April 26, 2024, 12:14:34 PM

Author Topic: Tony Warner Thread  (Read 16672 times)

Tony Warner Thread
« on: August 12, 2007, 11:05:41 AM »
Tony Warner looked really good today

Ah wonder if them in the TTFF would consider playing him, or i wonder if he will ever consider play for us again!!

Interesting......

important lesson........dont burn yuh bridges!

« Last Edit: January 28, 2017, 05:43:43 AM by Flex »

Re: Tony Warner
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2007, 11:10:51 AM »
as far as i am aware no bridges  were burnt only 3 keepers coulda go to the world cup i think he big enough to understand that.

he had a descent game 2day  but he isnt the best in the world, so whether he plays or deosnt 4 us . no biggie

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2007, 11:23:55 AM »
One great game does not make a keeper.  He will have to be consistent throughout the season, (if given the opportunity).  He was a substitute so we may not se much of him again.  Who knows?  But today he was excellent!

« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2007, 11:42:08 AM »
why wouldnt he want to play for us again?

He did have a tremendous match against Arsenal...he should be our no.1

« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2007, 11:43:57 AM »
One great game does not make a keeper.  He will have to be consistent throughout the season, (if given the opportunity).  He was a substitute so we may not se much of him again.  Who knows?  But today he was excellent!
The man is held in high regard at Fullham from what I can tell.  Whenever called upon he has always excelled.

« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2007, 05:55:22 PM »
I was thinking about this situation a few weeks ago....

« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2007, 06:11:03 PM »
GK is one of the most stubborn positions in a team in my opinion- I think it takes a lot for a coach to change up his goalkeeping line up- eg repeated blunders, shattered confidence or injury. For Tony to have come in and disrupt our threo of WC goalkeepers it would have taken alot and I think everyone understands that including Tony- no bridges burnt to my knowledge or estimation...

p.s. Surprised no major discussion on the board about Birhingham keeper's nightmare debut performance this weekend

« Last Edit: August 12, 2007, 06:13:35 PM by kicker »

« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2007, 07:29:37 PM »
And  to think that Clayton Ince still suffers in the League 1.  Something aint right!

« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2007, 08:07:10 PM »
Say What - In the peking order - Tony Warner is Number 1  at the moment. After that display today we will be foolish not to give him a call.
 It is all about playing at a high level.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2007, 07:33:02 AM »
why wouldnt he want to play for us again?

He did have a tremendous match against Arsenal...he should be our no.1

one good game is not enough to bring the man to play for us internationally see how he fares with neimi out

i doubt he will keep neimi on the bench, but a few more preformances like that till neimi is fit again and then he should be considerer, but doh forget fulham zat knight save his ass a few times too!

« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2007, 09:58:58 AM »
Since being foolish is d modus operandi of the TTFF he eh gettin no call

« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2007, 12:22:25 PM »
Saw the highlights and de man was possessed.  Great goalkeeping.  We could definitely use de man.  We can't judge him on a single appearance for the Warriors.

« Reply #12 on: August 13, 2007, 10:37:12 PM »
de man play good.... i agree yuh cyah judge a man on one performance but ah mean he is playin at de highest level out of all our keepers and excelling... da sayin sum

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2007, 01:11:42 AM »
Very  good performance by Warner  ...  .  I hope that he still considers himself to be part of our Squad and that he gets a callup.

« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2007, 09:50:12 AM »
aye... de bulla man managed to save good fuh a single game... lets not get ahead of our selves... this is a man well known for letting in the MOST goals in ah season.

i think he is improving... but not enough for us to rue his loss...

Jan is younger and is getting better and better all the time... I don't think we need to rue the loss of ANY 'Warner'

« Reply #15 on: August 14, 2007, 10:17:10 AM »
de man play good.... i agree yuh cyah judge a man on one performance but ah mean he is playin at de highest level out of all our keepers and excelling... da sayin sum

I guess you misunderstood what I meant.  He had one bad performance for the Warriors and men don't really consider him.  If you ask me, he might be the best keeper that we have.  Wim should give de man another call-up.  He could definitely fit in well in time for SA '10 qualifiers.

« Reply #16 on: August 14, 2007, 10:19:50 AM »
aye... de bulla man managed to save good fuh a single game... lets not get ahead of our selves... this is a man well known for letting in the MOST goals in ah season.

Jan is younger and is getting better and better all the time... I don't think we need to rue the loss of ANY 'Warner'

Looks like you haven't seen much of Warner.  This isn't the first time I've seen a top-class performance from him.  He had a nice run in goal for Fulham about two years ago too.  Warner has been around and about for a while; he's just never managed to make any team his own.

« Reply #17 on: August 14, 2007, 10:21:06 AM »
aye... de bulla man managed to save good fuh a single game...

Jefferz, whey that one come from dred?

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #18 on: August 14, 2007, 12:15:03 PM »
no warner for tnt unless he plays all season and is a definitve reason for fulham in d top ten

plus a keeper is as good as his defense, and Zat Knight saved warners blushes a few times

« Reply #19 on: August 14, 2007, 12:54:32 PM »
Warner is also 33 right now by the way.  Just another factor to add into the thought process.

« Reply #20 on: August 14, 2007, 05:21:25 PM »
Warner is also 33 right now by the way.  Just another factor to add into the thought process.

33 kinda old, but then again, Shaka star out in de world cup at age 36!!

The man is a good keeper.......only Shaka can claim to have played at a higher level than him for such a long period of time.

But anyways, the less WARNERS in the dance de better........lol

« Reply #21 on: August 14, 2007, 05:28:26 PM »

Andre lets hope he can show his true calibre by not acting like his TTFF namesake. ;)
« Last Edit: August 14, 2007, 05:49:50 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #22 on: August 14, 2007, 06:18:25 PM »
Warner is also 33 right now by the way.   Just another factor to add into the thought process.

33 kinda old, but then again, Shaka star out in de world cup at age 36!!

The man is a good keeper.......only Shaka can claim to have played at a higher level than him for such a long period of time.

Considering keepers like Lehmann (37), Van der Sar (36), David James (37), Kasey Keller (37), Brad Friedel (36), and even our very own Imps (36)could still hold down a first team spot for club and country Warner may still be able to make a significant contribution towards our 2010 WC campaign.

« Reply #23 on: August 14, 2007, 06:26:09 PM »

Wait nah jefferz,how you know the man is ah bullerman,allyuh was roomates ah wha.......

« Reply #24 on: August 15, 2007, 01:57:19 AM »

Wait nah jefferz,how you know the man is ah bullerman,allyuh was roomates ah wha.......

hoss... when you could string up ah propa diss... come back and try... but fuh now... is bess yuh just hush yuh ass.

"allyuh was roomates ah wha......."

like you hoping fuh ah yes, and double hopin fuh details... you could come wit fassy talk boy... stewps...

How about you post that famously gay topic again... what was it?....

Strangest football injuries?

oh and what was it yuh said...

right, so when someone get called ah bullaman the last person that should try to flip that diss is you.

latahz.

« Reply #25 on: August 15, 2007, 07:56:13 AM »
Good point Firebrand.

I think it is sad that the so called experts on this site like to call this man a shithound but yet still could tolerate kelvin jack!!

If i had my way, he would have gone to the world cup in place of Ince (who walked out on the team against mexico)!

But knowing the TTFF, they aint going and call him!!

« Reply #26 on: August 15, 2007, 09:09:42 AM »
Goalkeepers usually peak between 31 and 35, so Warner being 33 is a plus

« Reply #27 on: August 15, 2007, 09:12:21 AM »

« Reply #28 on: August 15, 2007, 01:10:09 PM »
2000: GOAL Fulham 0-1 Bolton
Fulham might well have been bossing the territory, but Bolton are winning. Tony Warner was in wonderful form at Arsenal, but he has had a nightmare here. He may as well be playing on Elm Street. The keeper grabs a long throw from Nicky Hunt and as he moves forward to release the ball it slips from his grasp and old boy Heidar Helguson taps in.

:-\

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #29 on: August 15, 2007, 01:25:03 PM »
lol i now gonna post this
 but fulham 2-1 up now