April 27, 2024, 02:38:05 AM

Author Topic: [U-17] Germany v Nigeria  (Read 7960 times)

[U-17] Germany v Nigeria
« on: September 06, 2007, 01:54:43 AM »
In-form duo face off in semis
FIFA.com

Thursday's semi-final in Suwon sees Nigeria, who have won all five of their games at Korea 2007, take on Germany, themselves with four straight wins after drawing their opening game. Though both teams are in exceptional form, for one Thursday's meeting will mean the end of their world title aspirations, and for the other a berth in Sunday's Final in Seoul.

The game
Nigeria - Germany, Suwon, Thursday 6 September, 19:00 (local time)

The stakes
Nigeria have scored 13 goals and conceded just three in their five games to date - a measure of how much they have dominated their opponents. Leading the line for the the Africans have been Macauley Chrisantus, currently tournament top-scorer on six strikes, and super-sub Sheriff Isa. Also instrumental has been skipper Lukman Haruna, who has caught the eye with his ability to control the pace of games. After eliminating a strongly-fancied Argentina side 2-0 in the quarters, the Golden Eaglets are confident they can deal with Germany and move a step closer to securing the trophy.

Germany are sure to provide tough opposition, as their record of 17 goals scored and only 7 conceded suggests. The Europeans were particularly impressive in the second half of their quarter-final rout of England, scoring four goals and confounding those who had predicted a very tight contest (4-1). That victory owed much to the performances of Richard Sukuta-Pasu, Toni Kroos and Dennis Dowidat, and should Heiko Herrlich's charges dominate midfield again in their semi-final, their opponents could be in for a very tough night.

The players
Nigeria have no injury woes but captain Lukman Haruna, keeper Laide Okanlawon and midfielder Kabiru Akinsola would all miss their next game with a yellow card on Thursday. Over in the German camp, skipper Toni Kroos and midfielder Dennis Dowidat are in the same boat and will also need to tread carefully in Suwon.

The past
All told, Nigeria and Germany have met six times at different levels, with Germany holding a small advantage with three wins, one draw and two defeats. In a friendly between the two senior sides held in Koln in April 1998, the Europeans came out on top 1-0.

This is their second meeting between the countries at a FIFA U-17 World Cup. Their first came at the inaugural tournament in China in 1985, when Nigeria downed West Germany 2-0 to take the title in front of 80,000 fans in Beijing.

The words
"Everything's going according to plan. From our preparation, we know that Germany maintain a very high level of performance. All the teams in this tournament have been strong, but the Germans have been particularly impressive in terms of teamwork. That said, our side is strong in every respect and even if we had a weakness, I wouldn't be telling you. One thing I'm certain of is that we'll win on Thursday." Yemi Tella,NigeriaCoach

"We have no weaknesses in our team. Germany's defence is strong but we'll make sure we score and win." Macauley Chrisantus,Nigeriastriker

"Nigeria is a very physical and skillful team. As African Cup winners they had a tough qualifying and will be a strong opponent in the semi-finals. We - as fifth of the European Championships - are the underdogs, that's obvious. But we did well in the tournament up to now and my players will do everything to make it to the final. It will be a very interesting match." Heiko Herrlich, Germany coach

Re: [U-17] Germany v Nigeria
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2007, 02:01:32 AM »
I feel after it goin an be three wins, one draw and three defeats for the Fatherland.
eh E-Man ;D ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2007, 04:39:55 AM »
Every time I see one of these other coaches from these "big" countries offer thier assessment of an African team they never fail to use the word "physical".  I guess is ONLY African teams does tackle hard?......at least, to HIS credit, the German coach accompanied it with "skillful."  Good to see SOMEBODY recognize what his team's up against.  Somebody need to tell the Peruvian :loser:  coach what had hit him and his team.   

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2007, 04:43:41 AM »
Ah now log on FIFA matchcast and see de score just de way ah like it......

2 1 to Nigeria......

Go Eaglets....GO!!!....

« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2007, 05:03:18 AM »
 :nailbiting: :praying: :nailbiting: :praying:  45 more minutes to African redemption!
« Last Edit: September 06, 2007, 05:06:08 AM by Mango Chow! »

Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2007, 05:42:26 AM »
:nailbiting: :praying: :nailbiting: :praying:  45 more minutes to African redemption!

Oh lord boy is not you alone nah...... :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :praying:

« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2007, 05:43:21 AM »
Germany just made TWO subs heh heh heh

« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2007, 05:44:11 AM »
Oh lord de 87th Min..... :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting:

« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2007, 05:45:00 AM »
Germany just made TWO subs heh heh heh

WC who yuh supporting?

« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2007, 05:46:00 AM »
you ent see my post up there ;D ;D

Germany holding a small advantage with three wins, one draw and two defeats.

here is my prediction
I feel after it goin an be three wins, one draw and three defeats for the Fatherland.
eh E-Man ;D ;D
;D ;D
« Last Edit: September 06, 2007, 05:49:19 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2007, 05:47:39 AM »
you ent see my post up there ;D ;D

My bad, my bad..... :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2007, 05:50:11 AM »
   BLOW DE WHISTLE REF!! 

« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2007, 05:51:11 AM »
   BLOW DE WHISTLE REF!! 
sorry E-Mann ;)
but ya boy did score
 33' KROOS (Germany) scores!! :applause: :applause:
« Last Edit: September 06, 2007, 05:56:02 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #14 on: September 06, 2007, 05:52:17 AM »
GOAL!!! GOAL!!......

now yuh could blow de whistle REF..!!! :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: September 06, 2007, 05:52:53 AM »
The Camera Man F**ked up on that last goal lol

« Reply #16 on: September 06, 2007, 05:53:12 AM »
 - The final whistle sounds.
 90' +4' AKINSOLA (Nigeria) scores!!

3 - 1 Nigeria
 :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
spread de love around ;)

« Reply #17 on: September 06, 2007, 05:53:46 AM »
That goal they disallow,was good as far as I see,by the way is a player offside on ah deflection.  

« Reply #18 on: September 06, 2007, 05:55:41 AM »
NIGERIA TAKING IT!!!....

Spain could play all de defence dey want.....is
licks....licks.....licks!!!... :whip: :whip: :flamethrower:

« Reply #19 on: September 06, 2007, 05:57:13 AM »
NIGERIA TAKING IT!!!....
Spain could play all de defence dey want.....is
licks....licks.....licks!!!... :whip: :whip: :flamethrower:
i watched the highlights of the Spain game they won against Ghana and they were very lucky to win...dem Ghana fellas did not want to put the ball in the net atall atall ;)

« Reply #20 on: September 06, 2007, 06:12:14 AM »
Me eh see nutting wrong wit dat goal.......neither did the Football Gods! ;)
  Ah still vex dat Ghana didn't get past Spain, but, this was a really nice game to watch, nervousness aside.  I always talk about how these young Africans like to shoot from anywhere and tonight it not only showed, but it paid off.  The 'keeper should and could have done better on both goals but I think that second one swerved on him significantly, too.  Poor fella.  (hard luck, by the way, E-Man  ;))  I give Germany a whole lot of credit, though, they played very, very well throughout the tournament and they showed lots of class and sporting behaviour and they gave Nigeria a nice game......looks like the "physical" Nigerians had all the answers for the big African up front that all the other teams didn't have......says alot about the attacking mentality of the Nigerian coaching staff that they would use their final substitution in the 71st minute of such a close game to take off a defender and bring on an attacker.  BALLS!  I look forward to BOTH games on Sunday!

« Reply #21 on: September 06, 2007, 07:18:56 AM »
At dis level, a U 23 team supposed to beat a U 17 team everytime.  Surprisin de U 17 gave dem such a tough time... 8)

« Reply #22 on: September 06, 2007, 07:51:28 AM »
At dis level, a U 23 team supposed to beat a U 17 team everytime.  Surprisin de U 17 gave dem such a tough time... 8)
i tink dais wha Mango sayin here :devil:
« Last Edit: September 06, 2007, 07:56:15 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #23 on: September 06, 2007, 07:58:30 AM »

you come back with that. Just because man have wife and child and paying taxes doh mean they not u17  ::)

« Reply #24 on: September 06, 2007, 08:19:50 AM »
Well congrats to Nigeria - they played well. Now go beat spain...

My only beef is with our goalkeeper on the first 2 goals - especially the first one - He should have had that smothered. I never liked this guy over Giefer, don't know why our coach kept using him.

« Reply #25 on: September 06, 2007, 09:26:09 AM »

WestCoast boy, I was actually being facetious.  Whenever an African team win a game, somebody always bringin' up de "age" ting and I find it to be a bit hypocritical and unfair.  I agree that some of them do look beyond their years but I does be seein' men on all dem teams in all dem age-specific tournaments dat well look overage but nobody doh say nutting about dem.  Why is it that only the Africans must have aspersions cast their way and inferences made at them?  Give the fellas their due credit and when and if they are found to be cheating the system, then we should talk.

« Reply #26 on: September 06, 2007, 09:37:14 AM »
ahrite den ;)

« Reply #27 on: September 06, 2007, 09:58:39 AM »

WestCoast boy, I was actually being facetious.  Whenever an African team win a game, somebody always bringin' up de "age" ting and I find it to be a bit hypocritical and unfair.  I agree that some of them do look beyond their years but I does be seein' men on all dem teams in all dem age-specific tournaments dat well look overage but nobody doh say nutting about dem.  Why is it that only the Africans must have aspersions cast their way and inferences made at them?  Give the fellas their due credit and when and if they are found to be cheating the system, then we should talk.

Maybe because it is a fact dat dey doh have official documents wit dey age like birth paper etc.  Is a oral culture (get allyuh mind out de gutter eh) rather than written one.  Yuh really believe dat Freddy Adu was 14 when de hype come out bout he?  18 year ole Kanu?  Kanu older dan Latas.  Yuh did watch dah Burkina Faso team dat did play in de WC in T&T?

African teams are not de ONLY teams dat try to cheat at age group championships.  Dey jes de most prevalent.

« Reply #28 on: September 06, 2007, 10:16:52 AM »

Maybe because it is a fact dat dey doh have official documents wit dey age like birth paper etc.  Is a oral culture (get allyuh mind out de gutter eh) rather than written one.  Yuh really believe dat Freddy Adu was 14 when de hype come out bout he?  18 year ole Kanu?  Kanu older dan Latas.  Yuh did watch dah Burkina Faso team dat did play in de WC in T&T?

African teams are not de ONLY teams dat try to cheat at age group championships.  Dey jes de most prevalent.

So wait nah all yuh trying to tell me dat in all dese years FIFA eh have no way of verifiying de players' age??......so why dey allowing dem in de tournament(s) den?

But den again if FIFA could have a man like Jackula in dey ranks........

« Reply #29 on: September 06, 2007, 10:25:24 AM »

But Mango Chow they were caught before and more recently were caught again at the U17 in T&T. I think the player caught was Smith. After the youth tournament in NewZealand Barca bought the best player from Ghana, but did not sign him because after the medical the bone scan showed him to be 5 years older than his passport age which was 16. There is a lot of talk in the football community in Korea about overage in this tournament mainly Nigeria, Tajikstan & North Korea. People even questioning the papers of Alex Nimo, Liberian youth playing for the USA