April 18, 2024, 07:39:25 PM

Author Topic: Warriors tackle mighty Mexicans  (Read 3929 times)

Warriors tackle mighty Mexicans
« on: September 19, 2007, 10:20:48 PM »
Warriors tackle mighty Mexicans.
By: Ian Prescott (Express).

Wim lines up Mexico, El Salvador.

"Everything is still based on looking for a team in the next couple of months to go into the World Cup qualifying. The draw is in November, and hopefully we will know the situation with the foreign players by then. "
With the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) draw for 2010 World Cup qualifying coming up soon, Wim Rijsbergen, coach of Trinidad and Tobago's national senior team, has restarted his international programme.
The Dutchman has called 20 players to begin training next Tuesday in preparation for upcoming international friendly matches, away to Mexico on October 14 and El Salvador on October 17.
The team to play Mexico is expected to comprise much of the squad that competed at the CONCACAF Gold Cup, in June.
Among the professionals expected to be selected are Holland-based Darryl Roberts, Densill Theobald, who is now based in Hungary, England-based Silvio Spann, and United States-based Andre Pacheco and Andre Toussaint.
Still missing are many of the players who represented Trinidad and Tobago at the World Cup Finals in Germany, last June, but who have since been debarred from representing the national team due to a money dispute with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF).
Rijsbergen said he will use the players now available to him, but is hoping that the situation with the rest is resolved in the near future.
In recent times, Rijsbergen's programme has been hit by the cancellation of international warm-ups, while CONCACAF giants United States and Mexico have had the opportunity to play the mighty Brazilians.
The Dutch coach was at the First Citizens Cup double-header, in Arima, on Wednesday night.
"If we are to have a successful build-up, we have to have a good mix of players. Some local and some foreign-based , who have been exposed to a higher intensity of football. A couple of good international games would help at least to give some of the guys exposure to international football.
"The purpose is to see one or two other players and where they are at international level. Everyone understands that we have a long way to go."
Meanwhile, Lincoln Phillips, T&T football's technical director, feels that T&T should have played many more such matches at this stage.
"It's quite unfortunate that we have not played as many matches. At this stage we are still ahead in the ball game, but not by far. We have never started our programme immediately after the World Cup, we usually wait two years before doing something. It would definitely be better for us to be playing games, regardless of which teams we play."
Seniors likely to get friendlies next month.

Trinidad and Tobago's Senior Team could have a friendly lined up against CONCACAF giants Mexico next month.. The T&T Football Federation is in the process of finalizing the match to allow head coach Wim Rijsbergen some friendlies before the end of the year with South Africa World Cup 2010 qualification starting in June next year.
The Mexico game, if finalized will be played there on October 14 with a second friendly away to El Salvador carded for two days later. A previous encounter this month against Guatemala in Miami was called off.
Rijsbergen will invite 20 players for training including some overseas-based pros such as Densill Theobald, Silvio Spann, Darryl Roberts, and ex-W Connection duo Andrei Pacheco and Andre Toussaint. He still does not have the availability of players involved in an impasse with the Federation.
Mexico are coming off a 3-1 loss to Brazil and Rijsbergen will be keen to get the much needed match practice.
"Of course it will be good for us but we also need the people to realise that we are still just looking to find players and see how they fit in at that higher level. It's important that we continue this process because we are still hoping to have our best team by the time the qualifiers come around."
« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 08:26:37 AM by Flex »

Offline jonny

Re: Warriors tackle mighty Mexicans
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2007, 11:40:50 PM »
We have arranged friendly games against Mexico [14 October] and Jamaica [16 October]," Ezeala told BBC Sport.

"We only have minor details to sort out, but those dates have been agreed."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/africa/7003179.stm

Nigeria also arranged match against Mexico on 14 October :D and Jamaica on 16 October

« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2007, 12:01:34 AM »
Y ah not excited is it that I hear bout so much friendlies and dey neva happen

« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2007, 12:09:56 AM »
Wim lines up Mexico, El Salvador

Ian Prescott iprescott@trinidadexpress.com
Thursday, September 20th 2007

Meanwhile, Lincoln Phillips, T&T football's technical director, feels that T&T should have played many more such matches at this stage.
At this stage we are still ahead in the ball game, but not by far. We have never started our programme immediately after the World Cup, we usually wait two years before doing something. It would definitely be better for us to be playing games, regardless of which teams we play."

Mexico my ass.

How are we ahead when Jamaica supposed to be playing Nigeria and we playing El Salvador. And as for the Mexico match this is at least the 2nd time this year TTFF announced we playing Mexico, maybe we will get the Mex Women's u-14 this time.

« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2007, 05:10:16 AM »
Wim lines up Mexico, El Salvador

Ian Prescott iprescott@trinidadexpress.com
Thursday, September 20th 2007

At this stage we are still ahead in the ball game, but not by far. We have never started our programme immediately after the World Cup, we usually wait two years before doing something. It would definitely be better for us to be playing games, regardless of which teams we play."

Mexico my ass.

How are we ahead when Jamaica supposed to be playing Nigeria and we playing El Salvador. And as for the Mexico match this is at least the 2nd time this year TTFF announced we playing Mexico, maybe we will get the Mex Women's u-14 this time.

By playing Mexico, they mean we go be playing grass...

« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2007, 05:13:10 AM »
By playing Mexico, they mean we go be playing grass...
as E-man say, dem ent wearing day ole jersey again

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=30910.msg354369#msg354369
« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 05:15:28 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2007, 06:53:34 AM »
We have arranged friendly games against Mexico [14 October] and Jamaica [16 October]," Ezeala told BBC Sport.

Nigeria also arranged match against Mexico on 14 October :D and Jamaica on 16 October

maybe Ian Prescott made an error !!! it should be el salvador on 14th and mexico the  17 th.......

« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2007, 08:43:14 AM »

maybe Ian Prescott made an error !!! it should be el salvador on 14th and mexico the  17 th.......

Or maybe Silverbacks on the 14th and Alianza Lima on the 17th.

« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2007, 12:51:28 PM »

Or maybe Silverbacks on the 14th and Alianza Lima on the 17th.

show faith man

« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2007, 02:00:29 PM »
This advertised on Mexican media at all?

I now see on Gol TV news that Mexico playing an 'unknown' opponent on the 14th, most likely one of the African World Cup teams

« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2007, 09:05:02 PM »
Dragons clash in doubt
4thegame.com

Thursday 20 Sep 2007

Wrexham could be forced to postpone their second match of the season after Silvio Spann was called up for international duty by Trinidad & Tobago.

Midfielder Spann will be absent between October 13 and 17 while he takes part in international friendlies against El Salvador and Mexico.

And should Wales manager John Toshack decide to call up at least two members of the Red Dragons squad for their Euro 2008 qualifiers against Cyprus and San Marino on the same dates, then manager Brian Carey could decide to postpone their league encounter at Macclesfield Town on October 13.

Wrexham have already postponed one match this season - against Rochdale last month - after Chris Llewellyn, Steve Evans and Mark Jones were all called up to the Wales squad.

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2007, 09:33:00 PM »
Warriors tackle mighty Mexicans.
By: Ian Prescott (Express).

Wim lines up Mexico, El Salvador.

"Everything is still based on looking for a team in the next couple of months to go into the World Cup qualifying. The draw is in November, and hopefully we will know the situation with the foreign players by then. "
With the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) draw for 2010 World Cup qualifying coming up soon, Wim Rijsbergen, coach of Trinidad and Tobago's national senior team, has restarted his international programme.
The Dutchman has called 20 players to begin training next Tuesday in preparation for upcoming international friendly matches, away to Mexico on October 14 and El Salvador on October 17.
The team to play Mexico is expected to comprise much of the squad that competed at the CONCACAF Gold Cup, in June.
Among the professionals expected to be selected are Holland-based Darryl Roberts, Densill Theobald, who is now based in Hungary, England-based Silvio Spann, and United States-based Andre Pacheco and Andre Toussaint.
Still missing are many of the players who represented Trinidad and Tobago at the World Cup Finals in Germany, last June, but who have since been debarred from representing the national team due to a money dispute with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF).
Rijsbergen said he will use the players now available to him, but is hoping that the situation with the rest is resolved in the near future.
In recent times, Rijsbergen's programme has been hit by the cancellation of international warm-ups, while CONCACAF giants United States and Mexico have had the opportunity to play the mighty Brazilians.
The Dutch coach was at the First Citizens Cup double-header, in Arima, on Wednesday night.
"If we are to have a successful build-up, we have to have a good mix of players. Some local and some foreign-based , who have been exposed to a higher intensity of football. A couple of good international games would help at least to give some of the guys exposure to international football.
"The purpose is to see one or two other players and where they are at international level. Everyone understands that we have a long way to go."
"It's quite unfortunate that we have not played as many matches. At this stage we are still ahead in the ball game, but not by far. We have never started our programme immediately after the World Cup, we usually wait two years before doing something. It would definitely be better for us to be playing games, regardless of which teams we play."
Seniors likely to get friendlies next month.

Trinidad and Tobago's Senior Team could have a friendly lined up against CONCACAF giants Mexico next month.. The T&T Football Federation is in the process of finalizing the match to allow head coach Wim Rijsbergen some friendlies before the end of the year with South Africa World Cup 2010 qualification starting in June next year.
The Mexico game, if finalized will be played there on October 14 with a second friendly away to El Salvador carded for two days later. A previous encounter this month against Guatemala in Miami was called off.
Rijsbergen will invite 20 players for training including some overseas-based pros such as Densill Theobald, Silvio Spann, Darryl Roberts, and ex-W Connection duo Andrei Pacheco and Andre Toussaint. He still does not have the availability of players involved in an impasse with the Federation.
Mexico are coming off a 3-1 loss to Brazil and Rijsbergen will be keen to get the much needed match practice.
"Of course it will be good for us but we also need the people to realise that we are still just looking to find players and see how they fit in at that higher level. It's important that we continue this process because we are still hoping to have our best team by the time the qualifiers come around."

headline should read
"Warriors MIGHT tackle Mexican"  not sure yet
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

Offline jonny

« Reply #13 on: September 21, 2007, 07:07:12 AM »
What is wrong with the people in TTFF, like dem eh realize man could check dem thing instant now. Man eh have to wait fuh Express or a Calypsonian to bring the news no more.

Offline jonny

« Reply #14 on: September 21, 2007, 10:13:25 AM »
Nigeria cancel many of their friendlies , Nigerian FA is worse than T & T`s  ;D

« Reply #15 on: September 21, 2007, 01:17:22 PM »
We cud play who de f@ck we want,if we 'ban listed' players eh playing we still eh qualifying for 2010..All we go be doing in dem friendlies is getting proper wash arse.

« Reply #16 on: September 21, 2007, 03:11:45 PM »
We cud play who de f@ck we want,if we 'ban listed' players eh playing we still eh qualifying for 2010..All we go be doing in dem friendlies is getting proper wash arse.

...with Clorox Bleach!

Offline jonny

« Reply #17 on: September 21, 2007, 03:28:22 PM »
Mexican FA website confirm match against Nigeria and Guatemala on October 14 and 17 .

http://www.femexfut.org.mx/portalv2/(c2fsch45h2fbab551ld5ma3s)/default.aspx

« Reply #18 on: September 21, 2007, 10:05:32 PM »

...with Clorox Bleach!

Ent !!

« Reply #19 on: September 21, 2007, 10:19:46 PM »
Calysoinan d TTFF think is d pony express dat bringing mail.