April 28, 2024, 03:52:14 PM

Author Topic: Reflections on EPL round 5  (Read 4843 times)

Reflections on EPL round 5
« on: September 01, 2007, 03:50:46 PM »
Some of my thoughts...

- Yorke looks great against teams that actually play football, but will suffer against wild teams with all pace and no brand

- Saha needs to be a Man U starter....... ALWAYS.

- Jol should get fired... After all this time you cyah sort out yuh defence.. You buy 4 superstar quality forwards who jostling to sweat, you ent invest in the midfield and you throwing away a 3-1 lead away from home. Cyah bat for yuh anymore..

- Who is Michael Owen to be putting Martins on de bench?

- Good thing Kenwyne didnt go Derby, they in freefall.

Re: Reflections on EPL round 5
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2007, 04:29:27 PM »
i dont know if is something new but i never noticed it b4....but robinson does be ofar off his line when the ball outside his 18 yard. that cause him two goals so far.  the bicycle that score against him today he was again too far  off his line.keepers tend to be off their line to reduce the angle on the shot. but he he is too far out.

reading messing up mi fantasy score

the big 4 not changing....

manu too dependant on ronlado

i am a yorke fan but ppl 4getting sunderland played 5 midfelders. with 4 midfielders yorke is less effective and the fact that sunderland defenders like boom kick doesnt help

« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2007, 04:50:02 PM »
Some of my thoughts...

- Yorke looks great against teams that actually play football, but will suffer against wild teams with all pace and no brand

- Jol should get fired... After all this time you cyah sort out yuh defence.. You buy 4 superstar quality forwards who jostling to sweat, you ent invest in the midfield and you throwing away a 3-1 lead away from home. Cyah bat for yuh anymore..

- Spurs' defense is poor. They almost never keep clean sheets. The only defender on their team that I rate is Ledley King. I find Chimbonda is VERY overrated. They also dont have a strong defensive mid to sit in front of the back four and give them some protection. I find Huddlestone is more of a Carrick type player than a real defensive mid and he is also very slow.

- Im a big fan of Martins though so Id prefer to see them play side by side. But when Owen is fit he is one of the best goalscorers out there so is not that much of a surprise to see him play ahead of Martins.Allardyce (most coaches probably) would probably go for the big man-small man combination.

« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2007, 05:08:08 PM »
Some of my thoughts...

The strange thing is that Spurs fans love Jol- They believe that he brought back nice football to Tottenham...

I like Martins too- but Owen is deadly when he's fit (I just can't remember the last time that he's been fit)...If there was a way to play them both, that would be ideal- Martins is more creative than Owen, but Owen is the better out and out finisher.....Martins had a huge impact when he came on today- great assist too....

Liverpool has a schedule of easy teams that will make them a freight train the early runnings of the season. If Benitez doesn't over-strategize and overcoach, and over-rotate I think they will find a deadly rhythm. They should be 100% for the season so far (Chelsea was lucky)...

Saha starts as long as he's fit- but it seems like he's never fit...

Thank God Yakubu's appeal came through- scored on his debut...

Anyone see Anelka's goal today?- damn!!!
« Last Edit: September 01, 2007, 05:27:08 PM by kicker »

« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2007, 05:19:06 PM »
yeah i think he didnt like where d goal post was...he was trying to relocate it.......goalkeepers must be crazy way sah

« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2007, 08:06:43 PM »
Some of my thoughts...

The strange thing is that Spurs fans love Jol- They believe that he brought back nice football to Tottenham...

I like Martins too- but Owen is deadly when he's fit (I just can't remember the last time that he's been fit)...If there was a way to play them both, that would be ideal- Martins is more creative than Owen, but Owen is the better out and out finisher.....Martins had a huge impact when he came on today- great assist too....

Liverpool has a schedule of easy teams that will make them a freight train the early runnings of the season. If Benitez doesn't over-strategize and overcoach, and over-rotate I think they will find a deadly rhythm. They should be 100% for the season so far (Chelsea was lucky)...

Saha starts as long as he's fit- but it seems like he's never fit...

Thank God Yakubu's appeal came through- scored on his debut...

Anyone see Anelka's goal today?- damn!!!

anelka is in a rich vein of form, i don't know why i haven't put him in my fantasy side.  babel scored a good goal too...he is going to be pressure in the next season or two.

spurs fan might love jol but the board isn't so forgiving. this result today might hasten his departure.

saha is a boss, he needs a bush bath or something though...he is forever on the treatment table

« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2007, 01:17:17 AM »
Some of my thoughts...

(sung to the tune of Guantanamera)
One Michael Owen,
There's only one Michael Owen...
One Michael Owen,
There's only one Michael Owen!

But I too wish he and Martins can play together as proven today with Martins getting the assist and Owen getting the goal. But if is either or...Owen strike rate is great in every form of the game, for every club(even at Real where he was off the bench most times). Martins has flashes of brilliance, Owen is class and class is permanent.

« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2007, 01:29:34 AM »

Everton rules !!  ;D ;D

« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2007, 09:50:25 AM »
does it make sense 2 tell obi mikel man on?..............players jus cant touch d man ball.

some men were questioning yorke's role.....i watching makalele and they doing the same thing

« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2007, 10:03:18 AM »
I think it is unfair to Martin Jol......

The board started the drama by making unreasonable demands on him.  Two back to back 5th place finishes (pipped to the line on the last match day by arsenal in 2005).

The team is an unsettled one and it have too much dressing room grumbling (defoe etc).

Liverpool looking ominous........cant wait to see them play manutd. 

Saha looked really good and Anelka might just leave bolton in January.

Erickson-mania seems to be running out because they just lost to blackburn.

This season looking nice already........

nb: as we speak, aston villa are looking really great against chelsea...

GO CHELSEA

« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2007, 10:44:23 AM »

This season looking nice already........

nb: as we speak, aston villa are looking really great against chelsea...

GO CHELSEA

Is them awful Yellow Uniforms. WTH? They wukkin security in a fete? The have to ref a game after this? They goin and direct traffic out of the parking lot?

I think the battle this season will be Arsenal, (Who just cruise past Portsmouth 3-0 with 10 men) and Liverpool. Both should be perfect, Liverpool done in by the ref vs chelsea. And well, Lehman is an enigma.

Big game next week is Hotspur vs Arsenal.

« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2007, 10:49:14 AM »
Great move by Aston Villa on the break and it's 2-0!
Agbonlahor!

Chocolate bars for everybody!

Chelsea need to burn them yellow jerseys.

« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2007, 11:07:49 AM »

Everton rules !!  ;D ;D

LORD  ::)

Agbonlahor!

Chelsea is rel shit eh  :devil:  :rotfl:

« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2007, 11:34:20 AM »

Everton rules !!  ;D ;D

Agbonlahor!

Good news for United, but I eh go rub it in out of respect for my friend Mango Chow. The team I like to see lose more than Chelski and Arse&al is Liverfool. Liverfool should enjoy themselves now but in the end United will be on top!

« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2007, 11:40:04 AM »

Everton rules !!  ;D ;D

Agbonlahor!

Good news for United, but I eh go rub it in out of respect for my friend Mango Chow. The team I like to see lose more than Chelski and Arse&al is Liverfool. Liverfool should enjoy themselves now but in the end United will be on top!

boy rub that shit in  :devil: let him feel it lol,  ;D it goood  :beermug:  :D

« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2007, 12:34:21 PM »
Going back to that chelsea game, the referee should have given a penalty in the first half when Laursen grab and push down Wright Phillips in the box.

But small ting.........we still winning de league

« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2007, 02:29:03 PM »
Going back to that chelsea game, the referee should have given a penalty in the first half when Laursen grab and push down Wright Phillips in the box.

But small ting.........we still winning de league

Mourinho need to get better tactics in place for next game, by going out and buy more players  ;D ;D

« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2007, 03:12:42 PM »
Where all the Chelsea men like Sobriquet??? :devil: :devil:

« Reply #18 on: September 02, 2007, 04:41:46 PM »
Where all the Chelsea men like Sobriquet??? :devil: :devil:

Missing in Action  :devil:

« Reply #19 on: September 02, 2007, 07:01:15 PM »
Nice win by Aston Villa

SWP is the real deal, but his final touch was real off today. He did everything else beautifully. Just tighten the screws bredda and you will be world class.

Liverpool looking like the best team in the EPL right now.

Sunderland is still my side  ;D ;D

« Reply #20 on: September 04, 2007, 07:17:35 AM »
Who say Anelka is d best forward in the EPL since henry's departure?
I SAY SO!

« Reply #21 on: September 04, 2007, 07:19:33 AM »
Who say Anelka is d best forward in the EPL since henry's departure?
I SAY SO!

Yakubu, yuh boo boo  ;D ;D