March 28, 2024, 03:21:52 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Colombia U-17 Game.  (Read 30474 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Colombia U-17 Game.
« Reply #120 on: August 23, 2007, 06:50:43 AM »

The team is not playing that badly.  The columbians are very skilfull.  This really is the group of death.

Well what would you consider badly,maybe a scoreline of 10-0 or 13-0,look stop playing osterich and get your head out of the sand...........

« Reply #121 on: August 23, 2007, 06:50:49 AM »
4-0 Colombia.....ah really needed to see dis team wid mih own 2 eyes yes.....cuz ah cyar understand how it was de most prepared team we had in a while and we getting an apparent lesson(s) in football...

Hopefully this will open up peoples eyes, we have a long way to go in our development, our most prepared team when put to the test on the world stage were not up to par....we have to build on this performance and continue to progress...

« Reply #122 on: August 23, 2007, 06:51:21 AM »
Ha...

Commentator: "Trinidad and Tobago have played a high line tonight and on many occasions they have been punished for it!"

So after that Ghana game we continue to play so high?? ha ha

« Reply #123 on: August 23, 2007, 06:51:35 AM »
Touches I just re-read your comment about de team after de Ghana game and your comment above is a total 360 turn around....

What is de difference between dat game and this one??

« Reply #124 on: August 23, 2007, 06:52:47 AM »
Ha...

Commentator: "Trinidad and Tobago have played a high line tonight and on many occasions they have been punished for it!"

Especially when the men at the back not fast enough to recover when it break,

« Reply #125 on: August 23, 2007, 06:56:43 AM »
TT starting to tire....it showin..

Starting to tire....yuh serious??.....only 30 mins gone.....
Colombia is just a stronger and more physically intimidating opponent than Ghana...
Men talking bout we players in the gym and we players big. Them boys scrawny scrawny. Them in de gym doing aerobics?

« Reply #126 on: August 23, 2007, 06:58:15 AM »
Ha...

All the blame falls on the backline, but where was the attack- We were poor all over the field.

« Reply #127 on: August 23, 2007, 06:59:51 AM »
 The second half goals were scored between the 60th  min and 72nd min.

12 mins to receive 4 goals.

That stat have to do with mental toughness.

« Reply #128 on: August 23, 2007, 07:02:09 AM »
 :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead:

« Reply #129 on: August 23, 2007, 07:02:30 AM »
hope the core of this squad stays together to make the u20 team

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #130 on: August 23, 2007, 07:03:26 AM »

The team is not playing that badly.  The columbians are very skilfull.  This really is the group of death.

Well what would you consider badly,maybe a scoreline of 10-0 or 13-0,look stop playing osterich and get your head out of the sand...........

The first 4 goals by Columbia were quality goals.   It seems as though we gave up after the first goal.  Them fellas need to be more agressive on the ball. 

« Reply #131 on: August 23, 2007, 07:04:27 AM »
Is a hard luck for this young fellas.

Columbia have a set of hard back over age men, no one can convice me otherwise.

But we not ready for this level.

These men playing for top knotch pro teams and looking for overseas contract.

we players just finish playing intercol.

I think the team look good, yes they give up goals mainly because of lack of experience, that cause you to get goals in bunches

but over all for large periods of the game they competed well.

we also are quite capable in the area of possesion we just need a more physical presence up front so we could turn possession into chances.

is a hard luck but the issue is not coaching or lack of effort.

just a different level.

You cannot take a Primary School team to go and play against an intercol side.

You cannot take a TnT local team to go and play "World" Football.

We see it with W connection vs Mexico
We see it with the U17
We see it in the Gold Cup

Develop the Local football or continue to fall by the wayside

« Reply #132 on: August 23, 2007, 07:04:51 AM »
Ha...

All the blame falls on the backline, but where was the attack- We were poor all over the field.
Oh, no doubt. I was just focusing on this high offside trap stupidness they keep playing when they doh have the personnel to execute it.

« Reply #133 on: August 23, 2007, 07:06:16 AM »
meh timing was a little off, ah finally log onto ESPN360.com for the first time and see smiling faces faces of de Colombian team during their warmdown after de game. den ah see highlights of de goals. 5-0!

« Reply #134 on: August 23, 2007, 07:06:37 AM »
Why?...Why?....Why?.... :banginghead: :banginghead:

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #135 on: August 23, 2007, 07:06:45 AM »
The second half goals were scored between the 60th  min and 72nd min.

12 mins to receive 4 goals.

That stat have to do with mental toughness.

agree .   The team literally gave up after the first goal.

« Reply #136 on: August 23, 2007, 07:14:55 AM »

Fazeer Mohammed was saying dat in he article yesterday.....

We see it with the U17

Wasn't dis a major discussion point last year....when there talk of taking de players out of Intercol/Secondary school League?
I remember at the Seminar for professionals discussion on football in June, the manager of W Connection made the point that the SSFL needs to partner with the professional clubs to further develop the football.......
Our performance in this tournament may prove his point eh?

But yuh see ah never see dis team wid mih own 2 eyes and there was a lot of hope for them....so I eh know what went wrong.....

« Reply #137 on: August 23, 2007, 07:19:21 AM »
anyone who blame the backline 4 anything but the last 2 goals looking 4 ah scape goat

y yorke came back...cause we didnt have a midfield......we seeing where it starts from

the midfiellders not even winning ah tackle much less making an accurate pass

the right and left midfielders not supporting their wing backs enough hence every team walks down our flanks.........everyone who steps unto a football field has played the 442 formation. if we had the formation it wasnt been played on the field

paul non  existant, oonly cross we get was from bateau who was a  late sub

descent performance from adams , good work from cyrus except 4 the last goal when he was very wide and had to chase back.
samuel saved all that he was expected to

knox needs service  4 ppl to see him steupsss he not getting it. but he is ah good player

consistent things in tnt football through all age groups

we havent had a creative midfielder since latapy

we cant mark to save we life...1st 2 goals were free headers i believe

we are ball  watchers.....hence we have limited movement off the ball

minus beenie ball we never seem to play to a game plan

we have one game , we must not hang our heads but take we licks and learn from it

« Reply #138 on: August 23, 2007, 07:21:38 AM »

We see it with the U17

Wasn't dis a major discussion point last year....when there talk of taking de players out of Intercol/Secondary school League?
I remember at the Seminar for professionals discussion on football in June, the manager of W Connection made the point that the SSFL needs to partner with the professional clubs to further develop the football.......

But yuh see ah never see dis team wid mih own 2 eyes and there was a lot of hope for them....so I eh know what went wrong.....

We have to do things a little different but take ideas from elsewhere.

We have to have a school for elite athletes and it have to be from 11+ level.
Imagine if we could put the exceptional kids in an environment that allows them to learn the rudiments of the sport they are in from an early age without the interference of everything else that goes on in a kids life in Trinidad ?
They would be physically developed because of specific training regimes and diets at the same time teams would develop and all the academics would also be taught so that the reasoning side would also be developed.

« Reply #139 on: August 23, 2007, 07:24:29 AM »

We see it with the U17

How we go just mash up years of tradition, de school spirit, sense of pride etc...intercol is where de action is...is real smallies yuh go be pulling, and yuh cyah deprive de fellas of dey lil pips...come nah man  ;D

« Reply #140 on: August 23, 2007, 07:35:37 AM »
steupsssssssss ah still vex oui  going and sweat some fifa to cool down

« Reply #141 on: August 23, 2007, 07:36:47 AM »

True dat.....

« Reply #142 on: August 23, 2007, 07:53:16 AM »
The defense wasn't to blame as much as many of you claim. The marking on the corners was poor. Not sure who was supposed to pick up the scorers..defenders, midfielders, forwards? Dunno, The defense most times kept its shape and made some vital tackles. They looked it a bit flat at times.

However, the central midfield was non existant defensively. The Colombian playmaker was free every time to collect the ball, face our goal and string passes under little pressure. All game long. I am amazed we never put someone to mark him out of the 2nd half. That is like playing against France and purposefully not marking Zidane, or T&T and not marking Latas. You could have the best defense in the world..you will get picked apart time after time. Not sure if playing deeper would have helped or been more detrimental given the space the midfield was giving up.

Real bad loss...but all in all I am happy the boys are there instead of watching it on TV. This is great for T&T football. We get real rough up..but there will be a few who will step up to another level because of this experience.

BIG SIDE
T&T FOREVER
« Last Edit: August 23, 2007, 08:08:18 AM by Filho »

« Reply #143 on: August 23, 2007, 08:07:29 AM »

True dat.....

We need to disband this side and put together a full squad of imported foreign-based half trinis

Offline Trinitim

« Reply #144 on: August 23, 2007, 08:18:46 AM »

I hope we learn from this tournament!!!! Because it is VERY EVIDENT that all the heart and commitment the guys play with they were lacking in so many areas on the field.Superior strength speed and technical ability I just hope we see how far the gap is between us and the wider fotballing world. 1-0 or even 2-0 you will say the guys more or less close in terms of ability but 4 and 5 goals is more than a EYE OPENER we ain't ready yet at least at the Youth level. We does let the 9-0 beating Bahamas and they soft Caribbean team put us in a comfort zone and then we getting we tail wash like if we is Bahamas or Dominica or something. The goals will flow I sure we getting about at least 5 from Germany and they will not let us of the hook. OUR DEFENDING IS TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #145 on: August 23, 2007, 08:19:21 AM »
Ha...

Dem fellas looking weak and slow.... :-\

I eh know I only see de last 10-15 mins....

second best in all categories... dey ent fighting at all

I agree with u dey kicker... we was poor all over..

the question now is...

what is Haiti doing that so different? i.e. yielding results

« Reply #146 on: August 23, 2007, 08:20:44 AM »
The defense wasn't to blame as much as many of you claim. The marking on the corners was poor. Not sure who was supposed to pick up the scorers..defenders, midfielders, forwards? Dunno, The defense most times kept its shape and made some vital tackles. They looked it a bit flat at times.

However, I central midfield was non existant defensively. The Colombian playmaker was free every time to collect the ball, face our goal and string passes under little pressure. All game long. I am amazed we never put someone to mark him out of the 2nd half. That is like playing against France and purposefully not marking Zidane, or T&T and not marking Latas. You could have the best defense in the world..you will get picked apart time after time. Not sure if playing deeper would have helped or been more detrimental given the space the midfield was giving up.

Real bad loss...but all in all I am happy the boys are there instead of watching it on TV. This is great for T&T football. We get real rough up..but there will be a few who will step up to another level because of this experience.

BIG SIDE
T&T FOREVER

Yeah when the midfield cannot possess the ball for periods at a time, and the forwards get no service, the wingers commit to the attack and don't get the ball, there will be glaring gaps in the field for the opposition to come strolling through when the play breaks down. All the comments here seem to put the blame of our defense, but our defense actually held position for the most part, and they were constantly on the back foot because the other areas of the field don't make it any easier for them.

End of day, we are behind the curve in every aspect of the game, and it shows- size & physicality, technique, movement off the ball, maintaining shape, quickness on and off the ball, creativity & imagination, robustness in 50/50 tackles & individual skill (yes individual skill too)...but like I said from the beginning, only a dreamer would expect us to come into this tournament and win games- it's no secret that our football is behind the curve in every dept, and until the footballing infrastructure in T&T is revamped it will always be the case- the biggest benefit for us coming out of this would be for a few of our youth players to make that step to the next level- because I'm convinced that there are one or two youths in the team who have the potential to do it- I just pray that they get the needed break. It starts there- we qualify for these youth tourneys, and a few players step up to the next level, if we continue to qualify consistently, we can possibly get a few to keep making that step up- the more players we have playing at a higher level- the better our senior team will be down the road as they will have a mix of the older heads and some youths who play professionally. If none of these boys are on our WC 2010 team, that'd be a shame.

Until significant improvements in football development take place in T&T, we cannot hope for success at the youth level- the most we can do is hope that a few youth players get the exposure and opportunities to step up to a higher level and feed our senior team piece by piece and give us some continuity at the senior level.  

« Reply #147 on: August 23, 2007, 08:22:19 AM »
I guess many of us now realise that we are not as good as we thought we were... so some obviously disillusioned posters need to let off some steam ...that is understandable...but why do we continue to build up our expectations when the evidence is there to suggest otherwise ?

We can take some positives from this though, and take it as a start..... to bulid on this we must accept that we need to climb a few steps to be able to compete with the " regulars '.

I will keep harping on our reluctance to learn from the best .....Brazil and argentina rule football at the youth level with Brazil still rated the world's number 1 at senior level according to the latest FIFA poll.Is it too costly to hire a developmental coach from either of these two nations to help us make the improvements that our young players need ? Or are we going to continue the pick a side before a tournament approach ?

I dont subscribe to the view that we simply use this side as the basis for the next level doing the same things, as we cant expect any different result than what the other age groups are getting now.

Our team and players just fade away with time rather than show improvements so we are always scouting just before a tournament ....

We need a developmental coach with agood track record  ....
Development at the expense of immediate results !
our results aren't good anyway so what do we have to lose ?.....on the other hand what do we have to gain ?
I am sure someone will say ...but Jai boy you say dat already ! yes dats true and ah saying it aaagain !

« Reply #148 on: August 23, 2007, 08:42:34 AM »
what a facking disaster my lord  :-X  :banginghead:

« Reply #149 on: August 23, 2007, 08:42:51 AM »
I think the coach has to take alot of blame for that loss....ego is a hell of a thing...you cant see that after you get run ragged against ghana playing 4 in the back and a high offside setup was probably the worst thing you could do? that is why you have to rate beenie, cause I think he would have started 5 in the back, and try to frustrate the columbians who needed to win to advance...colombia pace on the wings and the ability of the number 10 was too much today...we know ( or should know) we not of the same quality and standard of the rest of this group...you had to take a very defensive approach to this world cup because those guys are more developed, some are already with premier clubs in the various leagues, and they eat, sleep and breathe football..
Against germany, if we play 442 we looking for about 5 again...and is not the fault of the players..
my 2 cents