April 27, 2024, 08:25:47 AM

Author Topic: JUSTICE FOR JENA  (Read 4682 times)

JUSTICE FOR JENA
« on: August 21, 2007, 04:31:14 PM »
vTHE ACTION WE NEED YOU TO TAKE:

Sign the Petition:
Donate online to the: Jena 6 Defense Fund OR Mail donations to: Jena 6 Defense Committee, P. O. Box 2798, Jena, LA 71342
Donate to the NAACP:
Make a Phone Call:
Send a letter to the Louisiana Governor and the Louisiana Attorney General:
THE FACTS:

In a small highly segregated rural Louisiana town of Jena in September 2006, a black student asked permission from school administrators to sit under the shade of a tree commonly reserved for the enjoyment of white students. School officials advised the black students to sit wherever they wanted and they did. The next day, three nooses, in the school colors, were hanging from the same tree. The Jena high school principal found that three white students were responsible and recommended expulsion. The white superintendent of schools over-ruled the principal and gave the students a three day suspension, saying that the nooses were “a youthful stunt.” Black students decided to resist and organized a sit-in under the tree to protest the lenient treatment given to the noose-hanging white students.

Racial tensions remained elevated throughout the fall. On Monday, December 4 2006, a white student who allegedly had been racially taunting black students in support of the students who hung the nooses got into a fight with black students. Allegedly, the white student was taken to the hospital treated, released, reportedly attended a social function later that evening.

As a result of this incident, six black Jena students were arrested and charged with attempted second degree murder. All six were expelled from school. The six charged were: 17-year-old Robert Bailey Junior whose bail was set at $138,000; 17-year-old Theo Shaw - bail $130,000; 18-year-old Carwin Jones--bail $100,000; 17-year-old Bryant Purvis--bail $70,000; 16 year old Mychal Bell, a sophomore in high school who was charged as an adult and for whom bail was set at $90,000; and a still unidentified minor.

On the morning of the trial, the District Attorney reduced the charges from attempted second degree murder to second degree aggravated battery and conspiracy. Aggravated battery in Louisiana law demands the attack be with a dangerous weapon. The prosecutor was allowed to argue to the jury that the tennis shoes worn by Bell could be considered a dangerous weapon.

When the pool of potential jurors was summoned, fifty people appeared, all white. The jury deliberated for less than three hours and found Mychal Bell guilty on the maximum possible charges of aggravated second degree battery and conspiracy. He faces up to a maximum of 22 years in prison.

The rest of the Jena 6 await similar trials. Theodore Shaw is due to go on trial shortly. Mychal Bell is scheduled to be sentenced July 31. If he gets the maximum sentence he will not be out of prison until he is nearly 40.

THE MESSAGE:

As Chairman Julian Bond stated, "This is an American outrage that demonstrates the continuing shame of racial division in our country. Join us in making it one of the last."
In light of the circumstances surrounding Mychal Bell's case, we urge all concerned citizens to support the call for a new trial.
It is unacceptable to selectively enforce the law based on race. Prosecutorial discretion should be used in a fair and equitable manner.
The Jena Six should be tried by juries that reflect the racial and ethnic demographics of Jena, Louisiana.
The hanging of nooses is not a "youthful stunt" or "prank." It is a hate crime. Such hate crimes should not be tolerated at any school. Jena High School must establish a curriculum which promotes cultural sensitivity and understanding.
The NAACP calls on Louisiana Governor Kathleen B. Blanco and Louisiana Attorney General Charles C. Foti to thoroughly investigate and monitor the trials of Mychal Bell, Robert Bailey, Jr., Theo Shaw, Carwin Jones, Bryant Purvis and John Doe. The Governor and State Attorney General should do everything in their power to ensure that these young men's constitutional rights are protected.
THANK YOU FOR YOUR ATTENTION TO THIS IMPORTANT MATTER!!!
 If you have any questions, call Angela Ciccolo at the National Headquarters at (410) 580-5

NAACP National Headquarters
4805 Mt. Hope Drive
Baltimore MD 21215

Toll Free: (877) NAACP-98
Local: (410) 580-5777

© 2006 NAACP
All Rights Reserved

About the NAACP:
Mission
History
Leadership
Employment
Publications & Resources
Goals
Get Involved:
Donate
Membership
Arrive with 5
Departments & Programs:
Research, Advocacy, Training
Legal
Field Operations

Re: JUSTICE FOR JENA
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2007, 09:30:03 AM »
Justice for JENA 6 media coverage 0 , stepha henry missing in florida media coverage 0 .

Vick May Still Face Charges in Virginia
RICHMOND, Va., Tue Aug 21, 06:33 PM

Michael Vick's legal troubles from dogfighting could get even worse. The Atlanta Falcons quarterback faces possible prosecution in state court, where punishment might far exceed the maximum five years in prison that could await him in his federal case.
 since this case started
the media being covering it as doh it is so important, from what i know this is just a distraction from the real story  that  iz taking place and they dont want black people to know about, but i cant blame them because they run things weather we like it or not .

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2007, 10:56:25 AM »
with regards to the jena six,

the few accounts that i have read about this suggests that there is little to no communication or interaction between the white and black citizens of the town. they are, for all intents and purposes, segregated. it is no surprise that a conflict between their children would escalate to the point where the justice system is forced to do what their parents have failed to do - mediate. if this were happening in a functioning community, there would have been some kind of dialogue between the parents of the children well before things reached as far as they did. but the freedom to be ignorant now requires the intervention of the state.

and now the legal services of jackson sharpton and associates are called upon to defend these children and indirectly to defend the failure of this community and the freedom of the parents involved to remain ignorant. that's where the money is being spent. this is why i have problems with some of the recent work of these guys sharpton and jackson.

« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2007, 08:18:13 PM »
mos def on the jena 6 on bill maher:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2QkqEQoB8o&NR=1

« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2007, 09:42:13 PM »
watched real time this weekend...really was interesting..Cornell West is one of my favourite american intellectuals especially his works on race.
This Jena 6 thing is a crime in itself how the rest of america does not seem at all interested in what is happening down there. In fact it is down right scary that more people have not spoken up about the huge inequality in the justice system that is being so blatantly shown

« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2007, 06:58:29 PM »
Well at least it getting a little media traction after all this time

I saw it on CNN and a couple other stations.......unfortunately like every big story... it need some farckin violence to get the news spotlight to shift back onto this story

« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2007, 07:17:42 PM »
mos def on the jena 6 on bill maher:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2QkqEQoB8o&NR=1

Mos Def get waay too excited on that show...he look like an inarticulate rambling nut....and the man far from that

« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2007, 09:06:27 PM »
yeah dutty yuh right...mos def did get a lil too excited..but i think cornell west did a good job of keeping the major points at the front

« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2007, 09:19:14 PM »
jus imagin this ,ah black man running for president and it have ah white tree down in jena Louisiana can you believe this shit , if blackman was to win the election i dont believe he would last to long in the blackhouse ah mean whitehouse ..

« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2007, 07:43:17 AM »
in the earlier part of the show (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TJRetQUTEWA), mos def makes an unpopular point - that the country being "under attack" has nothing to do with the unity of the country. enough people are not buying this line. and this raises the question - which is more important, dealing with the external enemy or resolving the internal divisions? alot of people think that latter is far more important.

« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2007, 07:47:49 AM »
in the earlier part of the show (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TJRetQUTEWA), mos def makes an unpopular point - that the country being "under attack" has nothing to do with the unity of the country. enough people are not buying this line. and this raises the question - which is more important, dealing with the external enemy or resolving the internal divisions? alot of people think that latter is far more important.
the domestic problems always seem to be put onto the back burner so that the armed services could go somewhere and invade some country or another.
dem people like to fight wars 
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2007, 07:51:59 AM »
You know, after Katrina and the way help took so long to reach the victims and how the world saw how 2nd class certain people are in the US, I say things will change. NOPE! The hate is deep-rooted.

Just wish when these fellas get a medium to send a message they would avoid cussing.
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2007, 08:09:55 AM »
The only black voice in th US that can give any noterity is Oprah. The mainstream media will ignore anyone else.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2007, 04:19:06 PM »
the domestic problems always seem to be put onto the back burner so that the armed services could go somewhere and invade some country or another.
dem people like to fight wars 

military-industrial complex at its best...no profit in solving social issues at home..How would the gun makers continue to reap profits selling machine guns for "hunting" if white pple weren't still scared that some big black man gonna come in and rob and rape the wifey...Nah discussion and understanding between races is not wanted by a lot of people...there isn't any money to be made in it

« Reply #14 on: September 14, 2007, 04:10:02 PM »
People ,People we got to get over before we go under ,we got to stick together, the words of the late JAMES BROWN .

It gives me great pleasure to announce that MYCHAL BELL of the JENA six was was realeased and  adult charges was droped ,and now

their is five, the fight is not over yet .we got to stick together and keep watch for the wolves in sheep clothing because they might look

like you but they are not.

« Reply #15 on: September 14, 2007, 05:35:22 PM »
this is great news...pray that good sense and justice prevails for the other five

« Reply #16 on: September 14, 2007, 06:09:06 PM »

« Reply #17 on: September 14, 2007, 08:00:15 PM »

The Hilltop
Noose Found Hanging at University of Maryland
Crystal Cranmore
9/10/07

Friday Sept. 7 generated an emotional outcry at the University of Maryland College Park Campus around 4:15 p.m.

The Department of Public Safety Officers reported an alleged hate crime incident of a noose hanging from a tree outside of the Nyumburu Cultural Center, which was found by the cultural center's staff on Thursday.

Paul Dillon, spokesperson for the University of Maryland's Police Department, said the noose was removed by someone before he arrived on the scene on Friday, but Dillon believed it was seen by various students and staff members on Thursday. Police have begun an investigation and have classified the act as a hate crime. However, they are still speculating whether or not the incident was racially motivated.

"It resembles enough of a noose to take action and we're determining the motivation behind the people responsible," Dillon said.

Many students are upset that the noose was taken down before everyone had the chance to see it. The noose was hung directly facing the Nyumburu Cultural Center which some students refer to as the Black Cultural Center. Through an e-mail by university officials, students and faculty members were notified of the occurrence within hours.

Students and staff at the university are frustrated, disappointed and find it hard to understand the motivations behind this act. Brandon Richardson, a cabinet member of the Black Student Union, finds it more upsetting than stunning.

"There is a history of racism at the university," Richardson said. "But it never went this far. They [the students] have never taken racism to a visual display. In 2005, someone wrote an anonymous editorial in our student newspaper and said that black people did not deserve a black history month because it makes us too special, when really it's a celebration of our individuality. There is hidden racism on this campus, but this is one of the few times it has shown its face."

"I received an e-mail about it and I was surprised because I have never heard about racial tension at College Park," said freshman kinesiology major, Cherice Ledbetter. "I considered going to University of Virginia, but I heard they had racial problems there and so I decided to come to the University of Maryland."

Some find the occurrence ironic and speculate that the noose symbolizes a possible disagreement to the recent updates of the Jena 6 trial. Others like Altmann Pannell, the president of the Black Student Union, feel as though the Black Terp Weekend helped ignite the crime. The Black Student Union started off the year with a barbeque on Saturday and the Black Terp Weekend essentially kicks off the union's beginning of the year events.
"I am not really surprised because at the end of the day racism still exists," Pannell said. The university has numerous outreach programs and according to Pannell, there has been much tension from students within the last few semesters.
"The noose found on the tree is not a result of past occurrences, but because I am very involved with what goes on culturally on campus, it is not as surprising to me as it might be to others," Pannell said.

A town hall meeting will take place on Monday, where the Black Student Union and the associate director of the Nyumburu Cultural Center will discuss the issue and take action.
"I received an e-mail today by the university's president," said Aria Hughes, a senior journalism major. "In the e-mail he apologized to students and talked about how lynching was a dark part of American history. The Black Student Union is very vocal, so I know they will speak out about their distaste of this situation."

Meanwhile, the police department is doing extra patrols in the area.

« Reply #18 on: September 14, 2007, 09:20:20 PM »
hm, this latest incident doesn't surprise me. anyone who has been in the US long enough knows that there are alot of bigots who will tolerate u once u are useful to them. these things are serving as wake up calls for african americans, let's see if they heed the call.

« Reply #19 on: September 15, 2007, 03:18:41 AM »
eh ???breds yuh feel iz jus african americans iz all people who r darkerd than blue and it have people on this board who defend the bull shit and they are proud of it .

« Reply #20 on: September 15, 2007, 08:33:17 AM »
zulu i know there is injustice all over...and not just to ppl of african descent...i am just saying that in this case specific case it is a clarion call to african american youths (and elders) in the US.

Jena 6
« Reply #21 on: September 20, 2007, 06:35:04 AM »
allyuh know what going on here?

blatant racism in 2007.

do a search on youtube.

http://www.cnn.com/2007/US/law/09/20/jena.six/?iref=mpstoryview

« Reply #22 on: September 20, 2007, 07:17:39 AM »
big rally / demonstration planned for today ...

« Reply #23 on: September 20, 2007, 09:23:57 AM »
big rally / demonstration planned for today ...

yeah, ppl supposed to wear black to show support. if i was still at the university i might have done it but where i am now i had better play it safe.

« Reply #24 on: September 20, 2007, 09:31:40 AM »
It gives me great pleasure to announce that MYCHAL BELL of the JENA six was was realeased and  adult charges was droped ,and now

their is five, the fight is not over yet .we got to stick together and keep watch for the wolves in sheep clothing because they might look

like you but they are not.

de man is still incarcerated subject to judicial deference to the prosecutor.

« Reply #25 on: September 20, 2007, 06:35:42 PM »
Check see nen nen judgement in JENE RIGHT NOW

« Reply #26 on: September 21, 2007, 10:23:11 PM »
KKK ,NEO-NAZI is gettin involve , they send a threat to the JENA six things could get very nasty out their i hope to GOD that in dont .

« Reply #27 on: September 22, 2007, 09:14:33 AM »
Mister Bush ah little advice from dey Cana
Before you go outside too clean up ya neighbour house...try and clean yours first nuh.
Your house dutty looking from dey outside looking in.

« Reply #28 on: September 25, 2007, 06:51:24 PM »
Jus to let yuh all know  i was listening to the radio today ,Sharpton was being interviewed by Michael Basdien  on 98.7 kiss FM , sharpton said he spoke to the lawyers who are  representing the Jena six , they said all charges was droped but they cannot understand why MR Bell iz still in prison,he Sharpton  would be going back to JENA  this week.

'Jena 6' teen's case to be heard in juvenile court
« Reply #29 on: September 27, 2007, 01:36:55 AM »
'Jena 6' teen's case to be heard in juvenile court, governor says
Story Highlights
Mychal Bell's case will be heard in juvenile court, Gov. Kathleen Blanco says

LaSalle Parish District Attorney Reed Walters agreed to that, she said

Bell and five other black teens are accused of beating white student Justin Barker

Beating followed white students hanging nooses from a tree on school grounds

BATON ROUGE, Louisiana (CNN) -- The case of Mychal Bell, a black teenager accused of beating a white classmate in Jena, Louisiana, will be heard in juvenile court, Louisiana's governor announced Wednesday.

Gov. Kathleen Blanco said that she discussed Bell's case with LaSalle Parish District Attorney Reed Walters on Wednesday, and that Walters agreed not to challenge a state appeals court ruling that dismissed Bell's battery and conspiracy convictions.

The court ruled that Bell, who was 16 at the time of the beating, should have been tried in juvenile court instead of having the case transferred to adult court.

Blanco made the announcement with civil rights leaders Martin Luther King III and Al Sharpton.

Last week, they led about 15,000 marchers to Jena, a town of 3,000, to protest how authorities handled the cases of Bell and five other black teens accused of beating white high school student Justin Barker.

Many said they are angry the students, dubbed the "Jena 6," are being treated more harshly than three white students who hung nooses from an oak tree on high school property.

The white students were suspended from school but did not face criminal charges. The protesters say they should have been charged with a hate crime.

Prosecutors originally charged all six black students with second-degree attempted murder and conspiracy

The black students now face charges of aggravated second-degree battery and conspiracy in the schoolyard beating.

The altercation was the culmination of racially tense events in the town, including two fights sparked by the hanging of the nooses.

CNN's Eric Marrapodi contributed to this report.
http://www.cnn.com/2007/US/law/09/26/jena.six/index.html
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.