March 29, 2024, 03:39:51 AM

Author Topic: Freeway bridge collapses into river during rush hour in Minneapolis  (Read 1459 times)

Freeway bridge collapses into river during rush hour in Minneapolis

http://www.cnn.com/2007/US/08/01/bridge.collapse.ap/index.html

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota (AP) -- A freeway bridge spanning the Mississippi River collapsed during evening rush hour Wednesday, sending many cars into the water.

Mark Lacroix photographed the bridge collapse from his apartment window.

Tons of concrete collapsed and there were injuries, authorities said. Survivors were being carried up the riverbank.

Some people were stranded on parts of the bridge that weren't completely submerged.

The entire span of the Interstate 35W bridge collapsed about 6:05 p.m. where the freeway crosses the river near University Avenue in Minneapolis.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2007, 06:20:26 PM by Bitter »

Re: Freeway bridge collapses into river during rush hour in Minneapolis
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2007, 07:14:52 PM »
Local News
http://wcco.com/local/local_story_213191448.html

This bout 2.5 hours south of me..i guess they was repaving the bridge also..they still ent rule out terrorism
Had bout 50 vehicles..including a bus with 60 children
some people did die but not sure of the actual number

tried calling Preacher but cell service down dey jammed up

« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2007, 11:03:22 AM »
My wife couldn't reach her sister for hours afterwards.. turns out they were just bbq'ing in the backyard.  ::)  But it does affect the commute of her husband and son - they will have to find a detour.

« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2007, 11:11:48 AM »
Local News
http://wcco.com/local/local_story_213191448.html

This bout 2.5 hours south of me..i guess they was repaving the bridge also..they still ent rule out terrorism
Had bout 50 vehicles..including a bus with 60 children
some people did die but not sure of the actual number

tried calling Preacher but cell service down dey jammed up

tony,

2.5 hours only? at what 300 mph?  :rotfl:

yuh know yuh living in more bush than dat on the north dakota border breds.

« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2007, 01:49:13 PM »
My wife couldn't reach her sister for hours afterwards.. turns out they were just bbq'ing in the backyard.  ::)  But it does affect the commute of her husband and son - they will have to find a detour.
boy ah forget yuh wife family down dey too
same thing with meh wife family too, them went out to eat and ent bother to call nobody..steups
well today they bring in ah unmanned submarine and thing, so maybe they go find the rest of the missing people soon

Dre, ah does only drive bout 60-65mph on the highway now even though the speed limnit is 70..yuh wouldn't believe how much gas ah does save  ;)
this weekend meh wife try to bribe meh with ah $20 to go at least 75 in South Dakota  :D

« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2007, 05:44:20 PM »

How yuh know what is the ideal speed/rpm to drive to save gas?

Anyway it good u decreasing speed on the road with age   ;D

Somebody in real trouble for this bridge

« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2007, 08:30:13 PM »

How yuh know what is the ideal speed/rpm to drive to save gas?
Anyway it good u decreasing speed on the road with age   ;D

Somebody in real trouble for this bridge

well what ah notice is that with the Murano ah have and all cars they manufacture since de 70's is that the gas mileage calculator based on stats from the 50's-60's when driving styles and highway speeds were totally different compared to now.
new models this year should be coming with the new calculator, therefore expect to see a drop in actual mileage..but yuh know the car companies going to find ah way to market it as a good thing lol

so when they say based on highway driving..they really mean between 50-60mph..not the 70-75mph we have on most roads out here in de Midwest.
thats kinda why i does drive backroads now, not just cause of the slightly lower speed limit but to avoid the wind factor.
had a time i went Fargo which is bout 140 miles with a 10mph headwind, imagine i was almost empty after bout 2 hours ah driving at 70mph on the highway...that did work out to bout 7mpg the trip computer was telling me..steups
our 'in-town' driving speeds does be between 30-50mph, which would actually convert to highway driving using the old calculator.

so me ent care who vex i does drive like a Sunday churchman now..i does be timing traffic light and trying to make only right hand turns now too lol

ah sure them gas brains like Dutty go know more