April 28, 2024, 04:41:32 PM

Author Topic: manchester utd vs chelsea- fa community shield 2007  (Read 3187 times)

manchester utd vs chelsea- fa community shield 2007
« on: August 05, 2007, 06:32:51 AM »
Chelsea are ready to `evolve' and rival Manchester United as the dominant counter-attacking force in the Barclays Premier League next season after a summer of measured transfer activity.

The two heavyweights come head-to-head again at Wembley for the Community Shield, with the Blues currently holding an edge over the league champions following their FA Cup win three months ago.

United have spent big this summer, recruiting the likes of Owen Hargreaves, Nani and Anderson. With the Carlos Tevez saga now finally close to a conclusion, Sir Alex Ferguson will certainly not be short of options next season, particularly in attack.

Chelsea, meanwhile, have brought in Steve Sidwell, Claudio Pizarro and Tal Ben Haim, all without transfer fees, as well as Florent Malouda and there could yet be a deal done with PSV Eindhoven for Brazilian defender Alex.

While the new personnel may not have captured the imagination in the way big money signings of previous seasons did, there is a growing belief within the Chelsea camp that this group of players can strike the right balance for a double assault on Premier League and European glory.

``Football is about evolution,'' reflected assistant manager Steve Clarke.

``You can't go year on year with the same squad of players because then they grow old and stale together so we have to keep freshening things up and give yourself a chance to challenge for all the trophies again.

``Our squad is stronger than last year. We have better alternatives. Now we can play with a flat 4-4-2.

``Maybe with the diamond last year we were very hard to beat. The manager spoke a lot last year about survival football and the diamond was conducive to playing that way very well. We want to be a little bit more expansive this season.

``We spoke about it during last season, but we didn't have a team to lock it down. The boss is very meticulous and likes to make sure everybody understands what we're trying to do. That is why it's best to do it in pre-season.''

Chelsea are, however, most likely to stick with their trusted 4-3-3 approach at Wembley, with Didier Drogba spearheading the attack.

Darren Fletcher has insisted the battle for places at United is a challenge to relish.

Fletcher has seen a steady stream of big names head out of Old Trafford in recent years, giving up the unequal struggle for a regular first-team spot.

Alan Smith is the latest to depart, accepting the lure of life at Newcastle, even though he knows there will be no Premier League title tilt or Champions League campaign to sustain him.

Yet Fletcher entertains no such thoughts, even though the Scotland star is facing a renewed threat to his senior involvement following the summer arrivals of Owen Hargreaves and Anderson, plus the conversion of John O'Shea into a central midfielder.

Fletcher proved quite flexible himself last term, occupying the right-back slot on a couple of occasions.

Having already amassed 148 appearances for the Red Devils, the Dalkeith-born midfielder is in no mood to call time on his United career.

``There is always competition for places at Manchester United,'' he said. ``When I first came into the squad there were a lot of midfielders. You expect that every season.

``A few of us are going to be vying for places but it is enjoyable pitting yourself against top-quality midfielders.

``All you can ask is for the manager to be fair in his team selections. We all know if you are doing a job for him, he will trust you and go with you.''

Fletcher has already noticed a rise in standard on the training ground, which only bodes well for United as they prepare to begin the defence of their Premier League title.

``It is exciting to be part of this squad,'' he said. ``The manager obviously felt we struggled for numbers at the end of last season, so he has added some good, young quality players, which is great for the future of Manchester United.

``It is hard to tell how significant the Community Shield will be because the focus has always to be on the first Premier League game. But, of course you want to win it, just as you want to win every game.''
« Last Edit: August 05, 2007, 06:40:35 AM by freakazoid »

Re: manchester utd vs chelsea- fa community shield 2007
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2007, 07:26:55 AM »
dis game going and start real soon and dis thread not gettin no love?????  Where all de Man-u man and dem... Allyuh hiding and waiting for results???? allyuh come out mek we reason. :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2007, 07:31:48 AM »
dey running scared...
GO CHELSEA!!!!!!

« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2007, 07:59:53 AM »
game start

« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2007, 08:22:39 AM »
Man U looking like they still in pre-season.

« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2007, 08:25:56 AM »
Like dey hear me and wake up.

« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2007, 08:38:08 AM »
Dis fackin Man-u team know how to get goals dread. Ah doh like dem atall.. ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2007, 08:38:48 AM »
Goal Man Utd!
Game on!

« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2007, 08:44:41 AM »
chelsea looking unfit...dont know why but they do and the season starts in a week

damn good goal by malouda though

« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2007, 08:46:48 AM »
chelsea looking unfit...dont know why but they do and the season starts in a week

echo... real nice finish from malouda... i tink dey look more dry going forward than anything. Like they aint yet sure who leeds de attack forward.... someone should tell dem (it's the midfielders) shhh.

« Reply #10 on: August 05, 2007, 08:49:10 AM »

It hot, dey only want to play in the shade  ;D

Malouda? What channel you watching?
Damn, Either I have a serious delay, or yuh is a seer-man. Tell me what tomorrow Lotto number is nah.
Nice goal by Malouda

« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2007, 09:22:59 AM »
mite be outta timin on dis thread but scotland just cored versus levante

« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2007, 09:26:15 AM »
1 year older, 1 loan spell richer and Glen Johnson is still fodder for abuse

« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2007, 09:32:01 AM »
1 year older, 1 loan spell richer and Glen Johnson cronaldo is still diving all over the place (ten seconds into the game he done dive arready!) fodder for abuse.....from de fans!......not that he cares.

De man deos have me very nervous anytime he get near the play.......even in the opponents' defensive third of the field!
« Last Edit: August 05, 2007, 09:52:41 AM by Mango Chow! »

« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2007, 09:33:29 AM »
Wright Phillips for man o de match.

« Reply #15 on: August 05, 2007, 09:51:24 AM »
This one like it headed to penaties. But since I on a delay, Chelsea mighta win already  :)

« Reply #16 on: August 05, 2007, 10:03:37 AM »
arright, allyuh win on penalties..........enjoy this trophy becuz there will be no more fuh allyuh this season.

« Reply #17 on: August 05, 2007, 10:12:37 AM »
FSC!

Van der sar save 3 penalties in a row, and allyuh highlight of the game is Rooney taking the "winning shot."

Sir Alex starting lineup seem to indicate he wanted to win more than The Special One. But in the end, is man missing penalties, all Murinho go sa is that we have to practice that more.

Offline black chinee

« Reply #18 on: August 05, 2007, 10:38:16 AM »
FSC!

Van der sar save 3 penalties in a row, and allyuh highlight of the game is Rooney taking the "winning shot."

I agree.... de man should be plastered all over de place dey only showing Rooney shot

« Reply #19 on: August 05, 2007, 11:04:28 AM »
Another forgettable ManU/chelsea game.  You would think that with all the talent they have their games would be more entertaining.

« Reply #20 on: August 05, 2007, 07:25:20 PM »
hard luck laters, man utd forever. shit chelsea  :devil:

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #21 on: August 05, 2007, 09:42:08 PM »
Van der sar for man o de match.

good choice.
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #22 on: August 05, 2007, 09:53:42 PM »
Well this definitely look like Everton season.

« Reply #23 on: August 06, 2007, 01:58:34 AM »
Van der sar for man o de match.

good choice.

Hey that was not my quote you Red Devil. I feel unclean and violated .lololololol