April 19, 2024, 07:28:30 AM

Author Topic: Execution-Style Killings Spark Outrage  (Read 1957 times)

Execution-Style Killings Spark Outrage
« on: August 07, 2007, 05:11:02 PM »

NEWARK, N.J., Tue Aug 07, 11:08 AM

They were on the cusp of adulthood: four friends who made music together and were preparing to return to the college where their friendship had blossomed.

An apparent robbery attempt by several assailants left three of them dead, the latest victims in this city where the murder rate has risen 50 percent since 1998.

Police said the three were forced to kneel against a wall and shot at close range; a fourth was wounded.

The killings bring Newark's murder total for the year to 60, and put pressure on Mayor Cory A. Booker, who campaigned last year on a promise of reducing crime.

"He doesn't deserve another day, another second, while our children are at stake," Donna Jackson, president of the community-based Take Back Our Streets organization, said Monday at a news conference in front of City Hall. "Anyone who has children in the city is in panic mode. It takes something like this for people to open up their eyes and understand that not every person killed in Newark is a drug dealer."

At a news conference, Booker said it was a time for unity and "not a time to play politics and divide our city."

Killed were Terrance Aeriel, 18, Iofemi Hightower, 20, and Dashon Harvey, 20. Aeriel's 19-year-old sister, Natasha, was in fair condition Monday at Newark's University Hospital after being shot in the head, police said; the hospital declined to release her condition after that, citing patient privacy laws. She was found about 30 feet from her friends, slumped near some bleachers.

Authorities were assembling details of the crime from witnesses including Natasha Aeriel, but had not made any arrests by late Monday night.

The four lived in Newark and were to attend Delaware State University this fall. None had criminal records, according to authorities, and relatives and neighbors said they were not involved in drinking, drugs or gangs.

"They were good kids," Essex County Prosecutor Paula Dow said.

Several law enforcement groups offered a reward of more than $50,000 for information leading to the arrest of those involved, Booker said.

"I'm very angry because they were good kids with bright futures," Hightower's mother, Shalga, said Monday. "They didn't deserve it. My daughter was a very sweet, loving young lady who would help anybody in need."

Hightower and the Aeriels had been friends since elementary school and played in the marching band at West Side High School. Terrance Aeriel, known as T.J., took Hightower to the school prom in 2006, chauffeured by his sister. He also worked with kids at a teen center in Newark's Vailsburg section.

At Delaware State they met Harvey, also a musician, and struck up a friendship. When in Newark, they liked to go to the elementary school, which sits in a middle-class neighborhood less than a mile from the campus of Seton Hall University, to hang out and listen to music.

Harvey's page on MySpace.com was filled with messages from friends on Monday. He described himself as a sometime runway model whose heroes were Superman and Dr. Martin Luther King "and last but not least, My DAD." He planned to graduate from Delaware State in 2009 with a degree in psychology.

His peers elected him the school's Mr. Junior, part of DSU's homecoming court.

Harvey's father, James, a former city water department employee, focused blame Monday on the parents of the assailants.

"If you raised your kids better, this would not happen," he said.

Natasha Aeriel was a junior majoring in biology who played alto saxophone in the school's marching band, according to university spokesman Carlos Holmes.

Terrence Aeriel was studying business management and wasn't enrolled last spring, but had re-enrolled for the fall. He played baritone sax and attended Delaware State's band camp last summer.

Hightower worked two jobs and enrolled at the school recently. One of her jobs was at Brighton Gardens, an assisted living center in nearby West Orange, where her mother also worked.

On the afternoon of the killings, Iofemi told her mother she planned to spend the night at Natasha Aeriel's house near the school.

"The last time I heard her voice was Saturday night," Hightower said between sobs. "She called me from work to let me know Natasha was going to pick her up and she was going to spend the night. She told me she loved me."

The Aeriels' mother, Renee Tucker, said the last time she saw them was around 10:30 p.m. Saturday, when they told her they were going around the corner to get something to eat.

"They said they were going to come right back to the house," Tucker said.

———

Associated Press Writers Janet Frankston Lorin and Jeffrey Gold in Newark, and Daniela Flores in Trenton contributed to this story.

E-mail this article   Printer-friendly version

Copyright © 2007 All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
Legal Disclaimer

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Black on black crime when will it ever end .lord if you kah come send somebody .

Re: Execution-Style Killings Spark Outrage
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2007, 12:25:39 PM »
poor cory booker must be ruing the day he decided to campaign for this job. newark is like a hydra, when u cut off one head others just keep popping up.

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2007, 12:36:32 PM »
The fact that these youths, had great ambitions and aspirations makes these senseless killings absurd.  >:(

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2007, 11:25:31 AM »
Second suspect in N.J. slayings surrenders
31-year-old turns self in; authorities earlier detained 15-year-old
 MSNBC video

Second suspect held in N.J. slayings
Aug. 9: This wanted poster was issued for Jose Carranza, who later  surrendered. NBC's Pat Dawson reports.
MSNBC

Stand and be counted

What keeps you up at night? Gut Check America is your chance to tell us what really matters in our country and to help determine what topics MSNBC.com covers. Click here to learn more and get involved.

Photo features     More

Getty Images July 26 - Aug. 2
A bridge in ruins, bulldogging in the mud, and more.

Reuters PhotoBlog
View and discuss the pictures and issues that caught our eyes

FirstPerson     

Far-Out Americana
See photos of quirky landmarks that you sent in! Click "launch."

Resource guide
 FBI most wanted
Internet fraud
FBI crime alerts
Homicide trends 

Related Stories     | What's this?
Source: Juvenile Arrested In Newark Execution-Style Murders
'Fishy' case goes to trial
Police: Man Shot In Car, Suspect Remains Unknown
Revenge not robbery may have been motive in fatal shooting
Suspected Driver: 'I Didn't Do Anything'

Most Popular
• Most Viewed  • Top Rated  • Most E-mailed

Police arrest one in N.J. student killings case
Britney gets naked for a pool party
Holes drilled within few hundred feet of miners
Playboy Mansion sexual assault claim probed
Sunni fighters find benefits in alliance with U.S.
Most viewed on MSNBC.com
Yangtze River dolphin likely extinct, experts say
Bomb Busters
  First Prize for Weird
Singing the praises of Jackie Chan
1 million lbs. of suspect Chinese seafood in U.S.
Most viewed on MSNBC.com
Whites a minority in 10 percent of U.S. counties
  Buzz or bunk? Five coffee myths
  Buick, Lexus tied in dependability study
  Stocks hammered by credit crunch worry
Grapes of laugh: Serious wines with silly names
Most viewed on MSNBC.com
BREAKING NEWS
MSNBC staff and news service reports
Updated: 1 hour, 29 minutes ago
NEWARK, N.J. - A second suspect in the killings of three college students surrendered Thursday, shortly after officials announced that they had arrested a 15-year-old in the same case.

Jose Carranza, 31, turned himself in, authorities said. He has had three prior arrests and was awaiting trial.

Investigators earlier said more arrests could follow.

Story continues below ↓
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
advertisement

“We believe that others were involved in this heinous crime,” prosecutor Paula Dow said. “We’re looking for them.”

Carranza faces three counts of first degree murder, one count of attempted murder and one count of conspiracy to commit robbery.

The teen, whose name was not released because of his age, was arrested on the same charges, authorities said.

Four friends, ages 18 to 20, were shot while hanging out in a schoolyard Saturday night.

Authorities said robbery appeared to be the motive, discounting speculation the crime may have been gang or race related.

Shot at close range
Three of the victims — Terrance Aeriel, 18, Dashon Harvey, 20; and Iofemi Hightower, 20 — were forced to kneel against a wall and shot at close range. The fourth, 19-year-old Natasha Aeriel, Terrance Aeriel's sister, survived a wound to her head and is hospitalized.

NBC video

Friends become murder victims
Aug. 6: NBC's Ron Allen reports on the gruesome murders in Newark, N.J.
Nightly News

Despite being under sedation at times, Natasha Aeriel has been providing authorities with information about the shootings, Booker said.

The killings brought unwanted publicity to the city, which has struggled for years with violent crime. Residents and law enforcement organizations have donated $150,000 to aid the victims' families and to a reward fund.

"This is a defining moment for our city. The crime is not going to define Newark but our response to it," Booker said Thursday on ABC's "Good Morning America."

« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2007, 04:47:32 PM »
this is very sad indeed as it all comes back to changes in immigration where some cities are determined to be "Sanctuary Cities" and here also, and this crime was committed by an immigrant who was out on bail for previous crimes. Some are saying he should have been deported.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2007, 04:52:02 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2007, 07:02:00 PM »
Black on black crime  ???

Zulu Jose Carranza is black on black crime.  Allyuh ready to blame peeps b4 de facts come out.  Carranza is a Riqueno or he from El Can?

« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2007, 09:21:19 PM »
Savannah boy because his name iz JOSE CARRANZA that mean he not black , if that iz what you think what can i say bro :peace:

« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2007, 12:13:10 PM »
Savannah boy because his name iz JOSE CARRANZA that mean he not black , if that iz what you think what can i say bro :peace:

just for clarification purposes  ;)

JOSE CARRANZA

« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2007, 11:42:03 PM »
Ok, but ah sure that when we first heard about this incident in NEWARK NJ, before we knew who did it  we thought that it was black on black and not because ah want to blame black man it iz just how it iz bro, the self hate we have for each other .you know just like me 9 out of 10 iz black on black i don't like it iz just that way .and if yuh say ah rong check the statistics

« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2007, 10:50:09 AM »
Ok, but ah sure that when we first heard about this incident in NEWARK NJ, before we knew who did it  we thought that it was black on black and not because ah want to blame black man it iz just how it iz bro, the self hate we have for each other .you know just like me 9 out of 10 iz black on black i don't like it iz just that way .and if yuh say ah rong check the statistics

don't speak for the masses..WE did not think anything...YOU are the only one so far that made a premature acertation. As far as stats go, unless compiled by a credible agency, they can be skewed in any which way in order to manipulate public perception. I won't disagree that there is a high number of black on black crimes, but your 9 out of 10 ratio seems a bit high.... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: