April 24, 2024, 07:13:26 AM

Author Topic: Read a book  (Read 2922 times)

Read a book
« on: July 19, 2007, 11:13:59 AM »

Re: Read a book
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2007, 02:34:53 PM »
This is why I stopped watching BET.

But at the same time, the stupid song is stuck in my head.

Not a sports page, or a magazine...

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2007, 03:43:53 PM »

« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2007, 07:46:16 AM »
i didn't peep this thread earlier and am only replying b/ci saw the video on tuesday. it's a good piece of social satire...surprisingly many of the ppl who commented on the video (i assume they were black) saw the message behind the music (basically the same message older black leaders try to convey to the youth: read books, buy land, take care of your kids, take care of your personal hygiene etc.)    it's pretty funny (even if it is profane and uses THAT word).

« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2007, 08:47:30 AM »
i didn't peep this thread earlier and am only replying b/ci saw the video on tuesday. it's a good piece of social satire...surprisingly many of the ppl who commented on the video (i assume they were black) saw the message behind the music (basically the same message older black leaders try to convey to the youth: read books, buy land, take care of your kids, take care of your personal hygiene etc.)    it's pretty funny (even if it is profane and uses THAT word).

Dead on...and totally agree.

Too many people are seemingly inept at recognizing brilliant satire, which this may appropriately be categorized as.  I'm not too fond of the profanity or proliferous use of the N-word, and only so given the potential audience for the song, pre-teens and even younger.  That aside however, if you look beyond the delivery, the message can't be any more perfect.  As for the vehicle itself, it takes the negative stereotypes...indeed, archetypes, of the hip-hop industry and attempts to turn them on their heads...a technique that is apparently being lost on many of the song/videos critics.

« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2007, 08:25:56 PM »

Too many people are seemingly inept at recognizing brilliant satire, which this may appropriately be categorized as. I'm not too fond of the profanity or proliferous use of the N-word, and only so given the potential audience for the song, pre-teens and even younger.  That aside however, if you look beyond the delivery, the message can't be any more perfect.  As for the vehicle itself, it takes the negative stereotypes...indeed, archetypes, of the hip-hop industry and attempts to turn them on their heads...a technique that is apparently being lost on many of the song/videos critics.

eh?? you not too fond of profanity??

you ever read one of your posts?

« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2007, 08:39:57 PM »

Too many people are seemingly inept at recognizing brilliant satire, which this may appropriately be categorized as. I'm not too fond of the profanity or proliferous use of the N-word, and only so given the potential audience for the song, pre-teens and even younger.  That aside however, if you look beyond the delivery, the message can't be any more perfect.  As for the vehicle itself, it takes the negative stereotypes...indeed, archetypes, of the hip-hop industry and attempts to turn them on their heads...a technique that is apparently being lost on many of the song/videos critics.

You either can't read, in need of glasses... or just looking fuh fucking talk...

and only so given the potential audience for the song, pre-teens and even younger.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2007, 08:43:19 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2007, 08:42:45 PM »

You either can't read, in need of glasses... or just looking fuh fucking talk...

ah ress mih case

« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2007, 09:04:51 PM »

ah ress mih case
You had no case to begin with...and the use of profanity in this instance was deliberate so as to underscore the point.  But you lack the sophistication to recognize this so the conversation is moot.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2007, 09:06:42 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2007, 12:50:09 AM »

ah ress mih case
You had no case to begin with...and the use of profanity in this instance was deliberate so as to underscore the point.  But you lack the sophistication to recognize this so the conversation is moot.

You apparently eh know Dutty (the forumite)...but maybe I lack the sophistication to recognize that this response to him was deliberate and you just kicksin' too.

« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2007, 03:34:32 PM »

ah ress mih case

You apparently eh know Dutty (the forumite)...but maybe I lack the sophistication to recognize that this response to him was deliberate and you just kicksin' too.

I doh know him or know de first thing about him, but like ah say...maybe he juss looking fuh ole talk...no way I go say I doh like cussin...as much as I like cussin.  Go figure.

« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2007, 12:07:48 AM »
A word to the wise...Beware the Dutty 8)

« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2007, 03:31:01 PM »
A word to the wise...Beware the Dutty 8)

beware of wha? mih sponge bat?

but look how you and grande push mih out de door cool cool and tell de shark... "tek he, tek he!!..he skin tender"

allyuh fellahs is criminal...ah go hadda watch allyuh close wit mih good eye from now on  ;)

« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2007, 03:37:49 PM »

ah ress mih case

I doh know him or know de first thing about him, but like ah say...maybe he juss looking fuh ole talk...no way I go say I doh like cussin...as much as I like cussin.  Go figure.

Dutty related to de Illuminati .. a warning .. doh walk under a ladder, let a black cat cross yuh path or delve into the study of the number 13 ...

When I join dis forum, I had 3 chirren .. den I cross Dutty ....den he wave he wand and now I have 22 chirren to feed.

« Reply #15 on: August 06, 2007, 09:25:58 AM »
When I join dis forum, I had 3 chirren .. den I cross Dutty ....den he wave he wand and now I have 22 chirren to feed.
Mr P.
I jez hope all ah dem look like you :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.