April 19, 2024, 05:32:14 PM

Author Topic: Is T&T...  (Read 3357 times)

Is T&T...
« on: August 29, 2007, 02:41:11 PM »
capable of fielding a baseball team? i'm starting to see all these other countries who know nothing about baseball starting teams and entering big tournaments. now i know those who are reading this know some or nothing about baseball and are probably thinking im a crazy person talking crazy talk but i love playing this sport and i think trinidad could field a decent team. since trinidad plays cricket i think T&T could have some prospects with a strong arm,  fielding,  and batting. i'd love to see (or play for) trinidad in the world baseball classic. what do you fellas think about baseball in trinidad?
« Last Edit: August 29, 2007, 02:42:48 PM by Trini Madness »

Re: Is T&T...
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2007, 02:50:05 PM »
I want to see Jackula collect ah couple fastballs to he ribs

Culturally, I doh think trinbagonians will adapt because the hooligans will jeer and call it glorified rounders

However it would be interesting to see ah exibition match beetween the Caripichima Orioles and the Carenage Blue Jays

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2007, 03:51:57 PM »
Port-of-Spain Corbeaux!!!!!

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2007, 04:55:29 PM »
capable of fielding a baseball team? i'm starting to see all these other countries who know nothing about baseball starting teams and entering big tournaments. now i know those who are reading this know some or nothing about baseball and are probably thinking im a crazy person talking crazy talk but i love playing this sport and i think trinidad could field a decent team. since trinidad plays cricket i think T&T could have some prospects with a strong arm,  fielding,  and batting. i'd love to see (or play for) trinidad in the world baseball classic. what do you fellas think about baseball in trinidad?

I think I remember the Toronto Blue Jays having a short-lived scouting project in the 90s in T&T if not in the entire English-speaking Caribbean (the Spanish and Dutch speaking islands already being converted).  They said Phil Simmons coulda been a major league star.

I got the impression that a lot of those countries are fielding teams built around Americans with the appropriate heritage e.g. Mike Piazza was the star of the Italian team in Athens.  Peter Angelos (greek-american owner of the orioles) bankrolled an entire greek team of minor leaguers.

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2007, 11:36:25 PM »
i fuh one gettin caught up in MLB and i must say it exciting too bad.i wouldn mind seein ah trini outfit.

« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2007, 04:39:52 PM »
Port-of-Spain Corbeaux!!!!!

Dey Coconut Hunters
OR
La Brea Rock Stars

« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2007, 07:00:07 PM »
i've always wondered how trinidad doesnt have a baseball team and being located just miles away from another country who happens to play baseball. i really feel trinidad can produce some good players.

« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2007, 11:28:16 PM »
It is glorify baseball. When Lara broke d record in 94 it was wondered if he would make it in d MLB

« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2007, 02:08:33 AM »
The calysonian Protector used to run a little league back in the 90's they had a mound and ting in the savanha behind the horse cemetary, I don't know if it still running though.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2007, 11:33:38 AM »
If de Jamaicans could have a bob-sled team and enter de olympics....I doh see why not!!
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2007, 12:00:38 PM »
Another sport for we to get licks in  ::)