April 26, 2024, 06:34:34 PM

Author Topic: Wenger agrees three-year Arsenal deal  (Read 2692 times)

Wenger agrees three-year Arsenal deal
« on: September 06, 2007, 07:44:27 AM »
Well allyuh dead now!   ;D

Wenger agrees three-year Arsenal deal

Source: www.soccernet.com

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger has agreed a three-year contract extension worth about £4million a year to remain at the Premier League club, according to reports.

The deal, which will keep Wenger at the Emirates Stadium until the summer of 2011, is set to be formally announced on Friday.

Wenger, 57, was out of contract at the end of the season, and there had been added uncertainty over his commitment to Arsenal following the controversial departure of former vice-chairman David Dein in April and the summer sale of Thierry Henry to Barcelona.

However, the French coach - who brought an unprecedented spell of success to the Gunners since his arrival a decade ago - is understood to have reached an agreement with the board to remain in charge.

Wenger had been keen to stress the continued speculation around what may happen in terms of a boardroom takeover would not distract him from the job of returning Arsenal to challenge for the top honours again.

It remains to be seen just what will develop with regards to the supposed interest of American billionaire Stan Kroenke and whether Dein, a close personal friend of Wenger, returns to the club down the line having recently linked up with Alisher Usmanov at the head of 'Red and White Holdings'.

Wenger said last month: 'It is true that is a gamble I take - but when I take a gamble at some stage, it is with people who are in charge.

'They tell me certain things, and I believe or believe not, then I say 'listen, I want to sign only one year'.

'It is down to me if I want a longer contract or not and there is a takeover, because I know from the moment I sign that it can happen.'

Despite all of the uncertainty and predictions of another unimpressive campaign, Arsenal have opened the new season in some style - qualifying for the group stages of the Champions League and are currently second in the Barclays Premier League table, unbeaten in four matches.

Wenger believes the recent comings and goings at the Emirates Stadium have actually helped the current squad grow stronger.

He said: 'Since the beginning of the season something has been happening in this team.

'They fight for each other, they have a great togetherness and love for the game.'

Re: Wenger agrees three-year Arsenal deal
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2007, 07:47:55 AM »
Tell them bredda....especially Sobriquet!!!!

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2007, 07:50:32 AM »

3 more years of finishing 4th!!!!

if allyuh lucky, see you on Oct 28th

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2007, 08:01:46 AM »

3 more years of finishing 4th!!!!

if allyuh lucky, see you on Oct 28th

Martin Jol would sell his left nut to finish fourth...

« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2007, 08:30:38 AM »
Arsene eh know when ah ship sinking is to haul ass.

He determined to end his career on a bad note.

« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2007, 01:34:31 PM »

That Barcelona boat about to sink...a la Galacticos!!!!! :devil: :devil:

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2007, 06:05:06 PM »

dumpie, doe get carried away wid allyuh start, from that sorf schedule. you and i both know exactly where allyuh finishing in the prem race. and who cares if wenger stays, the competition in the prem 100 times better than when allyuh was in the top two (eons ago) and allyuh hadda a much betta grade a players.
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2007, 02:48:02 AM »

dumpie, doe get carried away wid allyuh start, from that sorf schedule. you and i both know exactly where allyuh finishing in the prem race. and who cares if wenger stays, the competition in the prem 100 times better than when allyuh was in the top two (eons ago) and allyuh hadda a much betta grade a players.

Wha yuh mean by eons ago? De men and dem do de double just 2004! Without Patrick or Henry coming down to de end of de campaign. Steups! Allyuh jokey oui.
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2007, 07:25:41 AM »

Wha yuh mean by eons ago? De men and dem do de double just 2004! Without Patrick or Henry coming down to de end of de campaign. Steups! Allyuh jokey oui.
Them Gunners fans could real live in the past, just keep in mind that 2004 gets further and further away with each passing season.

« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2007, 08:28:30 AM »
Arsenal livin in de past?
All Man U fans does talk about is de treble that happen in the last millenium!

« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2007, 08:29:47 AM »
Arsenal livin in de past?
All Man U fans does talk about is de treble that happen in the last millenium!
trinis RULE......Smilin assassin ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2007, 12:00:28 PM »

I dont know exactly where anybody finishing but Arsenal beat Man City and Portsmouth. Two sides Man Utd couldnt beat. So sorf schedule or not, its still a decent start.

But anyway, Wenger signing a new deal is great news.