April 29, 2024, 04:54:09 AM

Author Topic: fifa u20 world cup egypt  (Read 844 times)

fifa u20 world cup egypt
« on: August 24, 2007, 06:06:29 AM »
The FIFA U-20 World Cup, is the world championship of football for male players under the age of 20 and is organized by Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). The Championship has been awarded every two years since the first tournament in 1977.

Often, some of the biggest names in the sport make their first mark on the world's stage at this competition. These include Diego Maradona (1979), Bebeto, Dunga, Marco Van Basten (1983), Romário, Taffarel, René Higuita, José Luis Chilavert (1985), Davor Šuker, Robert Prosinečki (1987), Paulo Sousa, Fernando Couto, João Manuel Vieira Pinto, Sonny Anderson, Santiago Cañizares, Ismael Urzaiz, Diego Simeone, Oleg Salenko (1989), Rui Costa, Luís Figo, Dwight Yorke (1991), Samuel Kuffour (1993), Nwankwo Kanu, David Trézéguet, Thierry Henry, Juan Román Riquelme, Pablo Aimar, Esteban Cambiasso, Michael Owen, Damien Duff, Shunsuke Nakamura, Marcelo Zalayeta, Pablo García, Nicolás Olivera, (1997), Ronaldinho, Xavi, Iker Casillas, Rafael Márquez (1999), Arjen Robben, Adriano, Michael Essien, Javier Saviola (2001), Andres Iniesta, Javier Mascherano (2003), Cesc Fàbregas, Matias Fernandez, John Mikel Obi and Lionel Messi (2005). Arturo Vidal,, Sergio Aguero, Freddy Adu, Diego Capel, Gerard Pique, Giovanni Dos Santos, Alexis Sanchez, Emiliano Insua, and Maximiliano Moralez (2007).

In the fifteen tournaments held, only seven nations have won the title. Argentina is the most successful team with six titles, followed by Brazil with four titles. Portugal won two titles, while Germany , Spain, and formerly existing nations Soviet Union and Yugoslavia have won the title once each.

The 2007 tournament was played in Canada. The 2009 tournament will be played in Egypt.

ok ah start to look to the year 2009(God willing)what i observing in u17 tournaments is that argentina is basically normal. they have never won a tittle . yet they have the most U20 tittles  :o :o. they seem to make magic with that 3 years.

i still saying ah like this u 17 squad i seeing potential. powers that be, dont let this squad drift apart and have to start all over when the U20 world cup qualifiers reach .please ah beg yuh