March 29, 2024, 02:00:38 AM

Author Topic: NFL - Michael Vick and Dogfighting  (Read 5661 times)

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
NFL - Michael Vick and Dogfighting
« on: July 19, 2007, 06:38:42 AM »
Michael Vick was indicted on approximately 5 counts in relation to dog fighting!!!  He has been plastered in every news network...including The Daily Show!!  Why would you even put yourself in that situation?  Whether he is guilty or innocent, he has already been ripped in the media.  One comment compared him to Kobe in terms of losing endorsements and missing team games beacuse of court hearings.  The difference, to me, is that Kobe was the poster child of the NBA, real squeezie clean image contrary to Mr. Vick.  And you know what, at the beginning of last season, it was his brother, Marcus who was the bad boy coming out of Virgina Tech and ppl thought he would not see a NFL field - my how the tides have turn.
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

Re: NFL - Michael Vick and Dogfighting
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2007, 09:38:34 AM »
Send him to the Toronto Argonauts in the CFL if the NFL don t want him .We ll put him with Ricky Williams and be CFL Champions for the next 4 years  :devil:

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2007, 09:46:29 AM »
they investigatin this ting months now.he in some hot water.

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2007, 12:30:00 PM »
steups me ent know what does do these fellas.  if it is true u mean to tell me with all that money he couldnt do anything else but fight dogs.  man i woulda have some race horses or some boats or some kinda shyt.

« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2007, 08:14:30 PM »
it is very sad that people would make money this way
yes there are some real sick people in this world.

here are some allegations about the charges

"When a Bad Newz Kennels dog was wounded in a losing fight, NFL star Michael Vick was consulted before the animal was doused with water and electrocuted. That’s just one of the gruesome details that emerged Tuesday when the Atlanta Falcons quarterback and three others were indicted by a federal grand jury…
About eight young dogs were put to death at the Surry County home after they were found not ready to fight in April 2007, the indictment said. They were killed “by hanging, drowning and/or slamming at least one dog’s body to the ground.”
“Some of the grisly details in these filings shocked even me, and I’m a person who faces this stuff every day,” Goodwin said. “I was surprised to see that they were killing dogs by hanging them, and one dog was killed by slamming it to the ground. Those are extremely violent methods of execution — they’re unnecessary and just sick.”…
Before fights, participating dogs of the same sex would be weighed and bathed, according to the filings. Opposing dogs would be washed to remove any poison or narcotic placed on the dog’s coat that could affect the other dog’s performance.
Sometimes, dogs weren’t fed to “make it more hungry for the other dog.”
Fights would end when one dog died or with the surrender of the losing dog, which was sometimes put to death by drowning, strangulation, hanging, gun shot, electrocution or some other method, according to the documents."
« Last Edit: July 26, 2007, 09:16:18 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2007, 01:08:15 AM »
Send him to the Toronto Argonauts in the CFL if the NFL don t want him .We ll put him with Ricky Williams and be CFL Champions for the next 4 years  :devil:

yuh know ricky williams ent on the argos again right?
but smart money says this dead beat ends up in Toronto where the rest of the hasbeens/deadbeats go to die (anysport)  :rotfl:  ;)
« Last Edit: July 27, 2007, 01:17:09 AM by ricky »

« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2007, 03:43:19 PM »
as if the dog charges wasnt bad enough

now ah man say he was usin pit bulls for terrorism  :D

america full ah effin mad ppl oui

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,293268,00.html

« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2007, 03:51:35 PM »
as if the dog charges wasnt bad enough
now ah man say he was usin pit bulls for terrorism  :D
america full ah effin mad ppl oui
http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,293268,00.html
dis is de best line
"Riches wants $63 billion dollars “backed by gold and silver::) delivered to the front gates to the Williamsburg Federal Correctional facility in South Carolina. Riches is an inmate at the facility serving out a wire fraud conviction. :rotfl: " he musbe trying a new tact dis time :rotfl: :rotfl:
« Last Edit: August 14, 2007, 04:29:28 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2007, 08:49:40 PM »

but smart money says this dead beat ends up in Toronto where the rest of the hasbeens/deadbeats go to die (anysport)  :rotfl:  ;)
Actually at the time of the post ,I was not sure .Ricky Williams only sign for one year  ???I say it for moreAlso I tought Micheal was just fighting them ,NOT tururinng the animals in new fun and different ways  :thumbsdown:.He really let me down ,so much talent so dumb steuppssss .Hes finished .
Also I ddi not know the oils can t sign any free agents ,that sucks  :rotfl:
« Last Edit: August 14, 2007, 10:16:20 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2007, 08:33:15 AM »

Actually at the time of the post ,I was not sure .Ricky Williams only sign for one year  ???I say it for moreAlso I tought Micheal was just fighting them ,NOT tururinng the animals in new fun and different ways  :thumbsdown:.He really let me down ,so much talent so dumb steuppssss .Hes finished .
Also I ddi not know the oils can t sign any free agents ,that sucks  :rotfl:

ricky signed for 1 year during his drug ban from the NFL with hopes to be back in the NFL this year but
he failed another drug test tho so the NFL said see ya.  i think it was a mutual thing that he didnt come back to the Argos, nether of them wanted each other lol

For the people who follow the OTHER football...
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2007, 05:02:43 AM »
before the mods inevitably move this post,

what allyuh men think about wha going on with Micael Vick?

This man is like the equivalent of Ronaldinho in the US and he just blew it big time...

Offline mal jeux

Re: For the people who follow the OTHER football...
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2007, 05:38:26 AM »
Dem people moving like if is human the man was dealing with, is DOG! Same dog they want to kill when it bite people.

this is blown out of proportion in my books.

how bout all dem hadback man who does be riding horse for money? now that is advantage, poor little horsie!
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2007, 05:50:17 AM »
maybe some people look at this situation from this viewpoint
http://www.columbia.edu/cu/augustine/arch/teresa94.html

Re: For the people who follow the OTHER football...
« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2007, 06:18:23 PM »
before the mods inevitably move this post,

what allyuh men think about wha going on with Micael Vick?

This man is like the equivalent of Ronaldinho in the US and he just blew it big time...

IF again....piss way million$$ over ah hobby

america full ah mad people oui

« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2007, 08:12:02 PM »
Here is the story.

All the breathless debates about Michael Vick are missing the point. The
bigger issue has nothing to do with whether or not he deserves the right of
due process, or whether NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell should suspend him,
or whether Atlanta Falcons owner Arthur Blank should enable him or give him
tough love. It's not even about whether or not Nike should be launching
another designer shoe with his name on it.

All of those are minor distractions from a much larger and far more
significant issue. Here's the real brainteaser that we need to get a handle
on:

How did someone like Michael Vick ever come to exist?

Are we really ready to have that conversation? Do we dare explore how a
young man of such unique athletic gifts and such obvious on-field marketing
appeal was allowed to turn into just another unfortunate mug shot and
potential ruined life? How did that remarkable athlete get a $100 million
contract with the Falcons, become Nike's poster boy, rake in endorsements
from airlines and cell phone companies, then find himself on the verge of
blowing it all because of an incredible tale that seems to come straight
out of some hardcore gangsta rap video?

We can save the "presumption of innocence" conversation for another time. As improbable as it might sound, technically, there's a possibility that Vick actually could own a house, rent it out to his relatives and be dumb or naive enough to not know that there was a dog-fighting enterprise going on in the back yard. The U.S. Constitution provides Vick with the right a n d opportunity to prove that preposterous possibility to a jury of his peers.

I am far more interested in how it all came apart for Vick and why it keeps
coming apart for too many black athletes in America. The ultimate symbols
of black athletes in our society used to be men of substance and positive
image. Men with social conscience and resolve such as Jackie Robinson, Curt
Flood, Jim Brown, Bill Russell and John Thompson used to be our heroes.
They carried a burden and deep-rooted responsibility to portray themselves
with a sense of dignity, pride and pur po se. Even the cool, counter-culture
rebels such as Muhammad Ali and Tommie Smith and John Carlos stood for
something more meaningful than a multimillion-dollar shoe deal.

But somewhere between Jackie Robinson and Michael Vick, things got all
fouled up. "Street cred" became the anthem of the modern black athlete,
this misguided notion that the only way to appeal to the young demographic
of the sneaker-buying public was to adopt the negative attitudes of the
thug life popularized by black hip-hop/gangster rappers. According to the
18-page federal indictment, Vick is accused of sponsoring the sort of
gruesome dogfighting enterprise that is readily identified as a part of the
dark side of that culture.

So that's how someone like Michael Vick came into existence. He got
hijacked, and we all let it happen. We let it happen by passively condoning
this mess. We did it when we turned Allen Iverson into a marketing icon and
rejected someone like Grant Hill because he lacked "street cred." We
allowed it to happen every time we gave Vick the benefit of the doubt when
he kept stumbling and offering weak alibis for his stupidity. We allowed it
to happen slowly, insidiously over the past 20 years. The problem is the
hijacking of African-American culture by the hip-hop generation that has
helped glorify every rotten, foul and disgusting racial stereotype it took
generations to eradicate.

The minstrels used to show up in black face, shuckin' and jivin' like Amos
and Andy or Stepin Fetchit. Now they come in baggy pants sagging over their
butts, glamorizing thug life and prison fashion, legitimizing derogatory
racial insults into the mainstream, and convincing an entire generation
that this is the measure of true blackness and anyone who bucks this system
is either a racist, hopelessly out of touch or a sad Uncle Tom.

Fortunately, not everyone is buying into this nonsense. We're at war, and
we have identified the enemy. "We have to start making sure folks
understand who the 'Toms' really are," says my man on the other side of the
state, Kansas City Star columnist Jason Whitlock. "It's the gangsters on
the corner who are killing black folks. It's the idiots who are on TV
rapping about it and glorifying it. We have to make black people understand
those are the real sellouts, not the ones who refuse to accept it."

« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2007, 11:01:04 PM »
now this is ah nosedive

« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2007, 06:47:58 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bgwPa_K2Yo

WARNING:
the video below contains graphic stuff
only hard asses should watch
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgK7K-NzWRQ&mode=related&search=
« Last Edit: August 27, 2007, 07:04:16 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #17 on: August 29, 2007, 08:57:28 AM »

Rough no arse ... or is it ruff, ruff, no arse ... heheheh :rotfl:

« Reply #19 on: August 30, 2007, 10:19:32 AM »
Regardless of what PETA may say, somehow I sense the ire would have been different if it was cockfighting. Dogs have always been viewed as exceptional.

« Reply #20 on: August 30, 2007, 02:14:53 PM »
Fowl don't wag they tail or lick yuh hand when you reach home. They don't protect your house or show you love even after yuh beat them. -JMHO

Blessings

« Reply #21 on: August 30, 2007, 09:07:24 PM »
So them activist sat they  have to killl all the dogs eh  :rotfl: ,but that what he had to do .

« Reply #23 on: September 05, 2007, 11:42:32 AM »

« Reply #24 on: December 10, 2007, 09:25:46 AM »
« Last Edit: December 10, 2007, 11:53:31 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #25 on: December 10, 2007, 09:43:28 PM »
dias all he get..23 months???  ::)
steups

« Reply #26 on: December 12, 2007, 07:54:24 PM »
Regardless of what PETA may say, somehow I sense the ire would have been different if it was cockfighting. Dogs have always been viewed as exceptional.

exactly.

there's even a famous episode of Seinfeld where Kramer gets involved in cockfighting.  it never inspired any revulsion. 

« Last Edit: December 12, 2007, 09:25:48 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #28 on: December 20, 2007, 10:08:23 PM »
Fowl don't wag they tail or lick yuh hand when you reach home. They don't protect your house or show you love even after yuh beat them. -JMHO

Zandolie, de thing is PETA's mandate is the 'ethical treatment' of animals. The gauge is not the perceived utility of the animal in question or its friendliness. Dahs why I say 'regardless of what PETA may say' ... last week ah finally geh a chance to watch FAST FOOD NATION ... dem in all dat kinda ting so ... right now one a dey biggest campaigns deals with swine and de way they are slaughtered ... and nuff ppl go be real hard pressed to find a positive use for a pig.