July 20, 2024, 09:34:39 AM

Author Topic: Vote for Mitre Goal of the Year  (Read 991 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tallman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 25395
    • View Profile
Vote for Mitre Goal of the Year
« on: January 08, 2008, 09:25:38 PM »

Saints scored some cracking goals in 2007 - now we want you to decide the best, with a signed shirt up for grabs.
Fans are being given the chance to vote which strike should be nominated for the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the 2008 Football League Awards.

With George Burley's side banging in goals for fun, it was hard to narrow it down to a short-list of just three.
And now it will be an even trickier choice for you to pick the winner from these nominations:

Goal C: Stern John (Hull City h, Dec 8 )  Stern John completed a classic hat-trick with a thundering 25-yard volley. Having scored with his head and his right foot, he chested down, turned and hammered the ball with his left to leave Boaz Myhill clutching at air.

All those who vote will be entered into a draw to win a Saints shirt signed by the winning goalscorer. Simply choose your favourite goal and email your selection with your name, address and contact details to media@saintsfc.co.uk to arrive by the closing date of Monday January 14.

The winning goal will be put forward to the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the 2008 Football League Awards incorporating FourFourTwo's Top 50 Football League Players.

The entries will then be shortlisted from the 72 club nominations to five goals overall, and the winner will be decided at the Awards ceremony at the London Hilton on 2nd March.

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit www.footballleagueawards.com.

Gillingham FC can confirm a list of 15 goals for the prestigious Mitre Goal Of The Year award. The list spans a wide range of goals dating back to March 07  and runs up to two goals from the 3-0 trouncing of League One rivals Nottingham Forest on 29th December; and we want your help to whittle the list down to one goal. This goal will join the other nominations from the all the clubs in the Football League and the winner will be presented at the 4-4-2 Football League Awards.  The deadline for your vote is Tuesday 15th January.

To cast your vote check out the list and email your choice to media@priestfield.com. Place the word VOTE at the beginning of your decision eg. VOTE Goal 1

Goal 7 - IAN COX v Leeds United
The experienced defender does not usually get onto the scoresheet, but he picked an excellent time to add this one to his tally. Coxy climbed highest in a crowded penalty area and buried a header into the top corner to sink United to their first draw and send the KRBS Priestfield faithful into raptures. A true classic.
The Conquering Lion of Judah shall break every chain.


1]; } ?>