April 29, 2024, 11:26:08 PM

Author Topic: Legend Best 'enters final hours'  (Read 8965 times)

Legend Best 'enters final hours'
« on: November 24, 2005, 05:51:58 PM »
Legend Best 'enters final hours' 

Best helped Man Utd win the European Cup in 1968
Ex-Manchester United star George Best is spending his final hours in hospital after doctors said his deteriorating condition was irreversible.
Best, 59, could not recover from the internal bleeding that developed last night, Professor Roger Williams said.

Just before 1300 GMT, he said the former Northern Ireland international would not survive another 24 hours.

Family and friends have visited Best in London's Cromwell Hospital, where he has been treated for a lung infection.

Later on Thursday, Professor Williams added there had been "no change, just deterioration" in Best's condition.

When Best's closest family arrived at the west London hospital, they asked the gathered media not to film or photograph them as they went in.

Best has been in hospital for eight weeks, after initially suffering flu-like symptoms, but deteriorated with a lung infection on Friday.

[Internal bleeding] has now affected the lungs and other parts, and there is really no return from that situation

Professor Roger Williams

Professor Williams said: "Mr Best is coming to the end of the long road of his ill health.

"The situation is that medically the intensive care team and everybody concerned have managed to cope with pretty well all of the complications except the one that has happened again during the night - this bleeding.

"Although [the blood] has been replaced, it has now affected the lungs and other parts, and there is really no return from that situation.

"It is just not possible to recover from that."

He added: "He is still having standard medical care and treatment but I have to tell you that his hours are numbered now and it's all very upsetting."

Family vigil

Professor Williams said: "We have just all been sitting down together and it's very upsetting for everybody, isn't it - those looking after him, the family.

"I have talked to them at great length, I think they understand everything... I think they accept what's going to happen."

Doctor's statement 

Portsmouth Football Club chairman Milan Mandaric, a close friend of Best, said: "It's not easy for them - Calum [Best's son] loves his Dad; they are all good people like George."

After visiting Best in hospital, Mr Mandaric told reporters: "What is a shame is that people who don't know George don't know what a great man he is. He's got a large heart.

"I just want George to still be around, that would be my hope."

Former team mates Sir Bobby Charlton and Denis Law also arrived at the hospital on Thursday.

Deterioration

Best was admitted to hospital on 1 October with flu-like symptoms, and suffered a kidney infection and internal bleeding before the latest decline.

Drugs needed after his liver transplant in 2002 had made the recovering alcoholic more susceptible to infection.

Things had looked more positive earlier in the week when Best was taken off sedation and regained consciousness.

But then his condition deteriorated once more between 0100 and 0200 GMT on Wednesday.

Best helped Manchester United win the European Cup in 1968 - the first English club to do so - and he was European Footballer of the Year that same year.

His style captivated football fans around the world but his playboy lifestyle degenerated into alcoholism and bankruptcy

News Alerts E-mail services Mobiles/PDAs Headlines for your site
BBC Copyright

Re: Legend Best 'enters final hours'
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2005, 05:53:49 PM »
My dad always used to talk about this guy all the time how he was such a  great player in the mid to late 60's early 70's for man u

« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2005, 05:54:31 PM »
see de effects of too much licker on de body?

shimps man is ah real shame in trute

Offline dutchman

« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2005, 06:00:23 PM »
Once I saw this quote from him..
I think it is his 'legend' quote

I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered. G.Best
Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.

Offline ndookie

« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2005, 06:12:52 PM »
i doh know bout him , but it sad to know that someone drank away their life , and then you know he's gonna die , but you just wait on him , it must be hard for anyone , not to mention the media is on them..
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2005, 06:26:50 PM »
Georgie boy... Manc legend! Pele once told him  that he was the best player that he had seen (besides himself we would imagine). Sublime talent, flawed character. A lesson for us all, i think.

God Speed, Georgie.
Glory Glory... George Best.

Offline cm103

« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2005, 09:56:35 PM »
Meh old man used to real talk about seeing him play when he lived in Manchester during the 60's....is a shame really.

« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2005, 10:27:13 PM »
I never saw him play, but I heard great things about him, as far as playing the game.

« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2005, 10:39:29 PM »
I want all yuh read the last 2 paragraphs in this article!!!

Football legend George Best, who is critically ill and fighting a life-threatening infection, had a "bad night" and his condition "deteriorated slightly", a hospital spokesman said.

Akeel Alisa, one of the medical team treating him at the private Cromwell Hospital in west London, said: "We must be prepared for the worst."

"George has had a very bad night. He's very, very ill. I think we must all prepare ourselves for the worst," he added Thursday.

"George is a friend, not just a patient. It's been a very emotional day."

Best, who has battled decades of alcohol abuse, was taken to hospital on October 1 with an infection thought to be linked to immuno-suppressant drugs used to help prevent his body rejecting the new liver he received in 2002. The 59-year-old former Manchester United and Northern Ireland winger's health deteriorated rapidly at the end of October when he developed a kidney infection.

He had been making daily progress until last week when he suffered a severe setback, developing a lung infection.

Best's 87-year-old father, Dickie, and other members of his family have been at his bedside at the private Cromwell Hospital in west London.

Best's friend and agent Phil Hughes said: "The doctors said he had a really bad night. We'll know more later today."

Professor Roger Williams, the consultant liver specialist overseeing Best's treatment, revealed Wednesday the ex-footballer was suffering internal bleeding and had been put back on a ventilator after a "disturbed night" Tuesday.

Considered among the sport's greats with Pele and Diego Maradona, Best began drinking heavily during his playing days.

He became an alcoholic, bringing on a succession of health problems which led to the transplant, during which he nearly died.

He was back on alcohol within a year, even after having been told another drink could kill him.

and he already get the liver under dubious circumstances

« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2005, 11:02:25 PM »
Yes Disgruntled; the bottom line is that the man is an alcoholic. Right after his translpant, he went on the drink again. He also had his drivers license suspended recently for drunk driving (amazingly, he told the police he was on his way to check in to rehab). His problems led to a debate in Ingerlund about whether or not alcoholics should be given transplants.
Like I said before, it is a lesson to us all. The Almighty gives us talents as gifts, not entitlements; we have a duty to Him to use His talents well.

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2005, 07:45:43 AM »
May he finally rest in peace for he passed away this morning. He better keep supporting the Red Devils while he is up there playing football in the big Wembly Stadium in the sky.

« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2005, 08:25:15 AM »
Soccer legend Best dies

Suffered from alcohol abuse
By ROBERT MILLWARD

George Best is seen in this file photo with his 1967-68 Football Writers Footballer of the Year Award, left, and his 1968 European Footballer of the Year Award. Best, who needed a liver transplant three years ago after decades of alcohol abuse, died Friday at Cromwell Hospital in west London. (AP File Photo)
LONDON (AP) - George Best, one of the most dazzling players in soccer history who also revelled in a hard-drinking, playboy lifestyle, died Friday after decades of alcohol abuse, hospital officials said. He was 59.

The 1960s star for Manchester United and Northern Ireland, who had a liver transplant three years ago, had been hospitalized since Oct. 1 because of a reaction to medication to control his alcoholism. He appeared close to death last month when doctors discovered internal bleeding and put him on life support.

"After a long and very valiant fight, Mr. George Best died this afternoon in the intensive care unit at Cromwell Hospital," the hospital said in a statement.

He had been readmitted to intensive care a week ago with a lung infection and was put on life support. His condition deteriorated sharply Thursday.

Best was told never to drink again after his liver transplant, but he went back to his old ways and was regularly seen at pubs.

"Unfortunately there is no solution to alcohol, you can't make it go away," he wrote in a recent update to his second autobiography Blessed. "Drink is the only opponent I've been unable to beat."

Best humiliated defenders and frustrated coaches during his wayward career. He scored 180 goals in 465 appearances for Manchester United, helping the team win the 1968 European Cup. He also played in the North American Soccer League, scoring 54 goals in 139 games for the Los Angeles Aztecs, Fort Lauderdale Strikers and San Jose Earthquakes.

"Everyone has their own opinion about football and their favourite players," Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson said. "But in terms of British players, you would find it difficult to think of anyone better."

Best was only 17 when he began baffling defenders with his extraordinary dribbling, thrilling fans with spectacular goals for Manchester United.

Slightly built but with amazing balance and devastating speed, Best would run at defenders and leave them tackling thin air. Sometimes he would embarrass them further by going back to beat them again.

Best made 37 international appearances for Northern Ireland. But the team had few other stars capable of making an impact in the World Cup or European Championship, and Best never played in either competition.

He starred in United's 5-1 win at Benfica's Stadium of Light in 1966, scoring twice in the first 12 minutes and the shaggy-haired star became known in Portugal as "El Beatle." He was voted European Player of the Year after the club's European Cup triumph over the same Portuguese club at Wembley in 1968.

"I packed some living into those 12 years - I lived about three lives in that time," he wrote.

Best retired at 27 in 1972 to concentrate on his business ventures, which included nightclubs and clothing boutiques, only to come out of retirement three years later, considerably overweight.

Best slimmed down and went to the United States, where he played for the Aztecs of the now-defunct NASL. After agreeing to join Fulham in 1976, he walked out on the second-division English club. FIFA imposed a worldwide ban on Best because he broke his contract, ruling out a move to Fort Lauderdale. He later played for the team.

After the FIFA ban was lifted, Best had a successful spell with San Jose. He then moved to the Scottish club Hibernian but was fired when he failed to show for two games because of late-night drinking binges.

In 1984, he served two months in jail for drunken driving. In 2004, he was banned from driving for 20 months after another conviction.

In 2000, Best collapsed from serious liver damage. He was hospitalized with pneumonia in 2001. Two months later, anti-alcohol pellets were implanted in his stomach.

Best had a reputation as someone who could not be relied on to keep appointments either as a player, TV soccer analyst or after-dinner speaker. His private life was splashed across the British tabloids, and he seemed to enjoy the attention.

"They say I slept with seven Miss Worlds," he once said. "I didn't. It was only four. I didn't turn up for the other three."

In 1983, with his playing career over, Best was hit over the head with a beer glass in a London pub hours after he appeared in bankruptcy court for failing to pay back taxes. Just before Christmas the following year, Best was jailed for three months for drunk driving, assaulting a policeman and jumping bail.

In 1990, Best appeared wildly drunk on a live TV show, uttering expletives and embarrassing the host. But, with his second wife, Alex Pursey, standing by, he contained his drinking enough to make regular appearances on Sky TV's afternoon soccer program, giving his game analysis.

The drinking caught up with him again when he was rushed to a London hospital. Chronic liver damage was diagnosed, and doctors told him even one more glass of wine could kill him. In the hospital for a month, Best promised his wife he wouldn't drink again. It was one more promise he couldn't keep.

In 2004, Alex Best was granted a divorce after nine years of marriage on grounds of her husband's adultery. Best had a son, Calum, from a four-year marriage to his first wife, Angie.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2005, 08:39:27 AM »
The greatest player never to play in a WC. He could do everything. Use both feet, deadly in the air, win games on his own and could shake 4-5 man easy.

« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2005, 08:43:17 AM »
For all who want to see some footage of the great man, and a good documentary check out:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/672852.stm

There is a link on the page: "Video: Football legend"
Click on that for a good short video obituary.

« Reply #14 on: November 25, 2005, 08:46:32 AM »
Fellas George Best did some things with de ball ,I  believe only Pele could have competed with him skill for skill.Not even the great Eusebio from Portugal was as skillful as he was.There are few men when you see dem play you could safely say he was born to play football.George Best was one of them. I hope the younger players can learn from his mistakes and also watch some videos and learn from his skills with ManU.

Offline Redditch Valiant

« Reply #15 on: November 25, 2005, 09:01:15 AM »
In 1990, Best appeared wildly drunk on a live TV show, uttering expletives and embarrassing the host.

I'd forgotten that! Man, it was funny!  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Proud to be an honorary "Trinbagonian"
GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!!

« Reply #16 on: November 25, 2005, 09:04:50 AM »
In 1990, Best appeared wildly drunk on a live TV show, uttering expletives and embarrassing the host.

I'd forgotten that! Man, it was funny!  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Some of it appears on the BBC video.

Offline Redditch Valiant

« Reply #17 on: November 25, 2005, 09:14:37 AM »
But not much, I'll bet!  ;D
Proud to be an honorary "Trinbagonian"
GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!!

« Reply #18 on: November 25, 2005, 09:50:50 AM »

JUST HEARD GEORGE BEST DIED
« Reply #19 on: November 25, 2005, 10:19:17 AM »
GOD BLESS THE GREATEST FOOTBALL TALENT FROM NORTHERN IRELAND.....AND ONE OF THE BEST IN THE WORLD.....I READ HIS BIOGRAPHY A COUPLE YEARS AGO....FANTASTIC....DE MAN GOT BORED OF FOOTBALL AT 24 YRS OLD.......STOP AT 26  AND HE RAN BACK TO N IRELAND THE DAY AFTER GETTING TO MANCHESTER AS A 15YR OLD.....THE TAXI DRIVER ALSO DROPPED HIM OFF AT " OLD TRAFFORD"...THE CRICKET GROUND....AMAZING TALENT....

LONG LIVE " EL BEATLE"    GLORY GLORY MAN UTD.

Offline greenpea

« Reply #20 on: November 25, 2005, 10:20:12 AM »
RIP .... great skill.. :chilling:

« Reply #21 on: November 25, 2005, 10:55:38 AM »
RIP Georgie.

« Reply #22 on: November 25, 2005, 12:37:18 PM »
He and Steve David played together for de Los Angeles Aztecs in de NASL back in de 70s.

World mourns death of Best
« Reply #23 on: November 25, 2005, 01:58:40 PM »
The world has paid tribute to the genius of former Manchester United star George Best as his death was announced on Friday at the age of 59.

The news that the legendary star had succumbed to multiple organ failure just before 1pm at the Cromwell Hospital in west London prompted an outpouring of grief from fans, friends and family.

The Football League announced there would be a minute's silence before all its games this weekend, while Celtic will stage a minute's applause ahead of the SPL game against Dunfermline on Saturday.

Prime Minister Tony Blair led the tributes, saying: "We all know that George Best was probably the most naturally gifted footballer of his generation, one of the greatest footballers the UK has ever produced."

Irish Premier Bertie Ahern described the player as "quite simply a football genius", sentiments echoed by Irish President Mary McAleese, who said: "George Best was a wonderfully gifted sportsman whose skills on the football field dazzled a generation of soccer fans.

"He will be remembered as one of the world's finest football talents."

Best's second wife, Alex, said she would always miss the "love of my life", adding in a statement: "George was the love of my life. He was a unique and talented person who made a lot of people very happy.

"I will always miss him."

Best made 37 appearances and scored nine goals for his native Northern Ireland, and the Irish Football Association's chief executive Howard Wells said: "This is a sad day for football. George was a complete one-off with a natural talent rarely seen since."

He added: "He was the best I had ever seen."

Belfast's Lord Mayor, Wallace Browne, expressed his deepest sympathies to Best's family on behalf of the people of Belfast, saying of the inspirational star: "I doubt we will ever see the likes of his talent again."

Books of condolence will be opened at the city hall in Belfast and at Manchester United, for fans to honour the player.

In a statement, the club said: "George Best was one of the greatest footballers of all time.

"Naturally athletic, tough, confident and blessed with genius, his career was one of the brightest stars of its generation. His gifts were legendary.

"For the goals, the audacious dribbles and all the wonderful memories, Manchester United and its legions of fans worldwide will always be grateful.

"We feel a deep sense of loss but his spirit and his talent will live on forever."

His footballing contemporaries also paid tribute to a man who was both a great footballer and a friend.

Sir Bobby Charlton, a director at Old Trafford and a team-mate of Best's during his time at the club, said: "Anyone that witnessed what George could do on the pitch wished they could do the same. He made an immense contribution to the game, and enriched the lives of everyone that saw him play. It is a very sad day.

"Football has lost one of its greats, and I have lost a dear friend. He was a marvellous person and my thoughts are now with his family."

Harry Gregg, Best's former team-mate at Old Trafford and for Northern Ireland, added: "I'm proud to say I knew him not just as a footballer and a team-mate but as a person and a friend."

Former Red Devils' star Alex Stepney said: "We're going to miss him very, very much. I'm so, so sorry for all the family.

"He was a great pal of mine at United, a very unassuming lad, very kind and quiet and enjoyed company. He was an absolute genius."

Gordon Taylor, head of the Professional Footballer's Association, said Best was "one of the true legends of the game" and "a footballing pop star" during the heady era of the Beatles.

He added: "This feels like a loss for the whole of the football world and the general public as well. He was a part of everyone's lives, not just on but off the pitch as well."

Paul Gascoigne labelled Best "unbelievable" and a "phenomenal player", while Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger spoke of Best's "special charisma", adding: "But he was so used to getting out of tricky situations you are in shock now he has died. You expected him to get out of it again."

Former Arsenal goalkeeper Bob Wilson said: "He was a lovely guy. I don't know how he remained as humble as he did in the world in which he lived, which was the goldfish bowl. He had stardust on him, absolute stardust."

Portuguese legend Eusebio, perhaps Best's most famous international adversary during his heyday in the 1960s, said: "The world of football has lost a great. Personally, I've lost a great old friend. I feel sorry for his family.

"At a moment like this we can remember how important this man was for British and world football. He was fabulous."

But perhaps the words which summed up the feelings of everyone were voiced by Best's emotional son Calum, who told reporters: "Not only have I lost my dad but we've all lost a wonderful man."

teamtalk

Re: World mourns death of Best
« Reply #24 on: November 25, 2005, 01:59:53 PM »
RIP George Best

« Reply #25 on: November 25, 2005, 02:01:21 PM »
He even got mentioned on CNN.  "Soccer Superstar George Best"

« Reply #26 on: November 25, 2005, 02:02:47 PM »
Yow, that is a big loss.  But he lived a fun life, cyah argue that atall.  Cyah think of many other players of his caliber that drank and partied as much as he did, and then still come and perform on the field.

Allyuh think the old Dwight Yorke coulda party?  He didn't want nutting with George Best.

RIP George.  Thanks for the memories

« Reply #27 on: November 25, 2005, 02:03:26 PM »
Stars pay tribute to Best talents
Birmingham manager and former Manchester United captain Steve Bruce was among the first to pay tribute to George Best.

And he described the Ulsterman as one of the greats of the game.

He said: "It is very sad. When you speak to people in Manchester, when they talk of the great players - and in my era it was Beckenbauer, Pele, Cruyff - then George Best always seems to come into the equation.

"In a lot of people's eyes he was the greatest British player ever. I remember Brian Kidd telling me repeatedly that he was on a different level to everyone else.

"If you look at his record at Manchester United, it is incredible. I think he scored 200 odd goals in 400 odd games. He was quite an unbelievable talent. It's an absolute shame, a tragedy."

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger believes the world did not see the best of Best.

He said: "I have not great memories of Best at that time, as I did not have access to TV. But I saw flashes and read a lot about him when I was a kid.

"What is amazing when you look back is that he stopped at 28.

"The best years of his career should have come from 28 to 32.

"You can't believe a player in the world stopping now - it would be like Thierry [Henry] stopping now."

Charlton manager Alan Curbishley was glad he had seen Best play.

He said: "There are a lot of people out there who know George Best in name only and would never have seen him.

"I know there is a lot of publicity surrounding him over the reason why he was ill, but football people know what he was about and those of us who were lucky enough to see him would know a little bit more.

"People like George Best, with ability like that, come along once upon a time - and we were lucky enough to see him and not a lot of people can say that.

"George Best was one of the greatest players ever seen."

Former England captain and Motherwell manager Terry Butcher described Best as a "footballing genius".

He said: "He is a true legend. He was a genius and all the great words you can think of apply to George.

"He was a footballing genius, a real world-class superstar.

"When you see those words mentioned these days they are somewhat diluted and take something from the greats like George.

"He was adored by other fans and people and will always be remembered."

Tottenham coach Martin Jol added: "I thought he was one of the players in Europe who was special. He was a player who could beat three or four people and he was one of the best dribblers in the game.

"It is a big loss for British football. You would have liked to have seen a bit more of him. I mean Johan Cruyff played until he was 37 and even new generations knew him.

"Georgie Best was at his peak when he was 25 or 26 and then the problems started. I was at a testimonial match maybe 10 years ago at QPR and he played in that and he was still fine.

"You never lose your talent if you are that talented. It is about special talent and time on the ball and you can't train that, it is a gift of God and there's only a few players like that."

teamtalk

« Reply #28 on: November 25, 2005, 02:03:46 PM »
funny eh only when ah man dead people does recognise him. i aint hear bout he in years all of ah sudden men missing him

stupessssssssss

« Reply #29 on: November 25, 2005, 02:31:51 PM »
funny eh only when ah man dead people does recognise him. i aint hear bout he in years all of ah sudden men missing him

stupessssssssss

Maybe not outside the UK. But here, the man was in de papers at least once a week or more since he retired. Was a pundit on Sky till his health deteriorated earlier this year.