September 08, 2024, 11:12:42 PM

Author Topic: The Best Player Ever  (Read 11723 times)

The Best Player Ever
« on: September 21, 2007, 01:21:05 PM »
Forumites,

I now seeing these clips, if any of you have done so before, well just rock back and enjoy, for those who haven't look at the epitome of skill.

Ronaldinho, Messi, Henry, none of them coulda even hold this man jockstrap.

Zidane and Latapy get permission to raise the ball with him.

Enjoy

More to Enjoy

Re: The Best Player Ever
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2007, 02:50:40 PM »
MARASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS is a bosssss....Style pon style....anyway yuh wah it !

« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2007, 02:57:54 PM »
Truly a great player.... second only to de "Brazilian".  ;D

edit: Leh meh add IMHO to dat statement before ah cause ah never ending thread.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 04:29:47 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2007, 03:42:48 PM »
Truly a great player.... second only to de Brazilian.  ;D

edit: Leh meh add IMHO to dat statement before ah cause ah never ending thread.

Fires yuh know yuh fellow forumites :rotfl: and ah agree totally with yuh original comment too. Give thanks Touches for link. Ah going an email to meh youth team right now.

« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2007, 03:50:52 PM »
Maradona was special but compared to other players out there...he not that special

IMHO
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 03:53:46 PM by Grande »

« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2007, 04:14:28 PM »
Maradona had a few years where he looked a class apart from the rest. He was something magnificent. Big props. But his ability is romanticized.

Since Diego I think there have been players who have reached the same level or even higher. But it is almost impossible to judge because they are quite frankly playing a different more difficult game in a different era. Zidane, Ronaldo, Rivaldo, Ronaldinho touched the same heights as Diego at some point or another. These are guys who for a few season were virtually unplayable. And as far as I am concerened..they're playing or played against bigger, stronger, faster defenders and tactically superior defensive systems. The other thing is most of us saw Diego when we were youths. Now we are hard back men we never going to see footballers the same way.

I like to look at football in time periods. Diego was by far the best in his time imo. Despite my opinions, I can't honestly compare brilliant players who played in significantly different eras of football. But yeah man...no denying that El Pibe de Oro was really it when he hit his peak in the mid eighties

« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2007, 04:34:50 PM »
short man did sick in truth. a very special player who completly dominated his generation, especially between 1984-1989. we eh see nutten like he since. sorry zz, ronaldinho all dem also ran. as platini say what zz could do wid a ball short man could do with an orange  ;D

« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2007, 05:05:07 PM »
and the man didn't used to dive like nowadays either eh.

Offline Sentinel

• Adapt, Improvise and Overcome
The Geatest
« Reply #8 on: September 21, 2007, 05:45:40 PM »
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 10:27:48 PM by palos »

« Reply #9 on: September 21, 2007, 06:05:33 PM »
short man did sick in truth. a very special player who completly dominated his generation, especially between 1984-1989. we eh see nutten like he since. sorry zz, ronaldinho all dem also ran. as platini say what zz could do wid a ball short man could do with an orange  ;D

Platini is a bitter, jealous fella who didn't seem to like the fact that Zizou was arguably better than him, definitely more successful than him and was replacing him in the French public's heart as France's greatest ever player. I find from the few times I read anything he had to say about Zidane it was always hinting that Zidane wasn't all that. He may have changed his tune but I missed it. I used to believe that too for a while, but I get over it and give Jack his jacket.

Platini and Diego are opposites. Diego does call every new talented Argentine player the new Diego ;D

« Reply #10 on: September 21, 2007, 07:15:57 PM »
it had a beat at the beginning of the clip..

"the original flip flap"

yuh know when i sit here and watch that, i and all eat de shake from behind de monitor!?

nah boy, ah bawl ah bawl...

he was ah boss..

« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2007, 09:00:37 PM »
shoddy defending

« Reply #12 on: September 21, 2007, 09:13:58 PM »
I really don't believe Platini had any dislike for Zizou. Both were very successful in the era. Platini never won a WC is true but he basically carried France from 78-82 where he was outstanding & especially in Euro 84 where he scored 9 goals in the tournament on France way to victory. Diego was now coming into his own when Platini was on his way out and I believe their was genuine admiration.

« Reply #13 on: September 21, 2007, 11:01:23 PM »
I really don't believe Platini had any dislike for Zizou. Both were very successful in the era. Platini never won a WC is true but he basically carried France from 78-82 where he was outstanding & especially in Euro 84 where he scored 9 goals in the tournament on France way to victory. Diego was now coming into his own when Platini was on his way out and I believe their was genuine admiration.

u confuse me there. i doh remember saying Platini didn't admire Diego.

But some of his past remarks about Zidane were lukewarm. they weren't bad remarks and as a professional of the highest standard, maybe Platz had a point. BUt he did kinda sound like sour grapes to many when he implied that Zidane was a beautiful player but overrated

« Reply #14 on: September 22, 2007, 12:34:38 AM »
DAM was ah right. Too much drama around him from the kick he give d man in d 82 WC to his expulsion in 94. I thank him 4 d sweet beat he put on Fenick in 86. 

« Reply #15 on: September 22, 2007, 05:37:29 AM »
Filho

I understand yuh point and it may be valid.

Different players and different era.

But remember the rules were different then too to an extent.

Is LEVEL BLADE man used to collect and defenders coulda pelt they frame any kinda way.

Now

Special players have protection from the referee...tell me I lie.

Men does fall down with the touch of a feather and ref does be quick to suck whistle.

Even in them clip look how Maradona get some level blade and he dare not fall..is regain balance and pelt ahead at full speed cause yuh know is nuttin for you.....C. Ronaldo,Messi, Ronaldinho et al woulda done fold up like a patraj roti and milk the ref for the impending free kick.

I not saying Maradona never dive, and I not saying he never fall down to get a free kick.....but the level of protection offered to men in those days was less. Defenders were not afraid to tackle...wheras in these days the advantage is with the attacker and defenders fraid to push they foot.

Last ting...is he show ZZ, ROnaldinho and them all d moves. The roly poly zidane famous for is called the Maradona turn. Is a never ending debate yes, but he was over special.

« Reply #16 on: September 22, 2007, 06:01:59 AM »

But some of his past remarks about Zidane were lukewarm. they weren't bad remarks and as a professional of the highest standard, maybe Platz had a point. BUt he did kinda sound like sour grapes to many when he implied that Zidane was a beautiful player but overrated

Filho if I remember correctly it was not Platini that made that statement, but rather Agelini (spelling) the owner of Juventus, while Zidane played for him. I believe what he said was Zidane was pleasing to the eye but not effective (overated). And when  Angelini was asked if he could could pick one player, from all who played for Juventus to play again, who would it be. His reply was Platini. Most people seem to put those words in Platini mouth.  Granted  Platini was astonishing in Seria A for Juv.

Now I am a huge Zizou fan but Italians who followed their team religiously claim that Zizou never really stepped up for them in big games. I could never really argue with them because I could not see Italian ball on a regular basis at the time. What I remember back in France 98 was Zizou really not being all that effective, being sent off, and all dem Italian saying "yuh see" But when the final came history was written.

« Reply #17 on: September 22, 2007, 03:04:32 PM »
zizou,big teeth,kak,messi nobody noooobody come close to maradona.only pele.

« Reply #18 on: September 22, 2007, 03:22:31 PM »
My first pick
and Classic Home grown = Warren "Archie" Archibald
and my Contemporary Home grown pick
« Last Edit: September 22, 2007, 03:35:29 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #19 on: September 22, 2007, 04:56:11 PM »

Filho if I remember correctly it was not Platini that made that statement, but rather Agelini (spelling) the owner of Juventus, while Zidane played for him. I believe what he said was Zidane was pleasing to the eye but not effective (overated). And when  Angelini was asked if he could could pick one player, from all who played for Juventus to play again, who would it be. His reply was Platini. Most people seem to put those words in Platini mouth.  Granted  Platini was astonishing in Seria A for Juv.

Now I am a huge Zizou fan but Italians who followed their team religiously claim that Zizou never really stepped up for them in big games. I could never really argue with them because I could not see Italian ball on a regular basis at the time. What I remember back in France 98 was Zizou really not being all that effective, being sent off, and all dem Italian saying "yuh see" But when the final came history was written.

Agnelli definitely said that. I think it was in response to replacing the 'more effective' Nedved with the more artistic Zidane. He was trying to make the point to the public that Nedved would more than replace Zidane..and he turned out to be right. Nedved turned out to be one of the best Serie A players in the modern era. Platini was also lukewarm in his praise for Zidane. He said similar things but was not as direct. I was overly harsh when I said the man 'bitter' and 'jealous'..I was just adding a lil' drama to my point  ;D

« Reply #20 on: September 22, 2007, 05:22:42 PM »
Filho

Is LEVEL BLADE man used to collect and defenders coulda pelt they frame any kinda way.

Now

Men does fall down with the touch of a feather and ref does be quick to suck whistle.

Even in them clip look how Maradona get some level blade and he dare not fall..is regain balance and pelt ahead at full speed cause yuh know is nuttin for you.....C. Ronaldo,Messi, Ronaldinho et al woulda done fold up like a patraj roti and milk the ref for the impending free kick.

I not saying Maradona never dive, and I not saying he never fall down to get a free kick.....but the level of protection offered to men in those days was less. Defenders were not afraid to tackle...wheras in these days the advantage is with the attacker and defenders fraid to push they foot.

Last ting...is he show ZZ, ROnaldinho and them all d moves. The roly poly zidane famous for is called the Maradona turn. Is a never ending debate yes, but he was over special.

Touches..to each his own bredda. Is not a point yuh could really argue. It very subjective and Maradona was indeed a something else. But Maradona didn't get any less kick than Zidane, Ronaldo and co. In fact, Maradona sweat during a time when plenty men still didn't use to wear shinguards. You eh lie..Diego get some special treatment tho. But if yuh want to see man really take kick and keep running tho' go and watch clips of Pele or even Ronaldo at Barcelona and at Inter  ;D

I find everything Diego do..it have two maybe 3 men who come after him and do it...just as well.

As for them moves. Diego didn't invent none of them. Big players bussin' dem moves before Diego could kick a ball. Everybody has their inspiration. Doh mean the master better than the pupil.

Diego was clearly one of the best ever. He did raise the bar. In fact, he shatter the idea of what was considered possible...That is why I say he is the best of his era. But I see others that I would put in the same category for different eras  :beermug:

« Reply #21 on: September 22, 2007, 05:54:09 PM »
Ah see nobody mentionin Cryuff and Di Stefano

« Reply #22 on: September 22, 2007, 06:10:01 PM »
Filho

Now

Touches..to each his own bredda. Is not a point yuh could really argue. It very subjective and Maradona was indeed a something else. But Maradona didn't get any less kick than Zidane, Ronaldo and co. In fact, Maradona sweat during a time when plenty men still didn't use to wear shinguards. You eh lie..Diego get some special treatment tho. But if yuh want to see man really take kick and keep running tho' go and watch clips of Pele or even Ronaldo at Barcelona and at Inter  ;D

I find everything Diego do..it have two maybe 3 men who come after him and do it...just as well.

As for them moves. Diego didn't invent none of them. Big players bussin' dem moves before Diego could kick a ball. Everybody has their inspiration. Doh mean the master better than the pupil.

Diego was clearly one of the best ever. He did raise the bar. In fact, he shatter the idea of what was considered possible...That is why I say he is the best of his era. But I see others that I would put in the same category for different eras  :beermug:

''I find everything Diego do..it have two maybe 3 men who come after him and do it...just as well.''

Like Who ? Who you see dominate a game on ah regular basis like Maradona ..remember yuh say 'who come after him' eh .

« Reply #23 on: September 22, 2007, 06:20:22 PM »
jus a lil side note..

I remember a time before a 5-a-side tournament, we sizing up de teams on offer, and one ah de teams had a man raising de ball all how, behind he leg, flick up under calf, balance on chest, bounce on shoulder, catch on de back of he neck.... all kinda gallery ting..

we stand up there and bawling, "oh goooorm boy we cutass booked"

Watching the clip, is only now i understand why maradona used to be skillsing off pre-game while the rest of the side running drills..

Definitely a mental aspect to that, defenders must be does walk on de field like  :-\ :-\ :-\

« Reply #24 on: September 22, 2007, 06:57:09 PM »

''I find everything Diego do..it have two maybe 3 men who come after him and do it...just as well.''

Like Who ? Who you see dominate a game on ah regular basis like Maradona ..remember yuh say 'who come after him' eh .

Ronaldo, Zidane, Rivaldo, Ronaldinho

And remember..i not like plenty who feel Maradona dominate most of the games he play in. I also doh buy into the myth that the Argentina teams or Napoli teams he played with were one-man shows. Finally..I doh buy into the idea that you have to have a brilliant WC to join the echelon of the greats. If Diego had get hurt before WC 86 and didn't play, he would have still be the same brilliant player.

I was a serious Napoli fan and I remember plenty games where he was jes ordinary or just plain shite. Even 86 WC. I find he had a few games where he was ordinary or trying too hard and things didn't come off. Somehow, everyone seems to 'remember' he run every game. At least people remember he was anonymous in the final. Any other player would have been called a choker if they reach the final with all that expectation and eh make a note. Instead, everyone try real hard to make it look like the pass for the final goal was brilliant..when it wasn't anything special. Doh geh me wrong, I making a point so I might be sunding overly negative..but I know most men name cyah pass in the same sentence as Diego. I real admire the baller but them 4 fellas at one point or another in their career..well the opposition had no answer for them. They were consistently 'unplayable' for club and country and did things that made me shake my head. But they too real to people today...they cyah compete with the myth people feel they remember when they was 12 years old  ;) :beermug:
« Last Edit: September 22, 2007, 06:59:36 PM by Filho »

« Reply #25 on: September 22, 2007, 07:11:47 PM »
jus a lil side note..

I remember a time before a 5-a-side tournament, we sizing up de teams on offer, and one ah de teams had a man raising de ball all how, behind he leg, flick up under calf, balance on chest, bounce on shoulder, catch on de back of he neck.... all kinda gallery ting..

Watching the clip, is only now i understand why maradona used to be skillsing off pre-game while the rest of the side running drills..

Definitely a mental aspect to that, defenders must be does walk on de field like  :-\ :-\ :-\

Not at that level. Diego eh doing nothing that most of them can't do or haven't seen a million times by less talented players than Diego. They would have been intimidated simply cuz it was Diego. De man coulda be juggling like a 4 year old..dey still woulda be scared  ;D

« Reply #26 on: September 22, 2007, 07:38:20 PM »

Ronaldo, Zidane, Rivaldo, Ronaldinho

And remember..i not like plenty who feel Maradona dominate most of the games he play in. I also doh buy into the myth that the Argentina teams or Napoli teams he played with were one-man shows. Finally..I doh buy into the idea that you have to have a brilliant WC to join the echelon of the greats. If Diego had get hurt before WC 86 and didn't play, he would have still be the same brilliant player.

I was a serious Napoli fan and I remember plenty games where he was jes ordinary or just plain shite. Even 86 WC. I find he had a few games where he was ordinary or trying too hard and things didn't come off. Somehow, everyone seems to 'remember' he run every game. At least people remember he was anonymous in the final. Any other player would have been called a choker if they reach the final with all that expectation and eh make a note. Instead, everyone try real hard to make it look like the pass for the final goal was brilliant..when it wasn't anything special. Doh geh me wrong, I making a point so I might be sunding overly negative..but I know most men name cyah pass in the same sentence as Diego. I real admire the baller but them 4 fellas at one point or another in their career..well the opposition had no answer for them. They were consistently 'unplayable' for club and country and did things that made me shake my head. But they too real to people today...they cyah compete with the myth people feel they remember when they was 12 years old  ;) :beermug:

that is big, big talk right there...

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

neverthless, i would not go so far as to place ronaldo and rivaldo on the same level as a maradona.. yes each of those players u call there were at that phase where they were "unplayable" on any given day.. But they didnt mantain that supremacy for an extended period of time, and weren't as far ahead of the competition as maradona was..

you could make a better case for zidane.. and ronaldinho for one or two seasons looked to be reaching those heights before his recent slump.. (i think he still has the potential to get there)

but when yuh talking pele/maradona, we need to see someone who exerts a vast superiority to anything or anybody else in the game today...

« Reply #27 on: September 22, 2007, 07:44:52 PM »
jus a lil side note..

Not at that level. Diego eh doing nothing that most of them can't do or haven't seen a million times by less talented players than Diego. They would have been intimidated simply cuz it was Diego. De man coulda be juggling like a 4 year old..dey still woulda be scared  ;D

i cyah agree with yuh there, few players had the shoulder raising thing down pat like maradona back then.. and you must watch some clips of maradona skillsing off back the; if youtube was around back then he woulda have that site busy!

furthermore, skillsing off like that in before ah england game, yuh know for sure dem defenders like Fenwick and dem doh see nothing like that on a regular basis..

in any case not saying that it was something brand new they was seeing.. just gives the opposing team the impression that the man means business...

« Reply #28 on: September 22, 2007, 08:30:00 PM »

Ronaldo, Zidane, Rivaldo, RonaldinhoAnd remember..i not like plenty who feel Maradona dominate most of the games he play in. I also doh buy into the myth that the Argentina teams or Napoli teams he played with were one-man shows. Finally..I doh buy into the idea that you have to have a brilliant WC to join the echelon of the greats. If Diego had get hurt before WC 86 and didn't play, he would have still be the same brilliant player.

Great ballers yuh call dey !!

I'll give yuh 82 WC as de one wey he din play so well...but.. he was only 21 and still now coming into his own, plus 82 WC Argentina was in ah poison group wiid Brazil (Socrates,Zico and co,) Shoes for life Rossi,with Gentile only restin it hard on him everytime he go close to de ball. Argentina simply had no answer for Brazil or Italy.
But I still have to disagree.IMO they dem fellas yuh call  never dominate a game,on ah regular basis or shud I say more consistantly, than Maradona.I also disagree when yuh say ' Even 86 WC. I find he had a few games where he was ordinary or trying too hard and things didn't come off' ...To me de 86 WC was Maradona's, ask England and Belgium.De goal dat he start beating from half line was one ah de best if not de best individual goals ever,not just in WC and what make it even better is, he live up to the hype,he gave football fans exactly what dey wanted to want to see, de best player in de world beating 5man on he way to a spectacular goal,and that kinda ah dominance,I find was more consistant than any other player.

Maybe yuh right becuz I see him in his prime,before the ones yuh call,who knows,it cud be ....'they cyah compete with the myth people feel they remember when they was 12 years old  ;) :beermug:

« Reply #29 on: September 22, 2007, 08:55:55 PM »

Ronaldo, Zidane, Rivaldo, RonaldinhoAnd remember..i not like plenty who feel Maradona dominate most of the games he play in. I also doh buy into the myth that the Argentina teams or Napoli teams he played with were one-man shows. Finally..I doh buy into the idea that you have to have a brilliant WC to join the echelon of the greats. If Diego had get hurt before WC 86 and didn't play, he would have still be the same brilliant player.

Great ballers yuh call dey !!

I'll give yuh 82 WC as de one wey he din play so well...but.. he was only 21 and still now coming into his own, plus 82 WC Argentina was in ah poison group wiid Brazil (Socrates,Zico and co,) Shoes for life Rossi,with Gentile only restin it hard on him everytime he go close to de ball. Argentina simply had no answer for Brazil or Italy.
But I still have to disagree.IMO they dem fellas yuh call  never dominate a game,on ah regular basis or shud I say more consistantly, than Maradona.I also disagree when yuh say ' Even 86 WC. I find he had a few games where he was ordinary or trying too hard and things didn't come off' ...To me de 86 WC was Maradona's, ask England and Belgium.De goal dat he start beating from half line was one ah de best if not de best individual goals ever,not just in WC and what make it even better is, he live up to the hype,he gave football fans exactly what dey wanted to want to see, de best player in de world beating 5man on he way to a spectacular goal,and that kinda ah dominance,I find was more consistant than any other player.

Maybe yuh right becuz I see him in his prime,before the ones yuh call,who knows,it cud be ....'they cyah compete with the myth people feel they remember when they was 12 years old  ;) :beermug:

I was waiting fuh somebody to make a reference to Diego's goal vs England...it nice but is probably one of the most overrated solo goals in the history of football. Watch it properly...that is terrible defending from England that make Diego look extra good.

When Filho talked about Rivaldo and Ronaldinho dominating games, I doh think he meant in terms of running through defenses from the halfway line and scoring...but rather in terms of invention, creativity, bringing the TEAM into the game and yes, individual brilliance. And in that case I could think of few few men better than Rivaldo and Ronaldinho.

Even if yuh want to argue that the measure of a man is how he hold himself in his twilight years...we all know what happen to Maradona at 34 while old dog Rivaldo in he late 30's and still playing in Champions League teams and still the best in that team.