April 27, 2024, 03:55:59 AM

Author Topic: Elie: Guatemala were determined to finish  (Read 1481 times)

Elie: Guatemala were determined to finish
« on: August 12, 2005, 12:41:46 PM »

Elie: Guatemala were determined to finish
12-Aug-2005

Trinidad and Tobago Under 15 coach Ken Elie expressed disappointment following his team’s 2-1 defeat to Guatemala on Thursday but voiced some degree of optimism for the future of the current batch of youngsters.

“What Guatemala showed tonight is that they were determined to finish. Looking at it realistically, you would realize that from the start of the tournament we have not showed that sort of finishing touch. This game showed the line between us and them. They were determined to finish and then defend when they got their goals,” Elie said after the match.

“Our guys deserve credit for their efforts but this is the same sort of problem that continues to plague us and fortunately in this regard, it has happened with an Under 15 team which means we can still work on the problem.”

“Right now before anything else we have a game to prepare for on Saturday against Jamaica. That’s always a key match in Caribbean football. Then we hopefully will continue to take this team further. There are plans in place and this just has to be implemented now,” he added.

T&T had two players in goalie Jesse Fullerton and Stephan Chang taken to hospital with the captain suffering a suspected dislocated shoulder and Chang from an unidentified sickness up to the time of his departure from the Stadium.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We were better tactically says Guatemalan coach

Guatemalan coach Byron Perez believed his team were better tactically in Thursday’s semi final win over hosts Trinidad and Tobago in the CFU Under 15 Youth Cup.

He also paid further respect to injured goalie Jorge Velasquez, saying his ordeal has made the Guatemalan players  a more determined bunch.

“We did this for him and we know he will be very happy to hear the news of this victory,” Perez told TTFF Media.

“I think we were tactically better. We know Trinidad liked to play on the flanks and were able to contain them. They gave us a good match but we were determined to get the job done,” he added.

Re: Elie: Guatemala were determined to finish
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2005, 12:50:02 PM »
They should let the old strike squad captain coach Clayton Morris coach this team I believe this is going to be the next under 17 team and we need a coach that the players could say yes this guy has bin there and don that so he knows what he talking about. He had a good stint with the youth team before and he is dedicated to the country.       

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2005, 02:28:25 PM »
It look like our coaches good at identifying problems and weaknesses after we lose in these tournaments but not good at addressing them before the tournaments.

« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2005, 02:42:04 PM »
They should let the old strike squad captain coach Clayton Morris coach this team I believe this is going to be the next under 17 team and we need a coach that the players could say yes this guy has bin there and don that so he knows what he talking about. He had a good stint with the youth team before and he is dedicated to the country.       

former striker squad member hudson charles is de assistant coach so what is your glowing point?

wat is your justification? lol alyuh really kixy yes!

dey already have major plans for this team.  This is de under 17 that they preparing for 2007.  Ellie to Morris changes nothing.  dey on de same level!

we just have to hope that dem fellas learn from de sessions that beenie have planned for de local coaches later down in de year!

« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2005, 02:51:24 PM »
what about if we have 1 beenie asst take the u-17 and the other the u-20
then have man like barber, jb, brian williams, maurice etc asst those 2 coaches.
BSC a good 1- asst coach BSC now that would be something to see. i would pay to see that.

yeah get them plans for lincoln and beenie to teach these local coaches quick asap
« Last Edit: August 12, 2005, 03:00:51 PM by football king »

« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2005, 03:14:51 PM »
I think people on this board are now starting to identify our problem.....besides Warner that is......We have, i am almost sure, on a per capta basis, the most amount of jokers running around callimng themselves coach.

The sad part is that the poor youth teams are the ones who need quality coaches and get stuck with Elies and Granvilles of this world. If we can develop a proper coaches or at least hire them for our youths then our future can be alot brighter.

Here is an exercise in futility. Name 5 top flight coaches in T&T.......thought so......you cant...that my friend is one of the biggest problem facing T&T. What is impressive though is that they can all talk coaching better than Maurinho.

« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2005, 03:44:36 PM »
ah think that name of the guatemala coach,...byron perez...he was not on the guate side dat strike squad beat up in 89???...tallman wey yuh dey >????

« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2005, 05:55:00 PM »
ah think that name of the guatemala coach,...byron perez...he was not on the guate side dat strike squad beat up in 89???...tallman wey yuh dey >????

It had ah Byron Pérez fella dat was playing fuh Guatemala in dem days, so is ah good chance is him.

« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2005, 07:43:22 AM »
I was watching Futbol Mundial on GOLTV and saw that Iran chose an under 15 team from U10 and U11 leagues.

This team was assembled in about one month and did fairly well. That is not good enough though. We have the tools, the stadia the centre of excellence yet we fail to establish a function youth academy. The good part about this is that this team has time. The core of this team should be maintained and supplemented over time. They should be in training at least once a week for a year with friendlies against U19 teams every month. This should intensify 6 months and then 3 months before qualification begins.