaker double standard for leaving out Cornell Glenn and to a lesser extent Jason Scotland, under the rationale that they haven't been training regularly with a club and has Sancho in his side who is currently unattached. I mean I agree Sancho is one of our better defenders, but as a reason for leaving out Glenn...Beenhaker needs to come better

Glen's ommission had nothing to do with his playing time. Dis is what Beenhakker said:

"It was a choice between Cornell , Scott and Jason and once again it’s a fact that Scott has been playing every week and has been scoring goals."

« Reply #13 on: August 12, 2005, 11:54:27 PM »
Hislop played 2 games for West Ham last week so he should start.

A WHOLE 2 games
haha
jokey

« Reply #14 on: August 13, 2005, 04:52:09 AM »
We in section 105, anybody bringing a banner ?

KND, where we meeting yuh ?? give us de breakdown.

« Reply #15 on: August 13, 2005, 05:36:25 AM »
 Sam i agree with yuh lineup.

The Rick Crow Column: Match of the Month.
« Reply #16 on: August 13, 2005, 05:47:35 AM »
The Rick Crow Column: Match of the Month.
By Rick Crow.

Baltimore, MD (August 10, 2005) USSoccerPlayers - When the United States Men's National Team meets Trinidad and Tobago on Aug. 17 at 8 p.m. ET, it will be the most important sports event in the USA that night. In fact, I argue, the USA-Trinidad match is the most important sports happening during the entire month of August in our country. More important, you ask, than the NFL preseason or the college football media days? More important than the baseball races? More important than the return of the NHL?

Infinitely more important, I insist.

Of course, long-suffering soccer fans know that very few sports columnists with a national following are going to preview this game. The experts on sports radio won't be talking it up either. Even ESPN, which will televise the match live on ESPN-2, will do little to promote USA-Trinidad; soccer fans will probably be ecstatic if the hosts of SportsCenter condescendingly show a few highlights of this key World Cup qualifier.
In essence we have a national team ranked sixth in the world that is virtually unknown in its own country, thanks in large part to the media's refusal to give soccer the coverage it deserves. To be fair, a large but disorganized and uninformed national soccer community also shares the blame for holding back coverage of the National Team. Then again, the media dominates everything in our world, and if those in charge do little to publicize upcoming games, it's pretty hard even for soccer fans to follow the National Team.
I contend, however, that the USA-Trinidad clash is the most important sports event of August precisely because of its relative obscurity. Students of history agree that events that turned the tide in many revolutions happened well below the surface. Even if this important qualifier is not quite on the national radar screen, a win takes the United States one giant step closer to the big show in Germany. A trip to the World Cup forces every major media outlet to cover soccer through the 2006 World Cup. That fact alone proves that in the long run, in the big picture, no other event in August will impact a sport or the entire sports culture of the United States more than the USA-Trinidad match.
Even without all of the intrigue about media coverage, the USA-T&T showdown deserves the title of Sports Event of the Month on its own merits. On paper, this is one of the most lopsided matches in the final round of World Cup qualifying. The United States, with an impressive 4-1 record, sits comfortably in second place, while Trinidad, with a win and a draw in five games, flounders near the bottom of the pack with Panama and Guatemala.
But Trinidad will be fighting for its life. In a nightmare scenario, an inspired T&T squad pulls off the upset. Mexico, the USA's next opponent, is no guaranteed win, even at home. After that, it's off to Guatemala, where few teams look forward to playing. Some bad bounces here and a few bad calls there could turn a cakewalk to the World Cup into a CONCACAF free-for-all.
The three-game losing streak that almost knocked the USA out of the last qualifying competition still haunts World Cup 2002 veterans. Win against T&T on Aug. 17 and one more victory may be enough to earn a ticket to Germany.
If the meeting with Trinidad is the game of the month, the collision with Mexico on September 3rd is the game of the year. While USA-Mexico will be shown live on Telemundo, ESPN has relegated coverage to its obscure ESPN Classic outlet. This outrageous decision will deny millions of English-speaking fans the opportunity to watch one of the biggest rivalries on the international soccer scene, but that is the subject for another column.
With their victories on the field before worldwide audiences, the U.S. Men's and Women's National Teams have done more to blaze the trail for soccer in this country than any other organization. If you have any doubts, just think of what Paul Caligiuri's goal against Trinidad in 1989, the USA's win over Colombia in the 1994 World Cup and the quarterfinal run in the 2002 World Cup accomplished for American soccer at every level. And let's not forget how two Women's World Cup titles and two Olympic gold medals for women's soccer inspired a generation of American girls to take up soccer.
Finally, the USA-Trinidad game is the most important sports event of the month because it gives the soccer community an ideal opportunity to show its support for the national team and lobby the media for better coverage. For starters, any fan living within a few hundred miles of Rentschler Stadium in East Hartford, Conn. needs to buy a ticket and organize carloads of friends to attend the game. If you don't live near Connecticut, you need to tell every soccer player, coach and fan you know that they need to watch the U.S. men play on Aug. 17. Use email, chat, blogs or whatever it takes to get the word out to as many people as possible.
Since you are already on the Internet, I also invite you to visit ESPN's website and give them some much needed feedback. On the home page, scroll to the bottom and click on the "Contact Us" option. From there, choose ESPN TV and then fill in the message template below. Use this opportunity to tell decision makers that they need to spend more resources promoting soccer on the network and that you are not happy that the USA-Mexico match has been relegated to ESPN Classic.
After the match you can also send ESPN feedback about the quality of the telecast and the announcing. Even opinions about the game, the players and the highlights will show network officials that soccer fans from across the country care about the national team.
The U.S. National Team players are making incredible sacrifices to take soccer to the next level in the United States. I call on all fans from across the country to show these players that they are not alone in their quest to make soccer the No. 1 sport in the USA.

Rick Crow is former editor of Maryland Soccer News and former director of ticket sales for the Maryland State Youth Soccer Association.

« Reply #17 on: August 13, 2005, 06:44:49 AM »
We in section 105, anybody bringing a banner ?

KND, where we meeting yuh ?? give us de breakdown.

Sam I don't know about KND boy.

He tore his achilles last weekend and had surgery this week. he might make the game on crutches but the BBQ scene is probably too much.

I want to meet up with allyuh men before the game though, what time allyuh looking to reach the stadium?

I have a decent sized T&T flag and I am going to try and put a socawarriors.net on it.

« Reply #18 on: August 13, 2005, 06:54:39 AM »
We should be there around 6pm, but do you have a land-mark where we can all meet up before the game seeing that we might be sitting in different seats.

May sure yuh bring de flag.

KND is a fargot. ...  ;D so I guess I wouldn't meet RF then.... DAM !!!! ah wanted to hit him two stinging hard clout.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2005, 07:14:38 AM by Flex »

« Reply #19 on: August 13, 2005, 07:32:07 AM »
Lineup

Jack

Charles       Andrews        Lawrence           Avery

Carlos          Birchall         Spann

Yorke

Stern            Seally

I know this won't happen but this is the Formation I would play.

« Reply #20 on: August 13, 2005, 07:39:54 AM »
Spann left wing and Jack in goal...

What kinda grass yuh smoking, bring some when yuh coming to de game on wednesday.

Jack not good with set plays and high balls.

Spann is de man to work a role like Nakhid, he great in de center....

Check my line up above.

« Reply #21 on: August 13, 2005, 08:11:51 AM »
Dat idea of starting Whitely up front giving real trouble  :o

« Reply #22 on: August 13, 2005, 08:29:26 AM »
Lineup

Jack

Charles       Andrews        Lawrence           Avery

Carlos          Birchall         Spann

Yorke

Stern            Seally

I know this won't happen but this is the Formation I would play.

i garee with this formation..except i hope Jack ent playing..he just not a good ball handler.

Spann left wing and Jack in goal...

What kinda grass yuh smoking, bring some when yuh coming to de game on wednesday.

Jack not good with set plays and high balls.

Spann is de man to work a role like Nakhid, he great in de center....

ah just curious..since when in a 4-3-3 or a 4-3-1-2 it have wingers..allyuh is just look at a formation and see anybody who playing on the outside of the formation as a winger...like you never hear bout right and left midfielder or what..in the above formation the wing attacks (if we get any) going to be coming from the over-lapping defenders..hence they are called wing-backs.

« Reply #23 on: August 13, 2005, 08:45:46 AM »
my formation in the given circumstances by the way is:

Hislop

Andrews                 
                   Charles                                      Avery

Lawrence               Sancho

Spann

Edwards                                           Birchall

Yorke

Stern   

we pack the middle of the field and use Edwards as our only wide target as it doesnt pay to try and attack down the left cuase we ent have anybody who can make an impact..we have to become predictable in our attack to spring a surpise..so keep playing to our right and hopefully somebody play a reverse pass out to the left when Stern decide to chase a ball down.
the US playing with a 'B' defence..so thats a plus for us..then they have no Beasley either.
I say we have a good chance to draw or even maybe sneak a win..provided we could score though lol.

« Reply #24 on: August 13, 2005, 11:06:11 AM »
How come man constantly leaving Jones orf they starting team, from since the U-17 WC ah saying this youth should be playing for the senior team..though my preference would be as a wing-half...
Man say, he still young he not ready, he only get called when Southampton give him contract, then Rednapp lend him out, he say he not ready..well I say he and allyuh know more than me...He gone to the other club, and they make him ah forward, score a bunch ah goals, yet the coach say he not ready, they bring him back Southampton, and use him sparingly, going with the men who they had all along, cause he still not ready, and oopppss, the get relegated...they bring all kinda man, and he still playing, still scoring, and like he still not ready for T&T (Harry luckly for Jones & Club, have no choice to play him).
Harry had excuse, but T&T rather go with, a forward past his prime, another, who either out of form(whatever that means) or good days done,, nobody not sure, a midfielder who just plays good when he is healthy, but is just coming back from injury, and a supporting cast of people who all ready, yet produces very little, some who cyar even get a contract with a relatively low division....and the guy who has been producing everywhere he go, still not ready....
I am not saying Jones is a saviour, shim he might just have a bad day on the 17 th..Ah just don't understand what he must do to be recognized as ready...My understanding of sport is really different... I would foolishly select the biggest shithong if he giving me indicators of results, than select a bunch of diehard, skilled and honourable fighters who consistently equaling to zero....I guess ah not ready or jus chupid so.

« Last Edit: August 13, 2005, 11:08:34 AM by maxg »

« Reply #25 on: August 13, 2005, 11:28:49 AM »
Maxg,
Ah hearing yuh; yuh know when yuh consider that Jamacian Luton Sheldon playing like he go be a thorn in we arse in the future and the young players on the USA squad like Donavon, Beasley, Oniyg..(defense) all geting regular runs and building experience, we ought to begin merging our younger players with our veterans to bring them along.

« Reply #26 on: August 13, 2005, 01:38:10 PM »
Feliziano, USA will more than likely play a 4-4-2, so yes, Spann will be acting like we left wing player in Jah Gol's line-up, he will have to open wind to stop Eddie Lewis, allyuh use your imagination a little nah, instead of man having to reply every little shit to try and explain my topic.

maxg, if it was up to me, Jones would start infront of John anyday, but we trying to pick a team Beenhakker might most likely go with.

« Reply #27 on: August 13, 2005, 01:55:12 PM »
‘Warriors’ work it out in Connecticut.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

National Senior Team captain Dwight Yorke showed no major effects of fatigue nor jet lag following his 20 hour journey from Sydney to Connecticut on Friday night as he met up with some members of the team ahead of Wednesday’s 2006 World Cup qualifier against the United States.
Yorke was the first to arrive at the Sheraton Hotel where he met with team administrator George Joseph as the contingent traveling out of Trinidad arrived at around 1am on Saturday.
Head coach Leo Beenhakker arrived long with local-based pros Cyd Gray, Aurtis Whitley, Atiba Charles and Densill Theobald while Silvio Spann, Brent Sancho and Chris Birchall also met up with them  in Miami.
T&T's journey from Miami had a slight delay as the American Airlines had a mechanical problem as well as there was a large traffic pile up at the arrival gates when the first flight touched down in Miami which almost caused Beenhakker and his men to miss the connecting flight. But Beenhakker kept his men together and eventually they were on.
"It's our first day here and it's going to be an important one because obviously we have not been together much since the Gold Cup and we have an important match in less than a week. We also won't have Marvin with us until Monday because his club has held on to him but we will work through this," Beenhakker said. Story Here.
A one hour session took place at the nearby Irving Robbins Middle School training ground in humid conditions as the players worked under sports physio Zeph Nicholas to get their bodies loosened again after the traveling. Beenhakker then went through his drills, spending most of the session on ball movement. A second session was also carded for late on Saturday.
“It’s been a long trip but it’s not something that I’m unaccustomed to or can’t handle,” said Yorke. “A lot of these players know what it is to travel a long way to play for the country. The main thing is that we are all here and the other guy will come over tomorrow to get things a little more organized as a team for what is obviously a very important match for us against America on Wednesday,” added Yorke who had a little more than normal hair on his head but was rock solid in appearance. He laughed as he tried to explain to teammates that a lack of good barbers in Sydney was the reason for not having a customary clean cut.
Birchall appeared a much fitter one than his previous appearance for T&T at the Gold Cup as the effects of preseason training was evident and so too did Spann and Sancho.
Midfielder Carlos Edwards appeared in the 85th minute in Luton Town’s 0-0 draw with Leeds United while Kenwyne Jones netted the winner in Southampton’s 1-0 win over Sheffield Wednesday on Saturday. Stern John also appeared in Coventry City’s 4-0 loss to Burnley while Kelvin Jack and Dennis Lawrence also played for Dundee and Wrexham and came out injury free. These players will arrive on Sunday along with Shaka Hislop.  Collin Samuel’s Dundee United and Marvin Andrews’ Glasgow Rangers will play on Sunday.
Also scheduled to arrive on Saturday evening was Brent Rahim while Avery John and Scott Sealy too will join the camp on Sunday. “It’s good news for Kenwyne and we saw that Carlos made his debut for his club so hopefully he can come over here without any bad effects. We will make the most of the next couple days before the game,” Beenhakker added.

Photos from T&T's first session in Connecticut.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2005, 02:23:00 PM by Flex »

« Reply #28 on: August 14, 2005, 07:56:57 AM »
Stern John leading the MLS to date with the most hat tricks.

Full Stats Here. ... ;D

Seeing that Edwards & Gray may not play due to injuries who do you guys think will replace them on the right wing ? I was about to say maybe Jones but Jones and Sealy is the only 2 T&T players scoring at the moment so they may get used as strikers. What about Angus Eve, should he get an emergency call up ?? or will Rahim do.. Rahim isn't bad going forward, but he does not help defend or provide sufficient cover for the right back. Birchall could run the right and Spann and Whitley center ?

Tricky, Tricky..
« Last Edit: August 14, 2005, 11:04:10 AM by Flex »

« Reply #29 on: August 14, 2005, 12:08:27 PM »
We should be there around 6pm, but do you have a land-mark where we can all meet up before the game seeing that we might be sitting in different seats.

May sure yuh bring de flag.

KND is a fargot. ...  ;D so I guess I wouldn't meet RF then.... DAM !!!! ah wanted to hit him two stinging hard clout.

I feel that it might be best if we meet inside the stadium in the concessions concourse.

Especially since some men wil be coming in one hour/ half hour/ fifteen minutes before the game.

The box office has said that the T&T sections are from 117 - 128, although I see that we have plenety people in 101, 105 etc.

I feel we should just decide on an area up in the concourse between two sections and meet there, drink beers, talk shit and say prayers. That way there is less chance of missing part of the game.