March 28, 2024, 08:06:45 AM

Author Topic: Zambian player dies during practice... Are footballers being pushed too hard?  (Read 2940 times)

is this thing going to become more common with the increasing demands on professional footballers?

Zambian player dies during practice

http://msn.foxsports.com/other/story/7168576

JERUSALEM (AP) - Chaswe Nsofwa, a forward who played for Zambia at the 2002 African Cup of Nations, collapsed during a practice session Wednesday in the Israeli city of Beersheva and died minutes later in a hospital, the Israeli rescue service said.

Nsofwa was with Hapoel Beersheva, which plays in Israel's second division. Israel TV reported he collapsed during a practice game in the desert city. Rescue workers tried to restart his heart for several minutes on the field before taking him to Soroka Hospital in Beersheba.

Nsofwa was 26, according to the roster Zambia gave FIFA when he played in the 1999 World Youth Championship, which listed his date of birth as Oct. 22, 1980.

Paramedic Carmel Cohen told The Associated Press he rushed to the field when he received the emergency call.

"When we arrived we found the soccer player lying on the grass. We found his friends trying to help him," he said. "We gave him first aid, electric shocks and an external pacemaker, but despite all our efforts, he was declared dead at the hospital."

It was unclear why Nsofwa collapsed, but temperatures on the field approached 100 degrees with low humidity. Nsofwa, who joined Hapoel Beersheba during the offseason, scored in his team's 3-0 win over Hakoach Amidar Ramat Gan on Saturday.

Nsofwa appeared as a second-half substitute in all three of Zambia's games of the 2002 African Cup. He scored in a World Cup qualifier against Cameroon in July 2001.

On Tuesday, Antonio Puerta, a midfielder for the Spanish club Sevilla, died three days after collapsing during a league game.

proper medicals hadda be in order for all players...eh know what d scene is with these players (puerta, feher, foe and now this youth)

plus dem kinda temperatures...ya cah be kikin ball for too long more water breaks than usual

WTF?!?!

what really going on here dread?

Allyuh notice dem ting does happen in groups like? when foe died....somebody else collapsed after....i think was a fella name serginho...and somebody else. Wha really does be going on?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Most of the problem seems to be "inverted heart valve" (I think its called) Kanu had it and Inter found out and he had the operation to fix it.

Most of the cases seem to involve people who had a pre-existing condition. I believe that it's likely the growing popularity of the game has increased the number of people in the game who are likely to have these conditions and hence the increase in the number of people passing out because of them.

Pressureeeeeeeeeeeee

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
Most of the cases seem to involve people who had a pre-existing condition. I believe that it's likely the growing popularity of the game has increased the number of people in the game who are likely to have these conditions and hence the increase in the number of people passing out because of them.

good points dont panic ppl, its just a sad fate of genetic roulette...it happens but isnt an epidemic

Nevertheless it's quite disturbing.

When I think back i doh think we were properly hydrated as youngsters ... man used to be on ... "whappen, yuh bun?" "yuh need water?" ... thing is it's preferable to consume liquids at intervals rather than reach that threshold of being "bun" ...

I'm not suggesting a relationship between hydration and incidents like this or Foe etc, but jes in general observation.

Right now I feel there should be an ambulance (or equivalent facility) at every game.

Offline Diambars

This has been a terriblle week for football lovers all over the world.

Spartanburg Teen Struck And Killed By Lightning On Soccer Field
 (AP) A high school student in Spartanburg, South Carolina died Wednesday after he was struck by lightning on a soccer field.

The Spartanburg County Coroner's Office says Alex Holbein, who
would have turned 18 Thursday, was struck on the head by a lightning bolt around 3:30 p.m. He died from a brain injury at the hospital about 30 minutes later.

The lightning struck on Oakbrook Preparatory School's soccer field.

Soccer coach Tim Blakeney was also struck by the bolt. He was in fair condition Wednesday night at Spartanburg Regional Medical Center.

A group of players and coaches were on the field when they heard
a loud clap of thunder and saw the player and coach get struck.

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
Fifa and all professsional leagues around the world should make it mandatory to have thorough heart condition analysis reports. Fifa made all teams do it at last years World Cup!!

This has been a terriblle week for football lovers all over the world.

Spartanburg Teen Struck And Killed By Lightning On Soccer Field
(AP) A high school student in Spartanburg, South Carolina died Wednesday after he was struck by lightning on a soccer field.

The Spartanburg County Coroner's Office says Alex Holbein, who
would have turned 18 Thursday, was struck on the head by a lightning bolt around 3:30 p.m. He died from a brain injury at the hospital about 30 minutes later.

The lightning struck on Oakbrook Preparatory School's soccer field.

Soccer coach Tim Blakeney was also struck by the bolt. He was in fair condition Wednesday night at Spartanburg Regional Medical Center.

A group of players and coaches were on the field when they heard
a loud clap of thunder and saw the player and coach get struck.

A Clemson swimmer died this week following a jog. The docs said it was the result of a heart condition that would have been difficult to detect even with testing. Bad week for the state of SC as well.

Offline Coach

That is why you need to enjoy your life, don't stress yourself with problems, you can be here today and gone tomorrow. May there souls rest in peace.