March 29, 2024, 02:41:42 AM

Author Topic: Rumour or Fact: Mido to Sunderland  (Read 5823 times)

Rumour or Fact: Mido to Sunderland
« on: August 02, 2007, 12:08:16 PM »
Sunderland Beat Birmingham City To Sign Tottenham Hotspur Striker Mido; Egyptian To Sign 4-Year Deal: Report
Submitted by Niraj Prabhu on Thu, 2007-08-02 12:16.

Sunderland have reportedly clinched £6million signing of Tottenham Hotspur striker Mido, who had earlier failed to agree terms at Birmingham City after they had agreed fee with Spurs.

The 24-year-old Egyptian international according to The Mirror, will sign for Roy Keane’s side on a four-year deal, subject to a medical to be held today.

The Black Cats were known to be in the market for a striker after having withdrawn a bid for Preston’s David Nugent, who later joined Portsmouth.

Keane has also been reported to be linked with Cork City’s Roy O’Donovan, who is also a target for Fulham.

Mido, meanwhile, had held talks with Birmingham last month but found certain clauses to be objectionable. He wanted the clauses to be changed to have any chance of signing at St Andrews.

Blues boss Steve Bruce later revealed that the Mido deal was million miles away.

http://www.premiershiplatest.com/news/sunderland-beat-birmingham-city-to-sign--554193.html

allyuh wa we go do?

Offline Father Abraham

Re: Rumour or Fact: Mido to Sunderland
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2007, 12:15:11 PM »
i believe stern days are numbered or he not going to be getting much play. hey stern have to prove himself soon because the gaffer needs goals

« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2007, 12:35:07 PM »
seems like Stern could be Sunderland's most dangerous striker right now

even the match against Cor, he seemed like he was getting in the best positions and makeing good room for himself.

not sure why so many people feel he is going to get cut. last match report sounds like he had a very good game and buss de net to boot.

it's up to keane, but Stern may very well start the first game for Sunderland this season

let's wait and see

« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2007, 01:10:04 PM »
Every time Sunderland sign somebody, Stern getting cut. At this rate he should be playing for Tobago United.

« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2007, 01:52:20 PM »
Them men still have to prove they self. In the end if they sh*ting on they self who you feel have to bail them out.

From report Stern and that other fella up top have a nice lil chemistry going.

« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2007, 02:07:12 PM »
IT would be foolish to rid of stren before he's been tried and tested in the prem, my view is he'll at least be there till january.          psoitive.

« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2007, 02:10:24 PM »
IT would be foolish to rid of stren before he's been tried and tested in the prem, my view is he'll at least be there till january.          psoitive.

I guess you now start watching Stren Stern play yuh ever hear bout a team name Birmingham City  ?

« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2007, 02:19:31 PM »
Stren wasn't playing for the Inkers?

« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2007, 02:28:13 PM »

I guess you now start watching Stren Stern play yuh ever hear bout a team name Birmingham City ?
It's just an opinion breddren, what do i know.

« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2007, 02:45:27 PM »

I guess you now start watching Stren Stern play yuh ever hear bout a team name Birmingham City ?

I think what berris means is that Stern has already played in the prmiership, with Birmingham City. Therefore he is already "tried and tested" in the prem

« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2007, 02:56:04 PM »

I think what berris means is that Stern has already played in the prmiership, with Birmingham City. Therefore he is already "tried and tested" in the prem
positive.

« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2007, 03:12:14 PM »

Unfortunately you could also add "and been found wanting" to that. Hopefully he makes better use of his opportunity this time around.

« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2007, 12:14:30 PM »
According to John 14, he saw Mido at Sunderland yesterday after practice, so it looks like that deal may go through. He thinks if/when the Mido deal is finalized his days at Sunderland may be numbered...

On a brighter note, he mentioned that Derby's interest in Jones is not a rumour.

Keep yuh head up Bravo and keep bussin' de net!

« Reply #13 on: August 06, 2007, 12:25:50 PM »
According to John 14, he saw Mido at Sunderland yesterday after practice, so it looks like that deal may go through. He thinks if/when the Mido deal is finalized his days at Sunderland may be numbered...

On a brighter note, he mentioned that Derby's interest in Jones is not a rumour.

According to the Sunderland forum, Stern was showing him around the facilities today. Maybe, in a way, that's good news. They couldn't possibly have the man escorting his replacement, could they? That would be cold-blooded.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2007, 12:28:34 PM by Monkey Genius »

« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2007, 12:35:50 PM »

According to the Sunderland forum, Stern was showing him around the facilities today. Maybe, in a way, that's good news. They couldn't possibly have the man escorting his replacement, could they? That would be cold-blooded.

Dais pressure...but sometimes one has to be cruel to be kind eh. Probably Keane's way to telling Stern to make sure and have a good game next time or else. I really hope he stay with the team, hoping real hard for him

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #15 on: August 06, 2007, 01:05:00 PM »
Real unstable people out here yes.  Somebody always posting some thing about stern days being numbered.  Resss allyuh self and just wait to see what happen in stead of all the tra la la. Sunderland has plenty strikers at the moment and stern is right there in the mix since he scored a few during the pre season.  All the strikers have to fight for a place, not just Stern.  Regardless of what happens he will have a contract and playing time somewhere.
bless

« Reply #16 on: August 06, 2007, 01:07:54 PM »

Possible that Stern is hearing the footsteps over his shoulder and pressing a bit on the field...that's probably the only thing I can say to help explain his recent case of the yips in front of the goal.

« Reply #17 on: August 06, 2007, 01:12:01 PM »
Real unstable people out here yes.  Somebody always posting some thing about stern days being numbered.  Resss allyuh self and just wait to see what happen in stead of all the tra la la. Sunderland has plenty strikers at the moment and stern is right there in the mix since he scored a few during the pre season.  All the strikers have to fight for a place, not just Stern.  Regardless of what happens he will have a contract and playing time somewhere.
bless
I doubt Mido or Chopra fighting fuh any spot...there has been a clear effort by Keane to 'upgrade' the position...a clear implication that he lacks confidence in the corps as presently (current to the end of last season) constituted.  Stern "scoring a few" during preseason is being offset by the numbers of chances he needs in order to get the ball in the back of the net.  People's concerns are justified.

« Reply #18 on: August 06, 2007, 02:25:03 PM »
bless
I doubt Mido or Chopra fighting fuh any spot...there has been a clear effort by Keane to 'upgrade' the position...a clear implication that he lacks confidence in the corps as presently (current to the end of last season) constituted.  Stern "scoring a few" during preseason is being offset by the numbers of chances he needs in order to get the ball in the back of the net.  People's concerns are justified.

Steups

« Reply #19 on: August 06, 2007, 02:35:14 PM »
bless

Where in my post was it stated that I think his days are numbered?  If you believe it's a straight case of him fighting for a place on the squad then the only one posting tra la la is you.

Anyway I just thought that de forumites would want to know what de man was thinking. If yuh was around de forum a while yuh would know I not in de "hear say" business.

« Reply #20 on: August 06, 2007, 02:45:20 PM »
Mido is a nut....an absolute head-case
Quality player, but he know how to destabilize a dressing room

Cool down a little under Martin Jol, but he make Cassano look like ah angel back in the day

I admire his quality, but as a manager..I'd stay far away.
Then again..is flicking Keane we talking about. Mido would do well to understand who is boss from the earlies

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
« Reply #21 on: August 06, 2007, 02:47:41 PM »
Who cares who comes STERN WILL STIIL PLAY AND SCORE!!!!!!

« Reply #22 on: August 06, 2007, 03:21:36 PM »
Who cares who comes STERN WILL STIIL PLAY AND SCORE!!!!!!

:beermug: Nice, make some boi round here know. Stern biggest enemy is himself, de breddah have what it takes tuh score goals, dey cud bring who de fack dey want at Sunderland, so long as Stern scoring goals and or getting some assist tuh help de team win games, he will play descent minutes. Ah does just kick back and read dem jokers and dem posts , only repeating dey self every facking day, by fighting down we Stern. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #23 on: August 06, 2007, 03:23:35 PM »
bless

Where in my post was it stated that I think his days are numbered?  If you believe it's a straight case of him fighting for a place on the squad then the only one posting tra la la is you.

Anyway I just thought that de forumites would want to know what de man was thinking. If yuh was around de forum a while yuh would know I not in de "hear say" business.

lol,  yuh makin me laugh.  I did not call your name Hoss.  You posted about what the man supposedly said and that's fine.  I did not quote you or call yuh name in my earlier post.  Look back and you will notice that somebody actually posted a comment saying that it looks like stern's days are numbered.
I realize that you are a sensitive fellah who is quick to be on the defensive when yuh not even being attacked..cool yuh self...lol :D

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #24 on: August 06, 2007, 03:37:55 PM »
i believe stern days are numbered or he not going to be getting much play. hey stern have to prove himself soon because the gaffer needs goals

Firebrand, this is post I was talking about.  I was not trying to offend anyone, and its true that everybody can express their opinion as Atb did.  All I am saying is that when people post about Stern days being numbered it seems to be a panic post.   

« Reply #25 on: August 06, 2007, 03:44:58 PM »
Was meh name again? ;D    No scene breds...apologises if I thought your post was directed at me. :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 06, 2007, 03:47:27 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #26 on: August 06, 2007, 06:02:38 PM »

Cool down a little under Martin Jol, but he make Cassano look like ah angel back in the day

Then again..is flicking Keane we talking about. Mido would do well to understand who is boss from the earlies

ah taking bets if they buy Mido, Stern running out before the Christmas break, and Keane in Court for hitting Mido 2 hard cuff...bet is ...armmmm...2 Labatt for winner, 3 Wildcat for the loser

« Reply #27 on: August 06, 2007, 06:48:20 PM »

ah taking bets if they buy Mido, Stern running out before the Christmas break, and Keane in Court for hitting Mido 2 hard cuff...bet is ...armmmm...2 Labatt for winner, 3 Wildcat for the loser

If he hit him two hard skate tackle yuh loss yuh bet  ;D

« Reply #28 on: August 06, 2007, 07:20:12 PM »

If he hit him two hard skate tackle yuh loss yuh bet  ;D

awrite, awrite....leh me rethink dah bet...2 Labatt an ah Hiene for winner, ah Mauby & ah Cheese from by Louie in Belmont for the Loser....buh wait...nah,nah..2 cuff=2 skate+1 dropkick an 10 hardcuff=1 bull...so half ah dozen an six, same khaki pants ...who cutting   :beermug:

« Reply #29 on: August 08, 2007, 02:04:12 AM »
stewps.

f**k mido.

Unless Roy counts on brass knucklin he ignorant ass every night i doh see that spoilt brat behavin, far less bringin home the goods.