April 19, 2024, 05:13:59 PM

Author Topic: Goal.com on USA vs T&T  (Read 2309 times)

Goal.com on USA vs T&T
« on: August 16, 2005, 02:08:54 PM »
CONCACAF Preview: USA v. Trinidad & Tobago
8/16/2005 6:27:00 PM

World Cup qualifying resumes Wednesday night for CONCACAF, including the United States v. Trinidad & Tobago from Connecticut.

USA (4-1-0, 12 pts) v. Trinidad & Tobago (1-3-1, 4 pts)

When: 8:00 pm EST, Wednesday, August 17, 2005

Where: Rentschler Field, Hartford, CT

Last Time: Trinidad & Tobago 1, USA 2 (2/9/05, Port of Spain, Trinidad)

World Cup qualifying resumes Wednesday in CONCACAF and for American fans they know a win over Trinidad & Tobago would clinch their side at least fourth place, which would be good enough for a two-leg playoff with an Asian side for a chance to play in the World Cup. For T&T, however, things are not looking so swimmingly.

The Soca Warriors, who have been reeling ever since Paul Caligiuri’s “shot heard round the world” vaulted the Americans into World Cup ’90 while dashing T&T’s dreams at the same time, are level on points with Guatemala. But their minus-five goal differential place them in fifth place, behind the Chapines and out of contention for a World Cup dream. With difficult road matches yet to come against third-placed Costa Rica, and Gold Cup finalists Panama, T&T’s Dutch coach Leo Beenhakker still has a mountain to climb even for a play-off spot.

But after opening with losses to the U.S. and Guatemala, Wednesday’s visitors drew Costa Rica and defeated Panama before doing what most teams do: losing at Mexico. The recent results, however, indicate the team beaten at home by the Americans back in February has improved. Former Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke, now trying to gain a foothold in Australia’s new A-League, will be in Beenhakker’s side and could partner with Coventry City’s Stern John in the attack. But both Southampton’s lanky forward Kenwyne Jones and Kansas City’s athletic striker Scott Sealy could push for a place in the first team. Regardless, any combination of the aforementioned is sure to concern the American defense. In midfield Beenhakker will be without the services of Brent Rahim and Carlos Edwards due to injuries, and that is where we expect the United States to turn the tide of the match.

DaMarcus Beasley has been scratched due to a bad hamstring, but U.S. coach Bruce Arena welcomes captain Claudio Reyna back into the American midfield. The additional experience of central midfielder John O’Brien, left winger Eddie Lewis, and defensive midfielder Chris Armas should leave their Caribbean visitors justifiably nervous. In the attack it seems logical that Brian McBride would partner with Landon Donovan, who should be able to gut the defense with his mazy off-the-ball runs. But many fans will be interested to see if seldom-called-upon strikers Jeff Cunningham and Taylor Twellman can force themselves into the picture. On the defensive side of the ball the U.S. could struggle if someone like recently capped Jimmy Conrad fails to mesh with Gregg Berhalter and Chris Albright, with whom Wednesday could be his first time playing alongside at international level.

In any event the Americans are difficult to beat or to tie at home, and we do not expect the Soca Warriors to do either.

Goal.com Prediction: USA 3, Trinidad & Tobago 1

Re: Goal.com on USA vs T&T
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2005, 03:39:30 PM »
Dat prediction is crud

Offline pufftrini

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2005, 06:04:35 PM »
I predicting a shocker - Trini 1 US 0
every man has the right to an opinion but that does not give him the right to be a jackass

Offline pufftrini

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2005, 06:14:48 PM »
I predicting a shocker - Trini 1 US 0 :P
every man has the right to an opinion but that does not give him the right to be a jackass

« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2005, 06:29:46 PM »
I would love to kick dem ass. But 1-0 when last we keep ah clean sheet.  :-\

« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2005, 06:47:09 PM »
I would love to kick dem ass. But 1-0 when last we keep ah clean sheet. :-\

We Trinis like to call ourselves realists, I think we are just pessimists. Imagine a man say Trinidad winning 1-0 to big up the team, and a nex man say when was de last time we get a clean sheet. I love this country yes. Trinidadians is real jones boy.

« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2005, 07:14:25 AM »

If yuh check yuh history, this team went 250 minutes without conceeding a goal.....ie, against Costa Rica, Panama, and Mexico in dese same qualifiers, so ketch yuhself!

Offline Saltanfresh

• Doi! Doi! Doi!....everytime
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2005, 08:04:01 AM »

If yuh check yuh history, this team went 250 minutes without conceeding a goal.....ie, against Costa Rica, Panama, and Mexico in dese same qualifiers, so ketch yuhself!

Well said Andre, spoken like ah true football pundit and statistician.

Once dem boy stay focus we could keep dis game even down to the wire. Maybe, even squeeze a surprise on the football world. ;) ;) ;)

I especially like the fact that both Eddie Johnson and Demarcus Beasley is out of the mix.

"Time fuh Germany!!!!!!!!! Gimme d red, white, and black, gimme d red white, and black!!!
« Last Edit: August 17, 2005, 08:06:18 AM by nigelfabien »

« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2005, 09:16:41 AM »
Our WC campaign got off to a bad start...but if we are to get to Germany we need to spring at least 1 major surprise.  We cant depend on Panama, Guatemala and Costa Rica to draw all their games when they play each other...we need to stop depending on other people to do our work...we need to handle our business.

With that in mind, the turning point in our campaign/shock result/big surprise coming in a few hours when we beat USA 1-0 with a goal by Stern or Sealy.

My worst case scenario is a 0-0 or 1-1 result.

Offline troy piloy

« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2005, 09:46:12 AM »
GOAL.com hope you backed up your system because you all are going to get a serious shocker "lighting bolts".
T&T going and beat USA tonight now where is a fortress. If Mexico could lose in Azteca we can more than win the Conneticut here is a head line for your match report :
" Cut Ass in Conneticut - T&T beat USA"
Senior Advisor to AWATT's Intelligence Unit