April 20, 2024, 03:45:17 AM

Author Topic: Solskjaer retires  (Read 4482 times)

Solskjaer retires
« on: August 27, 2007, 04:59:39 PM »
Solskjaer quits due to knee injury
Manchester United favourite Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has retired due to a knee injury, according to Sky Sports News.

Solskjaer will be forever remembered in United folklore for scoring the dramatic winner in the UEFA Champions League final against Bayern Munich in 1999.

That goal was one of almost 130 he scored for The Red Devils after joining from Molde in a £1.5million transfer 11 years ago.

He made over 360 appearances for the club, but recent seasons have been blighted by injury.

The 34-year-old did maintain a level of fitness last season, scoring 11 goals as United won the title and reached the FA Cup final.

But he did not figure during the pre-season campaign after undergoing a knee operation over the summer.

This was expected to be his final season as a player at Old Trafford, but he has now decided to announce his retirement.

Solskjaer's decision to quit could prompt Sir Alex Ferguson to rethink his attacking options prior to the close of the transfer window.

Along with Wayne Rooney, Carlos Tevez and Louis Saha, Solskjaer was expected to form part of Ferguson's plans up front.

But the United manager may now require further reinforcements in attack, having been linked with Bolton Wanderers' forward Nicolas Anelka.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11667_2690166,00.html
« Last Edit: August 27, 2007, 05:17:01 PM by triniairman »

Re: Solskjaer retires
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2007, 05:22:31 PM »
good player  6 yard specialist......injury bug limit yuh career but you still had some great moments

hats off

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2007, 05:39:15 PM »
One, if not the most injured man in football. Get ah segway and ride into the sunset.  :beermug:
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2007, 06:30:55 PM »
Absolutely gutted.

Thanks for everything Ole  :beermug: :beermug: True and loyal servant.

20 LEGEND[/b]

"who put the ball in the German's net..."
« Last Edit: August 28, 2007, 11:32:27 AM by Cantona007 »

« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2007, 06:41:38 PM »
lord  :salute: i will miss my super sub  :(

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2007, 07:00:53 PM »
as they sang in all those years ago "You are my Solskjaer My Only Solskjaer" Thanks for the memories my friend!!

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2007, 07:22:05 PM »
THANK YOU Solskjaer.

For your time and great goals.
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2007, 07:34:06 PM »
GOODBYE, GOOD RIDD'NCE, SAYONARA, ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST, YADA, YADA, YADA!!

Die Hard, yuh readin' this?   :devil:

« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2007, 08:26:22 PM »
ole gunnar solskjaer....now thats a football name

nobody cyah save allyuh up front man u......allyuh eh liffin up no silverwear this year

#4 ON DE MAN U BLACKLIST!!!! AND AH DAMN PROUD!!!!                         ;D                :beermug:                         

« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2007, 08:32:19 PM »
Big baller. Ferguson should have give him a run out with all the injuries rather than look to buy again.

« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2007, 08:54:18 PM »
A boss....sad to see him go....
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2007, 09:07:54 PM »
Really sad to see this man career end on this note...but still, God. 

Growing up my loyalties were split in good measure between Liverpool and ManU and Yorke being there coincided with Ole's rise to prominence, the heyday of my support.  I'm not going to speak of the man as though he's dead, but he was a class player who wrung every ounce of performance out of his abilities and just wish that he had the chance to go out on a more positive note.

« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2007, 09:12:11 PM »
Ah the smiling assassin.... Great goalscorer. I remember a Man U game that Yorke and Cole both score a double, Gunner come on in the last 20 mins and score 4 yes... Truly remarkable

« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2007, 09:30:18 PM »
He will be missed  :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2007, 10:04:27 PM »
Ah the smiling assassin.... Great goalscorer. I remember a Man U game that Yorke and Cole both score a double, Gunner come on in the last 20 mins and score 4 yes... Truly remarkable

That is Yorke.
Solskjaer is the baby-faced assassin.
Too bad he had to retire becuz of an injury.

« Reply #16 on: August 28, 2007, 03:35:12 AM »
20LELEGEND
Thank you ole for everything

You are my SOLSKJAER,
My only SOLSKJAER,
You make me happy,
When skies are gray,
Oh alan shearer,
Was f**kin' dearer,
SO PLEASE DON'T TAKE, MY SOLSKJAER AWAY!

« Reply #17 on: August 28, 2007, 05:07:15 AM »
De only time ah ever really support Man Utd.......when Yorkie was dey and Solskjaer bussin up de net....of course ah cyar forget dat winner against Bayern Munich 1999....still getting goose bumps...laaaawwwwddd fadder dat was bachanal....(ah somehow feel Bayern Munich fans eh forget it either  ;D)

Thanks Baby face for one of my most memorable moments in football....

« Reply #18 on: August 28, 2007, 05:50:20 AM »
GOODBYE, GOOD RIDD'NCE, SAYONARA, ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST, YADA, YADA, YADA!!

Die Hard, yuh readin' this?   :devil:

but look at disrepect nah  >:( lol hmm . alyuh men hating on a man that retire too lol  :devil: u aint have no shame  ;D

« Reply #19 on: August 28, 2007, 05:52:45 AM »
DHW,

..........MU..HA..HA..........
« Last Edit: August 28, 2007, 06:06:23 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #20 on: August 28, 2007, 05:57:47 AM »

nobody cyah save allyuh up front man u......allyuh eh liffin up no silverwear this year

#4 ON DE MAN U BLACKLIST!!!! AND AH DAMN PROUD!!!!                         ;D                :beermug:                         

lol  :D

« Reply #21 on: August 28, 2007, 07:50:43 AM »

.........But Trini Madness, shouldn't you be aspiring for greater heights? Like being #2 on de list?
Try to break out of the liverpuddlian mentality of accepting mediocrity nuh..... ;D

(Disclaimer: As President, CEO, COO, Union Chief and Director of HR of the "MU..HA..HA,"  it is my duty to stamp out complaicency and motivate and  :whip: the membership into shape as is necessary)
   Die Hard, allyuh dawgs DED vick dis season!!

« Reply #22 on: August 28, 2007, 08:18:41 AM »
steuuuuups
and be ahead of me?
man ketch ya self eh :devil:

betta yet

..........MU..HA..HA..........
« Last Edit: August 28, 2007, 08:24:59 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline dotless007

« Reply #23 on: August 28, 2007, 10:50:14 AM »

it was against nottingham forest and it was the last 12 minutes.... oh alan shearer was f**kin dearer, please dont take my solskjaer away  :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:

« Reply #24 on: August 28, 2007, 11:06:44 AM »
The biggest skill I ever see him put down was in a CL game, either a goal kick or similar long ball forward.
The man runnin lookin over his shoulder at de ball, he let de ball drop and hit it a ROLL-TRAP, right into his stride, and buss de net.
I never see anybody do dat since.

Look a good comp.
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3

De goal I talkin about is in Part 2 at 3:09.  They don't show the close-up though so yuh cah see what he did.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2007, 12:10:11 PM by Peong »

« Reply #25 on: August 28, 2007, 01:57:37 PM »

.........But Trini Madness, shouldn't you be aspiring for greater heights? Like being #2 on de list?
Try to break out of the liverpuddlian mentality of accepting mediocrity nuh..... ;D

(Disclaimer: As President, CEO, COO, Union Chief and Director of HR of the "MU..HA..HA,"  it is my duty to stamp out complaicency and motivate and  :whip: the membership into shape as is necessary)

dem liverpool men again lol  :rotfl:

« Reply #26 on: August 28, 2007, 07:59:57 PM »

dem liverpool men again lol  :rotfl:

well yes.... :D