April 19, 2024, 08:40:42 AM

Author Topic: Corneal calls loss an eye opener.  (Read 3745 times)

Corneal calls loss an eye opener.
« on: August 08, 2007, 09:30:07 AM »
Corneal calls loss an eye opener.

National Under 17 head coach Anton Corneal described Tuesday’s 6-2 defeat to Dutch Premier Division club De Graafschap as an eye opener for his team as they go into the final days of the preparation camp at the Papendal training centre in Arnhem.
T&T were forced on the defensive from early on as they conceded much too easily and struggled to force themselves back into the game against the Under 18 team which included three Dutch National Under 17 players.
“I was very disappointed in their attitude towards the game,” Corneal told TTFF Media as he described the performance of his players.
“We don’t understand what it takes to play from the beginning… we have not come out of this since all of us needing to put out from the beginning. We still think we have to feel teams out and before anything happened for us we were down three goals and all three were blunders at the back. On the other hand you have to look at he chances we squandered. We should have come out at half time 3-3,” Corneal added.
“When you do finishing in the morning session and then come and get similar chances in the game it shows that we weren’t doing the extra that is required to get results. We had a little bit better second half but it was the only time we showed some effort and pride and we got chances where we scored two goals but it must not take a team to dominate us like that before we start to play. It’s better though that this happens now than at the World Cup and I hope we can learn from this.”
“We saw that when we decided to pressure we created chances but I hope this will be an eye opener because we have spoken about it many times. One team can take advantage of our faults and we need to prevent that. The team was well organized and played simple while we were the opposite for too much of the game,” Corneal ended as he refused to use the long travel and six-hour time difference as an excuse for the team’s lackluster showing under chilly conditions. Despite Akeem Adams blistering strike and Marcus Joseph’s goal off the bench after a good build up, only skipper Leston Paul managed a decent showing as his teammates were all guilty of unforced errors and lack of urgency in their play.
Senior Team head coach Wim Rijsbergen was also hopeful of the team stepping up its game as the build up continues to the August 20 opener against Ghana at the FIFA Under 17 World Championship.
The T&T U17 team will have a final training match on Saturday and will also attend a preseason encounter between La Liga club Athletico Bilbao and Dutch club Vitesse Arnhem. Corneal conducted a recovery session on Wednesday morning before meeting with the players for just over an hour prior to the evening session at Papendal.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2007, 09:35:41 AM by Flex »

Re: Corneal calls loss an eye opener.
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2007, 09:38:11 AM »
Open all yuh eyes now b4 Korea

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2007, 10:30:41 AM »
These guys are getting some invaluble experiences, exposure and coaching...will be one of the best batches to ever graduate to the senior level...

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2007, 10:41:31 AM »
Maybe a controversial comment, but I think this is very characteristic of Caribbean teams:

We don’t understand what it takes to play from the beginning… we have not come out of this since all of us needing to put out from the beginning. We still think we have to feel teams out and before anything happened for us we were down three goals and all three were blunders at the back. On the other hand you have to look at he chances we squandered. We should have come out at half time 3-3,” Corneal added.

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2007, 10:53:05 AM »
so wait nah .. dem man playing with there eyes close all this time? I confuse here

« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2007, 10:54:02 AM »
Maybe a controversial comment, but I think this is very characteristic of Caribbean teams:

We don’t understand what it takes to play from the beginning… we have not come out of this since all of us needing to put out from the beginning. We still think we have to feel teams out and before anything happened for us we were down three goals and all three were blunders at the back. On the other hand you have to look at he chances we squandered. We should have come out at half time 3-3,” Corneal added.

These comments were far from controversial, in fact I believe that this is one of the impediments of our culture.... good luck to the youths  :beermug:

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2007, 11:07:01 AM »
Better Loss now than later........Open allyuh eyes fellas this is real and it aint easy!!!

« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2007, 12:24:30 PM »
Them men still have get lag,

Hopefully they will reach Korea with at least 2 weeks before the first game.

It will take time to switch your body 24 hrs

Asking men to sweat at 2 o clock in the morning trinidad time might be kind of hard.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2007, 12:39:16 PM »
My opinion is T&T should have been in training camp some where in Asia. That way they could get over the jet lag thing, train and have games. Dem in Holland steupssss, Wim gorn to visit.  :-\

« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2007, 12:40:02 PM »
Ghana ain't going to be easy nah, is skill and speed coming at them from the word go, so they better get it together

GO WARRIORS GO!

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2007, 12:57:15 PM »
may be an eye opener of his coaching ability???

« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2007, 02:40:30 PM »
Everything should be positive around this team now. Dem youths already scared of the unknown, they need confidence and assurance that they have the potential.

« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2007, 09:19:05 PM »
yes observer...well observed

Offline Small Change

« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2007, 10:43:12 AM »
This is very valuable experience these young boys are getting and it just shows, the difference in the level of the game. It's huge jump in the level of play, from "Intercol" football to this level; a HUGE gap. If this team can stay together from here onward, this would be great. These boys, after playing at this level, should not go back and play that 'low level' intercol football in Sept. NO WAY!!!!!!!!!! It's like back peddling; go backwards.

« Reply #14 on: August 09, 2007, 09:04:38 PM »
Is a good ting Wim gone tolook 4 he family because the boys would ah b home playin WASA

Offline Coach

6-2 loss, what system are we playing
« Reply #15 on: August 10, 2007, 10:44:14 PM »
What system is Anton playing?

I will say it again, we need need to play a defensive system 4-5-1 or 5-4-1 thit will allow us to control the game on the possesion side, and as the game gets older you can make the necessary adjustment, but we have to start with a defensive system to be competitive.

What is this a National team giving up 6 goals to a club team that is year older, this is wrong.

WE NEED TO BE SMART OR ELSE WE WILL BEATEN SOUNDLY AT THIS WC, ANTON DON'T HAVE THE EXPERIENCE AT THIS LEVEL HE WILL MAKE THE ROOKIE MISTAKE BY TRYING TO COMPETE WITH THE GERMANS AND THE AFRICANS.

THESE COUNTRIES ARE WAY IN FRONT OF US WITH THEIR YOUTH DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM. ANTON MUST PLAY A DEFENSE SYSTEM AND FOCUS ON BALL POSSESSION!!!

Re: 6-2 loss, what system are we playing
« Reply #16 on: August 10, 2007, 10:45:38 PM »

I will say it again, we need need to play a defensive system 4-5-1 or 5-4-1 thit will allow us to control the game on the possesion side, and as the game gets older you can make the necessary adjustment, but we have to start with a defensive system to be competitive.

What is this a National team giving up 6 goals to a club team that is year older, this is wrong.

WE NEED TO BE SMART OR ELSE WE WILL BEATEN SOUNDLY AT THIS WC, ANTON DON'T HAVE THE EXPERIENCE AT THIS LEVEL HE WILL MAKE THE ROOKIE MISTAKE BY TRYING TO COMPETE WITH THE GERMANS AND THE AFRICANS.

THESE COUNTRIES ARE WAY IN FRONT OF US WITH THEIR YOUTH DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM. ANTON MUST PLAY A DEFENSE SYSTEM AND FOCUS ON BALL POSSESSION!!!

you are hands down the worst "coach" ever....   

« Reply #17 on: August 10, 2007, 10:59:07 PM »

THIS IS PURE TATA !!!!  .....somebody wake up this man nah, like he dreaming he is de ''worst coach'' in de history ah de game, an posting in he sleep.

« Reply #18 on: August 10, 2007, 11:12:07 PM »
Poor coach he frighten lol , better we do it ole school and play 9-1-0 . This is ah sick side breddren ,let them play there game .It like telling WI  ,doh make no shots is the Aussies ,just play down ,it ein t go work .
« Last Edit: August 10, 2007, 11:15:23 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #19 on: August 11, 2007, 04:17:54 AM »
Poor coach he frighten lol , better we do it ole school and play 9-1-0 . This is ah sick side breddren ,let them play there game .It like telling WI  ,doh make no shots is the Aussies ,just play down ,it ein t go work .

well put.

« Reply #20 on: August 11, 2007, 09:34:01 AM »
BREDDA MAN......think it over nah....just talk some ball and some lil ole talk nah...oh god....I have a CONCACAF coaching badge...and i dont even talk that.... eh boy

ah mean  what system was ROMA playing last season when dey get 7 from Man utd....???

« Reply #21 on: August 11, 2007, 10:59:35 AM »

Ah think yuh being overly simplistic, naive even, to suggest that the system needs to be defensive in order for we to be successful.  It have so many other factors to consider......

It sounds to me like yuh want de wuk!

« Last Edit: August 11, 2007, 11:02:43 AM by College »

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #22 on: August 11, 2007, 05:15:06 PM »

[/b]

COACH ??? ??? ???thanks for the enlightenment.
How exactly does Anton or any coach get the experience at this level ??? Bennie was a rookie too at some point of his long career!!!
You really think Anton don't know what he's up against...he could probably tell you a whole lot about the Germans and Africans and their youth programs than you might imagine. I'll call Anton and Lincoln to ask them to bring you onto the staff...seems like you have things all figured out :o
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

Offline Coach

CK1 here are some other suggestions for our U-17
« Reply #23 on: August 11, 2007, 09:57:15 PM »
COACH-:
It appears that Anton and staff took your recommendations from the other post about the loss and employed the defensive system which allowed them to score 5 goals while conceding 0. Perhaps it worked well against a team with players of similar age?
Do you have any other worthwhile suggestions for the team and coaching staff and the supporters???

CK1 I am giving my suggestions from my coaching experience.

If anton is playing the defensive system, he needs to remind the kids on a game in game out basis, some basic principles.

Starting with his keeper, just to keep letting him know to stay focus and make the big saves, make good judgements on coming out for through balls and crosses. Have a good understanding with his defenders

Defenders: Must close down fast in and around the penalty area, don't dive in, delay attackers and must get the double team in and around the penalty area. Don't force the off sides, the rule is to confusing for linesmen and they make bad decisions that are costly.

When in attack don't force the ball from in your half, must work it up, from side to side, make the trough pass inside the attacking 1/3.

Very important that they make a physical statement early with some hard tackles on 50-50 balls in the middles of the field, hitting the opposition with some hard tackles early can sometimes put them of their game.

« Last Edit: August 11, 2007, 10:23:21 PM by Coach »

Re: CK1 here are some other suggestions for our U-17
« Reply #24 on: August 11, 2007, 10:46:39 PM »
Boy allyuh talkin bout some basic shit and trying to pass it off as never before seen or heard of coaching ideas...  Anton is what he is but to talk about who cya handle what at this level you mean to say that both of allyuh can handle it at this level???  Appalling to think that your Arm chair coaching skillz would be better than that of the practicing coach of de U-17 team. Mc Comie is ah asshole but ah would take his word more so than de 2 of you... why? because he and Anton is actually doing it... This is de same coach and new found friend CK1 who was talking bout Wim and he coaching a while back like if allyuh could do any better.  This is a message board.. true enough made up of members who have football experience, coaching experience and even a couple X-National players but ah ent See Latas (Falkirk coach) or Dwight (big baller for years) echoing allyuh sentiments. This is because at the end of de day everyone knows that like a man say in de other post, there are so many other factors to consider than to tell some one to not make your tru passes untill yuh reach in de attackin 3rd or to shut down de opponents early in de penalty box and what... double Team??  allyuh think this is Basketball???? 

Ah dont normally make such outburst but oh gorm man... allyuh pissin meh off with this shit.
Why de hell allyuh not in Holland.. yuh resume get caught up in de mail??? Fedex brok down...

Ah dont love it...

Maybe the cloudyness stems from the fact dat Michael Angelo brothe-in-law got yuh....