April 27, 2024, 03:50:42 AM

Author Topic: Roy tips Yorke to be a manager.  (Read 7516 times)

Roy tips Yorke to be a manager.
« on: September 23, 2007, 12:15:32 PM »
Roy tips Yorke to be a manager.
By: James Hunter (Sunday Sun).

Roy Keane is tipping Dwight Yorke to follow him into management. Midfielder Yorke is in the final year of his two-year deal on Wearside and with just six weeks to go before his 36th birthday, it is unclear whether he will be offered an extension.
Sunderland boss Keane was giving nothing away this week, but he did hint that Yorke, a player with a notorious playboy reputation, could go on to become a manager himself.
He said: “Yorke has done very, very well for us and he has been a big plus.
“People shouldn’t underestimate how well he has done since he came to the club.
“Maybe Dwight is a potential manager himself, somewhere along the line.
“There are one or two players we are looking at (with regard to new contracts). We are monitoring the contract situation regularly, but I am not going to give out new contracts willy-nilly.”
Yorke and Keane were former team-mates at Manchester United for four years in the late 1990s and early 2000s.
Yorke arrived at Sunderland from Sydney FC for £200,000 in August last year, just days after Keane took over at the Stadium of Light.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2007, 09:10:36 AM by Flex »

Re: Roy tips Yorke to be a manager
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2007, 12:19:00 PM »
Who is me to argue wit Roy

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2007, 03:15:58 PM »
It ever had a black manager or assistant in de EPL or even in de Championship div ?

« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2007, 03:18:40 PM »
"People shouldn’t underestimate how well he has done since he came to the club."
Good enuff for me
Show dem Dwight, get de levels that you need
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2007, 03:34:52 PM »
In my opinion, Yorke is far from going in to management. All kind ah big name players coming and pick up ah big and easy pay check in de MLS, ah will be surprised if he doh come here and get some ah dat cheese and den start off he management career. Apart from de business part of it, is Yorke we talking abouty yuh know, yuh know he have tuh add ah few American blondes tuh de list  ;D. Ah doh like de team 2 much fuh him, but de celebrity life style and de top ah de line females and thing, he will be ah perfect fit fuh LA  ;). HIGHLY BLESSED

« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2007, 04:13:48 PM »
It ever had a black manager or assistant in de EPL or even in de Championship div ?

Tigana - Fulham
Gullit - Chelsea & Newcastle

« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2007, 04:22:51 PM »

Tigana - Fulham

True ,ah just cuddn remember.thx  :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2007, 04:29:11 PM »
In my opinion, Yorke is far from going in to management. All kind ah big name players coming and pick up ah big and easy pay check in de MLS, ah will be surprised if he doh come here and get some ah dat cheese and den start off he management career. Apart from de business part of it, is Yorke we talking abouty yuh know, yuh know he have tuh add ah few American blondes tuh de list ;D. Ah doh like de team 2 much fuh him, but de celebrity life style and de top ah de line females and thing, he will be ah perfect fit fuh LA ;). HIGHLY BLESSED

Anyone say Yorke and Becks back together again  ;D

« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2007, 05:45:21 PM »
In my opinion, Yorke is far from going in to management. All kind ah big name players coming and pick up ah big and easy pay check in de MLS, ah will be surprised if he doh come here and get some ah dat cheese and den start off he management career. Apart from de business part of it, is Yorke we talking abouty yuh know, yuh know he have tuh add ah few American blondes tuh de list  ;D. Ah doh like de team 2 much fuh him, but de celebrity life style and de top ah de line females and thing, he will be ah perfect fit fuh LA  ;). HIGHLY BLESSED
Supa i doubt it very much. i don't think yorke want's to be in the us , remember hardly any one here know's of him except football fans of which are few and far between, i think australia is his next move since he's so fond of the place.                  positive.

« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2007, 06:03:19 PM »
Supa i doubt it very much. i don't think yorke want's to be in the us , remember hardly any one here know's of him except football fans of which are few and far between, i think australia is his next move since he's so fond of the place.                  positive.

Yuh have ah point meh breddah, but de people dat are employing and paying him, dey know what he will bring tuh any team, so dey are de important people in his deal. Think about dis, Dennilson is ah big player, de fans were excited tuh see him, not because dey know him (most of dem), but because of what dey are reading about him. Apart from de real followers ah de game, who in USA know Dennilson? HIGHLY BLESSED. 

« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2007, 07:05:10 PM »
In my opinion, Yorke is far from going in to management. All kind ah big name players coming and pick up ah big and easy pay check in de MLS, ah will be surprised if he doh come here and get some ah dat cheese and den start off he management career. Apart from de business part of it, is Yorke we talking about yuh know, yuh know he have tuh add ah few American blondes tuh de list ;D. Ah doh like de team 2 much fuh him, but de celebrity life style and de top ah de line females and thing, he will be ah perfect fit fuh LA ;). HIGHLY BLESSED

Anyone say Yorke and Becks back together again  ;D

Yes sir, don't ever doubt it, dat is very much possible. When yuh was or still is ah big player, de MLS is de place tuh ketch ah vacation and retirement check, member dat  ;)  ;D. HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2007, 06:59:16 AM »

Tigana - Fulham

john barnes run celtic for a season.

article on the subject.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/6376121.stm

« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2007, 09:27:31 AM »
Excellent article by Simon Austin. Ah cringe when ah hear some a dem names dat call ... Viv Anderson/Cyril Regis ...whatta ting ... anyhow explains why man like like Mass Sarr end up coaching US college ball ...

For me the key comment was Crooks' point about the 'lost generation'. Anyone who recalls the challenges faced by players of that generation as players will understand the basis for the management gap.

When I think of a Gareth Southgate and the accomodations he received to run things at Boro and I balance that against the lack of incentive felt by former players who are somewhat interested in mgmt, everything as highlighted by the reality makes sense.

With respect to Yorke I don't see it happening. Maybe this is too pessimistic a view, but on current vibe not ... maybe outside de UK. Who knows?

With respect to black managers in general I think de scene is paltry across the board. I was sussing a course in Brazil and I can tell yuh there was not one black face in the dance.

Offline legal alien

Re: Roy tips Yorke to be a manager.
« Reply #13 on: September 24, 2007, 02:40:34 PM »
 i  don't think that england ready to handle seeing  lots of black managers in their league .but  it's not like anyone is bothered, or even thinks  about it. i'm not.
   seriously, who is bothered when all the current coaches are doing well on merit?

« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2007, 03:56:19 PM »
With respect to Yorke I don't see it happening. Maybe this is too pessimistic a view, but on current vibe not ... maybe outside de UK. Who knows?

With respect to black managers in general I think de scene is paltry across the board. I was sussing a course in Brazil and I can tell yuh there was not one black face in the dance.

I personally see this as more hot air on the part of Keane...a possible nudge to Yorke suggesting to him that his playing days might be on the wane.

« Reply #15 on: September 24, 2007, 05:34:10 PM »

I personally see this as more hot air on the part of Keane...a possible nudge to Yorke suggesting to him that his playing days might be on the wane.

I think that is obvious and even Yorkie must know his time is almost up. Doubt Keane would be saying that to a man who playing 90 minutes in the heart of his midfield when it would be better to encourage him and make him feel like he sees many years left in the old legs. Whenever Keane fnd Yorkie days really up is straight bench and then he will be released or contract will not be renewed. I think it would be sagotage to be making ah underhand comment to a player he needs for the time being. BUt who knows, maybe u right..but I guessing Keane and Yorkie had that conversation before Yorke even signed and again at the beginning of this season. I'm sure Yorke nows he is on limited time.  It may very well just be an honest opinion

« Reply #16 on: September 24, 2007, 05:47:23 PM »
well, maybe Dwight has a certain presence in the Locker Room and is also able to relate to players in a way that brings out all that is good within them to improve their play on the field.
In other words maybe Roy is just pointing out that Dwight is a Natural Manager.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #17 on: September 24, 2007, 06:17:38 PM »
If I was Keane I would shot my trap. He has no creative midfielders. The only one in the midfield doing anything is Yorke at the moment. He might want to consider teaching his defense or players to control the ball from the defense and play it on the ground instead of looking like a junior varsity team and kicking it to the opposing players every time. Air balls...Air heads! They need Latas in he old age on thai team...so he better hold on to Yorke. ROFL   

« Reply #18 on: September 24, 2007, 09:40:38 PM »
I think that is obvious and even Yorkie must know his time is almost up. Doubt Keane would be saying that to a man who playing 90 minutes in the heart of his midfield when it would be better to encourage him and make him feel like he sees many years left in the old legs. Whenever Keane fnd Yorkie days really up is straight bench and then he will be released or contract will not be renewed. I think it would be sagotage to be making ah underhand comment to a player he needs for the time being. BUt who knows, maybe u right..but I guessing Keane and Yorkie had that conversation before Yorke even signed and again at the beginning of this season. I'm sure Yorke nows he is on limited time.  It may very well just be an honest opinion

Whether it is obvious or not isn't my point, but rather that Keane maybe planting the seeds for an off-season overhaul from now.  I  guess time will reveal.

« Reply #19 on: September 25, 2007, 06:26:32 AM »

Whether it is obvious or not isn't my point, but rather that Keane maybe planting the seeds for an off-season overhaul from now.  I  guess time will reveal.

yeah yeah I could see that. i just find the timing a little premature given Sunderland's need to keep all players focused on the task at hand to ensure their survival. Roy cyah have men worrying about who go be around next season all now. of course that is assuming Yorke and Keane don't already have a tacit understanding of where he stands come next season  :beermug:

« Reply #20 on: September 25, 2007, 06:40:34 AM »
i think if Yorke contract isn't renewed and he feels is time to hang up his boots, keane should offer him a position on the coaching staff, solely based on his acknowledged immense presence in the dressing room, and his impact on the squad...

however, if yorke still feel he have a few years left in de old bones (based on his fitness and discipline, i think he could go on till about 38/39), a move to the middle east or the mls would be a good way to make some big paper while bowing out gracefully..

only problem is once, i think it would be easier to make the transition to management by staying in england, working within a coaching setup and doing your courses, than leaving and coming back after a few years when your networks and contacts go cold..

time will tell though

« Reply #21 on: September 25, 2007, 08:44:43 AM »
i  don't think that england ready to handle seeing  lots of black managers in their league .but  it's not like anyone is bothered, or even thinks  about it. i'm not.
   seriously, who is bothered when all the current coaches are doing well on merit?

Perhaps you missed the concern expressed above that challenged whether 'merit' was part and parcel of many current coaches receiving their positions in the first place.

Offline Diambars

« Reply #22 on: September 25, 2007, 09:01:43 AM »
Why is no one suggesting that e play his final years in Trini to help grow the Pro League attendence??

« Reply #23 on: September 25, 2007, 11:20:44 AM »

yeah yeah I could see that. i just find the timing a little premature given Sunderland's need to keep all players focused on the task at hand to ensure their survival. Roy cyah have men worrying about who go be around next season all now. of course that is assuming Yorke and Keane don't already have a tacit understanding of where he stands come next season  :beermug:

That is a big point...I'm sure there is enough respect between the two of them that Keane would let him know exactly what his standing with the club is.  I think Keane is realistic that this season is all about surviving relegation with the cards dealt to him, and come the January or next August's transfer window you'll start to see the overhaul.

« Reply #24 on: September 25, 2007, 11:59:03 AM »
Why is no one suggesting that e play his final years in Trini to help grow the Pro League attendence??

Already been done