April 25, 2024, 04:24:17 AM

Author Topic: Carlos pulls up  (Read 2647 times)

Carlos pulls up
« on: August 14, 2005, 07:16:36 AM »
Carlos pulls up
By Shaun Fuentes

Trinidad and Tobago could be forced to go into Wednesday's 2006 World Cup qualifier against United States without midfielder Carlos Edwards after the midfielder pulled up again with his strained thigh following Luton Town's 0-0 with Leeds United on Saturday.

Edwards made an 85th minute appearance but indicated that he felt a tweak after the match and was in an uncomfortable position. He is expected to receive treatment on Sunday morning and may be forced to miss the flight to Connecticut from London.

This means coach Leo Beenhakker will now possibly seek a replacement or go with the current 18-man roster. Defender Cyd Gray also missed Saturday evening's session with a muscle strain.

Scheduled to join the camp on Sunday is Shaka Hislop, Kelvin Jack, Avery John, Kenwyne Jones, Stern John and Scott Sealy. Brent Rahim arrived at the Sheraton Hotel on Saturday night.

Re: Carlos pulls up
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2005, 07:21:54 AM »
Dat is both bad and good news.  Carlos out  :(, but gray might be out too  ;D

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

dats tough on carlos, after going so long without any injuries to be pulling up ever so often.  Dont worry, i am sure he will come back stronger!

Offline Saltanfresh

• Doi! Doi! Doi!....everytime
.......he right dey in Columbus
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2005, 07:50:31 AM »
Well Beenie should consider ah late call fuh Cornel Glen, he right deh in Columbus

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2005, 08:10:35 AM »

He cud put Birchall on the right and Whitley in the middle.

Better he pull up before the game than during ours...doh rush it.

« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2005, 08:16:55 AM »
good point dcs. The positive side to all this, is that we know now, rather than playing a man who cyar give 100% due to injury.

Then again, I eh too fully trust them managers who putting pressure on players to stay back at the slighest injury.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2005, 08:25:04 AM by AlbertaTrini »

« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2005, 08:19:23 AM »
Then again, I eh too fully trust them managers who putting pressure on players to stay back at the slighest injury.

True dat.
Especially Dog...I want to hear it from him.  Not sure what going on with Jones either.
Unless Dog say it himself I eh believe a damn thing Mcleish say.

Where Samuel?
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2005, 09:15:38 AM »
Scheduled to join the camp on Sunday is Shaka Hislop, Kelvin Jack, Avery John, Kenwyne Jones, Stern John and Scott Sealy. Brent Rahim arrived at the Sheraton Hotel on Saturday night.

When Collin Samuel joining de camp? He not even on Dundee United's roster fuh de game against Hearts dat going on right now.

« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2005, 10:39:25 AM »
is ah serious seta jammin in we arse....dem managers keepin back players and den not even playin some....buh say wha at least dey in go so worn out when they reach....de flite go be ah killa doh.

« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2005, 11:25:30 AM »
i find we approaching this game as if we done know that we going and lorse!

« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2005, 11:50:37 AM »

Birchall wide right

Whitley attackin midfielder

Spann defensive mid

Somebody on de leff.

« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2005, 12:05:03 PM »
I did not see Andrews name today for Rangers...

« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2005, 01:01:48 PM »
NICE THOUGHT PALOS BIRCHALL REALLY KEEPS SAYING HE PREFERS THE RIGHT BUT THE REAL QUESTION IS WHO ON THE LEFT??????? WAT BOUT "DARE I SAY IT" TIGER??????

« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2005, 01:44:48 PM »
if carlos out den he cud go with

---- jack ----

--- atiba ----                 ---- lawrence---              ---- dog----                  ---- avery----

---- birchall----               ---- yorke---               ---- seaton---                  ---- samuel or theobald ---

---jones---                --- stern---

« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2005, 02:07:01 PM »
i really like yorke in the middle idea but if dog and cyd are injured and chalres and lawrence in the middle who playing right back????

« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2005, 02:34:08 PM »
i really like yorke in the middle idea but if dog and cyd are injured and chalres and lawrence in the middle who playing right back????

Sancho can play right back.  Or Sancho in the center and Atiba on the right.  To me Cyd's injury is no big deal because I hoped he wouldn't start anyway but Dog would be a big loss.  If both Dog and Cyd are out (which I doubt) we will need to call a replacement or two to have on the bench.  Pierre?  Cox?

To me Carlos injury might be a blessing in disguise.  Beenie really loves this man and would likely start him at all costs (like Stern).  But I didn't see how he could possibly be match fit after missing over a month and playing in one reserve match.  When Edwards had just come back from the injury against the USA in Feb, I find he played real tata in dat game.  He needs to be close to 100% for his game to be effective. 

Either way we have an 18 man squad and only 14 can play so Beenie still has plenty options.  He could go with Birchall on the right OR do what he did in the GC and play Rahim or Theobald or Samuel there (without success).  Or even Jones could play there.  If Birchall goes right, we could go with Spann and Whitely in the middle or let Dwight fall back to midfield and play Jones and Sealy or Stern up front. 

« Reply #15 on: August 14, 2005, 02:35:01 PM »
den u go with sancho on d right and atiba and lawrence in d middle

« Reply #16 on: August 14, 2005, 02:47:48 PM »
Carlos will be missed. What a shame if it's true.  Call up Eve. We need to be more penetrative.  Presshah!

« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2005, 07:53:21 AM »
no carlos should mean brichall on the right for sure yorke and spann middle and usual live body out left-we ok still
jones-stern up top
give it we best shot good luck warriors

« Reply #18 on: August 15, 2005, 01:11:54 PM »
if carlos out den he cud go with

---- jack ----

--- atiba ----                 ---- lawrence---              ---- dog----                  ---- avery----

---- birchall----               ---- yorke---               ---- seaton---                  ---- samuel or theobald ---

---jones---                --- stern---

This is the lineup I would use except I would play Shaka in goal and Spann will start in front of Whitely in defensive mid with Samuel starting on the left.

2nd half subs:

1.  Sealy for Stern if he doing shit as expected
2.  Theobald for Samuel, can't see Samuel lasting a full 90 on the wing against the super fit Yanks
3.  Whitely for Spann.  Spann go be bun after chasing dem Yanks whole day
« Last Edit: August 15, 2005, 01:14:37 PM by arrow »