March 29, 2024, 07:24:57 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Germany U-17 Game  (Read 3409 times)

Online Tallman

Thread for the T&T vs Germany U-17 Game
« on: August 25, 2007, 10:26:26 PM »
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the U-17 game vs Germany will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at;

1. Live Internet Coverage 1

2. Live Internet Coverage 2

3. Live Internet Coverage 3

26th, Aug, 2007 at 6 AM EST.

TV-Listing:

For TV-Listing - click here.

Squad List:

Trinidad & Tobago:

Nr.NameDate of BirthPositionClubHeightWeight
1Jesse FULLERTON20/10/1990GKWeston Fury (USA)18490
2Aubrey DAVID11/10/1990DFW Connection (TRI)18972
3Ryan O NEIL11/03/1990DFDefence Force (TRI)18776
4Sheldon BATEAU29/01/1991DFSan Juan Jabloteh (TRI)18980
5Akeem ADAMS13/04/1991MFW Connection (TRI)18781
6Leston PAUL11/03/1990MFDefence Force (TRI)16359
7Brenton BALBOSA09/05/1990DFDefence Force (TRI)17171
8Sean DE SILVA17/01/1990MFSuperstar Rangers (TRI)17162
9Aaron MAUND19/09/1990MFGreater Boston (USA)18477
10Stephen KNOX03/09/1990FWSan Juan Jabloteh (TRI)17666
11Daniel JOSEPH28/07/1990FWSan Juan Jabloteh (TRI)17665
12Robert PRIMUS10/11/1990DFSan Juan Jabloteh (TRI)18778
13Stephan CAMPBELL26/08/1990MFUnited Petrotrin (TRI)18476
14Jean Luc ROCHFORD10/11/1990DFJoe Public (TRI)17470
15Chike SULLIVAN16/10/1991MFSan Juan Jabloteh (TRI)18467
16Marcus JOSEPH29/04/1991FWUnited Petrotrin (TRI)16961
17Daneil CYRUS15/12/1990DFStokely Vale (TRI)19263
18Micah LEWIS20/03/1990MFSan Juan Jabloteh (TRI)17165
19Kevin MOLINO17/06/1990MFSan Juan Jabloteh (TRI)17155
20Kern CAESAR13/01/1991GKVictory Christian Academy (USA)18472
21Glenroy SAMUEL05/04/1990GKSan Juan Jabloteh (TRI)17974

Germany:
Nr.NameDate of BirthPositionClubHeightWeight
1Fabian GIEFER17/05/1990GKBayer Leverkusen (GER)19583
2Kai EVERS05/05/1990DFBorussia Dortmund (GER)18072
3Jonas STRIFLER30/01/1990DFTSG Hoffenheim (GER)17069
4Nils TEIXEIRA10/07/1990DFBayer Leverkusen (GER)17561
5Konstantin RAUSCH15/03/1990MFHannover 96 (GER)17867
6Kevin WOLZE09/03/1990MFBolton Wanderers (ENG)17469
7Henning SAUERBIER06/01/1990FWBayer Leverkusen (GER)   17062
8Patrick FUNK11/02/1990MFVfB Stuttgart (GER)17773
9Richard SUKUTA-PASU24/06/1990FWBayer Leverkusen (GER)18479
10Toni KROOS04/01/1990MFBayern Munich (GER)18068
11Dennis DOWIDAT10/01/1990FWBorussia Moenchengladbach (GER)17260
12Rene VOLLATH20/03/1990GKNuremberg (GER)18375
13Mehmet EKICI25/03/1990MFBayern Munich (GER)18070
14Matthias HAAS17/04/1990DFBayern Munich (GER)18071
15Tony JANTSCHKE07/04/1990MFBorussia Moenchengladbach (GER)17769
16Sebastian RUDY28/02/1990MFVfB Stuttgart (GER)17772
17Alexander ESSWEIN25/03/1990FWKaiserslautern (GER)18175
18Mario ERB16/06/1990DFBayer Leverkusen (GER)18267
19Fabian BROGHAMMER14/01/1990FWTSG Hoffenheim (GER)17564
20Sascha BIGALKE08/01/1990MFHertha Berlin (GER)16754
21Kevin TRAPP08/07/1990GKKaiserslautern (GER)18977

Germany aim for group win
FIFA.com

Germany have almost achieved their first goal at the FIFA U-17 World Cup Korea 2007, namely getting through to the Round of 16. In their final Group F match in Changwon on Sunday against Trinidad and Tobago, a draw will be enough to see them through to the knockout stage.

Heiko Herrlich's youngsters want more than just a share of the points, however. Due to their inferior goal difference, Germany are currently behind Colombia in second place. The South Americans face a tough final match against Ghana though, meaning that a good win for the Europeans against T&T should be enough to see Germany through as group winners. Germany would thus avoid playing favourites Brazil in the next round, the "reward" for the team finishing second.

Germany's task is clear, therefore. "We want to win, make sure of our place in the next round and hopefully end up top of the group," outlined Herrlich, who will no doubt rotate his squad for the match. Defender Konstantin Rausch is suspended after being sent off for two bookable offences against Ghana, while six other players are all on one yellow card already and thus under the threat of a one-match ban if they pick up another caution against Trinidad.

In terms of injuries, however, things are looking more positive. Centre-forward Richard Sukuta-Pasu, who had to be taken off during the Ghana match after suffering a bruised shin bone, is fit for Sunday's match. Captain Toni Kroos, two goals to his name already, took a knock to his calf in the last match but will be available for selection. The signs all point to Germany finishing off a successful group phase with a win on Sunday therefore.

Playmaker Kroos' importance to the team was underlined against Ghana. The captain put in his second dominant performance in midfield in as many matches after his impressive display in the opener against Colombia. The Bayern Munich prodigy is not the only German youngster to have caught the eye thus far at the FIFA U-17 World Cup however. Wingers Dennis Dowidat and Sascha Bigalke have also impressed.

"What we've got is a really good team spirit," enthused Bigalke. "You could see that when we were down to ten men against Ghana and held onto our lead. We looked good up front and fought hard at the back, and we want to do the same in the third group match to qualify for the Round of 16 as group winner."
« Last Edit: August 27, 2007, 06:36:33 AM by Tallman »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Germany U-17 Game
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2007, 10:47:43 PM »
i say all ya wasnt doin it again....

wha all ay tink....ring the changes..or stik with d same side

i say give some men a run...strong players like bateau, fullerton or caesar (never saw him though..only head about him) and o'neill...

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2007, 04:07:52 AM »
1-0 already, this could be a cricket score
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2007, 04:41:11 AM »
4-0 in the first half? We need defenders!!

« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2007, 04:56:13 AM »
They were lookin' half decent for a little while but this is an extremely poor defensive showing now. The team fightin hard but some players just ball watching

and losin concentration. That right side is LEAKY! The players bun, Cyrus runnin hard but like he was gettin stitches just before the last goal. Maund and Lewis

fading in and out of the game. Like the other teams before they are overpowering T&T with speed and strength. I jus hope the psychological damage on these

young men is not too great. If they recover from this we have hope. We could really use a sports psychologist now!

Blessings

« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2007, 04:56:57 AM »
Ah know Corneal get us to the Finals, but still I must critisise one thing. Why does he persist with this high line in defence, I thought when yuh have slow defenders you should play deep rather than the opposite way around. Two of the four goals was down to lack of pace and communication from defenders. We start of bright spreading the play with the attackers running well off the ball, but after Maund (?) second chance when he shoot straight at the German GK...we jus start long ball sh*t.

This is hard to watch especially as this is pretty much the German second string.

« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2007, 05:00:57 AM »
I cannot get the game.....what allyuh watchin' it on?

« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2007, 05:02:05 AM »
I'm in the Uk so getting the FIFA stream.

« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2007, 05:05:09 AM »
Rodney, speed is a relative term yes! These defenders were speed demons in the CFU and among the best in CONCACAF. If we had sent them on just one

African tour they would have a clue what was about to face them. Well their horizons just got broadened. In spite of all this I still give this team props for giving

just for fighting to get here in the first place. commentator just say Caribbean teams need to play the worlds best on a regular basis AND improve physically.

Steups, everybody here know dat.

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2007, 05:11:24 AM »
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2007, 05:14:51 AM »
Rodney, speed is a relative term yes! These defenders were speed demons in the CFU and among the best in CONCACAF. If we had sent them on just one

African tour they would have a clue what was about to face them. Well their horizons just got broadened. In spite of all this I still give this team props for giving

just for fighting to get here in the first place. commentator just say Caribbean teams need to play the worlds best on a regular basis AND improve physically.

Steups, everybody here know dat.

Yuh miss meh point. I'm fully aware of our level. I'm saying Corneal now knows his players cannot keep pace with the players from "better" nations, so why stick with a strategy that will so obiviously expose our flaws.

« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2007, 05:24:31 AM »
Which is exactly my point as well, if speed is relative then you change to suit tactics, but coaching skill is relative too. I think the coaching staff seriously

underestimated the physical ability of the opposition and coached this technique too much in practice. Now perhaps they are not confident enough to change to

suit.

Blessings

« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2007, 05:34:42 AM »
I cannot get the game.....what allyuh watchin' it on?

This link work for pretty much every game in the 1st round.

mms://rth2000.no-ip.org/telehorizon-telehorizon-100

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2007, 05:53:08 AM »
final score ger 5 TT  0  :'( :'(
All American

« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2007, 06:07:23 AM »
I hope T&T learned something truely substantial from this experience. Unfortunately I can't say that they demonstrated any great improvement as they progressed through their games. Don't get me wrong they played better than I thought they would, its just a shame they did'nt seem to be putting lessons learned into practice on the pitch. They seemed very one dimensional.

Still proud, it was clear they were trying hard each game.

« Reply #15 on: August 26, 2007, 06:55:51 AM »
Big props to our Under 17 team and the coaching staff for getting us to this world cup. They played the best their preparations afforded them. They

held the midfield in the 2nd half but the Germans had already dropped back somewhat and were playing for the counter. Da Silva looked good and used his space

well,  considering. I only hope the youths were not too discouraged and come back stronger as our 2009 u-20s. I wonder if Corneal will remain the coach? I hope

he too can progress to the next step? We still need coaches with his level of experience in T&T. He WILL have to take the post-mortem heat and explain his

rationale in using the D to support attack after all those goals scored. Frankly Wim job lookin a bit more secure now.

Blessings

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #16 on: August 26, 2007, 07:52:13 AM »
Congrats to the team on their performance. Nothing to hang your heads about fellas. The talent is there, they need to work on the defensive mistakes. The lack of explosive power could be worked on, both in terms of running and jumping, someone like Ato could advise. That first goal where the German player outran our right back for 60 yards was telling and the Germans seemed to win most of the 50/50 balls. The offence showed some nice movement, we have a good foundation to build on here. :beermug:

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #17 on: August 26, 2007, 03:14:22 PM »
FYI Corneal didn't to do jack to get them qualified. Will power got them pass Jamaica. Coach? Corneal coached which other team?
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #18 on: August 26, 2007, 03:18:15 PM »
Here is the video of the game to stream (or right click to download)