Not just football but in sport on the whole, one golden rule is NEVER EMBARASS YOUR OPPONENT.
There are expected consequences to that.
Think about what would happen if a player rounded the goalkeeper, and faced with an open goal, got down on all fours and head the ball in the goal (like we do for kicks in small goal).. There would undoubtedly be retaliation for the provocation, and i think the retaliation would be justified too..
It reminds me of a couple seasons back in the NFL when Terrel Owens ran to the halfline to celebrate a touchdown just to mimic the opponent's traditional celebration and it sparked a mini-brawl.. The NFL has since legislated against provocative celebrations.. NBA too, yuh cyah dunk on ah man and laugh in he face, swing up on de ring and skin yuh cyat.. technical foul or ejection...
Now if Kerlon could make a case that raising the ball on his head and running with the ball is a useful technique for getting past defenders, which has worked consistently in the past, then it would be more understandable. But that is not the impression I get from what I've seen and heard. Seems more to me like a party trick to FIRSTLY impress the fans, himself and the media and SECONDLY to try to get by his marker and do something productive.. If it were not so, he would be trying it when the game young or his side was down 1-0 and under pressure, not when the game safe and coming to an end and is showtime.
Don't get me wrong eh, I like de piece ah skill, it new and entertaining, and i go bawl if i see a defender eat that.. Also i dont even think his intent is to embarass the opponent as opposed to showboating..
But whether or not that is de yute intentions, the end result is that it is embarassing for any defender.... And i dont expect any defender worth his salt to take that without teaching him a lesson..