December 06, 2023, 05:55:14 AM

Author Topic: Highlights of Pres Sando vs Saints (1986 Intercol Semis)  (Read 23008 times)

Re: Highlights of Pres Sando vs Saints (1986 Intercol Semis)
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2007, 09:10:50 PM »
crowd  support was huge  big back then

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2007, 09:12:52 PM »
yeah  them was the days the standard was much better too by the way Fabien that was a penalty when kona get bring down ...romano nearly break the man leg lol

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2007, 09:36:28 PM »
It seems like the guys from 85 to 90 were bigger, stronger and more composed than the teams in the mid ninety's to the present.  I could be wrong, but from that clip and based on what I recall from the 80's, it just seems that way. 

« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2007, 09:41:22 PM »
now is it just me or did i watch a clip of 22 hard back men on a football field representing colleges..

what dem fellahs was eating back in dem days?? i woulda make ah inquiry bout cassava and yam, but even de CIC players looking big and yuh know allyuh townfolk don't deal up in de daily provisions...

furthermore them fellahs have touches too... Look at the spanner Sherwood hit ah man to draw the penalty, if we see that on SSFL highlights today we bawl down de place for ah week..

And if that wasn't a penalty on Kona, geez an ages what is?

« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2007, 09:52:01 PM »
The ref should have called a penalty for foul on Kona. It seem he wanted a break foot before he made the called. And to put salt in the wound, he called a penalty on the other side. It was a legit penalty. The older generation appeared bigger. Also,them guys pants were real short.That is why they use to have plenty woman at them match. They wanted to see them guys legs. That ent no lie.

« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2007, 10:11:21 PM »
Lol I remember that pres team meh boy Duane used to play with them but the truth is the defenders was pretty big and colin osbourne was big too but the rest of them was average size....I remember watching tech the year before  now I truly thought that wAS AN OVER THIRTY TEAM WITH A TWELVE YEAR OLD MIDFIELD DAN (LATAS)

« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2007, 10:39:41 PM »
As Archie Bunker said those were the days

« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2007, 07:22:01 AM »
I was there. In Form 1 and me eh even really care bout football back then. That's actually the first game I ever see live. Just went cuz mih brother went. Never forget it, though.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2007, 08:06:35 AM by Monkey Genius »

« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2007, 09:24:05 AM »
Nice one Tallman.... Pres, Benedicts, St Augustine and Signal Hill had real good teams in them days. Anthony Sherwood, Dwight Yorke, Romano Paul, Colvin Hutchinson, Nigel Neverson, Shawn Boney, Angus Eve, Glen Benjamin and Ivan Sampson was some of the names you heard a lot. The crowd support was massive and the radio use to bring many games live also.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2007, 09:35:42 AM by Flex »

« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2007, 09:25:37 AM »
I was at that game.  Shake real cuss me boy brigo in that game.  That was cutass...

« Reply #11 on: September 19, 2007, 09:31:36 AM »
That was great!!!

« Reply #12 on: September 19, 2007, 09:35:57 AM »
Nice one Tallman.... Pres, Benedicts, St Augustine and Signal Hill had real good teams in them days. Anthony Sherwood, Dwight Yorke, Romano Paul, Colvin Hutchinson, Nigel Neverson, Shawn Boney, Angus Eve, Glen Benjamin and Ivan Sampson was some of the names you heard a lot.

Don't forget  Shaka's bro KONA who despite these highlights racked up about 25+ goals that year

« Reply #13 on: September 19, 2007, 09:40:58 AM »
now is it just me or did i watch a clip of 22 hard back men on a football field representing colleges..

what dem fellahs was eating back in dem days??

Blue food an royal castle

« Reply #14 on: September 19, 2007, 10:05:55 AM »
Sherwood hit a man a serious spanner....  :rotfl: :rotfl:

South runs things in them days.....
« Last Edit: September 19, 2007, 10:07:11 AM by Flex »

« Reply #15 on: September 19, 2007, 11:25:20 AM »
Tallman ... (or anyone else) ... recall the lineups of these squads on the day?

« Reply #16 on: September 19, 2007, 11:29:19 AM »
Nah man is dem youths pants so tight it making dem leg look big big  ;D

seriously though in all dem times, man had little distraction outside of football. Football was it in T&T from the 60's right through until the 80's.

« Reply #17 on: September 19, 2007, 11:35:43 AM »

I eh know de exact squad who play in dat game, but dis is de Pres squad for dat season:

Gregory Mitchell
Kent Parris
Romano Paul
Donald Yee Yick
Neil Mason
Lyle Andre
Clive Reyes
Daniel Quashie (capt.)
Aldwyn Ferguson Jr.
Nigel Fabien
Duane Dyer
Lester Branker
Van Cowan
Darryl Edwards
Harvey Neptune
Colin Osbourne
Anthony Sherwood

« Reply #18 on: September 19, 2007, 12:06:05 PM »
is it just me or does it look like there was no big ass yellow fence in dem days....
real diff. yes....
foundation video..ya hadda get more jed

« Reply #19 on: September 19, 2007, 12:26:16 PM »

I eh know de exact squad who play in dat game, but dis is de Pres squad for dat season:

Gregory Mitchell
Kent Parris
Romano Paul
Donald Yee Yick
Neil Mason
Lyle Andre
Clive Reyes
Daniel Quashie (capt.)
Aldwyn Ferguson Jr.
Nigel Fabien
Duane Dyer
Lester Branker
Van Cowan
Darryl Edwards
Harvey Neptune
Colin Osbourne
Anthony Sherwood

Thx. I recognise some of the names. Some a dem yutes ah never see play at that level (U-19) but I have seen dem play as more junior players ... like Neptune in de Sunshine Snacks matches ... Osbourne, Branker, Dyer for sure and one or two others perhaps ...

This team had imported players?

« Reply #20 on: September 19, 2007, 12:34:59 PM »
That squad was talented and fast for days.....jeeez

« Reply #21 on: September 19, 2007, 01:11:36 PM »
This team had imported players?
All I remember is Romano was from Benedict's. And Greame Bertrand was from somewhere up north. I think.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2007, 01:19:25 PM by Monkey Genius »

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #22 on: September 19, 2007, 01:48:54 PM »
CIC squad was Shaka, Ian Briggs, Bonaparte, Andre" take de spanner after yuh score CIC goal " Lawrence, Barry Roach, George Viera, Miguel Lafoucade, Vaughn Olllivierre, Kester Weekes, Allan Thomas, Tony Singh, Gerard Henry, Wendell Regis, Kona Hislop
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #23 on: September 19, 2007, 08:03:10 PM »
dem fellas was big back then but then again most ah we was small too lol
after watching that clip it is obvious how far the standard has fallen.

sometimes i wonder if this generation of students does view Intercol the same way we used to in the 80's-90's?..or they does just go to show off dey sneakers and pick up girls?
where we never used to miss ah match and the venues soldout and starting fight with other supporters.

« Reply #24 on: September 19, 2007, 09:35:10 PM »
It have any clips of the final? ;D
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #25 on: September 20, 2007, 06:27:25 PM »
Wow...That really brings back memories of my Form 2 days.   I was at that game back in 1986 at the National Stadium for the Intercol Semifinals.  Except for the Pres vs Moruga game at Moruga, I must have travelled to all the games that year. 

The finals that Sunday against El Dorado senior Comp was a heartbreaker, though.  They really thief we.  The Ref made some real bad calls in that game, and man was taking down Sherwood like he kill their dog and burn down dey house...and like de ref forget he had a whistle when all that was happening.  I remember there was some rumour that the Ref was an assistant coach of Eldorado...I eh know how true that is, though.  That was a real good season for Pres...All wins except for the Intercol finals. 

But we lick up everybody in the Big 7 Competition later on that year. 
« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 06:31:48 PM by fidel2xl »
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #26 on: September 20, 2007, 07:01:04 PM »
Nice one Tallman.... Pres, Benedicts, St Augustine and Signal Hill had real good teams in them days. Anthony Sherwood, Dwight Yorke, Romano Paul, Colvin Hutchinson, Nigel Neverson, Shawn Boney, Angus Eve, Glen Benjamin and Ivan Sampson was some of the names you heard a lot.

Don't forget  Shaka's bro KONA who despite these highlights racked up about 25+ goals that year

yuh sure was that season or 87/88?..cant recall kona mashing up that season, after that season fuh sure..ah could be wrong..i definitely remember osbourne bussing up net and sherwood tearing up nuff defence

Offline Saltanfresh

• Doi! Doi! Doi!....everytime
« Reply #27 on: September 21, 2007, 09:29:06 AM »
Great memories indeed! Tallman where you find that clip? Jeezanages!

Yes dred, we had a great team indeed it was a product of a core of players who played together for Panthers FC ( Ozzy, Branker, Sean "Bushy"Edwards, Wayne Dowridge, Dale Jones, Keeshan and Myself), along with true home grown talents like Van Cowan, Greggory Mitchell, Harvey Neptune, Nazim Karim, Clive Reyes , Donald Yick, Anthony Sheerwood, Duane Dyer, Neil "Casapie" Mason, etc, with Darryl"eats" Edwards being the lone Mayaro man, so much for all dat "imports talk".

Romano Paul was only man who had just joined Pres from Benedicts to do his A-Levels and Graham Bertrand (Point-a Pierre not north) had already been in Pres about two years prior since St Peters private school had closed down. The only player that was "imported" that season would have been Kent Parris in goal.

Compared to Pres teams of the pass this team did not look impressive on paper especially at the start of the season since most of the team from the prior year (a truly "talented bunch" had left) except for captain Daniel Quashie and Aldwyn Fergusen Jr.

However, the team was full of team spirit ( a la "Shit-talk" gallore), and a nice balance of hard-workers and gifted individuals; this conbined with the guidance of the late Coach Carl 'Ozzy" Osborne made us almost unbeatable that season.

Tallman thanks for the memories.

« Reply #28 on: September 21, 2007, 10:04:08 AM »
after watching that clip it is obvious how far the standard has fallen.

Nostalgia is a great thing, but the quality of those highlights looked just like today's college's league.

All emotion and nostalgia aside- No disrespect to any of the fellas who were out there, because those were my schoollboy heroes too....butspeaking neutrally:

1- Osbourne second header was kinda jokey- a looping corner, unmarked forward and a poor attempt at a clearance by Briggs.

3- Lawrence equalizer for CIC was kinda jokey too- a powderpuff shot and the keeper like he was sleepin'

4- Sherwood last goal was kinda jokey too (like de lil rip he put on the defender for the penalty though)

5- The field condition was horrendous

Not convinced that the players were any bigger either. I've stood next too Sherwood, Kona & and plenty more o' dem fellas- they are small to average sized men in general- just like today. (Mus' be the tight pants  ;D)...

The level of crowd support though was undeniably 100X what it is today- and I think that spirit alone is what made intercol football more enjoyable back then. The quality of T&T youth football was no better globally compared to now.......Dwight Yorke, Sherwood etc. went to the U-20's WC and get the same cutass, as our youths today.... The youths today playing the same level of ball, iz only nostalgia & lack of atmosphere foolin' people.

Thanks for the highlights Tallman- forgot all about Tony Harford reading the sports news  ;D
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 11:46:56 AM by kicker »

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #29 on: September 21, 2007, 10:46:56 AM »
we want more!!
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law