March 28, 2024, 02:43:11 PM

Author Topic: Buddies go for Birchall  (Read 6131 times)

Buddies go for Birchall
« on: August 30, 2007, 09:55:21 AM »
Buddies go for Birchall
Coventry midfielder set for loan move

Skysports.com understands Coventry City midfielder Chris Birchall is due to join St Mirren.

The Trinidad & Tobago international joined The Sky Blues from Port Vale last summer, but is set for a loan move to the SPL.

Birchall is expected to link up with St Mirren until January in order to secure regular first-team football.

The 23-year-old's sole appearance this season came as a substitute in the first round of the Carling Cup against Notts County.

He has struggled for opportunities since Iain Dowie took over as manager at The Ricoh Arena and is aiming to finalise a loan move before the close of the transfer window.

St Mirren have enjoyed an encouraging start to the new SPL season and sit seventh in the table after picking up six points from four games.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2007, 09:57:54 AM by Peong »

Re: Buddies go for Birchall
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2007, 10:00:47 AM »
A sweat is a sweat yes. Glad he got something decent before the window closed, that is if this is true.

Good luck Me Mum
« Last Edit: August 30, 2007, 10:02:25 AM by Grande »

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2007, 10:05:02 AM »
A sweat is a sweat yes. Glad he got something decent before the window closed, that is if this is true.

Good luck Me Mum

Indeed, praise de almighty, seems like he has been langusihing away at Coventry, steups

« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2007, 11:05:17 AM »
at least he eh on a pay per play contract. hope he get a sweat in the SPL.

« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2007, 01:44:50 PM »
Feel free to give a ticket if the need arise what division dat team in? I neva hear bout them

« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2007, 01:48:21 PM »
Feel free to give a ticket if the need arise what division dat team in? I neva hear bout them

It's in the SPL http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/table/default.stm

He just missed meeting up with Latapy - they played St Mirren last Saturday.

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2007, 02:17:05 PM »
Go Birchy!! make it happen this time!!!

« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2007, 02:25:10 PM »
Hey Premiership football is Premiership football. Good move.

« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2007, 02:45:59 PM »
glad to hear he movin on...really didnt like him not gettin any sweat week after week

« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2007, 03:00:25 PM »
Playing time is better than bench time. Go Me Mum!!!!!

« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2007, 03:04:55 PM »
Playing time is better than bench time. Go Me Mum!!!!!
Lewwe hope he get playing time here. De fact that Coventry wouldn't even give him a sniff make me question his current fitness and/or form.

« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2007, 03:17:59 PM »
Thanks eman

« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2007, 03:53:25 PM »
good luck Birchall buss d net for meh  :devil:

Offline PIMP

« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2007, 03:59:02 PM »
Even though he getting bench at Coventry it still doh have anybody here that could take him off the Nat'l side.(Fighting ability and shot). Good move, just maintain yuh fitness and be positive.

« Reply #14 on: August 30, 2007, 04:49:16 PM »
good move whats the worst that could happen.............he get bench at st whatever too? highly unlikely. go brave birchy boy go brave

« Reply #15 on: August 30, 2007, 05:58:30 PM »
Thank God!   I  hope he fares better at St. Mirren.  We are with you "Me Mum".

« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2007, 07:11:06 PM »
St. Mirren....this team played against T&T back in the 70`s

I think we lost to them 2 - 0 or 2 - 1

« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2007, 07:23:07 PM »
Yep, I saw them in the oval.

« Reply #18 on: August 30, 2007, 07:31:03 PM »
What was the final score

Correct me if I am wrong,was it a 2 game series

« Reply #19 on: August 30, 2007, 07:47:11 PM »
finally birchall will get some playing time. buss d net birchall!!!!

« Reply #20 on: August 30, 2007, 07:51:02 PM »
You are a Soca Warrior so fight dem Birchy.. Give dem hell and hook up with Latas so as to add a little finesse to yuh game.
Train hard even after de lights go off and believe in yuhself even if no one else does. Fack de World is all about you.

« Reply #21 on: August 30, 2007, 09:31:32 PM »
Sjarhain,
            i can't remmber the score, but I think you right. We lost 2-1 or something. And yes they played 2 games. Actually, they did not play that badly. Dilly played. He looked kind of fat. Texeira was jamming plenty tackles on them Scotmen that evening. All in all, it was an enjoyable evening.

« Reply #22 on: August 30, 2007, 09:45:53 PM »
Sjarhain,
            i can't remmber the score, but I think you right. We lost 2-1 or something. And yes they played 2 games. Actually, they did not play that badly. Dilly played. He looked kind of fat. Texeira was jamming plenty tackles on them Scotmen that evening. All in all, it was an enjoyable evening.
Damn Deeks...what size shoes Jesus used tuh wear  :rotfl:

...anyways, good luck on de new squad Birchall...go give dem hell and makeCoventry look small in de process  :beermug:

« Reply #23 on: August 31, 2007, 04:16:01 AM »
Raspect....
Deeks

Chris great move,this should have come from last season,I was thinking recently may be you should have gone back to Port Vale

Jah knows you need the work

I was worried if you forget your Soca moves....buss a whole heap of net in Scotland with some Warrior moves and bullets

All the best

« Reply #24 on: August 31, 2007, 05:08:43 AM »
Hope they play him in the middle ....

Saints Get Player On-Loan
« Reply #25 on: August 31, 2007, 06:11:02 AM »
Saints Get Player On-Loan
saintmirren.premiumtv.co.uk

Coventry City's Chris Birchall has agreed to go on-loan to St Mirren until this coming January, at the least.

Twenty-three old Birchall is an attacking midfielder who has been capped 26 times for the Trinidad & Tobago national side.

He played the first five years of his senior career with Port Vale before moving to Coventry City in 2006.

Chris has been assigned the squad number 46.

Birchall set for SPL move
ccfc.premiumtv.co.uk

City midfielder Chris Birchall is set to make a transfer deadline-day loan switch to Scottish Premier League outfit St Mirren.

The Trinidad & Tobago international, 23, has struggled to hold down a regular place in the Sky Blues side this season and is expected to link-up with the Buddies until January 1.

Birchall joined City on the eve of the 2006/07 season in a £300,000 deal from Port Vale and made 18 starts and 12 substitute appearances during his debut campaign.

But he has featured in just one game so far this season, coming on as a second-half substitute in a Carling Cup first round tie against Notts County.

Should the deal be completed today, he will go straight into the St Mirren squad for Sunday's mouthwatering clash against Celtic at Parkhead
« Last Edit: August 31, 2007, 11:02:10 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #26 on: August 31, 2007, 04:11:25 PM »
confirmed by the BBC

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/st_mirren/6972783.stm

Buddies complete Birchall signing

St Mirren have signed 23-year-old Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Chris Birchall on loan from Coventry City.

He will be at St Mirren Park initially until January, although that could be extended depending on his performances.

Birchall, capped 26 times, spent five years at Port Vale before signing for Coventry for £300,000 in 2006.

He made 17 starts last season for the Championship outfit but has made just one appearance this term for Iain Dowie's side.

« Reply #27 on: August 31, 2007, 05:04:16 PM »
hopefully you get some serious playing time man
buss dem up
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #28 on: August 31, 2007, 08:18:45 PM »
Good luch chris this exactly what you want at this time :beermug:

Trinidad connection key for Birchall
« Reply #29 on: September 01, 2007, 08:32:00 PM »
Trinidad connection key for Birchall
By: Evening Post.

21:14 - 01 September 2007

Chris Birchall has revealed that he was sold on the switch to St Mirren by his international Buddies.

The 23-year-old Coventry midfielder is the latest in a long line of Soca Warriors to ply their trade in Scotland with Falkirk's Russell Latapy and Marvin Andrews, now with Raith Rovers, the most notable. Former Dundee United and St Johnstone striker Jason Scotland, Collin Samuel, Brent Sancho and Kelvin Jack also enjoyed spells in Scotland.

After securing a loan move, he said: "A few of my team-mates who are involved with Trinidad played in the SPL and the First Division and they told me to come up and enjoy my football."

St Mirren v Celtic (Sun)
BBC Sport

New midfielder Chris Birchall is set to go straight into the St Mirren side, having joined on loan from Coventry.
Striker Craig Dargo, defenders Eddie Malone and Ian Maxwell and midfielder Craig Molloy are missing with injuries.

Celtic have no selection worries but will be without striker Kenny Miller, who has moved on to Derby.

Manager Gordon Strachan may freshen his side up after they endured a gruelling 120 minutes against Spartak Moscow in their Champions League qualifier.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

St Mirren squad: Smith, Van Zanten, Corcoran, Murray, Reid, Kean, Burke, Mehmet, Brady, Miranda, Howard, Haining, Potter, Brittain, Mason, O'Donnell, McCay, Barron, McGinn, Birchall.

Celtic squad: Boruc, Wilson, Caldwell, McManus, Naylor, Nakamura, Scott Brown, Donati, McGeady, Riordan, Vennegoor of Hesselink, Killen, McDonald, Zurawski, Mark Brown, Pressley, Kennedy, Hartley, Sno, O'Dea.

« Last Edit: September 01, 2007, 08:36:33 PM by E-man »