April 18, 2024, 02:42:48 AM

Author Topic: T&T U-17s lose 2-1.  (Read 3302 times)

T&T U-17s lose 2-1.
« on: August 02, 2007, 10:40:59 PM »
U-17s bounce back with 5-0 win.

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 footballers bounced back from last week’s heavy defeat to pull off a comprehensive 5-0 victory over Arnhem professional outfit FC Omniworld in a training encounter at Papendal on Saturday morning.
Playing under relatively favourable conditions with the sun out, skipper Leston Paul and his charges produced a commanding performance against a team comprising of Under 17 and Under 16 players which would have at least given them and head coach Anton Corneal somewhat of a confidence bolster before heading off to Korea on Sunday.
Goals by forward Daniel Joseph (5th minute), Stephen Knox (42nd and 65th), Stephan Campbell (70th) and Kevin Molino in the 74th minute gave T&T’s U-17s the much needed win.
Corneal made two changes to the starting team from the one which lost 6-2 to De Graafschap on Tuesday, starting with goalie Glenroy Samuel and replacing Molino with midfielder Chike Sullivan.
The win was satisfying for Corneal but he preferred to remain focused, saying that it was nothing more than a practice win.
“It was a good chance for us to play and sharpen up on some aspects of the game particularly in the scoring department. We created chances and put them away and the good thing was that they were not given to us. The team made us work but of course it was not Ghana, Germany or Colombia we were playing against and we will ensure that the players are well aware of that. All in all it was a pretty good note to end the trip on before heading off to Korea,” Corneal told TTFF Media after the win.
The team later headed off to see Vitesse Arnhem and Athletico Bilbao in a preseason encounter on Saturday evening at the Gelredoma. The game ended prematurely with ten minutes to go because of a brawl between the both sides with Bilbao ahead 1-0.
On the field of play, T&T looked a more compose outfit as skipper Leston Paul marshaled the middle and the front men executed well showing much more drive than they had in the previous encounter. And whenever Omniworld threatened on the offensive, T&T’s starting backline stood firm.
The opening goal came in T&T’s first real burst forward with Knox knocking one down from the left for Joseph who was composed and picked his spot, volleying into the left side of the net.
US-born forward Aaron Maund would have T&T’s next chance which he hit over after being found by a vibrant Paul just outside the penalty box. Then in the 32nd minute after winger Micah Lewis moved inside two defenders, Paul collected on the edge but swung his effort over bar.
T&T continued to create openings. Chike Sullivan on one occasion couldn’t connect on time with his left side free kick whipped in by defender Akeem Adams in the 25th.
Two minutes later, Joseph and Knox combined well with Joseph picking up the return ball inside the area once again but managed only to put the ball wide of the far post.
Omniworld eventually had its first corner in the 33rd minute but could make nothing more of it.
Then just before the break, Knox reassured Corneal of his finishing ability when he pounced on a loose ball atop the area and kept his calm under a late rush by the defenders before drilling his shot into the left of the goal for T&T’s second goal.
Corneal made five changes at the interval, replacing Maund with Stephan Campbell, Joseph with Molino, Daneil Cyrus with Ryan O’Neil, Robert Primus with Sheldon Bateau and goalie Samuel with Jesse Fullerton.
Three minutes into the half, Jean Luc Rochford broke down the right flank and sent in a deep cross for Knox but his well timed header on the far post was saved low by goalkeeper Jochem Smeele. Midfielder Sean De Silva came on for Sullivan in the 63rd and played a part in T&T’s third goal a couple minutes later. Some good hustling on his part allowed him to make room for himself on the right and after he cut back to leave his man going, he sent a perfectly measured left footed cross on the far post for Knox to push past the goalie for goal number three.
Corneal made further changes in the 69th minute with Brenton Balbosa, Marcus Joseph and Aubrey David coming on for Paul, Adams and Knox. And with that T&T kept the pressure on, defending when they needed to and creating the openings.
Campbell made his presence felt with a thunderous free kick from 20 yards out which flew into the right of the goal to push T&T 4-0 ahead. And after Molino hit over from close range he made amends when he followed up to meet Joseph’s ball and sent a scorcher to the right of the goalie.
T&T’s third choice ‘keeper Kern Cesar got some playing time replacing Fullerton and had to go low to stop Almeyda Da Costa’s effort.
In the closing 15 minutes Omniworld’s Mitchell Smith was sent off for a second bookable offense but Omniworld were allowed to send in a replacement player on T&T’s request. De Silva almost made it a handful near the end when his free kick came off the wall before his one time rebound crack was saved low by the Omniworld custodian.
The members of the team, who leave for Korea at 3:30pm (9:30am T&T time) on Sunday, also took a decision to put funds together to assist in the funding of a trip to Korea for the Finals for Oswald Davis, who served as assistant manager of the team during the Finals. Previously the Ministry of Sport announced at a press conference that they would fit the bill to send Davis to Korea before relaying this past week that it was now unable to follow through. On Saturday morning The members of staff and players pledged some of their personal and out of pocket allowance which amounted to $22,000 to assist in the cost of Davis’ trip.
Wim says T&T can take much of out Dutch experience.
By: Shaun Fuentes in Arnhem.

Trinidad and Tobago National Team head coach Wim Rijsbergen is of the feeling that the country’s football system stands to benefit from the experiences like the current one the Under 17 footballers are undergoing at the Papendal Hotel and Conference training complex in Arnhem, Holland.
Apart from being highly enthusiastic about showing off what his native country has to offer in terms of amenities, Rijsbergen is hopeful that T&T can follow suit in its preparation in preparation of national teams not just for football but several other sporting disciplines.
He made these assertions on the eve of T&T’s National Under 17 team training game against Dutch professional unit FC Umniworld from 11am (5am T&T Time) on Saturday at Papendal.
“We’ve been talking about creating an environment in Trinidad and Tobago, like a camp, where national teams can come together to train and we can talk about it over and over but being here now is a nice impression for our staff and players to see what you really need to develop players in any sport,” Rijsbergen told TTFF Media after the team completed its two-hour training on one of the pitches at Papendal while Dutch Premiers Division side Vitesse Arnhem and Spanish club Athletico Bilbao trained in adjacent pitches.
“Here in Papendal it is also a centre for different sports and a multi functional complex where you can stay, get treatment and train and of course we hope pretty soon they will have something like this for different sports in Trinidad  where football coaches, players and other athletes can benefit.”
Rijsbergen, currently with the T&T U-17 team assisting with its preparations for the FIFA Under 17 World Championship in Korea, emphasized the need for young aspiring professionals to be exposed to similar training facilities and methods.
“I try to talk about the environment about what it takes and what is needed to become a professional now we are fortunate that these younger kids can experience it and see the likes of Bilbao and a Dutch Pro team use the compound so they can see what it takes to be a real professional and that it takes a lot of work - that’s the good part of them being here. This is what I was going through as a young professional, and it’s good to experience it before we go to Korea. Hopefully it will give our younger boys a little boost and also to realize how hard we have to work to be successful,” Rijsbergen added.
“It’s important and that’s why we keep saying that the sooner we get this into their system it will be better and it sends a message to the rest. Starting as young as possible is the time when you can make the necessary changes. This is our future here. So therefore this should be a pattern for future training camps, not just before world tournaments, and expanded for teams at various levels.”
He also compared it with the facilities at the De Graafschap training centre where T&T played at on Tuesday.
“At that first club it's a small one and they still use 300,000 Euros a year just to run their youth development programme. At that facility they have an artificial pitch, two grass pitches, dressing rooms and an area where people can come together. That's what you need, The bigger clubs obviously have more to it but we can start somewhere back in Trinidad. You can work there 24- hrs a day if necessary. It doesn’t happen overnight but we can think and act on it before the timing gets tight,” Rijsbergen concluded.
Following a day of double sessions on Friday, one a two-hour session in the morning period, Anton Corneal’s outfit remained in good spirits with no major injury concerns and will now aim to end their Papendal training trip on a high note against the local team before heading off to Cheonan, Korea on Sunday.
News from the 09th of August 2007

U-17s get a taste of Amsterdam.

Trinidad and Tobago National Under 17 skipper Leston Paul says his players are shouldering the blame for an inept performance in their first training game on the current tour of Holland which saw them suffer a heavy 6-2 loss to Premier Division club De Graafschap on Tuesday.
Paul admitted that his team had only themselves to blame but promised that his charges would pick their game up.
“We were embarrassed because we didn’t start the game with any kind of intensity. We took too long to feel the team out and we paid the price early because they were three up in no time,” Paul told TTFF Media. “But I think we have learnt from that and these games are important. In some way we are happy for that type of game and now we know how our game must be sharp from the first whistle. We are still really developing so I don’t think it’s a matter of panicking right now.”
Paul and his teammates had a long run in Thursday’s morning session before the contingent had a chance to experience a bit of Amsterdam prior to another day of sessions on the pitch. Amsterdam is a 90 minute drive.
“We hopefully will pick things up on for the rest of the tour and get ready for Korea,” Paul added.
Head coach Anton Corneal allowed the players to have some fun time on the golf course on Wednesday evening as the players attracted the interest of several guests at the hotel who of course can relate to T&T due to the involvement of head coach Leo Beenhakker and Wim Rijsbergen.
“I think the evening was a good one because while the emphasis is on preparing for the tournament it’s also important that they have some time away from the pitch. The Federation has really ensured that this team has a good build up for the tournament and that is evident when you look at the facilities here. So in that way we will try to make the best of the experience because something like this is ideal for the preparation of future national teams as well. When you listen to what the directors and coaches say about their preparation here it makes one realize how much we need to do back home if we expect to get good results. This trip is ideal for us to realize that and try to follow pattern back home as well. To an extent we are doing it but there are ways we can follow suit and lift the standard of our preparations at all levels back home,” Corneal concluded.
News from the 08th of August 2007

U-17s concede heavy in first warm up on Dutch turf.

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 footballers got a sound wake up call in their first training match of the current camp in Holland as they suffered a 6-2 defeat to the Under 18 team of Dutch club De Graafschap at its training centre on Tuesday evening.
The T&T side didn’t start badly by any means but were punished for poor organization in defense and for failing to make better use of at least three good chances on goal before the break.
Playing under chilly conditions on a well grassed pitch, skipper Leston Paul and his teammates found themselves 3-0 behind after just 20 minutes to a team which included three Holland National Under 17 players including goalkeeper Jordy van de Kracht, Lion Kaak and Ties Evers.
The first goal for the hosts came when midfielder Kevin Molino, starting ahead of injured Chike Sullivan, gave up the ball near the half line and Graafschap broke goalwards with Luuk de Jong playing it in for Soufian El Hassnoui who hammered past goalkeeper Jesse Fullerton in the 5th minute.
A minute later T&T tried to hit back with a well played ball from the right from Micah Lewis being met by an unmarked Stephen Knox but his effort from just atop the six yard couldn’t beat them Dutch national under 17 ‘keeper.
T&T at that stage were measuring up well to the Dutch boys. On 10 minutes striker Daniel Joseph made an interception and sent Knox through but his grounder missed the far right post by inches.
Soon after Graafschap taught T&T a second lesson on finishing when Jochem Jansen headed home from a right side corner. Again the player went up unchallenged at the time.
Eight minutes elapsed before T&T conceded a third item. A poorly taken free kick on the right ended up with Graafschap breaking down the left through El Hassnoui who evaded Daniel Cyrus’ challenge and as Robert Primus committed, the player played into space for de Jong to convert his second of the match.
Five minutes from half time, Joseph squandered what was easily the best chance of the half. A long clearance from Fullerton hit the turf twice before dropping for Joseph who had only the goalie to beat but instead his effort lacked the sharpness to avoid a deflection out.
The onslaught continued in the second half as on 47 minutes Rob Aarntzen  collected from Hassnoui and drew substitute goalie Glenroy Samuel to the right post before hitting clinically into the left corner.
T&T were more purposeful in the early part of the second half but overcoming a four-goal deficit was always going to be a tough ask.
Defender Akeem Adams brought some life back into T&T’s game when his blistering left footed strike from 25 yards out after a Leston Paul lay off left the goalie with no chance on 55 minutes.
Just as they seemed likely to make the scoreline tighter, T&T conceded yet again. Hassnoui lobbed Samuel from the left of the box.
Paul had a neat chip just go over bar and then Samuel pulled off the save of the game when he pushed Sven’s Spekking’s header from the six yard over bar.
Graafschap got its sixth goal in the 80th minute through Martijn Schutten beat an advancing Samuel.
T&T, which started the game without regular centre backs Robert Primus and Sheldon Bateau, got a second consolation item when substitute Stephan Campbell powered his past three challenges on the left flank before playing inside for fellow substitute Marcus Joseph to bury past the goalie. American-born Aaron Maund also made his first start with Joseph, Sean De Silva, Campbell and Ryan O’Neil getting second half appearances.
News from the 05th of August 2007

Bonus matters to be addressed.

TTFF Special Advisor Jack Warner touched on the current impasse between the Trinidad and Tobago World Cup team members and the T&T Football Federation (TTFF). Currently the senior players who represented this country at the World Cup in Germany have been blanked from national duty as an impasse continues with regards to payments of bonuses they claim are owed to them. The players have since taken the TTFF to court.
Warner however, even after allowing the situation to linger on, confessed that he did it purposely but is now ready to meet with the same players and come to a resolution. He hinted that he will go to London in between his trips to Korea and Toronto within the next month to meet with them and hold discussions with an aim of resolving the disappointing issue.
Warner explained: “I went to the players dressing room after the World Cup game against Sweden and after their achievement of drawing the game with ten men on the pitch, I made a promise to them.
“I told them that we had originally promised to give them 30 per cent of the net gain from the matches but I was now willing to give them 50 per cent. Since then they have insisted that we give them 50 per cent of the gross. The TTFF has given the players all their money and some of the guys who are not able to play for T&T again, are just looking for another pay day.
“I told Dennis Lawrence that I am not a bad person who would not keep a promise. I told him I even took his mother to Germany to see him play in the final game. His response was that he never asked me to do that.
“I intend within the next month to meet with the guys who still have a playing future and explain to them the folly of their ways. I have allowed this situation to drag on for a while, so that the guys can see the wrong they do. Who knows, after I meet with them one on one, I may even pay them what they want but they must know the errors of their ways,” Warner said as he addressed a gathering at a Guardian sports symposium which closed on Saturday morning.
News from the 03rd of August 2007

T&T U-17s lose 2-1.

Twenty-one parents and nine officials will accompany the Trinidad and Tobago national under-17 football team to South Korea for the FIFA Under-17 World Cup which takes place from August 18-September 9.
The 30-member party, consisting of one parent of each player on the team, is being sponsored by the Trinidad and Tobago Government and is due to leave on August 14 for New York, before taking the 15-hour flight to South Korea the next day. While there they will witness preliminary matches against Ghana on August 20, Colombia on August 23 and Germany on August 26.
Yesterday, most of the parents were at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva, for a final meeting to finalise travel arrangements.
And the national under-17 players are due to leave Trinidad on Sunday for Holland, where they train for a week, before heading to South Korea on August 12.
In Holland, they will play two warm-up matches and officials are also hoping for a final one while in Korea. Before leaving T&T, the youths are due to have a farewell dinner tonight at House of Chan restaurant in St Augustine.
In other news, most of the players were not affected by the theft earlier this week of manager Christopher Govia's car, which contained some of the team's travel documents. The three players affected are due to get T&T passports today.
Also at the Ato Boldon Stadium yesterday, parents watched their sons in a final practise match. However, the World Cup-bound Under-17s went down 2-1 to the national under-23 squad, which is preparing for the Olympic Games qualifying tournament in Suriname this month.
A goal on either side of half-time by Stefan St Louis and Christopher Sam gave the U-23s a 2-0 lead, before midfielder Sean De Silva got a late goal for the U-17s, striking a low, 25-metre shot which skidded off the wet surface.
The second half saw Under-17 substitute goalie Jesse Fullerton making several saves, as there were lapses in concentration by the defence.
Afterwards, Under-17 coach Anton Corneal said while he was pleased with the physical presence which the bigger and faster U-23s presented, he was not always thrilled with his team's defending.
"I though we struggled in central defence and it made me rethink some of the things we are doing, and even our playing personnel, in the sense of who should start in that position."
Corneal felt some of his players were not doing well in the middle of the park and he is considering a starting defensive position for utility player Daniel Cyrus, who is normally the left midfielder, but did well when switched to defence late in the match.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2007, 05:55:39 PM by Flex »

Re: T&T U17s lose 2-1
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2007, 04:53:43 AM »
That sounds like a panic move.

Re: T&T U-17s lose 2-1.
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2007, 06:06:14 AM »
Good luck young warriors and also the olympic team.... hope they qualify also...

nice warm up for the youths.....

« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2007, 06:47:23 AM »
yeah it does sound like ah panic move  but if u see something u shouldnt turn a blind eye to it. cyrus is talented, he is listed as a striker on the team list so best of luck to corneal and where he decideds to play cyrus

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2007, 06:55:59 AM »
I'm happy that one parent per player will be going. Good luck youth warriors
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

Re: T&T U17s lose 2-1
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2007, 07:09:02 AM »
That sounds like a panic move.
Better to panic now than in the first group game....thats why it is so important to have these games against top opposition early so you have time to make your final readjustments

« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2007, 08:16:22 AM »
“I intend within the next month to meet with the guys who still have a playing future and explain to them the folly of their ways. I have allowed this situation to drag on for a while, so that the guys can see the wrong they do. Who knows, after I meet with them one on one, I may even pay them what they want but they must know the errors of their ways,” Warner said as he addressed a gathering at a Guardian sports symposium which closed on Saturday morning.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: JACK YUH MUD$%$
This two face shitsnake could really lay on the bullshit, first he say they doh owe them money, next well I may have said this after the sweden game, then admit to raising the bonus, but they must see the error of their ways, BULLSHIT!

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2007, 03:58:00 PM »
         Yes I don't understand "the error of their ways" comment. What on earth did our glorious Warriors do in error?

On a lighter note that hot sexy thing that Sam has on his message, is Jennifer, a hot girl in Trinidad.

Hyperhot J - He's back...
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power." 

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare