March 28, 2024, 05:33:38 PM

Author Topic: What should W Connection do with the money generated from the Kenwayne transfer?  (Read 3619 times)

What do you think W Connection should do?  If the sell-on clause was 10% that would be 600,000 pounds or at today's rate upwards of 7.8 million TT dollars.

A 20% sell-on clause would be 15.6 million TT dollars.

And so on....

How should this money be used?
« Last Edit: August 29, 2007, 12:43:24 PM by Jahyouth »

One report said it would be going to the Academy.

Transfer can fund 'next Kenwyne'
By Adrian Kajumba (Daily Echo)

KENWYNE Jones's former club hope any money they receive if the wantaway Saints striker is sold on will help them unearth the next big football talent to come out of Trinidad and Tobago.

Jones's former club, Trinidadian outfit W Connection, are in line for a windfall if the 22 year-old is trnasferred.

That's because a substantial sell-on clause was inserted in Jones's contract when he was snapped up for £100,000 from the Trinidadian outfit as a raw 19 year-old in 2004 by then St Mary's boss Paul Sturrock.

With Saints currently considering one offer for Jones, who handed in a transfer request last week and then refused to play against Stoke on Saturday, George Burley has confirmed that the front-man could leave before the transfer window closes at midnight on Friday.

And any deal would see W Connection receive a cut of the fee.

For W Connection that money will help them sustain the life-blood of the club that is their academy and, they also hope, will help them produce the next Kenwyne Jones.

carry the whole squad to Villa and have the best time of they life

Re: Jones $$ for W Connection.
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2007, 02:52:00 PM »
The Nappers will be taking not.

Just now W Connection will have to field a U17 squad because coach players owners everybody get Kidnap.

This is no Joke

Them men like Cobo circling when they hear money passing.

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2007, 03:28:08 PM »
The Nappers will be taking not.

Just now W Connection will have to field a U17 squad because coach players owners everybody get Kidnap.

This is no Joke

Them men like Cobo circling when they hear money passing.
You rell out ah timing boy!

« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2007, 05:57:46 PM »
haha you could imagine if connection get 1 mill pounds lol...   de club will collapse.. de head men will teif it lol...

You feel John Williams is ah small fry business man?

Dat is small money in his pocket.........

Offline Father Abraham

w connection just continue to set a light in the pfl. john williams have vision for so and the dream continues. what you sow you will reap and this is just the beginning.

that is why i am perplexed that jabloteh bussing style on celtic saying their offer was low, they have such an inflated value on these youngsters who have not actually done anything yet. sign them cheap like w connection did with kenwyn jones($100,000) and have a clause in the contract to get a piece of the pie when they get sold to another team down the line. you make the money on the second contract not the first, the first contract is to get them out of trini and to get exposure.

john williams has the right mindset, hopefully others will follow.

Upgrade talent in the immediate term....fund youth development in the longterm.

That $$$ will probably get drop on solvency and expansion. Espcially recruitment and development infrastrucutre. They sold 1/2 the squad this year but still

competeing well. They need a goal scorer, depending on how Frias performs into the season.

Besides the obvious re-investment in the players, they can also:

(1) give bonuses or increase the salaries of the coaching staff

(2) invest in their coaches football education by sending some or all of them on a                   
          conmebol/FA/USSF/NSCAA/uefa coaching course

(3) hire some competent administrative staff or re-train the ones they have.

It will yield big rewards for the team and (maybe) in small ways for the country.

The Majority Will go to the PNM and the Next half will go to the TTFF

PNM getting some good Tax money that will go towards some good roti and stew chicken for the $100,000 Dinner.

At that price you know the food have to taste good.

Also the TTFF get a cut of all Tranfer fees
hence the "International Clearance" part of overseas contract.

I am sure that includes sell on clause as well.

Hopefully it is real money W connection get so then the TTFF will get some money and they can pay off the jacklisted players to come back play.

In a way Kenwayne could be paying himself with the transfer. :rotfl: :rotfl:

Good Move

who is this kenwayne fella allyuh talking bout? like i miss something o wah? Or is allyuh accent?

good one man
as E-Man post says, its KENWYNE Jones
10 people before you ent see that
i feel is Ticket Time ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

I HEARD IS A 60 PERCENT SELL ON FEE

SOMETHING LIKE 40 MILL TT THEM GETTIN

I SEEING THEM BUYIN MONTANO BUS TO GO GAMES

AND JOHN WILLIAMS BUYING A MATRESS IN VILLA FOR A MONTH

I HEARD IS A 60 PERCENT SELL ON FEE

SOMETHING LIKE 40 MILL TT THEM GETTIN

I SEEING THEM BUYIN MONTANO BUS TO GO GAMES

AND JOHN WILLIAMS BUYING A MATRESS IN VILLA FOR A MONTH
...and you believe dat?

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
WOW!!! the sell on clause percentage has to be really substantial for the british press to make a big fuss about it!!!!!

exactly